Killzone: Shadow Fall PlayStation 4

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Killzone: Shadow Fall Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 88 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1961 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The events of Killzone Shadow Fall take place thirty years after the events of Killzone 3. Set in a time of planetary colonization, the game focuses on the conflict between the Vektans and the Helghast, two rival colonist factions inhabiting a remote planet. For 3 decades, both factions haveThe events of Killzone Shadow Fall take place thirty years after the events of Killzone 3. Set in a time of planetary colonization, the game focuses on the conflict between the Vektans and the Helghast, two rival colonist factions inhabiting a remote planet. For 3 decades, both factions have lived side by side, separated by an enormous security wall – but now their cold war is about to run hot. It is up to Lucas Kellan, a member of the military intelligence unit dubbed the Shadow Marshals, to try to protect the fragile peace that exists. A new warrior for a new era of war, Kellan 's missions will range from quiet infiltrations to all-out combat. Lucas will need to be methodical and ready to adapt, as any misstep could lead to mutually assured destruction. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 88
  2. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    91
    Thankfully, Shadow Fall handles far better than its predecessors that were hamstrung by the limited abilities of the PlayStation 3. It’s perfectly smooth to play, and there’s no longer a button to attach yourself to cover — simply crouching behind a chest-high wall will hide you, and pushing forward against it will let you stick your gun out to shoot.
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    85
    The single player is quite varied when it comes to weapons, levels and gameplay elements. The OWL also offers players a few interesting tactical choices, which make certain sections of the game highly replayable. Top that off with some great visuals and a high framerate, and we’ve got ourselves a great shooter that’s worth buying for the single player alone.
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    80
    It sets a very high benchmark for what can be achieved on Sony’s new console, while only giving a hint at what innovative gaming experiences are waiting to be discovered in the hardware’s future.
  4. 75
    Killzone: Shadow Fall isn’t the best game for the PS4, but it is the Trophy Wife of the PS4 launch lineup. It’s absolutely gorgeous, and you’ll love to show it to be the envy of all your friends. But beyond the good looks, she’s actually kinda dumb, lacking personality, and can get on your nerves at times.
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    70
    Shadow Fall shows what Sony's new machine is able to do in terms of graphics, but behind its beautiful façade there's a by the numbers first person shooter that you won't remember in a few months.
  6. It will dazzle players with its next-generation visuals and give them fun things to do with Sony’s newfangled controller...But when the launch hubbub dies down and you’ve played through your day one bundle of games, this probably isn’t the game you’re going to come back to for seconds.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    50
    That absence of meaningful evolution might be Killzone: Shadow Fall’s biggest sin. For all the next-gen bluster of its visuals and the repeated blunt-force attempts to ram a message home, Guerilla’s first shot on the PS4 retreads shooter cliches, and poorly. In a launch lineup crowded with shooters, Killzone: Shadow Fall sits at the bottom.

See all 88 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I just got this game, been playing it for hours.

    - Gameplay: Its Solid! the gun play is spot on very realistic in a way. Doesn't have that
    I just got this game, been playing it for hours.

    - Gameplay: Its Solid! the gun play is spot on very realistic in a way. Doesn't have that fast paced exaggeration from COD or BF4. Weapons feel heavy and the animation if fluid.
    - Graphics: Killzone shadow fall: Its probably the best looking FPS game right now. High res sharp texture, beautiful scenery and one best particles i have seen in a game.
    - Multi player, 24 players 60 fps, it has dedicated servers and its a blast to play, Maps are well designed not to big and not to small. And the custom Warzone multi player maps is pretty awesome.
    Single player: is around 10 hours, Story is decent but nothing spectacular good voice acting and facial animation, characters don't fell dull as in previews Killzone games.

    Buy it!
    Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    All The Zeros Come From Xbox Fan Boys If You Click Their Name You Will See All Zero For PS4 And All 10 For Xbox One Witch Is Sad Id GiveAll The Zeros Come From Xbox Fan Boys If You Click Their Name You Will See All Zero For PS4 And All 10 For Xbox One Witch Is Sad Id Give This Game A SOlid 8 But Too Many Fan Boys Have Ruined This Its Definitely Better Then A 7 Great Campaign Even Tho Some Parts Were Annoying Like The Free Fall Areas The Online Looks Great And Doesnt Slowdown But The Best Part Is The Graphics They Set The Tone For The Ps4 And Next Gen Do Yourself A Favor And Pick Up This GEM Also I Loved The New Control Scheme (L2 Aim R2 Shoot) As Opposed To Using Analogs Like Killzone 2 Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    Greatness game! Extremely fun, gorgeous, and competitive. The multiplayer is by far the best in the series and the campaign is challengingGreatness game! Extremely fun, gorgeous, and competitive. The multiplayer is by far the best in the series and the campaign is challenging without being frustrating. This will be the best launch exclusive this gen. The fact that xbone funded web critics are shooting low blows points to the worry that they've got nothing better for launch. Again Great game, Guerilla knows how to do it. Expand
  4. Dec 5, 2013
    8
    a great tittle for the ps4, amazing next gen graphics, sound and fun gameplay. it is what fans of Killzone expect to find here, but one thinga great tittle for the ps4, amazing next gen graphics, sound and fun gameplay. it is what fans of Killzone expect to find here, but one thing that is my personal gripe is it dosen't really innovate or reinvent the fps shooter. this series needs to innovate and take risks to be a must buy console seller right now its not that but it is still a robust game, hopefully they will inovate on the next Killzone. Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2014
    7
    This is not a bad game, I only played the online multi-player version. For what I have seen so far, I like it. If you like shooter games youThis is not a bad game, I only played the online multi-player version. For what I have seen so far, I like it. If you like shooter games you will probably like this one. I am just into more story line mode and a bit of strategy combined but overall I say go for it. I doubt I add this to my collection as I am a bit more serious but it is free to play the online multi player version so I do. Expand
  6. Jan 28, 2014
    6
    Overall this game is average at best. The gameplay is pretty generic when it comes to being an FPS. The graphics are a high point for theOverall this game is average at best. The gameplay is pretty generic when it comes to being an FPS. The graphics are a high point for the game, and the AI are not very intelligent. They do basic processes such as get to cover every now and then, and of course they shoot back at you. There are rarely ever any flanking orders, but sometimes you will hear them shouting back and forth commands to each other that sadly do not actually happen. The story-line is decent but not overly amazing. It will keep you engaged if you are expecting the equivalent of a blockbuster movie, but don't expect anything worth mentioning years from now.

    The major flaws of the game are mainly that it's too generic. There is nothing very revolutionary about the game whatsoever other than its visual quality. Many praise this game for being very difficult but all I see is waves upon waves of enemies which will eventually lead to a death or too until you get the hang of the game. Overall this "adjustment" to difficulty is just poor work on the developers part, but it is one way to get more for less so to speak.

    Multiplayer is fun but again there isn't much to keep you hooked past maybe a weeks worth of playing unless you only buy a new game once every few months. My final verdict puts this game at something a KillZone fan should buy but not at the sixty dollar price tag. Wait till it goes on sale then grab it. Or rent it from Redbox or something.
    Expand
  7. Jan 17, 2016
    0
    Игра по началу радует хорошей графикой и вроде есть какой-то сюжет всё нормально. Но после часа игры когда ты уже понимаешь что это обычныйИгра по началу радует хорошей графикой и вроде есть какой-то сюжет всё нормально. Но после часа игры когда ты уже понимаешь что это обычный шутер со сплошными заимствованиями то уже начинаешь жалеть об утраченных деньгах. Потому что в игре нет абсолютно ничего что могло бы заставить тебя в неё играть всё больше и больше. И игра не проходится на одном дыхании не изо того что она длинная а потому что она нудная, скучная... Анимация и физика в игре хуже чем в killzon 2. Эта игра не заслуживает абсолютно никаких похвал. Сейчас у них получилось выставить это как " показать на что способна ps4" но в следующий раз такое не прокатит. Expand

See all 481 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.