• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 15, 2013
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 851 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    This game is a must buy for people who love games like Mario, Jak, Banjo-Kazooie and Ratchet and clank.

    Gameplay: Solid, simple, responsive and smooth.It has simple and uncomplicated controls to introduce children to console-based gaming. the game is around 10 hours on normal difficulty. You can upgrade Knack’s abilities and sizes.different materials and elements, which supplement
    Knack’s health and size. Example crystal for stealth ability, Ice and wood.

    Graphics: The graphics are gorgeous, pixel art like. Very colorful and vivid scenery. The physics are awesome, Knack's body is composed of individually rendered relics and you can see each piece connecting.

    Multiplayer: 2-Player Coop Multiplayer and i have to says its extremely FUN in coop!

    I gave this game a 10/10 because i like it and im having a blast playing coop with my kid.
    Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    I was sold when I heard Cerny was working on it. He is up there with Miyamoto in the platforming genre. He knows how to make a platformer solid, and Knack is the perfect example. It's a straightforward action-platformer that is as solid as a diamond. I hear a lot of people complaining about graphics. These people are the lowest common denominator. They base their next-gen purchases on how many "graphics" are in the game. IDIOTS! They make me want to puke. Don't they know they can buy a $5,000 PC and never worry about graphics for the nest 10 years. Buying a new console is about about new experiences. Knack is a new IP that utilizes old-school ideals, and it does that better than most games in existence. Solid gameplay and fun all that matters and this game has both in spades. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Beautiful graphics, amazing gameplay, and an interesting story. Knack may not offer anything new to the table, but is that really such a bad thing? This platformer is surprisingly charming out the gate and worthy of recognition in a world filled with dull platformers.
  4. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Knack is a charmer,at first i was skeptical and pessimistic of this game but this game wowed me!!!!!So gr8 for all ages and addictive,buy it u won'st regret it I promise!
  5. Dec 5, 2013
    9
    I have not put another game since I started, Knack reminds me of games of my youth (I'm 41 years old) and as a player I can say that I enjoyed it very much, do not get such low reviews, Knack works, entertains and shows the start of the next-gen fairly. Knack should not be played in very large portions, day to day, and will keep you captivated for long time.

    No he puesto otro juego
    desde que lo comencé, Knack me recuerda juegos de mi juventud (tengo 41 años) y como jugador puedo decir que lo he disfrutado muchísimo, no entiendo los reviews tan bajos, Knack cumple, entretiene y muestra el inicio de la next-gen de manera justa. Knack debe jugarse en porciones no muy grandes, día a día, y te mantendrá cautivado por mucho tiempo. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Fun fun fun! Difficult game that isn't bad to look at! This game combines everything we love about platformers and introduces some lovely visuals and an interesting enough story that is creative as ever. Anyone rating it low simply has not played it or has not given it enough time to grow on them, but for this reviewer it grew on him instantly.
  7. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    Fun platformer. Not overly difficult for young players. Simple mechanics that allow for a low barrier of entry. The story line needs a bit of improvement but my kids don't seem to care. This is their go to game. Difficult setting proves more of a challenge for experienced gamers.
    Visually Knack delivers. Pixar quality animation with a strong, early showing of what the nextgen can do. This
    is just the beginning and as developers have more time to explore the hardware I'm sure we will see some real innovation come about. For now., Knack is a pleasing addition to my game library. Expand
  8. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    This game is a best buy for people who love hard and challenging games i never suspected that such a cartoony game could have such a dark souls feel to it 10/10 must have
  9. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    If you are in any way at all a fan of Ratchet and Clank (R&C) or Jak and Daxter then this is easily a must play. So much fun and very easy to pick up and play. Just like R&C, destroy a few objects and kill a few enemies and move on. The simplicity with beautiful graphics and gameplay that truely is a blast at all levels. The critics have gotten this one wrong as it is definitely a 10/10. Not all games have to require use of every button on the controller with mind numbing hand/eye coordination to be an amazing accomplishment. This is a fine example of that. Expand
  10. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Awesome game, plenty of fun, good clean graphics. If you liked ratchet & clank then you'll love knack. Its not the most action packed game of the year but it fun and the multiplayer mode is great.
  11. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Critics are wrong! Knack is visually beautiful, has an interesting story, and is one of the most difficult platformers I've played and I played Mario back on NES when it first came out. Beautiful, difficult, and intriguing! If you are interested in this game do not listen to critics because I am suspecting they were paid off. Knack may not offer anything new, but it brings a feeling of nostalgia and sandwiches it with a lovely story and amazing graphics. I would not have changed my order if I had the chance. Expand
  12. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    This game is getting unfairly panned by lazy, biased reviewers. It deserves recognition for being good, because it is a quality production with very tight gameplay.
  13. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    Note: I am giving this game a score of 10 in order to offset the downright unnecessary 0's and low scores since the game is NOT bad at all.

    Many people tend to look at these so called "professional" reviewers as the be all, end all when it comes to a game's worth. And I feel that is a bad and downright disgusting attitude to take when it comes to buying games. "I won't buy this game
    because this guy in X website gave it a 2/10!" This isn't even mentioning the fact that a lot of these "reviewers" tend to insert their own biases, whether personal or for the money that companies give them.

    This game is pretty good. My score would be an 8 TBH. Gameplay is damn near solid and responsive. In no way is this a "one button smasher" as many of these moronic reviewers would want you to believe. The game also has a distinct children/Pixar feel and it's not hard to see why. Not that it's a bad thing.

    Give the game a chance once the holiday deals like Black Friday offer the game at a lower price. It's pretty fun.
    Expand
  14. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    I agree with a lot of the positive reviews. This game is not A Last of Us Game of the Year candidate, but it is fun, charming, simple (but difficult) game. It does have a few issues in terms of checkpoints and difficult spikes but otherwise I solid revisit to PSOne style gameplay in HD.
  15. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    I do not know how people still do not realize that this game is to be played with an open mind, to relax and enjoy leave the fps and rpgs and relax, I'm anxious to play with my girlfriend.
    Of course this isn't a 10 or an 9 but one 8 would be perfect and fair!
  16. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    My kids love the game and that's why I bought it. I don't care what the critics think. It's a good game for kids to play instead of adult games. We are all happy with the purchase.
  17. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    Knack is a great game. it is visually stunning. it is an amazing game to play if you have small children. My son and I have enjoyed this game together. he is 4 years old and he loves playing as my co-op player. It is good to see my son enjoying games like I did when I was younger. It brings back memories of me playing Mario with my father and now I get to play with my son. It is nice that Sony thought of the family aspect with the ps4. Not everything has to have blood n gore or be a shooter. Great job Sony Expand
  18. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    I have been having a blast with this game. Played coop with a friend for hours! I don't understand how so many people about for a crash bandicoot game yet, dislike this game. It plays almost exactly like it.
  19. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    This game is a must buy for people who love games like Mario, Jak, Banjo-Kazooie and Ratchet and clank.
    Knack is a charmer,at first i was skeptical and pessimistic of this game but this game wowed me!!!!!So gr8 for all ages and addictive,buy it u won'st regret it I promise!
  20. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    This is a great platformer and i have been enjoying it thoroughly! Bigger reviewing companies cant really be trusted anymore or at least everyone but Gameinformer so far. I thought it looked cool from when i first saw it but i wasn't sold yet, then i saw some more gameplay and got excited for it. Then i heard from the bigger companies that it was worth a 5 and got worried but picked it up anyways. I am extremely happy i did because this game fulfilled my platformer crave! This is coming from a person who has been a big fan of platformers forever and if you are too, i would highly suggest picking it up despite what these Critics have to say. I would say that the game has some classic Crash Bandicoot elements to it along with a Ratchet and Clank type of art style and a lot of small features from great games like Jak and Daxter, Sly Cooper, etc. If you are a fan of any of those games, you will definitely enjoy Knack. Its unfortunate that these Big Critics are giving a bad name to good platformers because i really would like to see the return of quality platformers like this and i would hate to hear that this did not get a sequel because of the critics reviews. I especially enjoy the amount of collectibles spread throughout the game. The story was not as childish as i was expecting and i thought that it was decent at making it a title for anyone to play. The graphics were very pretty and definitely next gen looking despite what the critics think and reminded me of the Ratchet and Clank art style and some Precursor Legacy styled jungles.The gameplay was very fun and very challenging, and all great platformers have to be challenging (Jak II) My overall thoughts on the game were that it was an amazing fun packed adventure that will last you a while and i hope to see more even though i have yet to 100% it. If you like platformers this is definitely a title you wont want to miss out on! Expand
  21. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    Its amazing how jaded and FPS obsessed that modern gaming culture has become. Don't listen to the equally dysfuctional gaming press that feel that the only enjoyment in games is a cross-hair, followed by exploding heads and bodies in their sad fantasies as war heroes. Did the gaming press actually put the game into the hands of a child, perhaps those impressions would have eased their toxic indulged arrogance as so called gaming pros. It disgusts me how with violent invasive parodies on our culture like GTA5 is so loved, and yet gaming innocence has died. If given patience and gaming skill, Knack is a wonderfull throwback to when games could be simple in gaming mechanics and yet provide fun enjoyment to families and children.What Crash and Spiro had better stories and more involved combat Dont listen to them Mark, I have your back with Knack. Expand
  22. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    Oh my God! This is the best game ever created! 10 out of 10! Marc Cerny Jesus! Crash Bandicoot has been reborn !!!
    Don't trust stupid no life billyblyads from GameMag this game is the real deal!
  23. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    Ótimo jogo, nada a reclamar. As plataformas são bem intuitivas e dinâmica, inimigos divertidos e enredo interessante. Sem falar que a dificuldade realmente atraente nesse jogo.
  24. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    This game have the power to take me to my childhood, buy this game play this game and love it, Playstatin 4 born whit the next Crash and is name is Knack
  25. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    I only gave it a 10 to counteract the unreasonably low scores. This is a great game and deserves at least a 7 rating. It's not very diverse but that isn't necessarily a bad thing. The simplicity of the game makes it an easy one to just pick up and go. I can see myself re-visiting the game over and over again for a bit of fun. Not for the hardcore gamer but great for the causal gamer like myself.
  26. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    Lo mejor de este juego es que el primer recuerdo que vino a mi mente mientras jugaba fue Crash Bandicoot.

    + Buenas Graficas

    + Buena Jugabilidad

    + Buena IA

    + Cooperativo Divertido

    - Algo repetitivo
  27. Dec 10, 2013
    9
    Knack really surprised me this is a really fun and addictive game. The moment I started playing knack I was completely hooked this is really an incredible game. Why knack got so many mixed reviews is beyond me. Knack is a fun and adorable gaming experience
  28. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    If almost didn't get Knack because of the critic reviews, but once again I'm glad I ignore their opinions. Knack has its faults, but as a 3D platformer that pays homage to old school 3D titles, I have to admit, this is a game that's perfect for my son and I.
  29. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    Game of the year.............................................................................................................................................................
  30. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    My word this game is being underscored. Regardless this game has been quite quite fun! Combat is smooth and the plot is the arcade style "here's a job, people are in danger, go" style, but it's really the kind of game where you're just supposed to be able to pick it up and play, and it does that. There are three special moves, a combo attack, and double jump, all you need. I do sometimes get the impression some of the enemies are, too similar, but the game does stay challenging. By the end of most levels you end up being massive and way OP, but the larger you get, the tougher the enemies you'll fight get, so it's really just satisfying to be so huge, and the game doesn't end there. You'll likely be small again soon because you had to give up you're size so you could travel, but it's never sad, just time to start again and fight again! Defiantly give this game a chance. It's not supposed to be challenging, just fun. Relax, kick back, and glory at you're destructive potential. Expand
  31. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    This game is great, it delivers on what it intends to bring to us. Find myself wanting to play it constantly! Simple control scheme is easy to pick up, but not easy to master. You will die, but they put in plenty of checkpoints so you don't lose too much progress. Must have for platforming fans, or fans of old school gaming. Not disappointed in my purchase
  32. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Knack is a charming game that takes you back to a simpler time in gameing. In a time period when photo-realistic styled games with more accessories than neccissary, muddy stories and overproduction rule the world; Knack becomes a breath of fresh air with its simple structure. Knack is a game for those who prefer quality more than quantity. Its nostalgic and fun. Knack shows us that their is more to the PS4 than just shooters. This is the greatest that no one likes. Expand
  33. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    This is a really fun game if you grew up in the PS2/N64/PS1 Era and really love 3D platformers. Don't just go by the critic reviews it is very under rated! It is really fun and reminds me a lot of crash. If you can and you love 3D platformers of years past this will be a great game for you! My score would be about a 8.5-8.7 so i rounded up to a 9. Hope for another knack or something like it!
  34. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Knack is simply my most played game on my PS4 right now. This game is not supposed to be forcibly played in bulk sessions, but in more bit-sized, easy to chew chunks. If not, this game can become overly frustrating and too challenging. There isn't much to the story, but at any point was I expecting a The Last of Us, Heavy Rain, or Uncharted type narrative? No. I wanted a game, a game to take me back to the times of Crash Bandicoot and this does exactly that. If you enjoy games then this is definitely worth checking out. This game has proven to me just how wrong reviewers can truly be. Thank you for reading! Expand
  35. Nov 21, 2013
    9
    This is fricking GOOD game MUST HAVE for truly Playstation fans anyone who say this game s*ck maybe you need to check your eyes this game like Playstation 1 LEGEND Crash Bandicoot!
  36. Nov 21, 2013
    9
    Knack is your typical launch game with a twist. The goal here was to have a game which can show off the technical prowess of the PS4 but also give a game that is easily played by the entire family. In most ways they have succeeded as Knack is a blast to play solo and co-op. Most people complain the game is a bore, which may be the case if played on the lower difficulties. If you are an experienced gamer, the only difficulty choice should be Hard. This game is then challenging and the enemy variety keeps you on your toes throughout the 10 hour campaign mode.

    Playing co-op brings a lot of fun to the living room and this is made even more enjoyable if you have a PS Vita in the home as well. Using the Vita you can have off screen co-op play, allowing each user to have their own personal screen. This has been a great way for my son and I to play this game together.

    Another great feature which is not getting enough talk is the ability to search for treasures in the game which can be made into items to help Knack along in his journey. While this would be normal on any other system, the PS4 allows a level of social integration in that you will see items picked up by friends playing the game as well. You can then chose to take the item you found, or the item your friend found.

    All in all Knack is a wonderful game that plays on that retro platforming charm, allows for a great co-op experience, and introduces a few new tricks to a tired and true genre. This game is well worth picking up for your PS4 regardless of what the professional reviewers say.
    Expand
  37. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    This game is beautiful, simple but gorgeous.
    I really enjoyed playing with this pack of particle that is knack.
    Even if it can be hard from times to times, it's a well rewarded challenge.
  38. Dec 3, 2013
    9
    In spite of mixed reviews, I can recommend this game as a platformer with some great ideas but without a steep learning curve. The game is manageable on Normal difficulty but requires an occasional change in strategy to match different enemies. Just the right level of difficulty versus flow for anyone but the most skillful platform gamers. Knack is a likable character and the particle effects around his body are amazing, the only proof of "next generation" in here with cut scenes being mostly "last generation" stuff. As a family game it is great, my kids enjoy playing as a side-kick or just watching and cheering. A lot of fun for a "casual platform gamer". Next I will use my unlocked skills and attempt a hard playthrough. Expand
  39. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    This game is incredible and fun. I give game play a 10, it's easy and fun. Simple for kids to play but challenge enough for adults. Graphics is also a 10. Story is great and will keep you there. The only down fall I give this game is that at times it get repetitive. But this game is worth every penny and it's fu
  40. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    Here we sit on the edge of our seats in 2013, the PS4 finally in some of our hands.
    And one of the greatest games of the time is being attacked for not being a copy paste cut-out of another shooter.

    This game although with few exceptions was amazing. It is on par with Mario and Crash Bandicoot(ps1 days). It is well worth the money, and although recommended you should play it on hard
    you will not be disappointed if you actually like games and not mindless violence.

    All I ask is that Sony realize they have something special here no matter the critics, and not to let go of this one has they did with Crash and Spyro.

    My true rating of this game comes in at a speedy 9.8/10
    Expand
  41. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    This is an amazing game.
    Knack is a very well designed, easy to learn combat based platformer, it has great graphics and is fluent throughout. Knack is best when played on the hard difficulty because if you play on easy, knack becomes too easy and becomes boring very quickly; knack is challenging and great fun.

    I would recommend knack to anybody that likes platformers like Crash
    Bandicoot and anyone who wants a fun experience on their PS4. Expand
  42. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    This is my first review on Metacritic mainly because I disagree with the 'expert' reviews. Knack is a classic platformer in the vain of Jak and Daxter, Rachet and Clank etc, but on a much larger and prettier scale. The story is good and I feel like I want to complete it. You can keep your endless (boring) online fighters, something with a story and reason to get to the end always wins out. The graphics are supposed to be 'cartoonish' but they are amazing, Shrek etc would be embarrassed to be sat next next to clank!
    This is not an easy game to get through, you will die hundreds of times, but the start points are not long and therefore you never feel really frustrated.
    Played today with my 16 year old daughter as robo-Knack on the PS Vita as Remote play. It made the game easier for her and good for both of us.
    Another couple of late nights over this Christmas and New Year look to be on the books for me.
    Expand
  43. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    Having a blast with Knack. It is much like Crash Bandicoot and Spyro. 10 for the fun factor. It's actually refreshing with a fun and new IP instead of blood, zombies or old franchises.

    Fantastic in Co-op. Great length. Replayable....

    Looking forward to Knack 2.
  44. Mar 24, 2014
    9
    I got this game through gamefly, second week of having my ps4 in December, i played the demo before the ps4 came out. Still to this day i dont understand the hate on this game, the graphics are nice, the game is fun, great story , totally original. i would definitely play this game again, very difficult wasnt something you pick up and beat with one life lol. i didnt give this game a perfect 10 only for the fact that i wouldn't pay $60+ for it, i like games like ac, kill zone, nba 2k, madden, infamous, etc but for half the retail price to switch things up this is a must have to own. i REALLY liked it. Expand
  45. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    Needs to be played in smaller stints and on higher difficulty levels to be truly appreciated. Responsive fighting mechanics with an emphasis on memorizing, adjusting to, and mastering the patterns of each enemy type (and level-specific characteristics). It's exhausting when played in one sitting and boring when played on anything below "hard" difficulty setting (which is probably why most reviews just don't seem to "get" this game).

    When approached as recommended above, this game is best described as a cross-over between Ratchet&Clank (style), God of War (brawling), and Ninja Gaiden (arduousness).

    Level design could be more open, gameplay could be more diverse, and Knack as central character should incorporate RPG elements that allow you to develop parts of his skills according to your personal playstyle. In general, there could be more CHOICE in how to play the game.

    Story-wise, it would have been nice to see more character development in Knack. For instance, the underlying story in Knack basically bears many high-concept similarities to the story of Pinocchio, but sadly doesn't incorporate any of the deeper philosophical questions raised in that latter story (creator-creation-complex; An artificial creation aiming to become a "real person"? Can Knack develop a "free will"? How does he feel given he's basically just "used" as a fighting machine all the time? What is it that actually sets him apart from all those other fighting robots in the game? What's his "core" and "purpose"?) a lot of unused potential for a way deeper and more meaningful story right there.

    Nevertheless, Knack is still a good and fun game that "works" at its core (even though it could be refined in many ways some of which I hinted at further above); plus coop is fun and arena mode/time trials (unlocked after the first play-through) will keep you busy for a long time. Really hoping for a sequel.

    8.5
    Expand
  46. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    I am thinking I played a different game than what was reviewed here. I really enjoyed it all the way through the end. Sure is can get repetitive, but it is fun. The characters are likable, the worlds are bright and looking for secrets adds some time. It has tight controls and a good camera as well. I will be playing through again with my new powers to get a different experience. I don't know what the low reviewers were expecting because it delivered exactly what was described for the game summary. Ignore them and try it. 10 Expand
  47. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    I picked this game up because it was on sale over the holidays, and honestly I am quite surprised. the combat is simple, as you only use three buttons, but there is still a decent amount of challenge here in timing your dodges, jumps, and attacks accordingly. If your not careful you will get your butt kicked in places. I have been having a blast playing it so far and my son even picks up the controller and plays the other knack like character co-op with me and is having a good time with it as well. I could see it not being for some people, but I think that the majority of people will have a good time with it. Expand
  48. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Cool game! love to play it with the kids. they enjoy it very much because it's not very hard to learn.

    if you dont like any of the other release games this one should offer you some fun for a while.
  49. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    Knack is getting hit very hard by critics, and I'm still not sure why. It is a very solid platforming game, very family friendly and admirably simple. There are about 3 different buttons needed to play this game, and I for one love the old school simplicity. The gameplay itself is somewhat repetitive, but it's engaging and satisfyingly challenging. Lots of people are saying that this game doesn't look all that great....and I'm not sure they're playing the same game as me at all. It practically looks like a Pixar movie gone video game (which to me is a good thing). Overall, I'm glad I ignored the critics and gave Knack a chance, it'll be one for me to go back to throughout the years. Expand
  50. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    Knack is really really good. The mechanics are well done. The graphics are amazing. And it also happens to be the best button masher out there. Buying a ps4- anyone should buy this game. The haters are hatin. WHY THE HATE! Well, must buy and play- one of the best mashers out there.
  51. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    Fun and addictive. I would certainly continue with more playthroughs. Looks casual but its pretty hardcore. Actually i would give it a 7.5 but i am rating with a 10 to balance the troll ratings.
  52. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    Obviously the reviews had no idea what they were doing when they got this game. What did you guys expect this game to be? A full blown action/adventure game with blood, guts, and sex? No.
    The game is made for the younger audience who play games like this. It's a family game. So far, my little siblings are enjoying the game a lot. If you enjoy family games, then you'll like this game.
  53. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    AN EXCELLENT GAME! THE MOST UNFAIRLY REVIEWED GAME I'VE EVER SEEN! First off this is a typical Japan Studios game in the same ilk and quality as Puppeteer and Gravity Rush. Visually the game is beautiful with rich colors, shiny textures, and great particle effects, Knack looks good and absolutely shows off the robust powers of the PS4. Knack controls fluidly in combat and while dodging with a solid framerate and it is in my experience completely glitch free. I typically prefer adult style games, but Knack for me was a breath of fresh air and a nice diversion from the GoW's, GTA's, and MGS's. Compared to the aforementioned games Knack was just less stressful and more endearing while still maintaining a proper difficulty and an entertaining story and though it's been said before it still rings true, "Knack is like playing through a Pixar movie". The combat is simple but clean and depending on your size and physical makeup Knack's abilities and powers change accordingly which keeps the action fresh. Throughout the story you will change into a multitude of different versions of Knack such as wood Knack, ice Knack, metal Knack and more and each iteration of Knack has their own perks such as wood Knack being able to catch fire bringing down a reign of flames and burning embers on your enemies. During the game you will find hidden chests with "loot" in them, this loot consists of mainly gadget parts used to create gadgets that slow down time, increase damage as your combo gets higher, find hidden areas and much more. The loot also consists of crystals and if you acquire the requisite amount (10-20) you can turn into a different looking knack with different abilities i.e. Sunstone Knack has stronger super moves, brittle Knack has a powerful melee attack, Vampire Knack, Diamond Knack ect. If you have people on your friends list who have also played Knack and have previously opened the chest that you just opened it allows you to take the item you find or choose one of the items any of your friends found at that same chest. This intuitive loot/friend system helps you achieve your desired knack/gadget and adds incredible replay value and fun. You can also play Knack in co-op or local co-op which is alot of fun. When you break it down Knack doesn't do a whole lot to innovate or surprise, but as a whole it is a light, fun, and well executed game with tight controls, polished graphics, and an addictive loot well thought out loot system. For some reason in the industry it became the "cool" thing to bash Knack, even i bad mouthed the game and was reluctant to buy it and only bought it with the intentions to return it within a week and get my money back, but after seeing how great the game was i kept it and still own it with the intention of platinuming it. Knack is old school combat and platforming in a beautiful next gen package, it is better than you think and overall a feel good game. I rate Knack an 8/10 but due to its unfair scores i rated it a ten to pull up the average. Expand
  54. Nov 21, 2013
    9
    If you're a fan of old school platformers like Jak and Daxter and Ratchet and Clank (apparently the professionally paid critics are not) then you'll find a lot to love in this game. Honestly it's my favourite of the actual next gen launch titles. The story isn't overly complex but the characters have a certain charm to them. The difficulty spikes suddenly at times but the checkpoints are usually fairly forgiving. If you persevere and know how to learn from your mistakes you'll often find yourself completing an area completely uninjured where you had originally died a half dozen times before. And you know what? That feels good.

    Not every game has to be a shooter to be good. Knack is an old school platformer with impressive graphics. They aren't next gen by any means but they're definitely not last gen either.
    Expand
  55. Feb 26, 2014
    9
    Knack is not the typical 'next-gen' game, but it's definitely an awesome game. The graphics and gameplay may look somewhat outdated, but believe me; they aren't!!!

    The graphics may not look spectacular, but when you see this game in action, it's clear that this is truly a next-gen game. The details are crisp, and the particle effect that the PS4 is so famous for makes this game
    extraordinarily beautiful!

    The gameplay is typical for an action-platformer, and you quickly get familiar with it. Yet, you don't ever feel tired of the game, because of the challenge that this game poses. The game is actually quite hard sometimes and that is why it gets 9 and not 10! However, I was genuinely entertained, and I would recommend this game to anyone interested in a good old-fashioned platforming game.
    Expand
  56. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    According to my 8 year old son, Knack is awesome because one of your friends is evil and you don't know who and you're trying to figure it out. Knack, the robot, is really useful. He's made of relics so he can get more powerful when you find more. The graphics are cool and I like that you don't have to keep switching to different characters to do stuff like in the Lego games. So it's a really cool game. Plus, you get to be giant. Expand
  57. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    I don't understand why this game got a bad review. The game gets better and better as you play. I can see how some people might be turned off by the challenging difficulty, but that's what makes the game fun. Every person I know who bought this game, loves it. Deserves more recognition.
  58. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    So much hate on this wonderful game. Knack is an awesome experience on the PS4. The pixar quality cut scenes are incredible to watch. The in game textures of rock, metal, ice, glass, etc are total next generation for the PS4.

    The controls are tight and responsive and the difficulty can be anywhere from easy to very hard. There is plenty to collect and offers a high replay value.

    the
    scale of Knack from small to large is absolutely a must experience. Also there is a wide array of enemies to battle and some light platforming mixed in.

    Don't listen to the professional reviews because this isn't a FPS with dirty real graphic doesn't mean it's a bad game. Shame on them.
    Expand
  59. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    This is definitely one of the best games I played though the beginning is somewhat slow the rest of the game is fun and challenging. Reminds me of the time crash and jak and daxter and I think they have achieved their purpose of reminding those classics.
  60. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    The reviews for this game have not been good, but i decided to buy the game anyway. This game is awesome, i really love it, its actually fun. i am really confused at the reviews since i actually enjoy the game, im 21 years old and playing Knack gives me a feeling of Nostalgia, it reminds me of when i used to play games like Crash Bandicoot in the old days. If you like Crash Bandicoot, Spyro the Dragon, Jak and Daxter, Ratchet and Clank. Then you will really enjoy this game. Expand
  61. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    Not sure how they could have made this game better. It is the best platformer i may have ever played. It is rewarding and beautiful. It has movie cut scenes throughout and develops the plot and characters on a level I've never seen in a platformer. The characters have complex feelings and emotions unlike other previous platforms. It's really what I've waited for my whole life it seems, from the day i first played super mario bros. I hope sequels will come. Bravo. Expand
  62. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    Only complaint I have is that the graphics/animation could have been more robust. This IS next gen after all. Cut scenes looked no better than other platformers.

    However, the particle systems are out of this world. It animates flawlessly considering, that when Knack is at full size, he is wielding thousands of tiny (individually rendered) relics.

    Game play is fun. Quite linear, but
    fun none-the-less. Sometimes I enjoy a good linear storyline. Especially when I get to smash things. Expand
  63. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    I was looking forward to this a lot. When the reviews came out, i decided that it couldn't be any good. Having been repeatedly hassled by the kids, I gave in and bought it anyway.

    Very glad I did yes it can get a bit repetitive after a few hours but it's still great fun, looks beautiful, and is a pleasure for all the family (not many games you can say that about at this stage in the
    PS4's lifetime).

    Shocked by the 55 metacritic score I've given it a 10 to try and help balance out the low review scores in reality it's a 7-7.5 game I'd say.
    Expand
  64. Dec 4, 2013
    9
    The general panning this has received in the mainstream media has left this platforming game fan perplexed. No, it isn't perfect. But the faults are minor and fixable in (hopefully) a sequel. Anyone who misses the likes of Banjo-Kazooie, Jak and Daxter, Crash etc will find a lot to enjoy here. The gameplay is tight, the levels colourful, varied and fun to traverse and characters are likeable enough for a new IP. In fact I truly enjoyed this more than any of the other PS4 launch titles. It may not be the most graphically capable game to show off the new system but the much-missed platforming gameplay more than makes up for this.

    I hope a sequel is in the works as this leaves a lot of questions unanswered and sows a lot of story seeds that are yet to grow. Don't let the largely negative reaction stop you playing what is sure to become, at the very least, a solid cult classic.
    Expand
  65. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    If you like old school platformers such as Crash Bandicoot you will love this game. The knack is harder than the graphical presentation would have you believe and think some users would find it too frustrating. Also admire the game as it seems it is the only PS4 game not to have required patching after release! Definitely a better game than the supposed professional reviews would have you believe.
  66. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    od wczoraj gram i jak na razie po 2 etapach jest super! daje jej dobre 75%, grafika ok, choć nie jest to moc ps4, jedynie poziom trudności mógł by być łatwiejszy,
  67. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    With the ps4 now out and Christmas is coming up, I decided to buy Knack for myself. I wasn't expecting much from it, just your average platformer, but I was wrong. It was so much more, and every playing moment was fun. The story is that goblins have attacked the humans cities, and a group of people get together to stop the threat. A doctor, volunteers his latest creation, Knack, into the battle. Knack, who is created with Ancient Relics, can use them to hit opponents, or smash through sunstones and use them to create super moves. Your health bar relies on how many relics you have. You will also encounter different forms for knack such as the ice knack, who has another bar of health. The story and the characters are loveable and the gameplay is fluent. If you get your child, or even yourself a game for Christmas, I'd advise you to get this one Expand
  68. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    I don't know way much people dislike this funny game. I have lot a funn playing Knack. Some moments are very hard some very easy and sometime i don't like checkoints but you remember consoles when don;t can save you game? Return to the past :-)

    Very positive is co op mode can you play on DS4 or PS Vita (using as controller). If you have children you be have lot a fun playing this game
    with your child. Expand
  69. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    I was worried about this game after all the bad reviews, but it is super fun. Very good story line and appropriate for kids. Because it was reported as "too hard" we started co-op on easy, and the difficulty has been quite doable. Some places are hard, but overall it is super fun. Highly recommended as the best family launch game for the PS4. Not sure why the reviewers hated it so much (we have PS4, WiiU, and XB1, not a fanboy of any of them). Overall, highly recommended. Expand
  70. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    This game does not deserve some of the low scores it has received. No, its not a game with choices to do whatever you want. What it does do is give you a whole lot of simple beautiful fun. I bought this game knowing all the bad reviews it got and I'm very happy I didn't listen to the critics. I think some of the low scores may have been people playing on lower difficulty where I assume it was just a easy grind. I suggest playing on Hard. You will die alot but I found it much more fun and rewarding when you finally get a handle on how to beat'm up. Knack constantly throws new types of enemies at you requiring you to constantly change your approach to the challenge. If your looking for a simple gorgeous game with a bit of a challenge, Knack will have you coming back again and again. Expand
  71. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    I'll keep this brief I picked up this game for my daughter. Decided to try it myself, and I went back and go her something else. This game is beautiful, creative and TONS of fun. The main Character 'Knack' is humors at times.. come to think about it.. I am equally impressed with the story line. It reminds me of a mix between Nintendo's Mario, Ratchet and Clank and Skylanders. It is a ton of fun..Replay value is crazy high. Good purchase.. highly recommend Expand
  72. Apr 25, 2014
    9
    I don't know why this game has such a low metascore? I was reluctant to pick it up due to the ratings on here but when I started playing it a few days ago I was actually very suprised. Graphically its very good, i especially like the way ice melts in the sun, you can see the developers have properly thought things through and I also like how every level is different. Different enemies, different environments and different hidden locations. Don't get me wrong, this isn't the best I've played on the PS4 (Infamous SS), but for an adventure game I thoroughly enjoyed it and it has 2 player co-op so you and your friend can play together and its a very good laugh! Would definitely recommend, especially as there are not many games available for the PS4 just yet! Expand
  73. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    People seem to love or hate this game, and it all depends on expectations. This is hard core, old school platform game. I've been following it for some time and it was never hyped by creators as something special - they literally said it's a game old school gamers can now enjoy with their kids - show them what they used to play as youngsters.
    That said, it's one of only games that
    supports cooperative play with 2 players sharing one screen which not only works great but it eases the game and of course adds more fun.

    I've always liked Jak and Daxter over Ratchet and Clank but have played trough all of them nevertheless. And even though the concept is different (fixed camera angle, timing based gaming vs. gadget shoot 'em up, etc.) I liked Knack more than any Ratchet and Clank I've played.

    Both, story and game-play are simple, but warm and fast at the same time. This means story functions great as a tale - it's mostly game made for younger population anyway. As for movement and fighting - you basically use only one key for combos but that is beauty of it since it puts you right in the game and will test your reflexes every time. You will have to learn behavior of every enemy and move fast around them using dash - so to avoid taking damage while inflicting it moments after. Simple yet challenging.

    If you love old school arcade games and enjoy 2 player co-op, Knack is highly recommended title for your games library.
    Expand
  74. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    A charming game. Like an interactive cartoon. Good for kids. You pass obstacles, fight robots. There's a story line. Not violent. Perfect for family, for kids.
  75. Feb 26, 2014
    9
    A lot of bad reviews have been coming Knack’s way, a lot of people claiming that the relic wielding creature is Sony trying to force a mascot on to its next gen console, while this is what others have interpreted, the entertainment giant have never confirmed this or used Knack as a promo for the PS4. So let’s put that silliness aside and move on to the review. . .

    Knack is well hard to
    describe to be honest, he is at his core a collection of relics who can collect relics to make himself bigger, and also use elements like ice, fire and metal from the world around him to defeat the race of invading goblins. intent on taking over the planet.

    The game is set out like a platformer and reminded me of a mix between Crash Bandicoot and Ratch & Clank, with a little splash of Skylanders feel thrown in for good measure, this does result in the game not looking too original, and rather a collage to previous Playstation franchises.

    Fortunately it is not all bad, players are taken on a journey with Knack himself, learning of his origins, discovering his powers as he does and it really makes this character tangible. As the game progressed and forgettable side characters came and went, the attachment to Knack as a character grows, and by the end of the game you really understand him and want to see him continue.

    Speaking of the other characters there is a doctor named George, a young boy called Lucas, often these two end up in the same room together and people call out “George Lucas”while praying that Jar Jar Binks would not appear on screen, it is one of the more amusing parts of the game. There is a side story about a wife who was meant to be dead but is actually alive. It is told with such nonchalance it is laughable, but fortunately Knack is full of witty one liners it helps make the ridiculousness of the story somewhat entertaining.

    Graphically the game is here to showcase just what next gen can do when it’s not a shooter or car game. While it is CGI style cartoon, it is crystal clear and with beautifully rendered scenery it really is a promising start for Playstation 4…visually…

    This is a different story when it comes to the gameplay, the game forces you to go into certain areas, blocking off certain areas and switching camera angles that make the game frustrating to play at times. There were so many times that I had to do calculated moves and time things correctly but I couldn’t because the camera would suddenly shift to the side in front of a building blocking my view. This happened on several occasions and drove me absolutely crazy.

    Controlling Knack is easy enough, it is the usual X for jump, circle to attack, the touch pad is not used in this game. The controls are sharp and fluid, and Knack is easy enough to navigate with. That being said often in battle Knack can be slow, especially when at his biggest and is vulnerable to attacks from even the smallest of goblins.

    This is exactly what Sony had to do to get that competitor edge by making a so so platformer that gives gamers something different to play. This was the first game I played on the Playstation 4 and I thoroughly enjoyed it, sure it was not the next Crash Bandicoot or Uncharted, but it is a fine platformer than younger gamers will get a lot of fun out of. If Knack does get another installment, perhaps just sticking to one plot line for the duration of the game will see more positive reviews and sales.

    Knack is the perfect investment for gamers aged 10 – 17 and is a great choice for younger games on the Playstation 4.

    Review by Alaisdair Dewar
    Expand
  76. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    This game is a must buy for people who love games like Mario, Jak, Banjo-Kazooie and Ratchet and clank.
    Knack isn't a bad combat platformer, it's just mediocre. It's a kind of God of War for casual players and the fighting works actually quite well. Some boring factory levels should have been cut, though.
  77. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    Still hoping for Knack.
    but it doesnt meet the metacritic of 7.0 or higher.
    Maybe we should all vote it up so we can get it on plus ?

    VOTE IT UP FOR PS PLUS ! GO GO !!
  78. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Always loved platformers and i love this one! What do the critics expect from a platform game for god sake! dont listen to the critic score by this game!
  79. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    Gave it a 9/10 as it was very fun and enjoyable but at times the fps suffered a little making it a bit annoying at times. The story at times seems a bit undeveloped so maybe Sony may create sequels to explain. Graphics looked alright for a platformer and for age group of 6-12. The camera is very annoying and I think they should have included an option to control it.
    Recommend to anyone
    who may have used to play Mario, Spyro, Crash Bandicoot, Ratchet & Clank or even LittleBigPlanet. Expand
  80. Apr 6, 2014
    9
    This game is criminally underrated. There is really only one small problem I have with the game, and that's with 100% completing it but that's not really all that relevant.

    The story is great, and, when put up against games like Jak and Daxter, Crash Bandicoot, Ratchet and Clank, etc., this really should not have been a concern for people. It's the gameplay and the main character that
    matters in these games.

    The graphics are incredible, and the art style is perfect for the game's atmosphere. It is both cartoony and intricate, which really fits the gameplay and the story. The music is decent.

    But what really matters is the gameplay. For anyone that says the game is too hard, most people could beat this game blindfolded on easy mode. I'm not kidding. If that's too much for you, you shouldn't be gaming. The controls are SOLID. Knack feels like an extension of your thumbs. Controls are very simple and easy to get the hang of, and combat is incredibly satisfying. The platforming is also great for this kind of game. Checkpoints are frequent, although imbalanced, enemy types are varied and interesting, and bosses are lots of fun. When you get big at the end of a chapter, you feel incredibly powerful, more-so than most games can offer. Co-op is also surprisingly in depth and very fun. Your ally plays a sort of quick healer role, being able to mash triangle to give you some of his health, while you play the role of the glass cannon, or the powerhouse, dishing out and taking the most damage.

    All in all, this game deserved none of the hate that it was met with, and deserves so much more love. It should definitely become a playstation classic, and hopefully there will be a Knack 2 that is met with the love that this one deserved and more.

    (For anyone that cared, the frustrating problem I have with 100% completing the game is that you need to replay the game over and over and over again to try and get lucky at collecting 10 diamonds in order to play as diamond knack, and get all of the trophies in the game. I was finally able to overcome it after probably about 5 play throughs, though, and it remained fun to play throughout. What was great about it is that you can skip any and all cutscenes in the game, and it will drop you into the next level IMMEDIATELY with no loading time at all.)
    Expand
  81. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    The only thing i would say is: Knack deserved a sequael and another chance, sadly is an unrrestrained game but with much potential!! is like play some movie of pixar i hope they bring a new chapter..
  82. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    Great game! My bf and I had played it and it's really fun to watch and to play. I dont get that it got such a low score! I like games like mario but i am also like games like battlefield, the last of us, tomb raider etc. So i suggest people to try it and then make their own opinion.
  83. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    the best game ever the graphics are outstanding for next gen and those **** pcs cannot even hold a candle to it and you can finally do co op. A feature that has never been seen like this before simply go out and buy this game straight away or you will commit suicide because this game is so amazingly above any other game in quality graphics game play and just everything
  84. Aug 26, 2014
    10
    Its a great game, but you just have to give it a shot.
    Sure its not worth 60 eur / dollar, but when you can pick it up for +-20.. just do it! Its fun to play.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 83
  2. Negative: 28 out of 83
  1. Feb 13, 2014
    75
    Knack isn't a bad combat platformer, it's just mediocre. It's a kind of God of War for casual players and the fighting works actually quite well. Some boring factory levels should have been cut, though. [Jan 2014]
  2. Jan 26, 2014
    40
    I have absolutely no idea what caused Knack to be the kind of game that is, because it just doesn't make any sense. Whether it's the case of being a a vanity project that went unchecked or just another could-have-been that lost its way while rushing to meet the PS4's launch date, the bottom line is that it's a misguided title too simple for adults and too difficult for children.
  3. Jan 10, 2014
    25
    An awfully boring, repetitive and uninspired game that does absolutely nothing to show PS4’s capabilities but a lot to ruin your day. [01/2014, p.66]