• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 851 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Knack is an action game for the PlayStation 4 announced by lead system architect Mark Cerny at the PlayStation Meeting. Players take control of a robot named Knack who is created to help neutralize the goblin threat that has taken over the peaceful land.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 83
  2. Negative: 28 out of 83
  1. Dec 4, 2013
    85
    Problems aside, I still had a lot of fun playing the game. If you love Ratchet & Clank or the early Jak & Daxter games you will feel right at home here.
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    70
    Though it fails to live up to the promise of its biggest ideas, Knack is a good game, a solid a challenging old-school adventure for gamers young and old.
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    66
    In spite of its family-friendly aesthetics and its co-op option, Knack ended up being more repetitive and unsatisfactory than we expected from one of PS4's big release titles.
  4. Nov 27, 2013
    55
    Generic level design, a world without magic, technically weak: This is an exclusive disappointment for the new system.
  5. Nov 14, 2013
    50
    The story is also a convoluted mess, going on for much too long. Even worse, its reliance on deus ex machinas is almost comical. The emotional manipulation that Cerny attempts through the story is a bit too brute-forced.
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    40
    As a launch title for a new console Knack will probably not satisfy anyone. It’s not a total disaster but it’s a bad uninspired game, lacking both variety and interesting game design.
  7. Jan 10, 2014
    25
    An awfully boring, repetitive and uninspired game that does absolutely nothing to show PS4’s capabilities but a lot to ruin your day. [01/2014, p.66]

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 212
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    This game is a must buy for people who love games like Mario, Jak, Banjo-Kazooie and Ratchet and clank.

    Gameplay: Solid, simple, responsive
    and smooth.It has simple and uncomplicated controls to introduce children to console-based gaming. the game is around 10 hours on normal difficulty. You can upgrade Knack’s abilities and sizes.different materials and elements, which supplement Knack’s health and size. Example crystal for stealth ability, Ice and wood.

    Graphics: The graphics are gorgeous, pixel art like. Very colorful and vivid scenery. The physics are awesome, Knack's body is composed of individually rendered relics and you can see each piece connecting.

    Multiplayer: 2-Player Coop Multiplayer and i have to says its extremely FUN in coop!

    I gave this game a 10/10 because i like it and im having a blast playing coop with my kid.
    Collapse
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Knack is simply my most played game on my PS4 right now. This game is not supposed to be forcibly played in bulk sessions, but in more bit-sized, easy to chew chunks. If not, this game can become overly frustrating and too challenging. There isn't much to the story, but at any point was I expecting a The Last of Us, Heavy Rain, or Uncharted type narrative? No. I wanted a game, a game to take me back to the times of Crash Bandicoot and this does exactly that. If you enjoy games then this is definitely worth checking out. This game has proven to me just how wrong reviewers can truly be. Thank you for reading! Expand
  3. Dec 5, 2013
    9
    I have not put another game since I started, Knack reminds me of games of my youth (I'm 41 years old) and as a player I can say that I enjoyed it very much, do not get such low reviews, Knack works, entertains and shows the start of the next-gen fairly. Knack should not be played in very large portions, day to day, and will keep you captivated for long time.

    No he puesto otro juego desde que lo comencé, Knack me recuerda juegos de mi juventud (tengo 41 años) y como jugador puedo decir que lo he disfrutado muchísimo, no entiendo los reviews tan bajos, Knack cumple, entretiene y muestra el inicio de la next-gen de manera justa. Knack debe jugarse en porciones no muy grandes, día a día, y te mantendrá cautivado por mucho tiempo.
    Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    I'm going to keep this short: The game is fun and the critics are full of Now, I have to have 150 characters for a review so i'm just going to keep
  5. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    For a launch game and for a every day game Knack is not that bad. It may not of hit a lot of people radars if it was not a launch game for the ps4, but as a launch game for the ps4 this game was the first announced and for some it had weight on it's shoulders just it to be a good game or not. So I think this review should be as truthful as possible. First off the story is nothing amazing and really there is nothing amazing in this amazing in this game. You who the villain is in the first twenty seconds of the game. Playing it on normal bad guy die in one or two hits. But challenge is getting close to them. Then when knack does take dames he takes a lot of damage but when he heal heals for how ever much they give you. What is an odd answer I know but sometimes it doesn't look like a lot is there and he will be fully healed then when he's nearly dead and he finds health he could get next to nothing. One cool thing is you can hear the peaces of knack come together through speaker on the new ps4 controller. The fighting system is just like god of war but he had three specials. Nothing else though. Things like ice knack and wood knack are only on those level so don't be upset to not see them to often. The graphics are easy and simple They look great for what they did and for a ps4 game. I hope to see better graphics on the ps4 int he future. This game may seem childish or stupid or what ever but in the end it is just a really fun game with lots of collectables and easy combat and a well told story that you just don't mind play one afternoon. Or through out the week. It's better than a 5/10 or a 4/10 it is fun you get into the game. Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2013
    7
    A great and enjoyable game for PS4 owners. Reminds me of Crash Bandicoot and Uncharted. The graphics are incredible. The only thing I wish for them to have in the game is with various transformations, he gains various moves rather than the same. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    0
    The game turned out pretty boring, and the plot and the gameplay is not breathtaking. Endless fights quickly bored, and besides them in the Knack and do nothing. Seemed to change character stats will affect the gameplay, but no: invisibility or increase the size does not affect the gameplay.
    I'm all hands to play, sending us to the good old days of overflowing originality, but Knack, alas, is not one of them.
    Expand

See all 212 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.