Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1308 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ground Zeroes showcases Kojima Productions' FOX Engine, a true next-generation game engine which promises to revolutionize the Metal Gear Solid experience. The first Metal Gear Solid title to offer open world gameplay. Ground Zeroes offers total freedom of play: how missions are undertakenGround Zeroes showcases Kojima Productions' FOX Engine, a true next-generation game engine which promises to revolutionize the Metal Gear Solid experience. The first Metal Gear Solid title to offer open world gameplay. Ground Zeroes offers total freedom of play: how missions are undertaken is entirely down to the user. Unrestricted stealth: Imagine classic Metal Gear gameplay but with no restrictions or boundaries. Players use intelligence and cerebral strategy to sneak their way through entire missions, or go in all guns blazing. Each will have different effects on game consequences and advancement. Multiple missions and tasks - Ground Zeroes boasts a central story mode and Side-Ops missions ranging from tactical action, aerial assaults and "covert" missions that will be sure to surprise. Ground Zeroes users will benefit from a clean in-game HUD that shows the minimal amount of on-screen data to give a more intense gaming experience. [Konami] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Mar 20, 2014
    100
    It is surprising, and not a little depressing, that all people want to talk about with this game is the running time.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    85
    Short but oh so sweet! [Apr 2014]
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    80
    After the credits roll on the main mission and a handful of side activities unlock, the best part of Ground Zeroes is just getting started. With a dearth of secrets to find, and new challenges to master, chasing the endgame will keep you entertained for hours on end.
  4. Hyper Magazine
    May 3, 2014
    80
    Deduct [20] points if you're only gonna play it once. [June 2014, p.62]
  5. Mar 19, 2014
    70
    It's not an easy sell. In terms of gameplay it's two not all-too-long evenings of entertaining mission gameplay plus quite a few hours spent trying to leave a lasting impression on the numerous leaderboards. I don't regret one second I put into this, took it in with a lot of curiosity and wonder. Still, you can't shake the feeling that this would have been served better as part of The Phantom Pain. As a stand alone game, it's hardly essential.
  6. Mar 31, 2014
    70
    It depends on whether you see this as a fan of the franchise or not to fully justify the price tag. In any case it's a good start for the upcoming new chapter of Hideo Kojima's series of tactical espionage.
  7. Mar 18, 2014
    50
    Audacious is the word that best describes Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes. It contains quality material, but it's little more than a preview of something better, and as such, simply should not be presenting itself - deceptively - as a game in its own right.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 96 out of 319
  1. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Everyone is **** that this demo, yes the Main Mission is short, but there is still content after that and the game have very high replayEveryone is **** that this demo, yes the Main Mission is short, but there is still content after that and the game have very high replay value, this is a high quality game, only negatives what other people **** about is that this is a "demo" but they cant say anything bad about the game play, graphics, voice acting etc, Expand
  2. Sep 10, 2015
    10
    Well let me start off by saying i can't stand stealth games. But this is so polished and well done i keep coming back for one more time !!Well let me start off by saying i can't stand stealth games. But this is so polished and well done i keep coming back for one more time !! True master piece Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    I'm giving it a 9!
    The gameplay is phenomenal, the story is awesome and the cutscenes are better then some whole games... Yes it's shorter
    I'm giving it a 9!
    The gameplay is phenomenal, the story is awesome and the cutscenes are better then some whole games... Yes it's shorter than most games, but you don't pay the full price and if it's still too expensive for you, just don't buy it. I enjoyed it a lot and I can recommend it to all stealth fans!

    If this would be a demo, then other game publishers would have to be ashamed, because then a demo would be better then some games...
    Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2014
    7
    While the argument of how short Ground Zeroes is has been beaten to death, what is here is a good game, and shows what is to come in theWhile the argument of how short Ground Zeroes is has been beaten to death, what is here is a good game, and shows what is to come in the upcoming follow up, The Phantom Pain. The story, however short, is simple but good, tying up the story's of both the previous game, Peace Walker, and Phantom Pain. The gameplay is very, pardon the pun, solid. As previous Metal Gear games have, stealth is preferred over action, with kills actually weighing down your score after completion of a mission. After completion of the primary mission, you have access to 5 additional missions, each with varied objectives. A sixth mission is unlocked following the collection of all nine of the game's "XOF patches," and the mission you unlock depends on what system you are playing on. However, there is one gripe I have with this game, which is shared by many others: it's price. The game for me just barely reaches the $20 asking price for Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 digital download, but not quite worth the $30 price for 360/PS3 physical and Xbox One and PS4 physical/digital. But if you get past it's short length and debatable pricing, Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes is a great sign of things to come for the Metal Gear series. Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2014
    6
    I'm just happy to have something on PS4 to play. It looks good. Plays good. Is fun. Yep it's short. The AI is excellent. Over it'sI'm just happy to have something on PS4 to play. It looks good. Plays good. Is fun. Yep it's short. The AI is excellent. Over it's pretty good. $30 worth of good? Maybe $20 worth. Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2014
    5
    Anybody who defends the price point and content is destroying a consumer based ecosystem that we have now in gaming! With tweets we haveAnybody who defends the price point and content is destroying a consumer based ecosystem that we have now in gaming! With tweets we have changed so many things! The fact they changed the price shows they knew it was going to be defended by the "crazies"! That means Kojima new his series has enough fan boy crazies that he could get away with this! I am disgusted! I compare these people to those that defend Nazi Germany because it didn't hurt them! So here is a calling to all logical human beings! Make these rich crazies know they are playing a roll in hurting gaming! Tell them why and then remove them from your friends list! I don't associate with people that don't have empathy or a understanding that you vote with the Almighty Dollar! Obrigado Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2015
    0
    Gameplay: 1 (Unplayable)
    Fun: 1 (You can't Have Fun)
    Story: 5 (Story is After World War 2) Cast: 7 (Great) Score: 0/10 (Due to no Easy
    Gameplay: 1 (Unplayable)
    Fun: 1 (You can't Have Fun)
    Story: 5 (Story is After World War 2)
    Cast: 7 (Great)
    Score: 0/10 (Due to no Easy Mode for me Only Hard Mode Unlocked from Start)

    Overrated By All should got less then 7.8s
    Expand

See all 319 User Reviews