Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 60
  2. Negative: 9 out of 60
  1. Jul 18, 2014
    48
    With Quantum Theory and Dark Void, Airtight has proven that it’s capable of creating interesting worlds with inventive mechanics, yet little of this is apparent in Murdered: Soul Suspect, a game that fails to develop its ideas beyond the very basics.
  2. Aug 25, 2014
    45
    I expected Murdered to be an interesting, modern adventure game. Instead I got a very shallow story paired with irritating gameplay mechanics. [08/2014, p.52]
  3. An interesting concept with half-decent story beats, dragged to hell by shonky puzzles, odd dialogue jumps and bugs that are far more terrifying than the subject matter. [Aug 2014, p.87]
  4. Jun 13, 2014
    40
    Murdered: Soul Suspect is a spooky detective novel in which ghosts are not allowed to go through random objects, and detective work resembles browsing through a folding picture book. And when you see demon fights looking like a drunken fly hunt with fly swatter in your hand, not even well written side cases nor Salem's atmosphere may help the game to get a better rating.
  5. Jun 12, 2014
    40
    If Ghost would be directed by an As The World Turns-director you'd probably get something like Murdered: Suspect Soul, a game with useless gameplay mechanics that are trying to hide the fact that you have always done the same uninteresting actions. The somewhat amusing story could have saved the game, were it not for Murdered to not take you seriously as a player.
  6. Jun 9, 2014
    40
    We're meant to believe that solving the mystery of the Bell Killer would redeem Ronan and allow him the peace to move on, but nothing about Murdered: Soul Suspect gives the impression that he deserves it.
  7. Jun 4, 2014
    40
    Murdered: Soul Suspect is a game full of missed opportunities. The concept is great and some of the ideas are clever, but it doesn't use them in an interesting or satisfying way.
  8. Jul 19, 2014
    30
    The gameplay mechanics are uninspired and borderline on being broken entirely. [Issue#150, p.123]
  9. 30
    The premise of a ghostly investigator attempting to save himself and his town from demonic forces shouldn’t be this tedious. Unfortunately though making the fantastical seem mundane is one of the game’s few real achievements.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 209 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 44
  2. Negative: 6 out of 44
  1. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    This game has its flaws. It is not long (8-9hours). The narative is little slower (someone may call it boring). And due to lack of action and only few stealth scenes, the gameplay is kind of simple and not challenging. On the other hand the story is interesting, the investigation elements are kind of new (similar to L.A. Noire, but that is just only one competition so the novelty did not wore of yet). The small open world with many side areas to exprose was a surprise for me (I expected linear tunel) For me the most important part is that once I started the game I did not leave it until I finished it. I was not able to stop playing and exploring the world and story. And I finished satisfied. This is something that I dont find in many games these days. So if you can get over the lack of action. If you like the games like Heavy Rain, Beyond, last Telltale Games or you like the L.A. Noire investigation parts, then give this game a change. You may be very plesantly surprised. Full Review »
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    4
    While I love a good mystery there just isn't much else to love here. The gameplay just isn't interesting except for the occasional combat sequence. The open world is small and restrictive, the last thing an open world should be. The best parts of the gameplay are very scripted and so the game as a whole feels restrictive. The main character fits the detective cliché perfectly and is pretty boring. The other characters are no better. Murdered Soul Suspect is a boring attempt at a murder mystery game lacking both good gameplay or an interesting story. Full Review »
  3. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing The visuals, the gameplay, are all spectacular and it's refreshing. they have completely redefined storytelling in gaming with this masterpiece. It's about being a detective and boy, does it ever do it well. Full Review »