Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 60
  2. Negative: 9 out of 60
  1. Jun 5, 2014
    60
    Murdered: Soul Suspect, though it was diverting like a bit of light reading, never really hooked me. And that's its biggest problem.
  2. Jun 5, 2014
    60
    Murdered: Soul Suspect is as troubled as its protagonist. There are so many problems--from the presentation to the story and even technical hiccups--that I was continually pulled out of the experience. And yet, I continued on, and I'm glad that I wasn't overwhelmed by those missteps.
  3. Jun 3, 2014
    60
    I can't pretend that Soul Suspect is a particularly great game, but I do know that it's the sort of game I'll still remember - and remember fondly - in five years' time, which is more than can be said for most of its glossier rivals.
  4. Jun 2, 2014
    60
    The richness of the atmosphere and charismatic lead performances pulled me through the story. That paired with a solid, no-frills investigation mechanic helped mitigate some of the technical problems and the sadly tacked-on demon hunting sequences. It's a distinctly average experience, but it has enough going for it that I'm glad I was able to conquer the bugs and see it through.
  5. 60
    It's still a great looking game, and the core narrative is a fun, if underdone and derivative one. It's simply disappointing that this game had a reasonably large budget, and in the process it lost some of its identity and seems to be shoehorned into some very unnecessary and destructive mechanics. This game would have been far better off being made for a fraction of the budget by a small team willing to take real risks.
  6. Jun 9, 2014
    56
    Murdered Soul Suspect is a game that is hard to recommend in terms of gameplay and due to a lack of substantial content.
  7. 55
    Unfortunately the repetitiveness and dragging narrative holds it down from being much more than a mediocre title at best. The story and acting holds up, even if it’s monotonous to plod through, so when you inevitably find this in your local bargain bin it’s still worth a play through.
  8. Jun 19, 2014
    55
    The few moments where Murderd: Soul Suspect actually makes good on its supernatural potential aren’t worth slogging through the rest of the game for. It’s trying to be a gripping murder mystery, but never really knows how to get there. This is one you should probably just leave for dead.
  9. Jun 12, 2014
    55
    You were expecting a mix of L.A Noire and project Zero? Forget it, there's nothing to see and Murdered Soul Suspect clearly misses the spot. It's even more sad because the game had a good script and a nice environment. Sadly, the developers didn't make enough out of the police/ghost mix. but the main drawback of the game is it's gameplay specially the infiltration parts. From there everything seems disappointing, from an average graphics engine to its dull OST and the boring QTE, Murdered: Soul Suspect won't leave many memories.
  10. 55
    Murdered: Soul Suspect is a really great idea for a game. It could have been really high quality all around, but maybe certain things were overlooked while focusing on the story rather than getting feedback about gameplay during development.
  11. Jun 3, 2014
    55
    While a welcome break from the tired retreadings that define most games, Murdered: Soul Suspect finds itself in a precarious place where narrative value, above all else, is of chief importance. But while the deadlike denizens of Salem might sound right for this sort of game, the absence of compelling characters keeps what’s otherwise an interesting idea from landing any staying power.
  12. Jun 2, 2014
    55
    There are some great concepts in Murdered: Soul Suspect, but they feel undercooked or underutilised, and the lack of demand for any real input from us makes Murdered feel like a pick-a-path game where there’s only one path.
  13. Jun 28, 2014
    50
    Overall, I'd say Murdered: Suspect Soul is an average game but different and distinct.
  14. Jun 17, 2014
    50
    Gameplay and graphics are disappointing in Mudered: Soul Suspect, but the game still don't go directly to hell, thanks to a cool story and a great duo of heroes.
  15. Jun 16, 2014
    50
    Mediocre story, boring characters and dumb logic makes this a pretty big let down.
  16. Jun 14, 2014
    50
    Unfortunately, Murdered: Soul Suspect falls flat when it comes to the core mystery-solving mechanics found in its gameplay, and unless you’re really invested in the storyline, most will see little worth in seeing this story through to the end.
  17. Jun 12, 2014
    50
    Murdered: Suspect Soul is a game with a daring scenario and a very interesting setting. Solving murders with remnants of 17th-century witch trials in the background should be fun but it is anything but that. Even for fans of murder mysteries, Murdered: Suspect Soul is difficult to recommend.
  18. The game straddles the line between intrigue and monotony, but fails to ever really come to life despite its promising premise.
  19. Jun 3, 2014
    50
    While its concept is unique, its execution leaves an incredible amount to be desired. Unfortunately, the mystery of Ronan’s murder is not nearly as thought-provoking as the mystery of when Murdered: Soul Suspect will be offered at a discount.
  20. Jun 2, 2014
    50
    Murdered: Soul Suspect has some neat concepts, but it is not a success. A few elements of its supernatural murder mystery may hold your interest, but it ultimately feels hollow because it lacks any real challenge or entertainment in solving that mystery.
  21. Jun 2, 2014
    50
    There's a few notable characters and story beats in Murdered: Soul Suspect, but they're completely overshadowed by unremarkable gameplay and shoddy production values.
  22. Jul 18, 2014
    48
    With Quantum Theory and Dark Void, Airtight has proven that it’s capable of creating interesting worlds with inventive mechanics, yet little of this is apparent in Murdered: Soul Suspect, a game that fails to develop its ideas beyond the very basics.
  23. Aug 25, 2014
    45
    I expected Murdered to be an interesting, modern adventure game. Instead I got a very shallow story paired with irritating gameplay mechanics. [08/2014, p.52]
  24. An interesting concept with half-decent story beats, dragged to hell by shonky puzzles, odd dialogue jumps and bugs that are far more terrifying than the subject matter. [Aug 2014, p.87]
  25. Jun 13, 2014
    40
    Murdered: Soul Suspect is a spooky detective novel in which ghosts are not allowed to go through random objects, and detective work resembles browsing through a folding picture book. And when you see demon fights looking like a drunken fly hunt with fly swatter in your hand, not even well written side cases nor Salem's atmosphere may help the game to get a better rating.
  26. Jun 12, 2014
    40
    If Ghost would be directed by an As The World Turns-director you'd probably get something like Murdered: Suspect Soul, a game with useless gameplay mechanics that are trying to hide the fact that you have always done the same uninteresting actions. The somewhat amusing story could have saved the game, were it not for Murdered to not take you seriously as a player.
  27. Jun 9, 2014
    40
    We're meant to believe that solving the mystery of the Bell Killer would redeem Ronan and allow him the peace to move on, but nothing about Murdered: Soul Suspect gives the impression that he deserves it.
  28. Jun 4, 2014
    40
    Murdered: Soul Suspect is a game full of missed opportunities. The concept is great and some of the ideas are clever, but it doesn't use them in an interesting or satisfying way.
  29. Jul 19, 2014
    30
    The gameplay mechanics are uninspired and borderline on being broken entirely. [Issue#150, p.123]
  30. 30
    The premise of a ghostly investigator attempting to save himself and his town from demonic forces shouldn’t be this tedious. Unfortunately though making the fantastical seem mundane is one of the game’s few real achievements.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 227 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 49
  2. Negative: 8 out of 49
  1. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    This game has its flaws. It is not long (8-9hours). The narative is little slower (someone may call it boring). And due to lack of action andThis game has its flaws. It is not long (8-9hours). The narative is little slower (someone may call it boring). And due to lack of action and only few stealth scenes, the gameplay is kind of simple and not challenging. On the other hand the story is interesting, the investigation elements are kind of new (similar to L.A. Noire, but that is just only one competition so the novelty did not wore of yet). The small open world with many side areas to exprose was a surprise for me (I expected linear tunel) For me the most important part is that once I started the game I did not leave it until I finished it. I was not able to stop playing and exploring the world and story. And I finished satisfied. This is something that I dont find in many games these days. So if you can get over the lack of action. If you like the games like Heavy Rain, Beyond, last Telltale Games or you like the L.A. Noire investigation parts, then give this game a change. You may be very plesantly surprised. Full Review »
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    4
    While I love a good mystery there just isn't much else to love here. The gameplay just isn't interesting except for the occasional combatWhile I love a good mystery there just isn't much else to love here. The gameplay just isn't interesting except for the occasional combat sequence. The open world is small and restrictive, the last thing an open world should be. The best parts of the gameplay are very scripted and so the game as a whole feels restrictive. The main character fits the detective cliché perfectly and is pretty boring. The other characters are no better. Murdered Soul Suspect is a boring attempt at a murder mystery game lacking both good gameplay or an interesting story. Full Review »
  3. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing The visuals, the gameplay, are all spectacular and it's refreshing. they have completely redefinedThis game is absolutely amazing The visuals, the gameplay, are all spectacular and it's refreshing. they have completely redefined storytelling in gaming with this masterpiece. It's about being a detective and boy, does it ever do it well. Full Review »