Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 344 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NBA 2K14 promises to raise the bar yet again, providing the best basketball gaming experience for legions of sports fans and gamers around the world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    91
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. Needless to say, NBA 2K14 has set the bar extremely high for sports games on PS4. It plays just as well as its PS3 underling, and even if you’re not a super hardcore sports fan we’d recommend a purchase simply to use it as a visual showcase for your new PS4. It never fails to put a jaw on the floor. [Christmas 2013, p83]
  3. Dec 6, 2013
    90
    In this next gen' era filled with crappy ports, NBA 2K14 is an exception, a great example with brand new graphics engine allowing impressive graphics. Visual Concepts's Basketball sim delivers graphics never seen in a sport games, and gives a meaning to the term next gen' on par with Killzone : Shadow fall and Battlefield 4. But beyond impressive graphics NBA 2K14 keeps touching perfection in terms of gameplay, still as precise as ever, with a game experience still more satisfying due to the very well done AI. You still don't know what game to buy for your PS4 or your Xbox One? Think again.
  4. Dec 6, 2013
    88
    While EAs next gen basketball is embarrassing, 2K shows them how it’s done. It plays authentic, it looks fantastic, which makes watching the games a lot of fun. If you like Basketball you’ll be entertained for months – even if the online games are a little bumpy and you don’t get all the modes you are used to.
  5. Dec 6, 2013
    85
    NBA 2K14 has the ‘wow’ factor. With dribbling and scoring three pointers, NBA promises and delivers. Still, 2K promised us a complete new game on the next-gen consoles, but it can’t keep its promise, because the next-gen version is literally the same on the current-gen.
  6. Dec 5, 2013
    80
    Even if you already bought the last-gen edition, the stunning visuals and accompanying glimpse into where this series is headed are worth the upgrade.
  7. Dec 11, 2013
    60
    The inclusion of microtransactions and the need for an internet connection have a major impact on how easy it is to recommend this game. Still, it’s the best basketball game on the market.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 65
  2. Negative: 30 out of 65
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Honestly NBA 2k14 is the BEST BASKETBALL SIMULATION EVER!!! However, if I was being a severe critic of realism I could say that the old schoolHonestly NBA 2k14 is the BEST BASKETBALL SIMULATION EVER!!! However, if I was being a severe critic of realism I could say that the old school days of arcade NBA Jam style are still alive & well in this version of 2k. This, for Me, makes this My ATF (All-Time Fav) hoops game, & on the PS4 it's just absolutely gorgeous. The only gripe for true purists will be the over-the-top WWEish MyCareer mode which includes cheesy cut-scenes & the innately annoying knack for your counterpart to always be catching fire & carrying his team to an unrealistic degree. Having said that, when you're dropping 20 & 10 in your rookie showcase game you can understand the developers pushing your competition. For those who enjoyed catching fire in the heyday of NBA Jam you'll LOVE 2k14's varying levels of getting "ON FIRE!!", including defensively if you make a few good plays on D (steals, blocks, etc). The visuals are stunning, presentation is as realistic as I've ever seen & they even use the Real Voice feature to have real coaches & players during interviews. The online is a different twist on park hoops which allows you to watch & join games going on live by calling "next". There's more modes than you'll even have time for which makes for an overwhelmingly awesome full package. NBA 2k14 is the Best Basketball Game Ever. Good luck NBA Live!!! lol Expand
  2. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    With most of the bugs ironed out, this is honestly the best basketball game ever made. Yes, there are still a few kinks to be ironed out forWith most of the bugs ironed out, this is honestly the best basketball game ever made. Yes, there are still a few kinks to be ironed out for the 2K15 issue but with slick controlling, incredible graphics and the trusted gameplay from 2KSports it simply does not get better than this. I play MyGM mode almost every day, and with imported legends it really makes a dream match up for my favorite teams. I play as the Warriors (without Legends, Mullin to the Pacers and Hardaway to the Heat) and it is quite satisfying to go up against current teams like the Jazz with additions such as Stockton and Malone and today's Magic mixed in with Penny and Shaq. Everything a basketball fan could ask for. Expand
  3. Jun 8, 2014
    8
    I've been playing 2K Basketball games since the release of NBA 2K11. This game is the first one that I have played on the next generationI've been playing 2K Basketball games since the release of NBA 2K11. This game is the first one that I have played on the next generation console (PS4) and I have to say that it is my favorite so far. But I think this is simply because it is on the new console. The game has a lot of defects...the main one for me is the fact that almost all game modes are only available when connected to the internet. I don't see why I need to have an internet connection to play a regular season mode game. It really has nothing to do with live updates and what not...and in past years, this mode has been a staple of the 2K franchise. Gameplay is solid and the graphics are by far the best on any basketball video game I've seen yet. The game is very connected to today's NBA and provides updates daily. Its a solid game and its a good start for 2K on the next gen console..they have a lot to work on so it will be interesting to see how next year's game turns out. Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2014
    6
    I somewhat like the game, but I do not like that you cannot turn off live roster. Live roster updates slow and forces you to play withI somewhat like the game, but I do not like that you cannot turn off live roster. Live roster updates slow and forces you to play with injuries turned on. Also the menus are a pain to navigate. The visuals are the only step up frost last gen. Also there is an issue with the sound that hasn't been addressed by 2k. It is unbelievably annoying. I prefer the PC (last gen) version with mods over this any day. Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2014
    3
    Good game overall but sometimes on the my player mode it will do something crazy or something really weird will happen. I do believe its theGood game overall but sometimes on the my player mode it will do something crazy or something really weird will happen. I do believe its the best 2k out there but I still do believe there will be better to come. Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2013
    1
    17 years and 150,000 man hours for this? A broken, glitched, works half the time, piece of garbage. This game is not worth your hard-earned17 years and 150,000 man hours for this? A broken, glitched, works half the time, piece of garbage. This game is not worth your hard-earned $60. The servers are the worst in the industry and are constantly down, making it impossible to play any of the game modes. The customer service is crap, 2K says next to nothing about what is wrong with the game and when they will fix it. It is clear to me now that 2K cares nothing about its fans who have supported them for years. This game was a money grab. Should not have bought it.

    Save yourself the anxiety, stress, and money. Don't buy this game!
    Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2014
    0
    Horrible, horrible game. I'm glad I waited and bought this on EBay for $20. i feel bad for gamers who paid full price for this garbage. SureHorrible, horrible game. I'm glad I waited and bought this on EBay for $20. i feel bad for gamers who paid full price for this garbage. Sure the game looks better then it's PS3 counter part which has triangle shaped heads for their crowd, but the game play is hurting. Once again the defense of your players in MyCareer are horrendous. They constantly let guys drive past them for easy layups. Then your C or PF will attempt to block the shot after it's passing through the basket. Also, more teams like the Detroit Pistons will shoot 68% in the 3rd and 75% in the 4th quarter to either make a comeback or prevent you from catching their lead. Even when the defense does play "D" the CPU player will still score at will or get cheap falls, while you man is standing staight up with his hands raised. This is total BS. The CPU still gets tons of OR, but at least you team does now as well. In NBA 2K13 you player would get 4-6 OF, while the CPU would get 10-15. This happened almost every game you played. MY game also freezes sometime while checking the stats. No idea why. I've cleaned the disk several times and it still happens once in awhile. The game can still be fun and I like how they interview players on the floor and the whole story presentation is cool as first. I'm a little pissed that they removed the drills. I liked playing those. At least you get more VC points now at the end of the game do to a multiplier. Overall the game still needs lots of improvements. It's still way better then NBA Live 14, that's for sure. Expand

See all 65 User Reviews