Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 266 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: There are several differences and new features in this PS4 version. In this version the textures of the game are more compressed, so you can see that the game’s graphics are clearer and more detailed than before. You will also see that there is no loading time when you enter or exit a level, which makes the navigation even faster and more enjoyable. Ubisoft has also integrated a new Camera Mode on PS4. By pressing the touchpad of the PS4 joystick, you pause the game and enter this mode, and by moving your fingers on the touchpad, you zoom in and out on the image and drag the image frame; and finally, by pressing the Share button, you can take a photo and share it with everyone. This Camera Mode is a great way to observe in detail all the characters and settings of the game, and a great way of expression to create wacky images with the elements found in the game. On PS4, you can also use the touchpad to scrape the famous Lucky Tickets, then you will really feel like you’re scraping lottery tickets (with the sound of scraping straight from the PS4 joystick). Finally, in this PS4 version, you’ll also find new playable heroes: Assassin Ray (a character inspired by Edward Kenway, the hero of Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag), Funky Ray (a delusional character that you can unlock by using Uplay points), and Champion Ray (a character who will be offered to the best players of the community and those who live in this community; this character correspond to the new VIP status, visible in the rankings of online challenges). [Playstation Blog] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Rayman Legends is a legendary game just like its name. With lots of interesting and hard boss fights, surprising and colorful scenes it looks simply amazing. It could be better with online co-op mode but even without that the game is still just fine.
  2. Feb 23, 2014
    91
    If you don't mind Murphy's slightly handicapped functionality on ports of Rayman Legends, then the only deciding factors are what bonus costumes you care about, and whether you do or don't have a PS4.
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    90
    Rayman Legends is one of the best platform games you can play right now.
  4. Feb 18, 2014
    90
    These PS4 and Xbox One versions of Rayman Legends offer better graphics rendering while eliminating all loading times. If you have a next-gen console, that's a good deal, especially since the game is at a low price.
  5. Feb 24, 2014
    90
    With rayman Legends, the PS4 and Xbox One welcome one of the best platform games of the past year, at a very attractive price of 40€. Indeed, this versions is still not as good as the Wii U version that uses the gamepad at it's full potential, and we can still moan about the fact that this feature hasn't been used in the PS Vita version. But we have to mention the improved graphics and the enhanced fluidity in those 2014 versions of the game, moreover a few added content is the cherry on top of the cake. If you haven't already played it, now is the right time to do so.
  6. Mar 24, 2014
    90
    If you also take into account the discounted price point, massive amount of variety, and local multiplayer, then it’s impossible not to recommend this dream package to anyone with even a passing interest in the side-scrolling genre.
  7. Feb 17, 2014
    85
    The addition to these version are not too relevant, but having such a great game on next-gen should rise no complaints. In case you wonder, Rayman Legends is still great.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    Best co op platform since crash bandicoot 3. You won't be dissapointed. Kids will love it.
    This game concentrates more on hard and
    replayability than deaths and lives very interesting way of doing things.

    This game is well priced and honestly pretty faultless. I never liked or played rayman this is my first rayman title. I did't even know what to expect. Oh btw it's four player co op, so now you have a reason to have that second controller.

    I can't judge on remote or crossplay, this wasn't tested and the maximum characters I played with was 2.
    It was an interesting dynamic with two people in some of the levels. As you can disrupt each other by attacking and you can kill the other character by going to far ahead, if this sounds bad don't be put off as death isn't permenant, and if both players die it's just a restart.

    I also like the unlockable characters and the fact that you don't spend 10k lums on a character if you have 10k lums you unlock the 1k, 2k, 5k and 10k characters.

    Can be enjoyed best with a friend.
    Expand
  2. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    This Jump&Run is a true masterpiece. I have not played a better one ever.
    Rayman Legends dominates all Marios, Sackboys, Earthworms in almost
    every single field. Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    My ps4 is starting accumulating ash on it...And this game comes. I can't help insert the disc into the elegant brick. And listening to the sound of disc drive, I am fanatic. PS4 is alive...by Rayman.
    I like the various music themes in the games, and like how well the gameplay is rhythmically merged with the music so that you can easier pass hard levels following the music tempo with much excitement.
    Also, the barriers in different chapters are very creatively designed, which always give me fresh feeling.
    The foes are stupidly cute, so lovely and ridiculously punished. I like this kind of humor.
    The difficulty is just fit so after mastering the control, you will be very glad to replay them in a more seamless way.
    All in all, I fully enjoy the game. It makes me so happy.
    Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2014
    9
    Rayman Legends is a platforming tour de force. The graphics, sound are excellent and make Mario platformers look, as they are, dated. Legends is split into levels, or paintings and you can do play them in any order, once they are unlocked.

    The levels are varied enough to keep you going, especially the musical levels which for me are designed by somebody with great imagination. To ensure the player keeps pace on these levels is a triumph that only Ubisoft seem to be able to pull off at the moment.

    In a world of shooters, sports games and RPG's, going back to platformers and making them better than they have been for many years is brave, but when you pull it off and create something as enjoyable as Rayman Legends, the risk is well worth it.

    I hope this isn't the last Rayman game that Ubisoft produce, the gaming world needs you Rayman!
    Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2014
    9
    Welcome to Rayman Legends, a very vibrant, fun, creative, and memorable platforming experience that offers plenty of replay value. I would highly recommend a buy. Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2014
    9
    This game is very fun. The art style is gorgeous and it never takes itself too seriously.
    There is a massive amount of content on offer too,
    even offering up a large amount of remixed versions of Rayman Origins levels.
    The only reason it is a 9 and not a 10, is the absence of online co-op.
    Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2014
    8
    I was very impressed. The colours on this game are fantastic a real fun and sometimes challenging game, great for any gamer that fancies a change from a high intense online battle Expand

See all 32 User Reviews