User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 38
  2. Negative: 9 out of 38

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 13, 2014
    3
    Got this free with playstation plus and really didn't enjoy it. Nothing drew me in and the controls were really clunky.

    This game would not sell if it wasn't on playstation plus
  2. Aug 11, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After putting in a few more hours of gameplay, I have to lower my score and edit my review. The framework of the game is initially so appealing, as I previously described: ...rogue gameplay where your exploration and strategy take on a real sense of weight, minor RPG inventory and npc relationship building, simple play control, a snowy Grimms fairy tale mixed with Robert Frost story-feel, checkerboard gameplay of challenges and surprises, nothing earth shattering, no beautiful cutscenes or glorious graphics... Which is all well and good but unfortunately the difficulty level is just way too high for sustained enjoyment. It becomes tedious and repetitious, very much to a fault, which causes it to lose its humor and whimsy. And what really solidified this for me was a bug I experienced where I wasn't given credit for a kid I saved, and when that most essential aspect of the game glitched, it really felt like the program was against me. I could forgive a bug that caused me more difficulty if it wasn't already so difficult. If there was more variety or a greater sense of reward then it might feel more worthwhile. A shame because it had such a promising start. Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2014
    0
    This game feels like it would be a whole lot better if it weren't so damn hard. I don't feel the drive to further attempt to make my way through those insanely busy rooms. Almost every step becomes a chore.
  4. Aug 27, 2014
    5
    This game for me caused me to struggle with my playstation. I pushed myself to play it for about an hour and it was pretty different from most games i have played. it's not a bad game it just wasn't for me.
  5. Aug 8, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a good game. Just getting into it I wasn't expecting much, but as I played and Forged relationships with the other villagers I realized there is something more to this game from becoming friends with the villagers to adventuring in the frozen wastelands to save the children each year this is a truly endearing game. But please note that this game has an incredible difficulty curve. Expand
  6. Aug 25, 2014
    6
    Alright i have to say it is fun. i played it for about an hour but then i realized that after playing just the 4th year and dying about 5 times with the addition of losing your items that the game is extremely difficult. I found out that the only way that i was able to finally get past it was to only rescue half the children or would have to erase the data so i can start from scratch retaining my energy from previously levels. To the "probable shock" the highest level that I have obtained is 7.... On the thumbs up it was free, Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Aug 27, 2014
    75
    Classic puzzle adventure with interesting characters and fun gameplay. Not for every gamer, though.
  2. Aug 22, 2014
    75
    Road Not Taken is a good game, puzzle game fans will definitely appreciate it. We loved the procedurally-generated levels and the great variety of enemies, but the management of the difficulty is not perfect. Spry Fox is certainly a brilliant developer.
  3. Aug 21, 2014
    65
    Road Not Taken has its charms, but it's ultimately a very harsh and unforgiving roguelike puzzler that only ultra-hardcore players might enjoy.