Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Feb 27, 2014
    90
    Strider returns victorious. Great boss fights, responsive controls, interesting level design... those are only some of the elements that make this side-scroller such a success.
  2. Capcom revives one of its most hallowed franchises and conjures up one of the most rewarding side-scrolling slash-‘em-ups in recent memory. Loud, proud, and always a blast.
  3. 90
    Whatever minor flaws Strider might have are very well hidden amongst exciting gameplay, great platforming, and epic boss battles.
  4. Feb 18, 2014
    90
    An awesome "metroidvania" experience, long and compelling, focused on a fast paced action.
  5. Feb 18, 2014
    90
    A slick pastiche of ‘80s retro cool and modern gameplay, Strider is both faithful to its source material and still capable of finding its own identity. It’s basically the raddest Saturday-morning cartoon you’ll ever play.
  6. Feb 18, 2014
    88
    Strider is a great reboot for old-school arcade junkies and at the same time a fresh action experience for newcomers to the franchise.
  7. Feb 21, 2014
    87
    It pays homage to every facet of the franchise’s history with its gameplay, and the only way it could do more would be to include the past entries along with all of the older character designs as extras.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 214 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    Definitely worth the money in terms of graphics, gameplay and controls. You have to stay on your toes when it comes to combat, and the varietyDefinitely worth the money in terms of graphics, gameplay and controls. You have to stay on your toes when it comes to combat, and the variety of enemies is pretty high. You won't be bored and you won't regret having spent the (very affordable amount of) money on it. Full Review »
  2. Feb 20, 2014
    8
    If you played and loved Strider in the past, don't even think - buy this game.
    If you enjoy Metroid-likes this is definitely in the upper
    If you played and loved Strider in the past, don't even think - buy this game.
    If you enjoy Metroid-likes this is definitely in the upper echelons of the genre with rapid combat and exploration elements and a satisfying equipment progression system. I dare you to not feel like a bad ass once you start being able to reflect lasers back at the bad guys.
    A few things to note: the game is too easy on 'Medium' difficulty if you're a regular to this kind of game and I would recommend you start on Hard; occasionally the camera will freak out if you fall a very long way and fail to keep up with the player character (a minor issue); as some others have said you sometimes can't quite see what's a platform and what's background, but a quick glance at the mini-map is always enough to confirm what you can and can't stand on and finally, there are some sections with broadcasts that cause a large orange dialogue box to take up the bottom part of the screen every 15 seconds or so, which can be a little annoying when you're trying to do pixel perfect jumps.
    Lots of collectibles, plenty of exploration, challenges (combat and traversal) to unlock and a good mix of duel-style boss battles and giant arcade style fights. And while it might not be the best looking game on PS4 it has fantastic art direction and a rock solid frame rate, even when the screen gets busy.
    If this sounds like your cup of tea, don't hesitate!
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    Well first off I have to say $15 well spent. This new Strider is a classic throwback to original while still keeping it fresh and new.Well first off I have to say $15 well spent. This new Strider is a classic throwback to original while still keeping it fresh and new. Visually the game is stunning and colors just pop. When you first get the eagle you will know what I mean. The combat is generally fast pace and quick which is a very good thing for me because it keeps you on your toes. The enemy variety is there as well I had faced 6 different types of enemies in the first hour and a half of the game. The pacing I believe is excellent in the game well. Boss Battles seemed placed perfectly which is rare thing now. The game does kinda hand hold but only if you let it. You are free to explore the entire area you are in at almost any given time which again is a rare thing. The one and only problem I have with this game is right now it seems a bit easy but I am Normal so I think if I crank it up to hard that will immediately disappear but it so minute anyway that it doesn't even stop the epic amount of fun you have slicing up enemies left and right. This game is a great addition to the Franchise and Capcom finally did something right. I literally had to force myself to quit so I wouldn't play through most of the game in one sitting. Definitely purchase this title. Full Review »