Super Motherload PlayStation 4

Super Motherload Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Super Motherload is a digging adventure with a procedurally-generated world that changes each time you engage with it. Buy powerful upgrades and supplies for your mining pod as you progress and prosper.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Super Motherload - PS4 Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    If PlayStation can continue discovering gems like Super Motherload, indies might really make the difference in this console war.
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    80
    Puzzles, strategy, multiplayer, a haunting atmosphere, and a fantastic soundtrack — Super Motherload packs a wealth of material into a small, though somewhat repetitive, package.
  3. Jan 22, 2014
    70
    An arcade puzzle game that meets the sandbox/roguelike philosophy. Simple but catchy.
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    68
    I appreciate the opportunity for some 4-player local (but not online) cooperative play, and some minor strategy is involved in combining different minerals during a dig to create more valuable objects. These small wrinkles aren’t enough to keep players invested. Play Super Motherload if you love the pure joy of the Dig Dug-style carving out of the ground, but don’t be surprised if there’s not enough buried beneath that layer.
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    60
    Super Motherload's premise of digging for richs on a lonely planet sounds about as boring as actually digging for richs on a lonely planet. But stick with it long enough, and you'll find an eerily soothing adventure with addictive strategy elements that make for a wholly enjoyable next-gen gaming experience.
  6. 60
    The visuals may make even Knack look like a system seller, but there’s a quiet pleasure to Super Motherload’s simple but addictive gameplay.
  7. Dec 6, 2013
    47
    Playing this digging puzzler made me almost fall asleep. But as soon as you get a few players to help you, you’ll uncover some fun buried under all that rubble.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Really awesome digging game. Grab minerals, bring them back and sell them. Use the cash to upgrade to dig better. Four player co-op is veryReally awesome digging game. Grab minerals, bring them back and sell them. Use the cash to upgrade to dig better. Four player co-op is very fun, grab some friends to play. Soundtrack is very good. Expand
  2. Aug 9, 2017
    10
    Everything you want form a mining game, Super Motherload has got. This game seems familiar, as if I had played it as mobile game onEverything you want form a mining game, Super Motherload has got. This game seems familiar, as if I had played it as mobile game on Newgrounds. Maybe I did. Regardless, this is my kind of game. You dig, you upgrade, and then you fight some kind of boss. You can also play with up to 3 other people on the same console so long as you are willing to put up with them messing up your dig.

    On the PS4, this title is comparable to Steam World Dig. That game was also a good mining game but played more like a mining platformer. Super Mother Load is pure mining for the sake of mining. What can I say except it scratches that itch. I found myself playing through it from start to finish in one long 5 hour go of it. Some day, I'll play through it all over again. That's the power of a good mining game.

    Full disclosure: I received Super Mother Load as a PS Plus "free" game. Although I do not like making the $ per hour comparison, I would not have spent more than a couple of buck for this title.
    Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    This game is great, and very addictive! One of my favourites for the PS4. Really fun to play with friends. On your own, the gameplay is veryThis game is great, and very addictive! One of my favourites for the PS4. Really fun to play with friends. On your own, the gameplay is very zen. Hardcore mode is ridiculous, but worth it for those looking for a real challenge. Definitely worth the $15. Collapse
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    This game is by far my favorite game on the system. It has all the digging fun of older digging games like dig dug, and the ore gatheringThis game is by far my favorite game on the system. It has all the digging fun of older digging games like dig dug, and the ore gathering elements of Terraria and Minecraft. Local co-op is a rarely good in this online age we live in so this game wins an multiple accounts. Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2013
    9
    I played the original Motherload on Miniclip years ago and when I got my PS4 and found this I got very excited.
    It's a great little game. It
    I played the original Motherload on Miniclip years ago and when I got my PS4 and found this I got very excited.
    It's a great little game. It has more of a story than the old one and the customisation is managed a bit differently however it can feel a bit grindy at times.
    I found it tonnes of fun and probably spent more hours on this than any other PS4 release game!
    "Just one more trip...."
    Expand
  6. Jan 19, 2016
    8
    I spent many hours playing the original Motherload game online and only found out recently that Super Motherload was available to download onI spent many hours playing the original Motherload game online and only found out recently that Super Motherload was available to download on PSN. It's a fun game with a simple concept, worth a buy if you manage to get it on sale. I've only played it myself but looks like it would be great to play with friends. Expand
  7. Aug 11, 2017
    6
    Super Motherload is a very simple digging/mining game, but once the initial enjoyment wears off there's very little to come back to. The firstSuper Motherload is a very simple digging/mining game, but once the initial enjoyment wears off there's very little to come back to. The first hour is replicated over and over again as you dig, mine an ore, buy upgrades, and then do it all over again. This process becomes tedious and annoying. The story isn't interesting enough to motivate you to finish it, and the multiplayer is lackluster as you're constantly sharing fuel. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews