Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Feb 13, 2018
    90
    This combination of game mechanics with plot makes The Fall Part 2: Unbound a masterclass in video game storytelling. Action-packed sequences are followed by moody reflective moments, with each new story beat more compelling and exciting than the last. The presentation is similarly great. Graphically, it’s not the most stunning game, but its use of atmospheric lighting works wonders in creating a mood.
  2. Feb 13, 2018
    79
    Many of the puzzles are clever, and the battles have entertained me.
  3. Feb 22, 2018
    78
    This is a great sci-fi 2D adventure, with a very good story, solid gameplay and a very interesting setting.
  4. Feb 13, 2018
    78
    The Fall Part 2: Unbound picks up the formula of the predecessor and leads to a new and unsettling original adventure, but there is still some roughness yet to blunt.
  5. Feb 20, 2018
    74
    Unbound proves to be an episode that will satisfy anyone who still has the 2014 chapter in his heart.
  6. Mar 8, 2018
    70
    If you have been eagerly awaiting the continuation of the story from The Fall, then the next chapter of that story is easy to recommend. It doesn’t, however, have the same emotional impact as the first game, nor does it provide explanations that tie up all of its loose ends. The game’s subject matter is not entirely fresh, but its unique take on the ethics surrounding artificial intelligence at least keep it interesting.
  7. 70
    If you’re looking to experience one of the smartest, wittiest, and thought-provoking stories of the generation, then do yourself the favor and play through both the first game and Part 2: Unbound.
  8. Feb 13, 2018
    70
    Much like its predecessor, The Fall Part 2: Unbound is needlessly obtuse in some of its puzzle design, but its magnificent characters and storytelling make the frustration worth it.
  9. 70
    The Fall Part 2: Unbound succeeds when it makes you think, whether that's through its clever science fiction writing or entertaining puzzles. However, a lackluster presentation and tedious, dull combat prevent the sequel from reaching the heights it could have.
  10. Feb 28, 2018
    60
    The intriguing story and captivating atmosphere is The Fall Part 2's saving grace. The awkward controls and far-fetched puzzle design are however far less appealing.
  11. Feb 20, 2018
    40
    I would have never guessed that The Fall, Part 2: Unbound would land this flatly after adoring the original, but the plot doesn’t click, the premise is too idiosyncratic, and the puzzles are too unintuitive – I’m still a fan of ARID, but this entire thing needs to be boiled down and streamlined into a more elegant, sensible package. And, it has to be said… after getting a wonderfully complete story in The Fall and seeing the reaching stumble that Unbound is, I’m not convinced that there was ever enough here for a trilogy.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 16, 2018
    The narrative decision to limit A.R.I.D. isn’t the problem, it’s the repetitive framing.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Feb 26, 2018
    10
    While I understand the mediocre reviews, let me explain why I do not support them.

    The Fall 2 is a game with flaws, so why do I give it a
    While I understand the mediocre reviews, let me explain why I do not support them.

    The Fall 2 is a game with flaws, so why do I give it a 10/10 score? Because a) there is a lot of effort in it, and b) it has strength that make up for these flaws a thousandfold.

    I am not going to explain anything about the story, because the story is the major strength of this game.
    The gameplay itself is slightly different from part 1. While the point and click adventure elements are still in place (and in my opinion they got implemented in very clever ways, eclipsing part 1), the fighting system got a major overhaul. It plays more like an NES Metroid titles by now, with some more polish.
    Let me be straight here: The fighting gameplay is not amazing, but it is entertaining enough. The biggest flaw here is that fights happen a tad too often (so they become redundant), but it isn't all that bad.

    The important thing is that the gameplay, at any point, goes hand in hand with the story. There is no riddle just to have gameplay, every little part of the game is either done for pacing between two story segments or part of the story. And since the story is one of the best I have seen in science fiction games (at least in short ones), that was a good design choice.

    While you might not really see the appeal in the early moments of the game, exspecially the ending gets a lot of pay off from earlier parts (which is nto to say earlier parts are not wellcrafted).

    Personally, I was really flashed by some of the things the developer did with the game and didn't regret a moment to having bought it.

    Another thing you can see is that in this indie game, there is clearly a lot of effort invested.
    The developer didn't have a huge team, but there were many moments in the game where i thought that the developer polished the game to the utmost of his abilities and never took the lazy route.

    So while this game has some flaws, the charme of it and the amazing story should really convince you to at least take a look.
    Full Review »