The Last Guardian Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 110 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2262 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It’s an action adventure title. It’s a story about a young boy who has been kidnapped or captured under strange circumstances. It’s about an encounter between that boy and the mysterious beast Trico amidst ancient ruins, and a story about their journey together in the hope of escaping theirIt’s an action adventure title. It’s a story about a young boy who has been kidnapped or captured under strange circumstances. It’s about an encounter between that boy and the mysterious beast Trico amidst ancient ruins, and a story about their journey together in the hope of escaping their mysterious predicament. [Fumito Ueda via Playstation.com] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Last Guardian – CG Cinematic Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 110
  2. Negative: 1 out of 110
  1. Feb 10, 2017
    100
    The Last guardian is indeed suffering from some technical and control input issues, but its warm, beautiful adventure filled with countless touching moments is something we’ll never forget for the rest of our lives. The Last Guardian is not just a game, it’s an absolute work of art.
  2. Dec 5, 2016
    93
    The Last Guardian is not perfect, but those issues are nothing compared to its wonderful gameplay and its beautiful setting. This game and its soundtrack will live forever in the gaming world.
  3. Dec 5, 2016
    90
    Details are a golden currency in Ueda’s games, and The Last Guardian greatest puzzle is their ultimate assembly. The impact in its final act is both somber and spirited, and it’s the pinnacle of the ideas it tries to put forward. I knew where The Last Guardian was going and I still couldn’t help but respond with deluge of raw emotion.
  4. Dec 5, 2016
    80
    Despite an appalling technical aspect with camera troubles and a wacky handling, The Last Guardian is a very good story-based puzzle game that makes you feel immersed in the relationship between the boy and Trico.
  5. 80
    Whether or not you feel the mechanical issues will be enough to ruin this sweet, impeccably realised, emotive game is up to you. For me, they're annoying but ephemeral. There were a hundred games released this year that are more fluid and fun to play minute-to-minute, and dozens that perform with a silky smooth frame rate, yet I'll remember this adventure with Trico long after I've forgotten those.
  6. Dec 5, 2016
    75
    A heartwarming story, a mysterious world, and a slowly-growing bond between two unlikely companions ensure that fans of Team Ico’s past work won’t be disappointed. Clunky controls and a handful of graphical issues, however, mean that The Last Guardian may not be an enjoyable game for everyone—though, either way, Trico is adorable.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 12, 2017
    40
    Outdated and flat gameplay mechanics, poor controls, technical issues. The Last Guardian couldn’t be saved even by the extreme efforts from Sony to finish the game no matter the time. As you will love Trico for sure, the game itself you will certainly not. [Issue #270]

See all 118 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 378
  1. Jun 7, 2017
    10
    i love this game so damn much. I cried a lot of the emotion of the tenderness that transmits, for those who love and respect animals we touchi love this game so damn much. I cried a lot of the emotion of the tenderness that transmits, for those who love and respect animals we touch the sensitive fiber. No doubt a great lesson, I have not finished yet but according to me there is much to cry. Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2016
    10
    Amazing game! Interesting story, charming graphics, cool animations and tons of emotions... this is The Last Guardian! This unique game! IfAmazing game! Interesting story, charming graphics, cool animations and tons of emotions... this is The Last Guardian! This unique game! If you like ICO and Shadow of the Collossus - buy The Last Guardian, you will love this game. Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2016
    10
    It was a completely absorbing game that I just did not wish to stop playing. Even when I took the occasional break, my thoughts seemed toIt was a completely absorbing game that I just did not wish to stop playing. Even when I took the occasional break, my thoughts seemed to always drift back to this fantasy world. If you've played and enjoyed ICO and Shadow of the Colossus then the Last Guardian will not disappoint. Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2017
    9
    This is a beautiful game. I give it a 9 because of the emotional story, the game concept, the character design of Trico, the fantasticThis is a beautiful game. I give it a 9 because of the emotional story, the game concept, the character design of Trico, the fantastic environment artwork and especially the very convincing bond between the boy and Trico at the end of the game. The ending was touching, I really liked it.
    On the other side, the high quality is not constant. It isn't easy to guide Trico and the controls appear dated. Sometimes the camera is to close or Trico just doesn't do what you try to tell him. If you are patient and have enough time this isn't really a big problem. Another point is that the environment looks very beautiful in the bright fog, this creates depth and the visual style, but the evening lighting without fog in the last part of the game doesn't look convincing. The frame-rate is not constant and the textures of the interiors are to monotonous.
    Expand
  5. Jan 4, 2017
    8
    Great game for those that love platform, puzzle games and slow but meaningful character development. Certain levels can be very difficult atGreat game for those that love platform, puzzle games and slow but meaningful character development. Certain levels can be very difficult at times because of the mediocre controls and camera. Had to look up what to do at one point but it just turned out being a a flawed gaming controls. (The water level and Trico diving) Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2016
    6
    Somehow Team Ico has turned the gaming industry on its head and made people change their minds about escort quests. I suppose the change ofSomehow Team Ico has turned the gaming industry on its head and made people change their minds about escort quests. I suppose the change of heart is happening somewhere with the emotion this game captures, but for the most part I really can't understand the overwhelmingly positive reviews. Team Ico has always done a good job of making me feel lost in video games again, a feeling from my childhood. The Last Guardian is another world to find yourself lost in, but it doesn't come without its ugly bumps, bruises, and cuts.

    Team Ico games have always had significant flaws, Shadow of the Colossus had some of the worst controller input lag I have ever experienced in a game, once paired with your horse the issue gets even worse. Just like SoTC, The Last Guardian has a wonderful idea, an amazing landscape and environment, and wonderful puzzles. For The Last Guardian, the issue is the difficult to work with AI. Despite only needing a very few amount of inputs per puzzle room is among the most annoying issues. I suppose this comes with the territory, which honestly at this point I'm starting to question. The swimming controls in The Last Guardian are to the Horseback controls in SoTC, both very raw and unrefined setups.

    Similarly, both games SoTC and The Last Guardian also suffer from low framerates and framerate spikes. For SoTC this made the controller input lag much worse, The Last Guardian suffers some from it, but definitely not nearly as bad as SoTC. The PS4 pro will help you a little in this regard, but you're still going to suffer from these issues.

    There is more that could be said about the game, but at this point the effort seems fruitless. You will either love it or you will hate it, if you have followed the series it's going to have a nostalgic feel for you. If you are a newcomer I suppose its a toss up. I can't recommend this game, but I also cannot condemn it. I rated it a 6 because I feel like it has everything necessary to be considered a game. It does however, need a lot of quality time spent on refinement to be great. At this point I feel like Team Ico are master world-builders, and definitely know how to capture emotion and tell a story. But perhaps they should leave everything else up to another team that could set a standard for gameplay mechanics appropriate for this decade.
    Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2017
    0
    I really wanted to enjoy this game, it looked like it was going to be great.
    I played only for around 4 hours and I had to give up. The
    I really wanted to enjoy this game, it looked like it was going to be great.
    I played only for around 4 hours and I had to give up. The camera was actually making me physically feel sick because of the constant movement, zooming and panning (I'm playing on a big screen). This has never ever happened in any game before, it is a truly atrocious camera setup, that you are constantly fighting against in order to look where you want to look. Having the camera continually wander around in different directions and different distances like a drunk has control of it is just crazy. The controls for the kid are useless too, you can either creep at 0.2kmh or sprint everywhere, which combined with the camera constantly wandering all over the place made this game genuinely frustrating and uncomfortable and ruined any enjoyment for me. Unplayable.
    Expand

See all 378 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall Games Preview: 20 Most-Anticipated Videogames

    Fall Games Preview: 20 Most-Anticipated Videogames Image
    Published: September 12, 2016
    We profile the most noteworthy videogames scheduled for release between now and the end of the year.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives Image
    Published: January 14, 2011
    Our preview of the year in gaming concludes with a look at the top titles expected in 2011 that will be exclusive to the 360, PS3, Wii, PC, or handheld platforms.