Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Jan 27, 2014
    100
    Tomb Raider Definitive Edition is a must have game on the PS4!
  2. Feb 4, 2014
    95
    If you have experienced Lara Croft's recent adventure, Tomb Raider's Definitive Edition isn't for you. It has no new content that's worth your money. But in case you own an Xbox One or a PS4 and haven't had the opportunity to play the new Tomb Raider, run to the store right now. You simply need to play this game.
  3. If you’ve never played it, or if you want something that really shows off the horsepower your new system, this game does it. If, however, you’ve already bought the game, it’s kind of hard to recommend getting it again at full price.
  4. Jan 26, 2014
    95
    While other versions of Tomb Raider may be less expensive and offer a similar experience, the Definitive Edition combines the already stellar gameplay with vastly improved graphics, creating what is most certainly the best version of Tomb Raider available.
  5. Jan 26, 2014
    93
    It's undeniably the best version of Tomb Raider yet - and the best game currently available for Xbox One and PlayStation 4. If you haven't played it, I don't know what you're waiting for.
  6. Jan 31, 2014
    92
    Tomb Raider looks better, plays better, and (for the most part, stupid controller echo) sounds better than it ever has before, and contains all the DLC that was released in one easy-to-buy package. I guess it is a Definitive Edition after all.
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    91
    It’s still well-written, sympathetic, exciting, beautiful, and just incredibly well-made.
  8. Could have done with actual new content. Otherwise, a cheaper, shinier version of a criminally under-sold gem. [March 2014, p77]
  9. Feb 19, 2014
    90
    The best looking and truly "definitive" version of Lara's latest adventure.
  10. Feb 16, 2014
    90
    It's a bit disappointing that the remake of Tomb Raider could not deliver any new content of value, but the graphics and next-gen effects are eye candy that is more than welcome. This is not enough for the already saved to buy Lara Croft's latest adventure again, but the game is still a shining example of an entertaining action adventure that should be experienced.
  11. Feb 7, 2014
    90
    It’s one of the best Tomb Raider games ever made, and it’ll live up to the Definitive Edition moniker for those gamers who never set foot on Yamatai Island last year.
  12. Feb 6, 2014
    90
    This is still one of the best games of last year, and the enhancements make it one of the best looking games to come out in a while.
  13. 90
    Tomb Raider Definitive Edition is a phenomenal action adventure game, and while it does not bring anything new to the genre, it’s an excellent opportunity if like me, you haven’t had the opportunity to play it on either the PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 or the PC.
  14. Feb 3, 2014
    90
    Tomb Raider: DE is an extraordinary videogame. Its gameplay is amusing, Lara's animations are stunning, and the game is one hell of a ride.
  15. Jan 29, 2014
    90
    It's a definite step up and that's undeniable. We can argue all day long about whether or not it's "worth it."
  16. Jan 28, 2014
    90
    Tomb Raider’s reboot at its best. If you haven’t played it yet, this is a game you must own on your shiny new PlayStation 4.
  17. The shooting action is smooth and smart, with the artificial intelligence of both enemies and Lara a particular standout. Lara automatically snaps to cover when she’s near it and enemies are around, meaning no button pressing is needed.
  18. 90
    For newcomers though, this is an absolute must-have.
  19. Jan 27, 2014
    90
    One of the best adventure games on console, with a fantastic blend of action and exploration. The Definitive Edition really is definitive, but isn't worth a repeat buy for those who've already experienced Lara's story.
  20. Jan 27, 2014
    90
    This really IS the Definitive Edition of Tomb Raider, but only because of the graphical overhaul. If you had issues before with the direction in which Crystal Dynamics have taken the character, or with the occasional intrusion of gameplay elements like levelling up and Lara’s ability to carry six weapons in invisible holsters, you won’t find anything here to change your opinions.
  21. Jan 27, 2014
    90
    Definitely the best version of Tomb Raider and it shows exactly what the new generation of consoles has in store for us in the very near future.
  22. Jan 26, 2014
    90
    You can tell Crystal Dynamics pulled out all of the stops to make this the best version of Tomb Raider. If you've played it before, it may worth a rent. If you haven't, the Definitive Edition is great purchase that outclasses the PC edition. Unfortunately, the potential price gulf between this version and the PC version can make it a hard sell.
  23. 90
    If you somehow missed the many opportunities to tryout Lara’s rebooted fiction, then the Definitive Edition offers a remedy for that.
  24. Jan 28, 2014
    88
    Tomb Raider is a highly accomplished reboot, and the term Definitive Edition goes well with this version of the game. The setting is excellent, the character's transformation is emotional and effective, and the pacing and variety of the gameplay are top notch. The Definitive Edition really is definitive but isn't worth a repeat buy for those who've already experienced Lara's story.
  25. Mar 10, 2014
    87
    Not played the original? Then this is essential, but there's not enough new here for returners. [Apr 2014, p.69]
  26. Jan 28, 2014
    86
    Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition is the perfect chance to dive into Lara Croft's new adventures if you didn't put your hands on the PC, PS3 or Xbox 360 versions. As for now, it's the best example of what a new generation version of a game should be.
  27. May 11, 2014
    85
    It is better to be relaunched than forgotten. [March 2014]
  28. Feb 4, 2014
    85
    It’s the same brilliant game that came out last year, all polished up and looking its finest. For returning adventurers, on the other hand, there’s so little in the way of new content that there’s not much point buying the new version unless you had an urge to replay it anyway.
  29. Feb 3, 2014
    85
    Tomb Raider: The Definitive Edition isn’t anything more than its predecessor. Yes, the graphics are a little bit sharper and yes, there are voice commands to, for instance, quickly switch to your map. But what has been added isn’t of value. The Definitive Edition is still a great adventure and a high point in its genre, but also only a recommendation for those who haven’t played Lara’s resurrection last year.
  30. Jan 31, 2014
    85
    Tomb Raider Definitive edition is nothing but a refined version of a very good game. Therefore we suggest you to buy the game only if you didn't own a copy of the original one.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 520 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 95
  2. Negative: 17 out of 95
  1. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Tomb Raider is an exceptional game, and this Definitive Edition is every bit as exceptional and then some. I originally played this masterpiece on my PC, a powerful rig with crossfired 7970's and a 2600K at 4.8Ghz. I thought that the game was visually exquisite on my configuration with TressFX etc all enabled and a stable performer, although even my rig couldn't escape frame dips from a v-synced 60fps in areas such as shanty town. I think the devs have done a commendable job porting this to the much weaker, but still very capable, PS4 with so many visual bells and whistles intact and expanded upon. The game truly is a sight to behold running at 1080p and a perceptively quite stable 60fps on my big 65 inch Panasonic.

    A lot of people/critics are marking the game down based on the price. This is unfair in my estimation. The 'game' is still a stellar AAA title, now with just more additional sheen. The practice of keeping the price high is something I understand the community's resentment over, but as far as ridiculous scores like 60% or below for the actual game itself I do not agree with at all.

    If you never knew the title was released prior and sat down to play it and review it on its own merits in this incarnation you would be undeniably impressed and the score should reflect that.

    If you're lucky enough to have never played it and own a PS4 buy it immediately, comfortable with the fact that you just purchased the best game on the system. But even if like me you have played it, and even if you played it on the PC where the advantages this version offers are slimmer, it still is worthy of heavy consideration. I personally loved the game first time round and had zero reservations about ponying up for it again on PS4. It is a double dip, but it is also one where you can see significant care has been made to update a lot of things graphically that is truly a rarity in similar double dip scenarios, where a resolution increase is about it.

    10/10...on any platform.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    People will cry scam, but the fact of the matter is, developers have done nothing to hide the fact that Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition is an upscale of the original game. And it is a damn fine upscale of a damn fine game at that.

    None of the the story elements have been changed, it is still the adrenaline fuelled thrill ride that some experienced last year when the game came out on PS3 and Xbox 360. People seem to have taken it upon themselves to do nothing but post negative reviews, based just on the fact that this game would release at $60.
    This was, admittedly, slightly surprising, however, I think we can all agree that you are smart enough to know if it has that value to you. I myself only got to play the original game for about an hour at a point where the story was almost done, so for me, this was a treat, especially as there are not too many killer titles on the PS4 as of right now.
    In terms of the changes, the graphics and textures have been rebuilt with the PC version of the game in mind. Lara's character model was completely redesigned, and she looks stunning. Things like the Tress-FX hair mechanic, the topology remapping, and subsurface scattering that gives her skin a believable glow… All of this makes for an incredibly immersive experience. This as I said, was one of the only major changes, but it makes for a more integrating experience, and makes Lara an even more believable character.

    The Definitive Edition includes all DLC that was released for the last version of the game, which mostly consists of content for the much overlooked multiplayer.
    Critics seem to think the Multiplayer has near to no value, but the games that I have played take the elements of gunplay and platforming from the campaign and marry them fairly well with a 4v4 multiplayer. Don't get me wrong, the campaign is where you will be spending the majority of your time. However, the multiplayer does offer a pleasant diversion which can be enjoyed with friends.

    All in all, the Definitive Edition of Tomb Raider is one of the prettiest versions of one of 2013's best games.
    If you want it, get it. If you don't, bugger off and stop calling this a scam.

    Jack Valentine.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 28, 2014
    8
    As a die-hard fan of the genre i was surprised I did not play it before. I liked the ones on PS2 and now PS4 .
    The story is just refreshing
    really nice to see it being quite suspenseful and thrilling , The character development is a huge part of the story and is told quite nicely , However I being disappointing that treasure hunting was fairly just to please the fans and did not feel 'Adventure' it focused on sruvival which was perfectly executed but what about treasures and what is the core of this type of game but it was there and it was good but could be better, Gameplay is very fun and traversing is a lot of fun , the gunplay is quite good and the epic moments were amazing , Graphics are stunning just stunning and lighting is really lush and bright , However the multiplayer is VERY weak though i do not play multiplayer in these type of games but it is a fact that should be judged, It comes packed with all the DLC and most of the DLC's are thrilling and one again amazing, All in all this game is down to some of the best the genre has seen but improvement scope is there i just hope they do take time with tomb raider 2 . Full Review »