Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition PlayStation 4

Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 954 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Armed with only the raw instincts and physical ability to push beyond the limits of human endurance, Tomb Raider delivers an intense and gritty story into the origins of Lara Croft and her ascent from a frightened young woman to a hardened survivor.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Jan 27, 2014
    100
    Tomb Raider Definitive Edition is a must have game on the PS4!
  2. Jan 26, 2014
    91
    It’s still well-written, sympathetic, exciting, beautiful, and just incredibly well-made.
  3. 90
    Tomb Raider Definitive Edition is a phenomenal action adventure game, and while it does not bring anything new to the genre, it’s an excellent opportunity if like me, you haven’t had the opportunity to play it on either the PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 or the PC.
  4. Jan 27, 2014
    85
    The visual upgrade might not be a reason to buy this again, but if you haven't played yet, you'll find an outstanding game that will please adventure fans.
  5. Feb 4, 2014
    85
    It’s the same brilliant game that came out last year, all polished up and looking its finest. For returning adventurers, on the other hand, there’s so little in the way of new content that there’s not much point buying the new version unless you had an urge to replay it anyway.
  6. Jan 28, 2014
    80
    While not as "definitive" of a package as one might hope for $60, thanks to its markedly improved graphics and performance, Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition is now the only way I’d want to experience Crystal Dynamics’ rebooting of gaming’s leading lady.
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    60
    Tomb Raider is a terrific game, and the Definitive Edition is a gorgeous looking version of it. It's the same game it was in 2013, though, with no further improvements justifying its "definitive" status.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 153
  1. rrt
    Nov 18, 2015
    10
    Nie sądziłem,że zagram jeszcze kiedyś w grę lepszą od Uncharted,a jednak to się stało!Gra jest genialna poprzez oprawę,scenariusz naNie sądziłem,że zagram jeszcze kiedyś w grę lepszą od Uncharted,a jednak to się stało!Gra jest genialna poprzez oprawę,scenariusz na supermiodnym gameplayu kończąc.Mimi że to remaster poprzedniej generacji gra wygląda jakby był robiona pod nową generację ,grafika absolutnie powala,klimatyczna muzyka i oprawa dzwiękowa jest na najwyższym poziomie.POLECAM Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Tomb Raider is an exceptional game, and this Definitive Edition is every bit as exceptional and then some. I originally played thisTomb Raider is an exceptional game, and this Definitive Edition is every bit as exceptional and then some. I originally played this masterpiece on my PC, a powerful rig with crossfired 7970's and a 2600K at 4.8Ghz. I thought that the game was visually exquisite on my configuration with TressFX etc all enabled and a stable performer, although even my rig couldn't escape frame dips from a v-synced 60fps in areas such as shanty town. I think the devs have done a commendable job porting this to the much weaker, but still very capable, PS4 with so many visual bells and whistles intact and expanded upon. The game truly is a sight to behold running at 1080p and a perceptively quite stable 60fps on my big 65 inch Panasonic.

    A lot of people/critics are marking the game down based on the price. This is unfair in my estimation. The 'game' is still a stellar AAA title, now with just more additional sheen. The practice of keeping the price high is something I understand the community's resentment over, but as far as ridiculous scores like 60% or below for the actual game itself I do not agree with at all.

    If you never knew the title was released prior and sat down to play it and review it on its own merits in this incarnation you would be undeniably impressed and the score should reflect that.

    If you're lucky enough to have never played it and own a PS4 buy it immediately, comfortable with the fact that you just purchased the best game on the system. But even if like me you have played it, and even if you played it on the PC where the advantages this version offers are slimmer, it still is worthy of heavy consideration. I personally loved the game first time round and had zero reservations about ponying up for it again on PS4. It is a double dip, but it is also one where you can see significant care has been made to update a lot of things graphically that is truly a rarity in similar double dip scenarios, where a resolution increase is about it.

    10/10...on any platform.
    Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2014
    9
    One of the best game of 2013, it actually was a contender for the Game of the year award! Its an exceptional action game with great graphicsOne of the best game of 2013, it actually was a contender for the Game of the year award! Its an exceptional action game with great graphics and interesting story! Expand
  4. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    People will cry scam, but the fact of the matter is, developers have done nothing to hide the fact that Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition is anPeople will cry scam, but the fact of the matter is, developers have done nothing to hide the fact that Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition is an upscale of the original game. And it is a damn fine upscale of a damn fine game at that.

    None of the the story elements have been changed, it is still the adrenaline fuelled thrill ride that some experienced last year when the game came out on PS3 and Xbox 360. People seem to have taken it upon themselves to do nothing but post negative reviews, based just on the fact that this game would release at $60.
    This was, admittedly, slightly surprising, however, I think we can all agree that you are smart enough to know if it has that value to you. I myself only got to play the original game for about an hour at a point where the story was almost done, so for me, this was a treat, especially as there are not too many killer titles on the PS4 as of right now.
    In terms of the changes, the graphics and textures have been rebuilt with the PC version of the game in mind. Lara's character model was completely redesigned, and she looks stunning. Things like the Tress-FX hair mechanic, the topology remapping, and subsurface scattering that gives her skin a believable glow… All of this makes for an incredibly immersive experience. This as I said, was one of the only major changes, but it makes for a more integrating experience, and makes Lara an even more believable character.

    The Definitive Edition includes all DLC that was released for the last version of the game, which mostly consists of content for the much overlooked multiplayer.
    Critics seem to think the Multiplayer has near to no value, but the games that I have played take the elements of gunplay and platforming from the campaign and marry them fairly well with a 4v4 multiplayer. Don't get me wrong, the campaign is where you will be spending the majority of your time. However, the multiplayer does offer a pleasant diversion which can be enjoyed with friends.

    All in all, the Definitive Edition of Tomb Raider is one of the prettiest versions of one of 2013's best games.
    If you want it, get it. If you don't, bugger off and stop calling this a scam.

    Jack Valentine.
    Expand
  5. Aug 31, 2014
    8
    Very intense gameplay and a well written and weird storyline is what makes this game good but the side activities like searching tombs andVery intense gameplay and a well written and weird storyline is what makes this game good but the side activities like searching tombs and discovering artifacts make only the 8-10 hour storyline good. Expand
  6. Jan 29, 2014
    8
    For all the people slamming the game for its price tag, yes this is a jazzed up version of the PC release of the game. For those with a highFor all the people slamming the game for its price tag, yes this is a jazzed up version of the PC release of the game. For those with a high end PC rig, buy the game when it goes down in price on a steam sale. This version of the game was not intended for these players as they already have experienced it. For those who have played the PS3 version and are pissed about the high price tag, then wait for the price to drop, nobody is going to demand that you consume. (except the hypo toad). For those who missed out on the game all together, its an above average modern action-adventure game that looks fantastic. Overall, its still a great game just right now not really at a fair price. Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2015
    0
    I hated so much this game, i was hyped by the reboot but it has nothing to do with a tomb raider game. No tropical/luxurious/antique sites, noI hated so much this game, i was hyped by the reboot but it has nothing to do with a tomb raider game. No tropical/luxurious/antique sites, no puzzles, no adventure...just a generic/boring TPS, just "ouch, ouch i take a stick in my womb and fall every 10 seconds but can still walk, run etc." and "bam bam tatata bang" worse than a COD. I don't get all the hype for this game. Expand

See all 153 User Reviews