Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition PlayStation 4

Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1053 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Armed with only the raw instincts and physical ability to push beyond the limits of human endurance, Tomb Raider delivers an intense and gritty story into the origins of Lara Croft and her ascent from a frightened young woman to a hardened survivor.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Jan 27, 2014
    100
    Tomb Raider Definitive Edition is a must have game on the PS4!
  2. Jan 26, 2014
    91
    It’s still well-written, sympathetic, exciting, beautiful, and just incredibly well-made.
  3. 90
    Tomb Raider Definitive Edition is a phenomenal action adventure game, and while it does not bring anything new to the genre, it’s an excellent opportunity if like me, you haven’t had the opportunity to play it on either the PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 or the PC.
  4. Jan 27, 2014
    85
    The visual upgrade might not be a reason to buy this again, but if you haven't played yet, you'll find an outstanding game that will please adventure fans.
  5. Feb 4, 2014
    85
    It’s the same brilliant game that came out last year, all polished up and looking its finest. For returning adventurers, on the other hand, there’s so little in the way of new content that there’s not much point buying the new version unless you had an urge to replay it anyway.
  6. Jan 28, 2014
    80
    While not as "definitive" of a package as one might hope for $60, thanks to its markedly improved graphics and performance, Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition is now the only way I’d want to experience Crystal Dynamics’ rebooting of gaming’s leading lady.
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    60
    Tomb Raider is a terrific game, and the Definitive Edition is a gorgeous looking version of it. It's the same game it was in 2013, though, with no further improvements justifying its "definitive" status.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 167
  1. Sep 6, 2015
    10
    10/10

    Tomb Raider Definitive Edition commits to acknowledge that Tomb Raider is one of the best games of the last 10 years + Great and
    10/10

    Tomb Raider Definitive Edition commits to acknowledge that Tomb Raider is one of the best games of the last 10 years

    + Great and engaging story
    + Beautiful and breathtaking locations
    + Perfectly designed
    + Characters are fantastic
    + Attitude and growth of Lara throughout the game

    - Mutiplayer is forgettable
    Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Tomb Raider is an exceptional game, and this Definitive Edition is every bit as exceptional and then some. I originally played thisTomb Raider is an exceptional game, and this Definitive Edition is every bit as exceptional and then some. I originally played this masterpiece on my PC, a powerful rig with crossfired 7970's and a 2600K at 4.8Ghz. I thought that the game was visually exquisite on my configuration with TressFX etc all enabled and a stable performer, although even my rig couldn't escape frame dips from a v-synced 60fps in areas such as shanty town. I think the devs have done a commendable job porting this to the much weaker, but still very capable, PS4 with so many visual bells and whistles intact and expanded upon. The game truly is a sight to behold running at 1080p and a perceptively quite stable 60fps on my big 65 inch Panasonic.

    A lot of people/critics are marking the game down based on the price. This is unfair in my estimation. The 'game' is still a stellar AAA title, now with just more additional sheen. The practice of keeping the price high is something I understand the community's resentment over, but as far as ridiculous scores like 60% or below for the actual game itself I do not agree with at all.

    If you never knew the title was released prior and sat down to play it and review it on its own merits in this incarnation you would be undeniably impressed and the score should reflect that.

    If you're lucky enough to have never played it and own a PS4 buy it immediately, comfortable with the fact that you just purchased the best game on the system. But even if like me you have played it, and even if you played it on the PC where the advantages this version offers are slimmer, it still is worthy of heavy consideration. I personally loved the game first time round and had zero reservations about ponying up for it again on PS4. It is a double dip, but it is also one where you can see significant care has been made to update a lot of things graphically that is truly a rarity in similar double dip scenarios, where a resolution increase is about it.

    10/10...on any platform.
    Expand
  3. Jun 2, 2014
    9
    This is definitely a great game that no fan of this genre should overlook. The story is pretty good, lasting me about 12-14 hours (yet toThis is definitely a great game that no fan of this genre should overlook. The story is pretty good, lasting me about 12-14 hours (yet to complete any extras such as tomb raiding the optional tombs) and I enjoyed every moment of it. The graphics are nothing less than stellar. Gameplay is quite like any other game of this genre like Uncharted for example and the AI is decent, though I am impressed by the amount of bombs/molotovs they are able to carry around. I haven't tried multiplayer mostly because I'm not subscribed to PS+ yet but I have heard that very few to no one are playing it so it will be the point deductor since it seems to be tacked on last minute, just my opinion.
    This game is worth the full price if you have yet to experience it on any previous platforms. But is it worth a repurchase, not really, you're pretty much paying a new game's price for better graphics.
    Expand
  4. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    A great game made better. Worth the extra cash if you've already played it? No, but that doesn't take away from how good it is. It justA great game made better. Worth the extra cash if you've already played it? No, but that doesn't take away from how good it is. It just means it isn't for you, so if you played previous versions giving it anything less than you did for the original (if you liked it) is just silly. Disregard the complaints of cash-in and all the zeroes people are giving it for that. If you haven't played it yet, get it and play it now. Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2015
    8
    Tomb Raider (2013) developed by Crystal Dynamics, is a very promising start to the action adventure series. While certainly a great game, itTomb Raider (2013) developed by Crystal Dynamics, is a very promising start to the action adventure series. While certainly a great game, it definitely doesn't stack up to the Uncharted franchise that would have so many of you to believe. It completely lacks of a compelling story and interesting characters, very much unlike Uncharted. It lacks the top notch voice acting and breathtaking setpieces. However, when it comes down to gameplay this game delivers. Once you get over the slightly poor narrative, the game really opens up with customisation, an open-ended approach to level design and great platforming mechanics. The moment Tomb raider is considered a game, not an experience, it's a lot of fun. Puzzles too are a highlight of the game with some interesting treasures to collect. The game overall is really great and I'm jealous of the fact Rise of the tomb raider isn't coming to PS4 in 2015. However Uncharted 4 will be on the scene then, which is my most anticipated game of 2015, so I guess I can't complain. The premise for ROTR is already a big improvement from it's predecessor; with a story more focused on Lara's mental health. The rivalry between UC4 and ROTR will definitely be exciting. Nonetheless, Tomb raider (2013) is a great action adventure game. But has someway to go, for it to be up there with Naughty Dog's crown jewel. 8/10. Expand
  6. Jan 28, 2014
    8
    As a die-hard fan of the genre i was surprised I did not play it before. I liked the ones on PS2 and now PS4 .
    The story is just refreshing
    As a die-hard fan of the genre i was surprised I did not play it before. I liked the ones on PS2 and now PS4 .
    The story is just refreshing really nice to see it being quite suspenseful and thrilling , The character development is a huge part of the story and is told quite nicely , However I being disappointing that treasure hunting was fairly just to please the fans and did not feel 'Adventure' it focused on sruvival which was perfectly executed but what about treasures and what is the core of this type of game but it was there and it was good but could be better, Gameplay is very fun and traversing is a lot of fun , the gunplay is quite good and the epic moments were amazing , Graphics are stunning just stunning and lighting is really lush and bright , However the multiplayer is VERY weak though i do not play multiplayer in these type of games but it is a fact that should be judged, It comes packed with all the DLC and most of the DLC's are thrilling and one again amazing, All in all this game is down to some of the best the genre has seen but improvement scope is there i just hope they do take time with tomb raider 2 .
    Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2015
    0
    I hated so much this game, i was hyped by the reboot but it has nothing to do with a tomb raider game. No tropical/luxurious/antique sites, noI hated so much this game, i was hyped by the reboot but it has nothing to do with a tomb raider game. No tropical/luxurious/antique sites, no puzzles, no adventure...just a generic/boring TPS, just "ouch, ouch i take a stick in my womb and fall every 10 seconds but can still walk, run etc." and "bam bam tatata bang" worse than a COD. I don't get all the hype for this game. Expand

See all 167 User Reviews