Transistor PlayStation 4

Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Jun 7, 2014
    100
    Anyone who loved Bastion is going to adore Transistor. The storyline is far more compelling and the combat feels like a natural extension of it. Transistor gives you faster and slower-paced ways to play, and that means it’s going to have a broader appeal.
  2. May 20, 2014
    100
    Taking its name from one of the most seminal technological inventions of the 20th century, Transistor is unequivocally one of the greatest games this year and rivals Journey as one of the best indie titles this decade.
  3. May 20, 2014
    100
    Transistor contains not only some of the most stunning art design, but one of the best game soundtracks I have ever heard. The droning bass of the main theme is mesmeric, and any music with vocals is astonishing – this is a soundtrack you’re going to want to buy, and composer Darren Korb has absolutely delivered.
  4. May 22, 2014
    95
    Like Bastion before it, Transistor is a pleasure to play and an involving experience from start to finish. Its mature story and evolving combat will keep you engaged to the very end, and have you longing for more.
  5. May 20, 2014
    95
    Players looking for a very artistic world with unique narration and an amazing soundtrack, you have just found it. Strategy fans will have a great time taking on the combat, and anyone looking for a great game for $20 should not pass this up. Transistor has the style along with the game play that makes this a must own for many.
  6. 94
    I can’t stop thinking about the story of Transistor, even after finishing the game. There is so much mystery and intrigue that left me smiling.
  7. May 20, 2014
    92
    Transistor's nuanced world-building and clever storytelling render its narrative original and intriguing.
  8. Pelit (Finland)
    Sep 3, 2014
    90
    Transistor is an atmospheric and action-packed sci-fi RPG with excellent combat mechanics and deep customization options. The top-notch audiovisuals are complemented with a gripping storyline. Overall, Transistor is an excellent role-playing adventure. I sincerely hope, that other game companies are smart enough to copy the smartest ideas from this indie pearl. [Aug 2014]
  9. Jun 16, 2014
    90
    This is a remarkably assured game for such a young studio, the work of a small team that knows exactly what it wants to do and executes it almost without error.
  10. Jun 5, 2014
    90
    Transistor puts a unique spin on the turn-based RPG concept everyone loves and, surprisingly, pulls it off. The game has a steep learning curve, but strong visuals and an interesting story will keep you playing.
  11. May 27, 2014
    90
    Again we have to congratulate Supergiant Games for bringing us Transistor, which is more than it meets the eye. Beautiful to see and hear, surely this game will be a delight for those who really want to know its mechanics.
  12. 90
    The enticing narrative, interlaced with gripping story-mechanics, all culminating in a fittingly poignant finale make Transistor a game that deserves to find its home in as many PlayStation 4's as possible.
  13. May 22, 2014
    90
    Transistor is the best example that shows us that it's not necessary to sacrifice aspects in the game in exchange for good gameplay.
  14. May 21, 2014
    90
    Even though it isn't as groundbreaking as it may have seemed when announced, Transistor is an excellent game, and appealing for many different audiences.
  15. May 20, 2014
    90
    Every once in a while, a game comes along that just feels special and Transistor is one of those games.
  16. May 20, 2014
    90
    Transistor is an absolute triumph: a stunning sensory experience that buoys its lofty ambitions on a rock solid strategic core.
  17. May 20, 2014
    90
    More like an effort-intensive relationship than an adrenaline-inducing one-night-stand, Transistor is a must-play for those who are committed to its cause. However, those who are looking for an instantly-gripping cheap thrill should look elsewhere as this is a game that must be seen through to the very last second.
  18. May 20, 2014
    90
    Great combat mechanics and excellent writing help Transistor transcend the familiarity of its individual components. A gorgeous, intriguing, and ultimately moving tale, Supergiant's sophomore effort builds on the strengths that made Bastion so memorable without feeling like a mere retread.
  19. May 20, 2014
    90
    Following on from Bastion, I doubt many would have begrudged Supergiant from heading down the same path again. While Transistor does hold certain similarities, such as having the constant presence of a voice and the general underpinnings of the action RPG gameplay, the Turn() planning phase completely transforms the manner in which you will tackle a fight, making it a far more considered and tactical experience.
  20. May 20, 2014
    90
    The PlayStation 4 and PC versions are nearly identical save for one feature: On PS4, you can choose to have the sword’s voice come out of the speaker on the controller. While it seems gimmicky on paper, I found myself playing through the entire game this way, and really appreciating the immersion it added to my experience.
  21. May 20, 2014
    90
    Transistor is as much about what is left unsaid as what is explained. I find that openness to interpretation refreshing; I suspect I won’t be the only one.
  22. May 20, 2014
    90
    Transistor is a memorable and immersive game thanks to the companion voice and the stunning visuals and audio. Its rich gameplay is a bit demanding, but also rewarding if you want to experiment and discover all its secrets.
  23. May 20, 2014
    90
    Transistor falters near the end by giving players access to a few game-breakingly powerful abilities, but the anticlimax is more than made up for by its touching story, gorgeous presentation, and imaginative take on the action-RPG formula.
  24. May 29, 2014
    88
    Transistor creates a place that you want to understand, where you don't want to be, yet at the same time don't want to leave. It's a game you will never forget, despite the somewhat sloppy end. We can only wish to play Transistor for the very first time again, to enjoy this wonderful world and equally special music without any prior knowledge. Transistor will never let you go.
  25. Play UK
    Jun 21, 2014
    87
    A stunning game with a hell of a battle system. [Issue#245, p.]
  26. May 29, 2014
    87
    The stellar concept and artistic style of Transistor is nigh-on unparalleled. The mystical aura surrounding and permeating the entire game is original and attractive, the blending of real-time and turn-based gameplay is inspired (and yeah, it works exceedingly well), and there’s a surprising amount of humanity injected into this otherwise sci-fi presentation.
  27. May 23, 2014
    87
    With Bastion's precedent, we were expecting that Transistor would be a most likely must have among indie games in PS4. Perhaps quite expensive if we take in consideration the relation between price and duration, but those superb visuals and music are really worthy. Probably the best exclusive, digital game for PS4 to date.
  28. May 22, 2014
    87
    My biggest wish is for more of this game, a sequel or some DLC, because I want to see this world continued, and I want to play the combat until my thumbs bleed. I’m disappointed in its short play-length, but it can’t be said enough that Transistor is a beautiful and unique RPG that every gamer should play. I can hardly wait to see what Supergiant will come up with next.
  29. Transistor'a a very beautiful game which has got perfect music and an incredible and different world. If you have played Bastion before, you'll love this game.
  30. Jul 18, 2014
    85
    Transistor is an example of style and courage, an action RPG with an intriguing combat system, a fascinating story and characters. This game is also simply sublime in the field of graphics and sound. A great game by the creators of Bastion.
  31. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jun 16, 2014
    85
    Transistor is more Supergiant magic, even if it doesn't surpass its previous attempt. [July 2014, p78]
  32. May 29, 2014
    85
    Transistor has every element necessary in it to steal your heart. The combination of an inventive combat system, beautiful surroundings and an intriguing narration results in an elegant symbiosis which you will often enjoy. It's just a shame that Transistor never becomes the memorable masterpiece that would expect. Therefore, the story turns to anticlimax and fighting never exploits its potential.
  33. May 29, 2014
    85
    It won't necessarily appeal to all of Bastion's fans, but Transistor shows that Supergiant Games isn't just a one-hit wonder and is capable of crafting an entirely different kind of game experience that is still exciting and delightful.
  34. May 21, 2014
    85
    The experience of Transistor is lush and enjoyable. It is a beautiful game with some truly excellent mechanics. Unfortunately, its story and lack of character development through gameplay brings the rest of the game down - but not by much.
  35. May 21, 2014
    81
    Transistor is a nice little adventure, an emotional one, with remarkable art direction and an interesting (even if somewhat unbalanced) combat system.
  36. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jun 29, 2014
    80
    A unique creative vision that's not to be missed. [July 2014, p.82]
  37. Jun 2, 2014
    80
    Transistor gives players a dazzling world to explore, a customisable combat system that anyone could find pleasure in, and a story that can pull on even the toughest person’s heartstrings if engaged with.
  38. May 30, 2014
    80
    With colorful yet somewhat frightening environments, a great soundtrack and a fantastic combat system, Transistor is a unique experience that’s hard not to be amazed at. The game is a bit short and the story could’ve been better told - but it’s easily forgivable in this memorable adventure.
  39. May 29, 2014
    80
    Overall Transistor certainly shows how far Supergiant Games have come from Bastion - which was a great effort. Unfortunately, it’s missing some essential elements in an RPG (such as the aforementioned grinding) making a few bosses harder than they should be.
  40. May 28, 2014
    80
    An incredibly charismatic and elegant game that stands out mixing playability and aesthetics in a really organic way.
  41. May 26, 2014
    80
    The game with the Lady and the giant sword may start slow, but the political background as well as the relationship of the main characters drag you into this beautifully designed world with its well executed tactical role playing.
  42. May 22, 2014
    80
    The creators of Bastion managed to deliver another great action/ RPG. Transistor is shorter than Bastion, but has amazing visuals, an incredible atmosphere and a superb battle system.
  43. May 20, 2014
    80
    Bastion certainly wasn’t a fluke. Transistor cements Supergiant Games as one of the sharpest, most stylish, and unique small developers. Though some of its flourishes aren’t quite as fresh the second time around, Transistor speaks with a unique creative identity, mostly successfully refreshes solid RPG mechanics, and tells a poignant story worth experiencing.
  44. May 20, 2014
    80
    Transistor’s combat engages with the same dualism that informs the game’s central tension between coded performativity and human agency.
  45. May 20, 2014
    80
    Transistor's clever combat and incredible customization makes for an intensely fun strategy game, but the world and story leave much to be desired. Come for the art and wonderful soundtrack, stay for the ability to freeze time and slash up robots.
  46. May 20, 2014
    80
    There's a touch of magic, even of spirituality, to Transistor's story, a sense that there are things within the world of Cloudbank that transcend our understanding of what's possible.
  47. May 22, 2014
    79
    Transistor is technically beautiful and has a great combat system, but it lacks depth in both gameplay and narration, and its price is quite high compared to the experience it offers.
  48. Games Master UK
    Jun 29, 2014
    75
    Bewitchingly beautiful with sharp writing, but its gameplay doesn't take the same steps forward. [Aug 2014, p.72]
  49. Jun 5, 2014
    75
    With Transistor, Supergiant Games delivered yet another successful game. It looks absolutely stunning, has a great soundtrack and a very tactical combat system. To bad it's a bit tedious.
  50. Jun 3, 2014
    75
    Transistor is a pretty nice experience in a matter of atmosphere, with a gorgeous visual style and an absolutely terrific soundtrack. But when it comes about gameplay, the frustration isn't far away. The mix of A-RPG and strategy is smart and it works quite well, but you barely enjoy playing. Strange.
  51. May 20, 2014
    75
    Transistor is beautiful and engaging with a brilliant combat systems that encourages careful planning before and during battle. It’s just a shame the story holds it back from being a true classic. It’s a more flawed experience than Bastion was, but it’s also a more interesting one.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 571 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 92
  2. Negative: 6 out of 92
  1. May 20, 2014
    10
    It's a beautiful game with a haunting soundtrack- I could listen to the soundtrack alone for hours. I found the turn based combat systemIt's a beautiful game with a haunting soundtrack- I could listen to the soundtrack alone for hours. I found the turn based combat system allows the user to get used to the strategy before running head long in to complicated battles- a nice addition. The story is intense and builds slowly over time- there is so much to discover in Cloudbank that I know I will be learning things in the game for weeks to come! It is totally the spiritual successor to Bastion, but I like it so much more. Great job Supergiant! Full Review »
  2. May 27, 2014
    0
    Yes soundtrack is nice. Yes graphics look compelling too, despite it's 2D. After spending few hours playing I found my self playing a genericYes soundtrack is nice. Yes graphics look compelling too, despite it's 2D. After spending few hours playing I found my self playing a generic hack'n'slash with hardly any storyline and mediocre fighting mechanics at best. The main goal of the game is to obliterate hundreds of thousands of enemies. The purpose of doing this is unknown. I don't know who I'm killing or who my character is or how did she get there in the first place. This game is built only on legend of "Bastion" and is one of the most over hyped PS4 titles so far. If you are looking for a nice evening game after hard day at work - look elsewhere and don't buy this piece of garbage. Honestly this game deserves average score ~5/10 at best and is worth perhaps 2-3€. You have been warned. Full Review »
  3. May 21, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. This game is wonderful, i must say i thought it'd be like an 8 because there was one problem i had with bastion, i thought it had boring combat but transistors combat is fantastic, limiters allowing you the freedom to choose difficulty, various attacks that can be used as upgrades for other attacks allowing varies ways of playing. Not to mention the artstyle, something that supergiant games is great at, its amazing. Even the story is quite interesting with various with the news reports and various interactables. This game is well worth 20, 40 even 60 dollars, with some replayability with new game plus or recuriion so you can play differently. THIS GAME IS A MUST BUY, its the best game thats come out as of this year and could very well be the best throughout. Full Review »