User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 284 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 284

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 14, 2014
    5
    this is the first assassins creed game I owned and I didn't think much of it the only thing I liked about it was open world on a hand held device. and why does it have multiplayer I don't know, when I am on the go I don't have time to play online
  2. Jan 26, 2014
    5
    I had very high hopes for this game but it is just one big disappointment. The graphics are....ok....The story is terrible, the different persona's are annoying, the multi player might as well be a Facebook game, and it fails to deliver a true open world environment. For example, you bring up your map and set your marker to a viewpoint you have not synchronized yet and on your way to theI had very high hopes for this game but it is just one big disappointment. The graphics are....ok....The story is terrible, the different persona's are annoying, the multi player might as well be a Facebook game, and it fails to deliver a true open world environment. For example, you bring up your map and set your marker to a viewpoint you have not synchronized yet and on your way to the viewpoint you run into a wall that says the area is not available. That is just one of many restrictions to this "open world". Overall the gameplay is OK, but I know ubisoft could have done a lot better with this game. Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    0
    This game has no value at all. Worst combat system in the series, lots of bug that breaks the gameplay. I almost smash the ps vita becoz of it. Now I register as a member here just to express my feelings here, SHAME ON YOU UBISOFT!!!!
  4. Dec 6, 2013
    2
    All the ideas are there. The protagonist was interesting. AC is a named we expect excellence to follow. Unfortunately, this garbage is the most painful, piss poor excuse for a game in recent history. I'm angry that I bought it. There is little enjoyment to be had in the wake of the immeasurable amount of faulty programming that is this "game", and that fun is smothered by gimmicky gameAll the ideas are there. The protagonist was interesting. AC is a named we expect excellence to follow. Unfortunately, this garbage is the most painful, piss poor excuse for a game in recent history. I'm angry that I bought it. There is little enjoyment to be had in the wake of the immeasurable amount of faulty programming that is this "game", and that fun is smothered by gimmicky game mechanics and a failure to harness the power of the vita's exquisite hardware. More of a chore than a recreational experience. Shallow story, made worse by the glaring capabilities of greatness that could have been. Shame on Ubisoft for allowing some half-wit development team access to the franchise that I've come to love and expect quality from. Do NOT buy this game. Expand
  5. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. PS Vita!
    -Открытый мир
    -Девушка
    -Разнообразные костюмы
    -Это история!
    -Есть Multiplayer
    -Русские
    Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    This game does look rather good, though the framerate can be an issue a times. The story is pretty dull, and not one you are likely to remember afterwards, but if you looking for some fast paced action, and don´t care much for the storyline Assassin's Creed III: Liberation could be your pick.
  7. Sep 10, 2013
    4
    This game has a boring story that is hidden away from you, poor voice acting, bad sound effects, bad visuals and performance (It barley runs over 18fps), bugs are some of the issues this game faces. These developers were so lazy that they didn't even include a sound effect for the whip, the only new weapon type in the game.

    I would be ok with all of this if it weren't for the tedious
    This game has a boring story that is hidden away from you, poor voice acting, bad sound effects, bad visuals and performance (It barley runs over 18fps), bugs are some of the issues this game faces. These developers were so lazy that they didn't even include a sound effect for the whip, the only new weapon type in the game.

    I would be ok with all of this if it weren't for the tedious sound track, forced play as the lady persona missions and forced (And awful) puzzle mini games.

    The more I want to like this game the less I do. This game was a lazy attempt at bringing the franchise to Vita. I get the feeling that they were just trying to make a mobile engine so that they can port the game to iphone if it works out.
    Expand
  8. Sep 1, 2013
    8
    This is a beautiful, and fun Vita game. It dos not feel like a dumbed down version of Assassins Creed but rather another entry in the franchise. The climbing and exploring are tons of fun. Some people find the persona system gimmicky but I thought it added something fresh. I do find the fighting and cameras can be a little tricky at times and the story is somewhat weak but this feelsThis is a beautiful, and fun Vita game. It dos not feel like a dumbed down version of Assassins Creed but rather another entry in the franchise. The climbing and exploring are tons of fun. Some people find the persona system gimmicky but I thought it added something fresh. I do find the fighting and cameras can be a little tricky at times and the story is somewhat weak but this feels like an Assassin's Creed game. If you want a Vita game that feels like a console game this might be for you. If you don't love the console versions of the franchise this is not going to turn you around on it. Expand
  9. Aug 10, 2013
    7
    My feelings for Assassin's Creed III: Liberation are mixed. While it truly is the successor to Assassin's Creed: Bloodlines (the previous portable Assassin's Creed), it doesn't quite take full advantage of the Vita. In Liberation, you play as Aveline de Grandpré, an Assassin who resides in New Orleans. Throughout the 8-9 hour campaign, you are given an in-depth look of the life of Aveline.My feelings for Assassin's Creed III: Liberation are mixed. While it truly is the successor to Assassin's Creed: Bloodlines (the previous portable Assassin's Creed), it doesn't quite take full advantage of the Vita. In Liberation, you play as Aveline de Grandpré, an Assassin who resides in New Orleans. Throughout the 8-9 hour campaign, you are given an in-depth look of the life of Aveline. While the plot is occasionally interesting, it will never have you sitting at the edge of your chair in excitement. Honestly, there is too little known about Aveline to really care about her fate. The gameplay on the other hand is great. Liberation successfully brings the full Assassin's Creed experience to the Vita at practically no cost. Practically. The frame rate will drop during certain sequences, and the enemy A.I.'s stupidity can take you out of the experience at times. Those things aside, everything works great. There is eagle vision, synchronization points, and a wide arsenal of weaponry that can be widely expanded. Liberation does introduce some new mechanics, some of which can be annoying. The new "Chain Kill" feature executes a slow-motion cinematic view of Aveline killing enemies, and all you have to do is watch. There is also a new "persona" system that allows Aveline to change into three different customizable outfits, all of which possess their own special ability (e.g. the Lady persona can charm her foes, and then assassinate them). The games main story will often force you to equip a certain persona for a mission. This was annoying and unnecessary. However, when completing side quests you have to the option to equip any persona you want. This added variety and was quite enjoyable at times. On top of everything else, there are several side mission to tackle and mini games to play. After unlocking the Assassin HQ, you are given the opportunity to buy and sell goods via ships. I would prefer if this included actual ship battle sequences like in Assassin's Creed 3 on the PS3, but you cant have everything. Visually, Liberation mostly disappoints. From blurry textures, to annoying shadows covering the faces of some characters, Liberation just doesn't look as good as good as it should. Overall, Liberation excels in the gameplay department, but falls a little flat due to a boring story and mediocre visuals. Expand
  10. Jul 18, 2013
    8
    Wowzer this is an incredible achievement for a handheld game. I have been a huge fan of the Assassins Creed series and I can safely say that this is a wonderful addition. However it does not go without it's faults and bugs.

    Pros...... + Long campaign + The visuals are beautiful and you really get a sense of scale especially when you synchronize from up above + The characters are well
    Wowzer this is an incredible achievement for a handheld game. I have been a huge fan of the Assassins Creed series and I can safely say that this is a wonderful addition. However it does not go without it's faults and bugs.

    Pros......
    + Long campaign
    + The visuals are beautiful and you really get a sense of scale especially when you synchronize from up above
    + The characters are well detailed and the movements are very realistic
    + Sound design is good especially through the headphones
    + Large maps with plenty of side missions and collectables
    + Responsive/smooth controls
    + Feels like an AC game

    Cons......
    - Sparse intro/storyline
    - Annoying tilt control mini games that simply do not work well Infuriating actually
    - Pointless touch controls especially when in the canoe
    - Having to hold your Vita up to a bright light to reveal details and continue What if I am in the dark?

    Final comments:
    If you can get past these small annoyances then you will have a great AC experience

    8/10 Great
    Expand
  11. Apr 26, 2013
    4
    I hate when a vita games dont use the native resolution. The graphics looks so horrible. That is not fair with the player, you watch youtube videos, get crazy to buy and then....
  12. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    I totally do not understand the people rated this game under 7 8. This game was amazing! The gameplay was fun and easy to understand, with all the new weapons Aveline has compare to all the boys in the main games. Aveline was the first female character that you can control with in the AC series and carry her around whenever you go! Which made this game extra special. I love how you canI totally do not understand the people rated this game under 7 8. This game was amazing! The gameplay was fun and easy to understand, with all the new weapons Aveline has compare to all the boys in the main games. Aveline was the first female character that you can control with in the AC series and carry her around whenever you go! Which made this game extra special. I love how you can change persona and blend in with people. Different persona have different abilities. People complain how the graphics and sound are really bad, but I didn't find that as a problem for me to lower the rate. Okay...maybe the sound are not that great but the game is still on a PS Vita which leads me to the next point. Graphics are surprisingly good on a PS Vita. It's not a PS4 gamers, portable devices have a limit to it. Sadly, looking at Ubisoft's situation right now, they probably will not make another game about Aveline and her story.... Expand
  13. Apr 13, 2013
    3
    every aspects in this game is inferior to those in console version. heck it is not even good game in its own term. graphics are blurry gameplay is boring story is weak
    ubisoft wanted to make quick game cuz pressure from vota owners?
  14. Apr 7, 2013
    6
    This feels less like a AC game, and more like an entire game of quicktime events. There is little to no actual skill required, simply run along the provided paths (which includes jumping from tree to tree), tap repeatedly for combat, then it's on to the next cutscene, rinse-repeat. There is little 'fun' in 'playing' this game, as you are guided so directly down the path to your nextThis feels less like a AC game, and more like an entire game of quicktime events. There is little to no actual skill required, simply run along the provided paths (which includes jumping from tree to tree), tap repeatedly for combat, then it's on to the next cutscene, rinse-repeat. There is little 'fun' in 'playing' this game, as you are guided so directly down the path to your next objective. Other AC games feel like an open world, but here there's little reason to waver from your objective, and doing so just gets you lost in the jungle.

    Thoroughly disappointing experience!
    Expand
  15. Mar 29, 2013
    3
    My personal opinion on this game is very disappointing,i expected this to be amazing but no it isn't. The Graphics are very poor. The Environment is Very Poor there's just random duplicated characters wondering around doing nothing.the story is okay but not my type and last the performance isn't great and takes a while to get used to.
  16. Mar 7, 2013
    8
    hey its a great game not perfect but a great and smooth gameplay, good graphics and storyline, i dont understand why all the reviewers put low critics on goo games
  17. Feb 28, 2013
    5
    Nice game, good start for AC on Vita.
    Graphics weren't as I expected. Story wasn't that fun. And I couldn't get much out of it. The persona idea was cool.
    I experienced slow downs many times which made the experience awful. I didn't like the protagonist Aveline. Multiplayer was just silly and waste of time. They allocated 5 or 4 trophies for multiplayer which was really so silly and
    Nice game, good start for AC on Vita.
    Graphics weren't as I expected. Story wasn't that fun. And I couldn't get much out of it. The persona idea was cool.
    I experienced slow downs many times which made the experience awful. I didn't like the protagonist Aveline.
    Multiplayer was just silly and waste of time. They allocated 5 or 4 trophies for multiplayer which was really so silly and boring.
    I'm overall satisfied with the game but not excited or impressed. Worst int he series actually. Given that I didn't play Bloodlines to compare it with Liberation.
    Expand
  18. Jan 28, 2013
    7
    Firstly, I'm a huge fan of the AC series. For me though, this is the poorest and least enjoyable of all the AC's from the series. Graphically the game is good (but not amazing) but clearly due to hardware restraints within the Vita, it's just not as grand as the other games from a visual point of view (I'm not marking the game down for this). I found that the sound of the game was poor,Firstly, I'm a huge fan of the AC series. For me though, this is the poorest and least enjoyable of all the AC's from the series. Graphically the game is good (but not amazing) but clearly due to hardware restraints within the Vita, it's just not as grand as the other games from a visual point of view (I'm not marking the game down for this). I found that the sound of the game was poor, voices sound like they've been recorded in mono or something? The story is..well...ok. Just ok. Gameplay wise I found it average..sometimes engaging sometimes boring and repetitive. i just found everything really average! What really brings the game down for me is the total lack of polish...this game was rushed rushed rushed! So so so many bugs and glitches everywhere which really frustrated me. In the end, I found that I had to push myself to finish the main story, and I have no intention of ever playing it again. To summarise, an average game at best. A 7 from me. Expand
  19. Jan 23, 2013
    5
    Problems, practically a lot. First you can't be Ezio or a assassin, just a stupid British guy that is nothing like a assassin. It even shown Ezio! The only good thing was a good graphics
  20. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    Jumping straight in, Assassins Creed III liberation isn't a console port, its a different story staring Aveline, the first lady assassin. While functioning like its console brother, it still feels different. Aveline is a young woman, when she was a child her mother dissapeared, as she was took by, ermm... Okay so Aveline's life is now in the future now (as if when she was a young woman,Jumping straight in, Assassins Creed III liberation isn't a console port, its a different story staring Aveline, the first lady assassin. While functioning like its console brother, it still feels different. Aveline is a young woman, when she was a child her mother dissapeared, as she was took by, ermm... Okay so Aveline's life is now in the future now (as if when she was a young woman, not future 2067 stuff.) and shes in the Assassins Brotherhood after being brought in by.... some mentor. You see this is the problem, next to no backstory. You find out later in the game but still, we need more when going in. The gameplay is your normal assassins creed. Stealth here, fight there, climb there. I realize allot of recycled animations from the console counterpart. They did a good job of porting a AC game to the handheld and making it nice and open world with tons of stuff to do, just like how I wanted assassins creed for the PSP to be. I'm giving this a 8/10, you shouldnt run out and buy a vita for this, but if you have a vita, don't give this a miss. Expand
  21. Jan 12, 2013
    8
    This is the first portable Assassins Creed game to really feel like an Assassins Creed game to me. The visuals are great, the voice acting is well done, and the atmosphere is very good. The music is good and mostly non-intrusive as well. The story is very well done as well. It fits in the the Assassins Creed 3 theme very well.

    The controls are pretty easy to figure out. There is a level
    This is the first portable Assassins Creed game to really feel like an Assassins Creed game to me. The visuals are great, the voice acting is well done, and the atmosphere is very good. The music is good and mostly non-intrusive as well. The story is very well done as well. It fits in the the Assassins Creed 3 theme very well.

    The controls are pretty easy to figure out. There is a level of complexity to it all, but it's not over the top, and it's pretty easy to figure out. There's a good variety of places you go to as well.

    The game is far from perfect, but it is still a good game, one that is great to play through once and one that I can easily see myself playing through multiple times.
    Expand
  22. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    The graphics are great, it has nice dialogs and the game seems to be well made and taken care of. It has many negative reviews but after some patches the game fixed many bugs it had. The story mode is not so good since it lacks depth and you pretty much forget what's going on, apart from that, the city is well created and if you like the saga you know what to expect.
  23. Dec 15, 2012
    9
    I bought this game about 3 weeks ago,and i love it.Controls are just like in "big consoles".Graphics are awesome,animations are sweet.But music is quite bad,each city had each song.The game is worthy of my 9/10.
  24. Dec 14, 2012
    6
    I love AC saga but this one isnt a very good game of AC..This new female assasin isnt good for that game..better if ubisoft use altair/ezio for AC episode
  25. Dec 10, 2012
    5
    I'm no fan of the Assassin's Creed series and the reasons are many, and one of these is the repetitive gameplay. I liked how the second tried to make it more varied and, all in all, it's NOT a bad series and actually it's one of the most engaging series ever. However, this is NOT a good game at all. First off, I liked how there's a female character for the first very time and I liked howI'm no fan of the Assassin's Creed series and the reasons are many, and one of these is the repetitive gameplay. I liked how the second tried to make it more varied and, all in all, it's NOT a bad series and actually it's one of the most engaging series ever. However, this is NOT a good game at all. First off, I liked how there's a female character for the first very time and I liked how they tried to use this as an advantage by switching the clothes...but the female character really is bland and she seems more like a puppet in our hands than a true heroine: I never felt her more than an avatar and that's really sad because it had potential, a lot of it. The clothes aren't well implemented as well: they change how you contact the people and, basically, your weapons sets (the lady is usually out of sight and her main weapon is the umbrella blowgun; the slave will be marked the more she acts weird and can't use guns and longswords; and the assassin is basically avoided if you don't want nuisances and can use guns also). But here's the big problem: you always have to change them manually for missions that require different sets, which can be a big problem if you didn't know that before hand (the biggest example was a mission where you had to reach a ship in 1:30 minutes, and I was using the lady dress in that moment). These are the small details however, because the big slap in the face are the missions themselves (even main missions)....and holy hell they are BAD. I'll be honest: I liked how they wanted to make the missions more challenging by adding an extra objective (like reaching point X in less time, kill with specific weapons, and so forth), and surely adds variety to a series who hardly had any....but the objectives are completely cheap! The requests for those extra objectives are completely stupid, because they make missions harder than they should be (biggest examples here are the missions where you have to kill a certain target...they'll make it stupidly harder by asking you to kill them in the most weird ways imaginable). And even if you don't do the extra objectives, here comes another big flaw: the game is glitchy and doesn't fit the clothes system. For instance, if a mission tells you to not be seen, and you get spotted by THIEVES, the mission is over. If a mission asks you stalk someone, you can choose which clothes to use...too bad you will fail the mission if you run away, and so you're forced to accept the mission in the right clothes. Sometimes missions aren't very clear and you will easily fail due to some misleading instructions. Also, the puzzles that uses the Vita features are very badly implemented and sometimes they don't work as they should (the letter opening wasn't working; the light trick works randomly; the pickpocket sometimes won't register my movements). The only good thing is the touch screen which works fine and actually better than I thought, but that's really it. More bugs also keep coming up and so far I don't think there were any patch to fix them up yet. Ah and yes, for a Vita game, is very strong and very good looking, even if there are slowdowns now and then...but good graphics never make a good game to me. All in all, I really didn't enjoy this game a single bit. For fans of the series, it's a good addition and they'll probably ignore most of the flaws, but for anyone else, just look for something else... Expand
  26. Dec 2, 2012
    4
    Very, very, very bad done game. When I played this, I was wondering if did I just buy a prototype beta game: extreme major bugs, very bad performance and very bad sound. The gameplay is the only factor that isn't very bad, but just bad, because it's very boring and repetitive. The game crashes on loading screens while you're on the Animus (yes, you have to re-play the game by scratch),Very, very, very bad done game. When I played this, I was wondering if did I just buy a prototype beta game: extreme major bugs, very bad performance and very bad sound. The gameplay is the only factor that isn't very bad, but just bad, because it's very boring and repetitive. The game crashes on loading screens while you're on the Animus (yes, you have to re-play the game by scratch), there are invisible walls which make you go underworld and crash the game, the sound seems to be compressed, sometimes the game runs at 10FPS and most of the times it's stable at 25 FPS. Plot isn't deep and intriguing. Giving 4 to this game, is like offending other games which I gave 5 like Silent Hill Homecoming, because its real score should be "2.5", but, since the developers may not be very expert with the VITA, I decided not to give it 2. Anyway, they should have taken more time and fixing a lot of things, before releasing a beta game! (And yes, it is a beta game because there are already big patches, and a new one is coming soon, which means that they haven't test it yet) Expand
  27. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    I scored Assassin's Creed 3 an 8. This game sticks closer to the tried and true Creed game play. The glitch issues that plagues the console counterpart are absent here. You feel like you are controlling a female Ezio, not Connor and that's a good thing for me. All it's missing is the hook blade. The Vita needs more top notch entries like this one.
  28. Nov 19, 2012
    4
    What an absolute load of rubbish. Nothing works properly. Combat was better on some PS1 games! Free running is lame....doesn't work as well as the previous PS3 games. Collectables are boring. The persona idea is nice but having to go around in the lady persona is just so dull and boring.

    The story is actually ok. I liked it. But the thing is the actual gaming aspect is so terrible I
    What an absolute load of rubbish. Nothing works properly. Combat was better on some PS1 games! Free running is lame....doesn't work as well as the previous PS3 games. Collectables are boring. The persona idea is nice but having to go around in the lady persona is just so dull and boring.

    The story is actually ok. I liked it. But the thing is the actual gaming aspect is so terrible I can't give this any more than a 4.
    Expand
  29. Nov 18, 2012
    7
    I was really impressed when I first started playing this game, but by the end, I was completely let down. I have no desire whatsoever to actually finish all the collection trophies, but unfortunately I will have to. Changing from persona to persona actually became a chore instead of a highlight and the lady persona is completely useless in my opinion. When I finished the campaign I wasI was really impressed when I first started playing this game, but by the end, I was completely let down. I have no desire whatsoever to actually finish all the collection trophies, but unfortunately I will have to. Changing from persona to persona actually became a chore instead of a highlight and the lady persona is completely useless in my opinion. When I finished the campaign I was left scratching my head wondering what had just happened. The fluidity of the game is pretty good, but the fighting actually became boring due to the lack of animation once you actually recycle the same moves over and over again. Expand
  30. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    I don't trust critics anymore, this game is great, i don't know if that's because i'm a fan of the series, but i really really enjoyed this game, i might even go as far and say i enjoyed it more than the console version, mainly because i hated Connor, this game isn't a 10 but i rated it that way because i'm noticing some trolls are rating it 0 without even playing it, pathetic really, myI don't trust critics anymore, this game is great, i don't know if that's because i'm a fan of the series, but i really really enjoyed this game, i might even go as far and say i enjoyed it more than the console version, mainly because i hated Connor, this game isn't a 10 but i rated it that way because i'm noticing some trolls are rating it 0 without even playing it, pathetic really, my real score is 8.5/10 btw. Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Dec 18, 2012
    72
    A match for its bigger cousins on the surface. But dig deep and liberation starts to unravel. [Jan 2013, p.80]
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    80
    Even though the visuals suffer in their tininess, none of the basic Assassin's Creeding is compromised. This is a full-blown counterpart to Assassin's Creed 3, with its own setting, style, character, and location. Bravo, Ubisoft.
  3. It's the glitches and game-breaking annoyances that most let things down. [Christmas 2012, p.96]