User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 323 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 323
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2012
    8
    THE CRITICS REVIEWS ARE FALSE. Don't trust them, they all hate vita. This game is the best game I've ever played on any handheld. Amazing graphics, solid AC gameplay that I expected, and a well processed story. Resistance: BS had poor critic reviews and poor user reviews, but this time, do not trust critics. AC III: Liberation is the best handheld game since peace walker on the PSP.
  2. Nov 7, 2012
    9
    Assassin's Creed III: Liberation is the first legit handheld game in the franchise. While there were Assassin's Creed games on both PSP and DS, none of these offered the console experience in handheld form. Liberation gives you a large sandbox world to explore, along with graphics that are pretty close to the games on the big home consoles. While it may not hit the visual mark of someAssassin's Creed III: Liberation is the first legit handheld game in the franchise. While there were Assassin's Creed games on both PSP and DS, none of these offered the console experience in handheld form. Liberation gives you a large sandbox world to explore, along with graphics that are pretty close to the games on the big home consoles. While it may not hit the visual mark of some scenes in Assassin's Creed III, I feel the world feels more alive than some other Assassin's Creed games I've played, as the world is full of pedestrians going about their business, such as sawing wood, working on houses, fishing, etc. You can even interact with the animals. This is a world that feels lived-in. Unlike many handheld games where you feel detached because of its portable style of play, Liberation immerses you in this world. This is Liberation, you should probably buy it.

    In terms of story, I really enjoyed Aveline's tale. There's a good cast of colorful characters here, many brimming with lots of charm. Aveline is a strong protagonist. She walks and acts with a certain style of confidence, even when her race is suffering under slavery, she is a strong female character that is rare in games.

    As far as graphics go, this is one of Vita's best. While it looks as good as Uncharted: Golden Abyss at times, it also sometimes looks a little worse. Like most open world games, Liberation has its highs and lows, but its highs are much higher than its lows are lower, because even at its lows, the world is still brimming with exceptional detail. You want to explore this beautiful world. Liberation's graphics are definitely near the top of Vita's library, especially considering this is an open world.

    Onto the gameplay, personally, I love it. I think the mechanics feel very solid and it plays beautifully on the Vita. Running around the city, climbing buildings, taking down foes, etc. all feels great.

    Despite being an incredible game, it does lack some polish to take it to that next level. Like Assassin's Creed III on home consoles, Liberation also has some glitches and framerate hiccups. I've seen people walk through houses, disappear from the world right in front of me, etc. To be fair, these are pretty minor distractions at best, but I think it's worth mentioning. Onto the framerate, it's usually pretty okay, but sometimes it'll get bogged down.

    If you have a Vita and want a large open world game, I'd highly recommend buying Liberation.
    Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2015
    8
    The game is good port for the PS Vita, as it plays like an Assassin's Creed game. However, the story is weak and the game graphics as just ok, add to that the sometimes cliches that the game has. Fortunately, the game runs and plays great and enough for me to recommended it to fans of the series that want to play it on the go.
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    I don't trust critics anymore, this game is great, i don't know if that's because i'm a fan of the series, but i really really enjoyed this game, i might even go as far and say i enjoyed it more than the console version, mainly because i hated Connor, this game isn't a 10 but i rated it that way because i'm noticing some trolls are rating it 0 without even playing it, pathetic really, myI don't trust critics anymore, this game is great, i don't know if that's because i'm a fan of the series, but i really really enjoyed this game, i might even go as far and say i enjoyed it more than the console version, mainly because i hated Connor, this game isn't a 10 but i rated it that way because i'm noticing some trolls are rating it 0 without even playing it, pathetic really, my real score is 8.5/10 btw. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    I've picked this game along with NFS MW on vita. What comes to mind after playing an hour or so that the game has identity crisis, the story depth is quiet shallow and it has a lot of grey areas which we expect to find answers but unfortunatley most of questions will not be answered, AC games are usually come along with an engaging story. This is where Liberation has lack of work. BesideI've picked this game along with NFS MW on vita. What comes to mind after playing an hour or so that the game has identity crisis, the story depth is quiet shallow and it has a lot of grey areas which we expect to find answers but unfortunatley most of questions will not be answered, AC games are usually come along with an engaging story. This is where Liberation has lack of work. Beside that Aveline herself is a pretty nice character. Her style, dialogues n everything she has is very impressive but then becuz we love her we want to know about her dark past eventually, but there is no background story either. its shame to see all of these lovely ideas are not very well working to make a real AC game. Beside these the gameplay is a total Assassins Creed. It has a mixture of brilliant ideas and all the cool assassins missions. sometimes it has lack of vraiety which is not very noticeable unless you arent a fan of AC series. But what bothers me a lot that this brilliant Persona content could be really brilliant !!! well the issue is through out the game you are forced to use specific personas n u dun have any choice actually. so it feels like there is no sense of freedom. this is where the gameplay is lacking depth and balance a lot. Anyway .... Vita has a huge potential ... i am assuming developers were in the rush to release the game at same time as AC3 so that they are assured of its high sales. Well performance is poor due to the unbalanced frame rate but then technically the open world of AC3 L is really alive as console version. crowded city, lovely textures and designed areas....huge perspective n good lighting .... in generall from aspect being a console game i am not dissapointed from AC3 L ... its a really good approach n start and hopefully it will be better than what it is ... from aspect being an AC"3" game ... well its still far .... Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    As fully featured as any console game, and every aspect feels like it was given the proper care. Liberation is part of a beloved series, and it can be proud standing beside any other of your Assassin's Creed favorites. If you've been looking for a reason to pick up a PS Vita, this is probably it.
  7. Sep 1, 2013
    8
    This is a beautiful, and fun Vita game. It dos not feel like a dumbed down version of Assassins Creed but rather another entry in the franchise. The climbing and exploring are tons of fun. Some people find the persona system gimmicky but I thought it added something fresh. I do find the fighting and cameras can be a little tricky at times and the story is somewhat weak but this feelsThis is a beautiful, and fun Vita game. It dos not feel like a dumbed down version of Assassins Creed but rather another entry in the franchise. The climbing and exploring are tons of fun. Some people find the persona system gimmicky but I thought it added something fresh. I do find the fighting and cameras can be a little tricky at times and the story is somewhat weak but this feels like an Assassin's Creed game. If you want a Vita game that feels like a console game this might be for you. If you don't love the console versions of the franchise this is not going to turn you around on it. Expand
  8. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    I totally do not understand the people rated this game under 7 8. This game was amazing! The gameplay was fun and easy to understand, with all the new weapons Aveline has compare to all the boys in the main games. Aveline was the first female character that you can control with in the AC series and carry her around whenever you go! Which made this game extra special. I love how you canI totally do not understand the people rated this game under 7 8. This game was amazing! The gameplay was fun and easy to understand, with all the new weapons Aveline has compare to all the boys in the main games. Aveline was the first female character that you can control with in the AC series and carry her around whenever you go! Which made this game extra special. I love how you can change persona and blend in with people. Different persona have different abilities. People complain how the graphics and sound are really bad, but I didn't find that as a problem for me to lower the rate. Okay...maybe the sound are not that great but the game is still on a PS Vita which leads me to the next point. Graphics are surprisingly good on a PS Vita. It's not a PS4 gamers, portable devices have a limit to it. Sadly, looking at Ubisoft's situation right now, they probably will not make another game about Aveline and her story.... Expand
  9. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Um, what game did these "video game critics" play? It couldn't be the one with the most interesting lead character (sans Ezio) in the entire Assassin's Creed legacy in the beautiful but deadly Aveline de Grandpre who alone is almost worth the price of admission. It couldn't be the game that transfers to a handheld but gives a robust amount of gameplay, improved fighting mechanics,Um, what game did these "video game critics" play? It couldn't be the one with the most interesting lead character (sans Ezio) in the entire Assassin's Creed legacy in the beautiful but deadly Aveline de Grandpre who alone is almost worth the price of admission. It couldn't be the game that transfers to a handheld but gives a robust amount of gameplay, improved fighting mechanics, different personas to use that effect gameplay, and graphics that are on par to AC:Revelations. This game is incredible. Aveline de Grandpre is instantly one of my favorite video game characters. She's intense, but ladylike. Poised but deadly. A beautiful woman with a poisonous bite if you cross her. I love her. The game is beautiful and fun to play. It's the most fun I've had playing Assassin's Creed....ever. Again, what game did these critics play? This game is awesome. Please Ubisoft, make more of game revolving around AVELINE DE GRANPRE!!!! Expand
  10. Jan 12, 2013
    8
    This is the first portable Assassins Creed game to really feel like an Assassins Creed game to me. The visuals are great, the voice acting is well done, and the atmosphere is very good. The music is good and mostly non-intrusive as well. The story is very well done as well. It fits in the the Assassins Creed 3 theme very well.

    The controls are pretty easy to figure out. There is a level
    This is the first portable Assassins Creed game to really feel like an Assassins Creed game to me. The visuals are great, the voice acting is well done, and the atmosphere is very good. The music is good and mostly non-intrusive as well. The story is very well done as well. It fits in the the Assassins Creed 3 theme very well.

    The controls are pretty easy to figure out. There is a level of complexity to it all, but it's not over the top, and it's pretty easy to figure out. There's a good variety of places you go to as well.

    The game is far from perfect, but it is still a good game, one that is great to play through once and one that I can easily see myself playing through multiple times.
    Expand
  11. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    In terms of content and core gameplay, for the most part, this is the Assassin's Creed you know and love. It's missing a few bells and whistles from the console versions but stabbing dudes is undeniably fun as always. Given its content, this game should be a 9, but its brought down by too many strange glitches, bugs, and wierd AI oddities. One time the game would not let me progressIn terms of content and core gameplay, for the most part, this is the Assassin's Creed you know and love. It's missing a few bells and whistles from the console versions but stabbing dudes is undeniably fun as always. Given its content, this game should be a 9, but its brought down by too many strange glitches, bugs, and wierd AI oddities. One time the game would not let me progress through a clearly marked door, and I had to restart the mission, wierd clipping problems are a common problem, sound effects can fail to play back, or occasionally music for that matter (actually, sound is generally not is good as it should be, although this game has a great musical score) NPC's occasionally dont render properly and pass through objects in a wierd sort of way, sometimes the circle button indicator strangely doesn't show its function. I could go on more, but im sure you get the idea. Preformance is also quite sluggish, which is a shame. Visually however, the game generally looks really nice. You may notice a couple of uglies here and there, but for the most part, its definatley one of the vita's better looking titles. It's a shame I have to take off a point because of preformance problems and glitches, but I have always found that a large part of what makes assassin's creed so enjoyable it's wonderful animations and visceral looking action, and the these problems do take away from those high points. In some ways I feel like this game was rushed to release alongside with the console AC3. I was going crazy with exitement towards this games release, and all though in some ways it is dissapointing, in many more ways its a good time. Here's to hoping they release many future passes to polish things up a tad. Oh wait, I also forgot to mention how cool some of the new weapons in this game are. They're awesome. Expand
  12. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    As of this writing the user reviews stand at Postitive: 72, Mixed: 6, and Negative:10. In other words, the majority of users really like this game. The Critic reviews currently stand at Positive: 14, Mixed: 13. What's wrong with this picture? Go with the users. The game is amazing. I saw one or two user reviews claim that the graphics weren't up to Vita standards. I'm callingAs of this writing the user reviews stand at Postitive: 72, Mixed: 6, and Negative:10. In other words, the majority of users really like this game. The Critic reviews currently stand at Positive: 14, Mixed: 13. What's wrong with this picture? Go with the users. The game is amazing. I saw one or two user reviews claim that the graphics weren't up to Vita standards. I'm calling 'troll' on that claim. AC:L is almost as beautiful as Uncharted: Golden Abyss. It's basically Assassin's Creed in your pocket and it's awesome. Is it perfect? No. But it's a phenomenal achievement. It plays like Assassin's Creed on the consoles. It looks like Assassin's Creed. No brainer. Expand
  13. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    After playing all of the previous Assassin's Creed games , i must say i was pretty surprised with this one. I was pretty bored with Brotherhood and Revelations, but this one is another story. I guess mainly because its played on handheld. Graphics are superb (nearly good as first Assassin's Creed on PS3), sound and voices could be better - when im playing with headphones i can hear voicesAfter playing all of the previous Assassin's Creed games , i must say i was pretty surprised with this one. I was pretty bored with Brotherhood and Revelations, but this one is another story. I guess mainly because its played on handheld. Graphics are superb (nearly good as first Assassin's Creed on PS3), sound and voices could be better - when im playing with headphones i can hear voices are not in highest quality , but still makes a good impression. Framerate is sometimes low when you are fighting more enemies at once , and controls may get a bit laggy and slow.Jumping from stuff to other stuff may be confusing and reaching your destination can be frustrating sometimes ,mainly in the swamps. But still i give this game an 8/10 because its pretty good in every aspect. Expand
  14. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    It feels like it could do better, but to be honest it's a very entertaining game overal. Only the multiplayer is not really what I expected/like, but I never play AC for the Multiplayer but for the single player modes!
  15. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    The BEST AC game EVER on a portable system, and it is almost as good as its console brethren. The world is big and detailed, gameplay is refined and polished, and it is a really long game too. However, it does lose points for framerate issues and not-that-great story. Nevertheless, you do get accustomed to the framerate rather soon, and of course for such a vast and detailed game, thisThe BEST AC game EVER on a portable system, and it is almost as good as its console brethren. The world is big and detailed, gameplay is refined and polished, and it is a really long game too. However, it does lose points for framerate issues and not-that-great story. Nevertheless, you do get accustomed to the framerate rather soon, and of course for such a vast and detailed game, this kind of framerate was kind of expected. Expand
  16. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    I love this game. Finally something on the vita that looks and plays great. There is some lag but the graphics rock. I only played the first AC, but like this one much better.
  17. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    i think that the best game for a handheld is ac3 liberation every moment of the game amazing i can not stop playing this game i just want to give you my opinion this is my best game in this year for my vita
  18. Nov 6, 2012
    9
    Great addition to the franchise, I think Ubi did a great job in both Liberation and ACIII at capturing the times. The game play is extremely enjoyable, graphics are superb, combat is fun, not a lot of gimmicky touch controls. Small in game features cause some annoyance such as the challenge of lower notoriety (knit picking here). My main complaint is the lack of a true AC multi-playerGreat addition to the franchise, I think Ubi did a great job in both Liberation and ACIII at capturing the times. The game play is extremely enjoyable, graphics are superb, combat is fun, not a lot of gimmicky touch controls. Small in game features cause some annoyance such as the challenge of lower notoriety (knit picking here). My main complaint is the lack of a true AC multi-player experience. If you are fan of the series, this is a must own. Expand
  19. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    great game i agree with spacecowboy the load time should be little shorter but the game after 3 hours of game play i c an tell you that you must by the game right now very smooth and very good graphics and insane story ****
  20. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    I haven't played much this game but I have to say this is what my PS Vita was in need of... The graphics are far superior from any other game in the portable and the controls might not suit everyone but if you are a hardcore Assassin's Creed fan, then this game won't troubles you...
  21. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    For a handheld the game is great. We have to remember, Vita games do not get the budget of the console big brothers, yes there are some bugs but they are on the console versions too. If your a Vita owner make this a purchase and enjoy...
  22. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I played the game non stop ever since it arrived (save for a few breaks) and have the story mode (although there are a tonne of side missions to do, as well as unlocking the 'real ending') - and all I have to say is wow. The first 20 or so minutes had me really worried, the graphics were poor, the gameplay felt stiff, but all that changed once the game truely opened up and stopped holdingI played the game non stop ever since it arrived (save for a few breaks) and have the story mode (although there are a tonne of side missions to do, as well as unlocking the 'real ending') - and all I have to say is wow. The first 20 or so minutes had me really worried, the graphics were poor, the gameplay felt stiff, but all that changed once the game truely opened up and stopped holding my hand. This is the true AC console experience on the handheld. I will say this much, power through the first couple of mins, it paints a sour picture of the game. The graphics become smooth and beautiful once you get further in, and the frame rate remains consistent. The gameplay is standard AC fare, which is a very good thing ! It's great how the game incorporates AC3s mechanics, keeping it up with the latest entry rather then stripping of features. There is a LOT of content in this game, and I can happily say as a huge fan of the Assassins Creed series, this is up there with its console counterparts rather then the subpar portable games. BUY THIS NOW ! Expand
  23. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    liberation from first minute full of action and impressive moments i think the game deserves its price because the graphic ,the sounds and the story all work together to give us an amazing game in the palm of our hands so great work ubisoft
  24. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    Jumping straight in, Assassins Creed III liberation isn't a console port, its a different story staring Aveline, the first lady assassin. While functioning like its console brother, it still feels different. Aveline is a young woman, when she was a child her mother dissapeared, as she was took by, ermm... Okay so Aveline's life is now in the future now (as if when she was a young woman,Jumping straight in, Assassins Creed III liberation isn't a console port, its a different story staring Aveline, the first lady assassin. While functioning like its console brother, it still feels different. Aveline is a young woman, when she was a child her mother dissapeared, as she was took by, ermm... Okay so Aveline's life is now in the future now (as if when she was a young woman, not future 2067 stuff.) and shes in the Assassins Brotherhood after being brought in by.... some mentor. You see this is the problem, next to no backstory. You find out later in the game but still, we need more when going in. The gameplay is your normal assassins creed. Stealth here, fight there, climb there. I realize allot of recycled animations from the console counterpart. They did a good job of porting a AC game to the handheld and making it nice and open world with tons of stuff to do, just like how I wanted assassins creed for the PSP to be. I'm giving this a 8/10, you shouldnt run out and buy a vita for this, but if you have a vita, don't give this a miss. Expand
  25. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    I don't know why the metascore is so low. I play the Liberation of 15 hour and it's a very good game! The only thing that bothers bugs. You can see that the terms chased, and the publisher wanted to launch the game appear in stores the same day as the stationary version. This doesn't change the fact that Assassin's Creed III Liberation is a must have for owners of PSV.
  26. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    It's nice to see so many people giving user scores generously.. Very lucky and am quite surprised to see so many ps vita titles reeking of quality..
    Very impressive graphics.. Controls instantly familiar if your an assasins creed veteran..
    Sounds/voice acting up to a very high standard.. Great gameplay.. Buy it and see For yourself.. Best 39.99 I've spent on psn in a long time.. Thank
    It's nice to see so many people giving user scores generously.. Very lucky and am quite surprised to see so many ps vita titles reeking of quality..
    Very impressive graphics.. Controls instantly familiar if your an assasins creed veteran..
    Sounds/voice acting up to a very high standard.. Great gameplay.. Buy it and see For yourself.. Best 39.99 I've spent on psn in a long time.. Thank you so much ubisoft keep up the excellent work
    Expand
  27. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Awesome game, without a shred of doubt, the closest thing to a next gen home console game on any portable device. Stunning graphics, enjoyable gameplay and nice length
  28. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Not quite AC3 on PS3 but a darn sight closer than any of the psp assasin's creed games. A reallly good realization of the AC world filled with NPCs, bringing the setting to life. Must buy IMO
  29. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    I scored Assassin's Creed 3 an 8. This game sticks closer to the tried and true Creed game play. The glitch issues that plagues the console counterpart are absent here. You feel like you are controlling a female Ezio, not Connor and that's a good thing for me. All it's missing is the hook blade. The Vita needs more top notch entries like this one.
  30. Mar 7, 2013
    8
    hey its a great game not perfect but a great and smooth gameplay, good graphics and storyline, i dont understand why all the reviewers put low critics on goo games
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Games Master UK
    Dec 18, 2012
    72
    A match for its bigger cousins on the surface. But dig deep and liberation starts to unravel. [Jan 2013, p.80]
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    80
    Even though the visuals suffer in their tininess, none of the basic Assassin's Creeding is compromised. This is a full-blown counterpart to Assassin's Creed 3, with its own setting, style, character, and location. Bravo, Ubisoft.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Dec 5, 2012
    50
    It's the glitches and game-breaking annoyances that most let things down. [Christmas 2012, p.96]