User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 272 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 272

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    It's apparent right from the first X button press Ubisoft have outdone themselves in tying Liberation to the PS3 game creating two totally different adventures with overlapping timelines. It is clear that there are more than a few similarities in both the design and gameplay. Whilst Connor deals with the Frontier, Aveline has the Bayou. Compared to the PS3 version, Aveline is pitted against fewer hostilities but she deals with them in pretty much the same vein as you fight large predators in Assassins' Creed III, mostly in quick time events. It also had an Arkham Asylum/City combat feel to it, never a bad thing. The Vita swamps provide hours of exploration with treasures aplenty and smugglers dotted around offering you gear.
    Exploring the swampland is so much fun, jumping from branch to branch, swimming stagnant waters, canoeing and wrestling crocs. Apart from the main swampy story of hunting down Acolytes there are also side missions to go at such as curing locals of an intense fever by tracking down special mushrooms.
    So far Aveline might sound a bit of a softy but she is just as agile as Connor. If it
    Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    After playing all of the previous Assassin's Creed games , i must say i was pretty surprised with this one. I was pretty bored with Brotherhood and Revelations, but this one is another story. I guess mainly because its played on handheld. Graphics are superb (nearly good as first Assassin's Creed on PS3), sound and voices could be better - when im playing with headphones i can hear voices are not in highest quality , but still makes a good impression. Framerate is sometimes low when you are fighting more enemies at once , and controls may get a bit laggy and slow.Jumping from stuff to other stuff may be confusing and reaching your destination can be frustrating sometimes ,mainly in the swamps. But still i give this game an 8/10 because its pretty good in every aspect. Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    great game i agree with spacecowboy the load time should be little shorter but the game after 3 hours of game play i c an tell you that you must by the game right now very smooth and very good graphics and insane story ****
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    i think that the best game for a handheld is ac3 liberation every moment of the game amazing i can not stop playing this game i just want to give you my opinion this is my best game in this year for my vita
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    4
    I am disappointed, Is this a bad game no, but is it really a good game, i see many reviews are playing the game with rose tinted glasses, yes there are some of the great gameplay aspects of assassins creed, but there are huge problems that hurt the game, The frame rate is awful when moving around it slows down all the time and is awful to play, that almost kills the whole game, what makes it worse is that they add in forced touch controls. If you have to play it then you should wait for it to be on sale or used dont support lazy developers. Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    liberation from first minute full of action and impressive moments i think the game deserves its price because the graphic ,the sounds and the story all work together to give us an amazing game in the palm of our hands so great work ubisoft
  7. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    You will either love this game or merely like it, depending on what kind of gamer you are. If you enjoy exploration of rich environments, deep story-telling, and are willing to think more often than many other games require, you must play Liberation. If you found wandering the Normandy in the Mass Effect series boring, if you often skip cut scenes, or if you want constant action, there is still a great deal for you to enjoy in this game, but there are parts that will frustrate you. The story is tightly packed and is not spoon-fed to the player. It's an amazing tale, but one that requires you pay attention. Also, the persona system delivers a deep level of immersion and an experience that reinforces the narrative. In doing so, this system imposes some limitations that action-oriented gamers may find frustrating. For example, the "Lady" persona cannot climb or even move that fast, but playing as the Lady also makes you feel what it's like to "pass" as a certain type in society and what sacrifices are necessary to do so. It is a brilliant move and plays into the overarching themes of the main story. Technically, Liberation is almost perfect--I say almost because there are minor and infrequent frame rate drops, and free-run is only a hair better than ACII, which means the occasional frustration of a missed ledge or branch. Without giving away too much, I'll say that that some have mistaken a story element related to the animus as glitches in gameplay. For those who play games to deeply experience a story and who love to explore new and interesting virtual worlds, this could be your favorite game this year, console or otherwise. If you are a less cerebral and more relfex-oriented gamer, you'll still enjoy Liberation, but it will not hold the same magic. Expand
  8. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Fantastic game, really enjoying it , just as good as its console counterparts, the vita has come of age with this title !
    Graphics are gorgeous the story is excellent so far and the combat system brings a huge smile to your face as you hack up your foes with extreme prejudice .
    Touch screen and rear panel are used to great effect but not over used like other vita games and work to great
    effect although optional.
    I also like the way your character has three different guises (lady,slave and assassin) which enable you to play the game with three different styles, works very well !

    Highly recommended if you own a Vita , if you don't ? Well, probably good enough a title to warrant buying one !

    A+
    Expand
  9. Nov 5, 2012
    4
    I so much wanted to like this game, not only because I am a big AC fan (I've got a bunch of special editions and paid DLC to prove it), but also because I'm always on the lookout for nice games for my Vita. However, I'm now angry and disappointed. The dev team had some nice ideas, but managed to ruin them all, and it's so frustrating. I'm half-way through the game and so far (trying to be as spoiler-free as I can): I need to kill an enemy with a certain weapon and I manage to get the weapon into the wall by touching it with my foot=restart; I get in the water to avoid being spotted, get out of the water... but keep swimming=restart; I have to get in a boat, but in the lady dress I cannot do it= restart; I go to the changing room and get back to the boat as a slave, the targets have disappeared=restart; an enemy throws me into the water=Vita crashes; get into a hay sack=Vita crashes; one of my boats has been stuck 1m away from a port for days... And that's just some of the problems I can recall right now. Enemies coming out of nowhere, random visibility levels, stupid IA, awful controls for robbery, the fact that you cannot go for 100% sync unless you're wearing the dress you're meant to be wearing (i.e. one of the rivals, you're meant to kill him as dame, but if you're not wearing the dress right away or choose to restart you're not going to make it)... And no proper tutorials at all! I knew stuff from playing previous AC games, but I wonder how newbies manage; I'm playing multiplayer by ear, and the boats, well, I had to keep touching and touching the screen until I learned what I was meant to do. It's AC, it's a woman as main character, the settings are beautiful, so is the music, the story is interesting enough so far, so I'm not giving it a zero, but this was a huge disappointment. It would be a nice game, if only it worked! Expand
  10. Oct 31, 2012
    5
    If you like smooth games, this isn't for you. If you wan to take my word for it you can stop here but I will elaborate for you skeptics. Yes this is a full assassin's creed game on the Vita and yes the idea alone is amazing but nearly every time you try to sink your teeth in the game shake you loose. The world of Liberation is hard to enter because of the poor graphics (And though I'm not picky about graphics these are not up to par with the vita's potential), the character is hard to relate to because of a jumpy explanation, and the gameplay is hard to be enthralled in due to a random frame rate drops and poor touch controls. I recommend this game only to the die hard fans or desperate vita owners everyone else will have a difficult time joying this. Collapse
  11. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    Great game on a handheld. Very smooth and really exciting game. There should be more games like this. Loading could be a little bit shorter but it's not a problem.
  12. Oct 30, 2012
    5
    First off this game is playable, but that is really where these game stops. Lack of polish is readily apparent in almost every aspect of this game. From constant random spawning of AI in the environment to boring game halting missions. This attempt at an Assassin's Creed game is a husk of what made the AC series endearing. In the short Liberations gives you a great, stunning handheld world to explore, but limits your chances and opportunities to do so. Mission structure is a very large part of this. Missions are usually broken in to several key checkpoints that don't seamlessly transition between traversal from A to B, but are disjointed narrative moments that give the game an awkward stop start. This makes the experience a constant struggle to care about story, because its just an interruption to the world where moving in the world is some of the best in the series. That is if you choose the more mobile of the personas, that being the Assassin. As the Assassin you have full mobility of Aveline, and the simplicity of her movement through all environments is nice, though some "dead ends" can be frustrating. The Slave still has a decent range of movement, but her ability to stealth is limited to performing certain tasks to help blend in. Then there is the most interesting of the three, but most flawed, the Lady. This should be one of the stand out features defining this Assassin as a unique addition to the series. The game gives good reason to fall in love with the Lady, and if given more care this could have been the best part of the game. Unfortunately the Lady suffers from a lengthy travel time from mission to mission, which you can give a slight boost to by running, but traveling any faster breaks the immersion the game so desperately wants to have. In this form she will constantly be attacked by thugs that will always apply a wanted level onto the Aveline even if she escapes from combat without throwing a punch. Charming men around the street has interesting principles, but from early on was never useful even to use their manly strength to dissuade unwanted attackers, which it didn't work. Instead it is limited to missions that force the use of Charm to get to the end. Then comes the staple of the series, Exploration. The world of Liberation is frankly extraordinary, and a world that feels more alive than previous games. Traversal is easy, and the environment is laid out in such a way that feels magical when you get to moving. Long gone are the constant jumps in the wrong direction, and falling to a frustrating demise. It is not to say these are not still present just less frequent frustrations. Where the game breaks so fundamentally is that the game is constantly driving in one direction, and doesn't push Aveline through the world interestingly. Missions are generally point A to point B, back to A maybe to C, or maybe to a completely new environment. The game never feels like Aveline is driving the story, but she becomes a page turner between cut scenes. Some scenes that are completely irrelevant stops between exploring, which could have been better told while continuing play, or interaction.

    While this game has the potential to be a great Assassin's Creed game, and a flagship for the Vita It doesn't make up for the lack of finesse evident throughout the game. As hard as it is to speak ill of this game Liberation does nothing to make it a stand out for the series.
    Expand
  13. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Alright I do not understand why this has a 71 rating, on the "official reviewers". This game is great. It's quick to jump into the action, compared to AC3 which takes quite a bit of time. The controls, aside from pickpocketing, are all great. Yes there are some glitches but this is a new engine and an open world game...they won't have all the kinks down in one day. Anywho, I really do like the idea of Abstergo making their own game and thus altering the truth as they see fit, as you will see in game. It has a good setting and a great protagonist. The deception that you have under abstergo reaches to characters you know. The persona all have their pros and cons, which is really done well, Assassin being the best fighter but having a minimum of level 1 notoriety. Slave being able to use most weapons and blend easier but accumulating notoriety faster and finally the Lady persona. She cannot free run but she gains notoriety the slowest and has an umbrella gun that poisons your enemies. It's just so much bundled up into a 40$ hand held game. The best part? It feels like a console AC game. Where as the other ones failed this one succeeds. If you like Assassin's Creed and own a vita, a rare combo, do yourself a favor and get this game. Expand
  14. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    How awesome could a handheld game get? This awesome. AC III: Liberation is surely a buy. It has insane graphics, a slow, but well told story, and very good gameplay. A buy for anyone with a vita.
  15. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Awesome game, without a shred of doubt, the closest thing to a next gen home console game on any portable device. Stunning graphics, enjoyable gameplay and nice length
  16. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Not quite AC3 on PS3 but a darn sight closer than any of the psp assasin's creed games. A reallly good realization of the AC world filled with NPCs, bringing the setting to life. Must buy IMO
  17. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    I haven't played much this game but I have to say this is what my PS Vita was in need of... The graphics are far superior from any other game in the portable and the controls might not suit everyone but if you are a hardcore Assassin's Creed fan, then this game won't troubles you...
  18. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    As fully featured as any console game, and every aspect feels like it was given the proper care. Liberation is part of a beloved series, and it can be proud standing beside any other of your Assassin's Creed favorites. If you've been looking for a reason to pick up a PS Vita, this is probably it.
  19. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    In terms of content and core gameplay, for the most part, this is the Assassin's Creed you know and love. It's missing a few bells and whistles from the console versions but stabbing dudes is undeniably fun as always. Given its content, this game should be a 9, but its brought down by too many strange glitches, bugs, and wierd AI oddities. One time the game would not let me progress through a clearly marked door, and I had to restart the mission, wierd clipping problems are a common problem, sound effects can fail to play back, or occasionally music for that matter (actually, sound is generally not is good as it should be, although this game has a great musical score) NPC's occasionally dont render properly and pass through objects in a wierd sort of way, sometimes the circle button indicator strangely doesn't show its function. I could go on more, but im sure you get the idea. Preformance is also quite sluggish, which is a shame. Visually however, the game generally looks really nice. You may notice a couple of uglies here and there, but for the most part, its definatley one of the vita's better looking titles. It's a shame I have to take off a point because of preformance problems and glitches, but I have always found that a large part of what makes assassin's creed so enjoyable it's wonderful animations and visceral looking action, and the these problems do take away from those high points. In some ways I feel like this game was rushed to release alongside with the console AC3. I was going crazy with exitement towards this games release, and all though in some ways it is dissapointing, in many more ways its a good time. Here's to hoping they release many future passes to polish things up a tad. Oh wait, I also forgot to mention how cool some of the new weapons in this game are. They're awesome. Expand
  20. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I played the game non stop ever since it arrived (save for a few breaks) and have the story mode (although there are a tonne of side missions to do, as well as unlocking the 'real ending') - and all I have to say is wow. The first 20 or so minutes had me really worried, the graphics were poor, the gameplay felt stiff, but all that changed once the game truely opened up and stopped holding my hand. This is the true AC console experience on the handheld. I will say this much, power through the first couple of mins, it paints a sour picture of the game. The graphics become smooth and beautiful once you get further in, and the frame rate remains consistent. The gameplay is standard AC fare, which is a very good thing ! It's great how the game incorporates AC3s mechanics, keeping it up with the latest entry rather then stripping of features. There is a LOT of content in this game, and I can happily say as a huge fan of the Assassins Creed series, this is up there with its console counterparts rather then the subpar portable games. BUY THIS NOW ! Expand
  21. Apr 13, 2013
    3
    every aspects in this game is inferior to those in console version. heck it is not even good game in its own term. graphics are blurry gameplay is boring story is weak
    ubisoft wanted to make quick game cuz pressure from vota owners?
  22. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I had some doubts about this game when I start playing it. Couple hours later my doubts were assassinated by Aveline.. with machete! And do you know what? I love it. Many may say the game has flaws. Which game doesn't. The most important thing is that I have fun playing it.
  23. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    For a handheld the game is great. We have to remember, Vita games do not get the budget of the console big brothers, yes there are some bugs but they are on the console versions too. If your a Vita owner make this a purchase and enjoy...
  24. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    The BEST AC game EVER on a portable system, and it is almost as good as its console brethren. The world is big and detailed, gameplay is refined and polished, and it is a really long game too. However, it does lose points for framerate issues and not-that-great story. Nevertheless, you do get accustomed to the framerate rather soon, and of course for such a vast and detailed game, this kind of framerate was kind of expected. Expand
  25. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    I think this game is one of the better games that's available on the PS Vita. If you like the assassin's creed series then this is the one for you! I hope the glitches and other things will be patched soon. I say a must buy for all ps vita gamers.
    Sorry for my bad English!

    Greetings djwille
  26. Jan 28, 2013
    7
    Firstly, I'm a huge fan of the AC series. For me though, this is the poorest and least enjoyable of all the AC's from the series. Graphically the game is good (but not amazing) but clearly due to hardware restraints within the Vita, it's just not as grand as the other games from a visual point of view (I'm not marking the game down for this). I found that the sound of the game was poor, voices sound like they've been recorded in mono or something? The story is..well...ok. Just ok. Gameplay wise I found it average..sometimes engaging sometimes boring and repetitive. i just found everything really average! What really brings the game down for me is the total lack of polish...this game was rushed rushed rushed! So so so many bugs and glitches everywhere which really frustrated me. In the end, I found that I had to push myself to finish the main story, and I have no intention of ever playing it again. To summarise, an average game at best. A 7 from me. Expand
  27. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Um, what game did these "video game critics" play? It couldn't be the one with the most interesting lead character (sans Ezio) in the entire Assassin's Creed legacy in the beautiful but deadly Aveline de Grandpre who alone is almost worth the price of admission. It couldn't be the game that transfers to a handheld but gives a robust amount of gameplay, improved fighting mechanics, different personas to use that effect gameplay, and graphics that are on par to AC:Revelations. This game is incredible. Aveline de Grandpre is instantly one of my favorite video game characters. She's intense, but ladylike. Poised but deadly. A beautiful woman with a poisonous bite if you cross her. I love her. The game is beautiful and fun to play. It's the most fun I've had playing Assassin's Creed....ever. Again, what game did these critics play? This game is awesome. Please Ubisoft, make more of game revolving around AVELINE DE GRANPRE!!!! Expand
  28. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    I don't know why the metascore is so low. I play the Liberation of 15 hour and it's a very good game! The only thing that bothers bugs. You can see that the terms chased, and the publisher wanted to launch the game appear in stores the same day as the stationary version. This doesn't change the fact that Assassin's Creed III Liberation is a must have for owners of PSV.
  29. Nov 9, 2012
    8
    THE CRITICS REVIEWS ARE FALSE. Don't trust them, they all hate vita. This game is the best game I've ever played on any handheld. Amazing graphics, solid AC gameplay that I expected, and a well processed story. Resistance: BS had poor critic reviews and poor user reviews, but this time, do not trust critics. AC III: Liberation is the best handheld game since peace walker on the PSP.
  30. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    Assassin's Creed III: Liberation was such a good game.Not only on VITA,but also for a console game.It has a full open world and the same combat system as Assassin's Creed III.In the game,you can buy or upgrade a lot eqiutment,such as weapons,clothes even ships.The combat system is fantastic and Chain Kill mode is really awesome.Though Liberation is a good game,there are still some fault and bugs.Also,the multiplayer is really awful and useless.I mean,why do we need a ''mobile game like'' multiplayer?Will developers put some IAP into the game too?Sounds like a freaking nightmare!!! Expand
  31. Oct 31, 2012
    0
    If you like smooth games, this isn't for you. If you wan to take my word for it you can stop here but I will elaborate for you skeptics. Yes this is a full assassin's creed game on the Vita and yes the idea alone is amazing but nearly every time you try to sink your teeth in the game shake you loose. The world of Liberation is hard to enter because of the poor graphics (And though I'm not picky about graphics these are not up to par with the vita's potential), the character is hard to relate to because of a jumpy explanation, and the gameplay is hard to be enthralled in due to a random frame rate drops and poor touch controls. I recommend this game only to the die hard fans or desperate vita owners everyone else will have a difficult time joying this. Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Dec 18, 2012
    72
    A match for its bigger cousins on the surface. But dig deep and liberation starts to unravel. [Jan 2013, p.80]
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    80
    Even though the visuals suffer in their tininess, none of the basic Assassin's Creeding is compromised. This is a full-blown counterpart to Assassin's Creed 3, with its own setting, style, character, and location. Bravo, Ubisoft.
  3. It's the glitches and game-breaking annoyances that most let things down. [Christmas 2012, p.96]