User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 296 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 296

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    After playing all of the previous Assassin's Creed games , i must say i was pretty surprised with this one. I was pretty bored with Brotherhood and Revelations, but this one is another story. I guess mainly because its played on handheld. Graphics are superb (nearly good as first Assassin's Creed on PS3), sound and voices could be better - when im playing with headphones i can hear voicesAfter playing all of the previous Assassin's Creed games , i must say i was pretty surprised with this one. I was pretty bored with Brotherhood and Revelations, but this one is another story. I guess mainly because its played on handheld. Graphics are superb (nearly good as first Assassin's Creed on PS3), sound and voices could be better - when im playing with headphones i can hear voices are not in highest quality , but still makes a good impression. Framerate is sometimes low when you are fighting more enemies at once , and controls may get a bit laggy and slow.Jumping from stuff to other stuff may be confusing and reaching your destination can be frustrating sometimes ,mainly in the swamps. But still i give this game an 8/10 because its pretty good in every aspect. Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    It's apparent right from the first X button press Ubisoft have outdone themselves in tying Liberation to the PS3 game creating two totally different adventures with overlapping timelines. It is clear that there are more than a few similarities in both the design and gameplay. Whilst Connor deals with the Frontier, Aveline has the Bayou. Compared to the PS3 version, Aveline is pittedIt's apparent right from the first X button press Ubisoft have outdone themselves in tying Liberation to the PS3 game creating two totally different adventures with overlapping timelines. It is clear that there are more than a few similarities in both the design and gameplay. Whilst Connor deals with the Frontier, Aveline has the Bayou. Compared to the PS3 version, Aveline is pitted against fewer hostilities but she deals with them in pretty much the same vein as you fight large predators in Assassins' Creed III, mostly in quick time events. It also had an Arkham Asylum/City combat feel to it, never a bad thing. The Vita swamps provide hours of exploration with treasures aplenty and smugglers dotted around offering you gear.
    Exploring the swampland is so much fun, jumping from branch to branch, swimming stagnant waters, canoeing and wrestling crocs. Apart from the main swampy story of hunting down Acolytes there are also side missions to go at such as curing locals of an intense fever by tracking down special mushrooms.
    So far Aveline might sound a bit of a softy but she is just as agile as Connor. If it
    Expand
  3. Apr 13, 2013
    3
    every aspects in this game is inferior to those in console version. heck it is not even good game in its own term. graphics are blurry gameplay is boring story is weak
    ubisoft wanted to make quick game cuz pressure from vota owners?
  4. Jan 28, 2013
    7
    Firstly, I'm a huge fan of the AC series. For me though, this is the poorest and least enjoyable of all the AC's from the series. Graphically the game is good (but not amazing) but clearly due to hardware restraints within the Vita, it's just not as grand as the other games from a visual point of view (I'm not marking the game down for this). I found that the sound of the game was poor,Firstly, I'm a huge fan of the AC series. For me though, this is the poorest and least enjoyable of all the AC's from the series. Graphically the game is good (but not amazing) but clearly due to hardware restraints within the Vita, it's just not as grand as the other games from a visual point of view (I'm not marking the game down for this). I found that the sound of the game was poor, voices sound like they've been recorded in mono or something? The story is..well...ok. Just ok. Gameplay wise I found it average..sometimes engaging sometimes boring and repetitive. i just found everything really average! What really brings the game down for me is the total lack of polish...this game was rushed rushed rushed! So so so many bugs and glitches everywhere which really frustrated me. In the end, I found that I had to push myself to finish the main story, and I have no intention of ever playing it again. To summarise, an average game at best. A 7 from me. Expand
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    4
    This game has a boring story that is hidden away from you, poor voice acting, bad sound effects, bad visuals and performance (It barley runs over 18fps), bugs are some of the issues this game faces. These developers were so lazy that they didn't even include a sound effect for the whip, the only new weapon type in the game.

    I would be ok with all of this if it weren't for the tedious
    This game has a boring story that is hidden away from you, poor voice acting, bad sound effects, bad visuals and performance (It barley runs over 18fps), bugs are some of the issues this game faces. These developers were so lazy that they didn't even include a sound effect for the whip, the only new weapon type in the game.

    I would be ok with all of this if it weren't for the tedious sound track, forced play as the lady persona missions and forced (And awful) puzzle mini games.

    The more I want to like this game the less I do. This game was a lazy attempt at bringing the franchise to Vita. I get the feeling that they were just trying to make a mobile engine so that they can port the game to iphone if it works out.
    Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Alright I do not understand why this has a 71 rating, on the "official reviewers". This game is great. It's quick to jump into the action, compared to AC3 which takes quite a bit of time. The controls, aside from pickpocketing, are all great. Yes there are some glitches but this is a new engine and an open world game...they won't have all the kinks down in one day. Anywho, I really do likeAlright I do not understand why this has a 71 rating, on the "official reviewers". This game is great. It's quick to jump into the action, compared to AC3 which takes quite a bit of time. The controls, aside from pickpocketing, are all great. Yes there are some glitches but this is a new engine and an open world game...they won't have all the kinks down in one day. Anywho, I really do like the idea of Abstergo making their own game and thus altering the truth as they see fit, as you will see in game. It has a good setting and a great protagonist. The deception that you have under abstergo reaches to characters you know. The persona all have their pros and cons, which is really done well, Assassin being the best fighter but having a minimum of level 1 notoriety. Slave being able to use most weapons and blend easier but accumulating notoriety faster and finally the Lady persona. She cannot free run but she gains notoriety the slowest and has an umbrella gun that poisons your enemies. It's just so much bundled up into a 40$ hand held game. The best part? It feels like a console AC game. Where as the other ones failed this one succeeds. If you like Assassin's Creed and own a vita, a rare combo, do yourself a favor and get this game. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    You will either love this game or merely like it, depending on what kind of gamer you are. If you enjoy exploration of rich environments, deep story-telling, and are willing to think more often than many other games require, you must play Liberation. If you found wandering the Normandy in the Mass Effect series boring, if you often skip cut scenes, or if you want constant action, thereYou will either love this game or merely like it, depending on what kind of gamer you are. If you enjoy exploration of rich environments, deep story-telling, and are willing to think more often than many other games require, you must play Liberation. If you found wandering the Normandy in the Mass Effect series boring, if you often skip cut scenes, or if you want constant action, there is still a great deal for you to enjoy in this game, but there are parts that will frustrate you. The story is tightly packed and is not spoon-fed to the player. It's an amazing tale, but one that requires you pay attention. Also, the persona system delivers a deep level of immersion and an experience that reinforces the narrative. In doing so, this system imposes some limitations that action-oriented gamers may find frustrating. For example, the "Lady" persona cannot climb or even move that fast, but playing as the Lady also makes you feel what it's like to "pass" as a certain type in society and what sacrifices are necessary to do so. It is a brilliant move and plays into the overarching themes of the main story. Technically, Liberation is almost perfect--I say almost because there are minor and infrequent frame rate drops, and free-run is only a hair better than ACII, which means the occasional frustration of a missed ledge or branch. Without giving away too much, I'll say that that some have mistaken a story element related to the animus as glitches in gameplay. For those who play games to deeply experience a story and who love to explore new and interesting virtual worlds, this could be your favorite game this year, console or otherwise. If you are a less cerebral and more relfex-oriented gamer, you'll still enjoy Liberation, but it will not hold the same magic. Expand
  8. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    i think that the best game for a handheld is ac3 liberation every moment of the game amazing i can not stop playing this game i just want to give you my opinion this is my best game in this year for my vita
  9. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    I haven't played much this game but I have to say this is what my PS Vita was in need of... The graphics are far superior from any other game in the portable and the controls might not suit everyone but if you are a hardcore Assassin's Creed fan, then this game won't troubles you...
  10. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Fantastic game, really enjoying it , just as good as its console counterparts, the vita has come of age with this title !
    Graphics are gorgeous the story is excellent so far and the combat system brings a huge smile to your face as you hack up your foes with extreme prejudice .
    Touch screen and rear panel are used to great effect but not over used like other vita games and work to great
    Fantastic game, really enjoying it , just as good as its console counterparts, the vita has come of age with this title !
    Graphics are gorgeous the story is excellent so far and the combat system brings a huge smile to your face as you hack up your foes with extreme prejudice .
    Touch screen and rear panel are used to great effect but not over used like other vita games and work to great effect although optional.
    I also like the way your character has three different guises (lady,slave and assassin) which enable you to play the game with three different styles, works very well !

    Highly recommended if you own a Vita , if you don't ? Well, probably good enough a title to warrant buying one !

    A+
    Expand
  11. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    I think this game is one of the better games that's available on the PS Vita. If you like the assassin's creed series then this is the one for you! I hope the glitches and other things will be patched soon. I say a must buy for all ps vita gamers.
    Sorry for my bad English!

    Greetings djwille
  12. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    Great game on a handheld. Very smooth and really exciting game. There should be more games like this. Loading could be a little bit shorter but it's not a problem.
  13. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    In terms of content and core gameplay, for the most part, this is the Assassin's Creed you know and love. It's missing a few bells and whistles from the console versions but stabbing dudes is undeniably fun as always. Given its content, this game should be a 9, but its brought down by too many strange glitches, bugs, and wierd AI oddities. One time the game would not let me progressIn terms of content and core gameplay, for the most part, this is the Assassin's Creed you know and love. It's missing a few bells and whistles from the console versions but stabbing dudes is undeniably fun as always. Given its content, this game should be a 9, but its brought down by too many strange glitches, bugs, and wierd AI oddities. One time the game would not let me progress through a clearly marked door, and I had to restart the mission, wierd clipping problems are a common problem, sound effects can fail to play back, or occasionally music for that matter (actually, sound is generally not is good as it should be, although this game has a great musical score) NPC's occasionally dont render properly and pass through objects in a wierd sort of way, sometimes the circle button indicator strangely doesn't show its function. I could go on more, but im sure you get the idea. Preformance is also quite sluggish, which is a shame. Visually however, the game generally looks really nice. You may notice a couple of uglies here and there, but for the most part, its definatley one of the vita's better looking titles. It's a shame I have to take off a point because of preformance problems and glitches, but I have always found that a large part of what makes assassin's creed so enjoyable it's wonderful animations and visceral looking action, and the these problems do take away from those high points. In some ways I feel like this game was rushed to release alongside with the console AC3. I was going crazy with exitement towards this games release, and all though in some ways it is dissapointing, in many more ways its a good time. Here's to hoping they release many future passes to polish things up a tad. Oh wait, I also forgot to mention how cool some of the new weapons in this game are. They're awesome. Expand
  14. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    liberation from first minute full of action and impressive moments i think the game deserves its price because the graphic ,the sounds and the story all work together to give us an amazing game in the palm of our hands so great work ubisoft
  15. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    How awesome could a handheld game get? This awesome. AC III: Liberation is surely a buy. It has insane graphics, a slow, but well told story, and very good gameplay. A buy for anyone with a vita.
  16. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    great game i agree with spacecowboy the load time should be little shorter but the game after 3 hours of game play i c an tell you that you must by the game right now very smooth and very good graphics and insane story ****
  17. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I had some doubts about this game when I start playing it. Couple hours later my doubts were assassinated by Aveline.. with machete! And do you know what? I love it. Many may say the game has flaws. Which game doesn't. The most important thing is that I have fun playing it.
  18. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    The BEST AC game EVER on a portable system, and it is almost as good as its console brethren. The world is big and detailed, gameplay is refined and polished, and it is a really long game too. However, it does lose points for framerate issues and not-that-great story. Nevertheless, you do get accustomed to the framerate rather soon, and of course for such a vast and detailed game, thisThe BEST AC game EVER on a portable system, and it is almost as good as its console brethren. The world is big and detailed, gameplay is refined and polished, and it is a really long game too. However, it does lose points for framerate issues and not-that-great story. Nevertheless, you do get accustomed to the framerate rather soon, and of course for such a vast and detailed game, this kind of framerate was kind of expected. Expand
  19. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Um, what game did these "video game critics" play? It couldn't be the one with the most interesting lead character (sans Ezio) in the entire Assassin's Creed legacy in the beautiful but deadly Aveline de Grandpre who alone is almost worth the price of admission. It couldn't be the game that transfers to a handheld but gives a robust amount of gameplay, improved fighting mechanics,Um, what game did these "video game critics" play? It couldn't be the one with the most interesting lead character (sans Ezio) in the entire Assassin's Creed legacy in the beautiful but deadly Aveline de Grandpre who alone is almost worth the price of admission. It couldn't be the game that transfers to a handheld but gives a robust amount of gameplay, improved fighting mechanics, different personas to use that effect gameplay, and graphics that are on par to AC:Revelations. This game is incredible. Aveline de Grandpre is instantly one of my favorite video game characters. She's intense, but ladylike. Poised but deadly. A beautiful woman with a poisonous bite if you cross her. I love her. The game is beautiful and fun to play. It's the most fun I've had playing Assassin's Creed....ever. Again, what game did these critics play? This game is awesome. Please Ubisoft, make more of game revolving around AVELINE DE GRANPRE!!!! Collapse
  20. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    Assassin's Creed III: Liberation was such a good game.Not only on VITA,but also for a console game.It has a full open world and the same combat system as Assassin's Creed III.In the game,you can buy or upgrade a lot eqiutment,such as weapons,clothes even ships.The combat system is fantastic and Chain Kill mode is really awesome.Though Liberation is a good game,there are still some faultAssassin's Creed III: Liberation was such a good game.Not only on VITA,but also for a console game.It has a full open world and the same combat system as Assassin's Creed III.In the game,you can buy or upgrade a lot eqiutment,such as weapons,clothes even ships.The combat system is fantastic and Chain Kill mode is really awesome.Though Liberation is a good game,there are still some fault and bugs.Also,the multiplayer is really awful and useless.I mean,why do we need a ''mobile game like'' multiplayer?Will developers put some IAP into the game too?Sounds like a freaking nightmare!!! Expand
  21. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    Jumping straight in, Assassins Creed III liberation isn't a console port, its a different story staring Aveline, the first lady assassin. While functioning like its console brother, it still feels different. Aveline is a young woman, when she was a child her mother dissapeared, as she was took by, ermm... Okay so Aveline's life is now in the future now (as if when she was a young woman,Jumping straight in, Assassins Creed III liberation isn't a console port, its a different story staring Aveline, the first lady assassin. While functioning like its console brother, it still feels different. Aveline is a young woman, when she was a child her mother dissapeared, as she was took by, ermm... Okay so Aveline's life is now in the future now (as if when she was a young woman, not future 2067 stuff.) and shes in the Assassins Brotherhood after being brought in by.... some mentor. You see this is the problem, next to no backstory. You find out later in the game but still, we need more when going in. The gameplay is your normal assassins creed. Stealth here, fight there, climb there. I realize allot of recycled animations from the console counterpart. They did a good job of porting a AC game to the handheld and making it nice and open world with tons of stuff to do, just like how I wanted assassins creed for the PSP to be. I'm giving this a 8/10, you shouldnt run out and buy a vita for this, but if you have a vita, don't give this a miss. Expand
  22. Nov 2, 2012
    7
    I would put this game in the same realm as Uncharted: Golden Abyss. The graphics aren't quite as good as Uncharted but AC3: Liberation holds its own. The game is kind of buggy at times but very fun to play. Liberation is sadly not as great as it could or should have been. My biggest gripe with this game is it almost feels linear. The city doesn't seem as lively or active as I was expectingI would put this game in the same realm as Uncharted: Golden Abyss. The graphics aren't quite as good as Uncharted but AC3: Liberation holds its own. The game is kind of buggy at times but very fun to play. Liberation is sadly not as great as it could or should have been. My biggest gripe with this game is it almost feels linear. The city doesn't seem as lively or active as I was expecting and that take me out of the Assassin's Creed experience. Overall this game is fun and very good...I was just hoping for great. Expand
  23. Nov 3, 2012
    7
    Liberation is a good game, but did not ever completely grasp my full attention. The story seemed everywhere and the multiplayer is more like a board game. The gameplay is amazing and the graphics are very detailed. Overall Ubisoft did a good job making it. It is a must buy for fans of the series.
  24. Mar 29, 2013
    3
    My personal opinion on this game is very disappointing,i expected this to be amazing but no it isn't. The Graphics are very poor. The Environment is Very Poor there's just random duplicated characters wondering around doing nothing.the story is okay but not my type and last the performance isn't great and takes a while to get used to.
  25. Nov 5, 2012
    4
    I so much wanted to like this game, not only because I am a big AC fan (I've got a bunch of special editions and paid DLC to prove it), but also because I'm always on the lookout for nice games for my Vita. However, I'm now angry and disappointed. The dev team had some nice ideas, but managed to ruin them all, and it's so frustrating. I'm half-way through the game and so far (trying to beI so much wanted to like this game, not only because I am a big AC fan (I've got a bunch of special editions and paid DLC to prove it), but also because I'm always on the lookout for nice games for my Vita. However, I'm now angry and disappointed. The dev team had some nice ideas, but managed to ruin them all, and it's so frustrating. I'm half-way through the game and so far (trying to be as spoiler-free as I can): I need to kill an enemy with a certain weapon and I manage to get the weapon into the wall by touching it with my foot=restart; I get in the water to avoid being spotted, get out of the water... but keep swimming=restart; I have to get in a boat, but in the lady dress I cannot do it= restart; I go to the changing room and get back to the boat as a slave, the targets have disappeared=restart; an enemy throws me into the water=Vita crashes; get into a hay sack=Vita crashes; one of my boats has been stuck 1m away from a port for days... And that's just some of the problems I can recall right now. Enemies coming out of nowhere, random visibility levels, stupid IA, awful controls for robbery, the fact that you cannot go for 100% sync unless you're wearing the dress you're meant to be wearing (i.e. one of the rivals, you're meant to kill him as dame, but if you're not wearing the dress right away or choose to restart you're not going to make it)... And no proper tutorials at all! I knew stuff from playing previous AC games, but I wonder how newbies manage; I'm playing multiplayer by ear, and the boats, well, I had to keep touching and touching the screen until I learned what I was meant to do. It's AC, it's a woman as main character, the settings are beautiful, so is the music, the story is interesting enough so far, so I'm not giving it a zero, but this was a huge disappointment. It would be a nice game, if only it worked! Expand
  26. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Awesome game, without a shred of doubt, the closest thing to a next gen home console game on any portable device. Stunning graphics, enjoyable gameplay and nice length
  27. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Not quite AC3 on PS3 but a darn sight closer than any of the psp assasin's creed games. A reallly good realization of the AC world filled with NPCs, bringing the setting to life. Must buy IMO
  28. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I played the game non stop ever since it arrived (save for a few breaks) and have the story mode (although there are a tonne of side missions to do, as well as unlocking the 'real ending') - and all I have to say is wow. The first 20 or so minutes had me really worried, the graphics were poor, the gameplay felt stiff, but all that changed once the game truely opened up and stopped holdingI played the game non stop ever since it arrived (save for a few breaks) and have the story mode (although there are a tonne of side missions to do, as well as unlocking the 'real ending') - and all I have to say is wow. The first 20 or so minutes had me really worried, the graphics were poor, the gameplay felt stiff, but all that changed once the game truely opened up and stopped holding my hand. This is the true AC console experience on the handheld. I will say this much, power through the first couple of mins, it paints a sour picture of the game. The graphics become smooth and beautiful once you get further in, and the frame rate remains consistent. The gameplay is standard AC fare, which is a very good thing ! It's great how the game incorporates AC3s mechanics, keeping it up with the latest entry rather then stripping of features. There is a LOT of content in this game, and I can happily say as a huge fan of the Assassins Creed series, this is up there with its console counterparts rather then the subpar portable games. BUY THIS NOW ! Expand
  29. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    For a handheld the game is great. We have to remember, Vita games do not get the budget of the console big brothers, yes there are some bugs but they are on the console versions too. If your a Vita owner make this a purchase and enjoy...
  30. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    As fully featured as any console game, and every aspect feels like it was given the proper care. Liberation is part of a beloved series, and it can be proud standing beside any other of your Assassin's Creed favorites. If you've been looking for a reason to pick up a PS Vita, this is probably it.
  31. Nov 5, 2012
    0
    Um, what game did these "video game critics" play? It couldn't be the one with the most interesting lead character (sans Ezio) in the entire Assassin's Creed legacy in the beautiful but deadly Aveline de Grandpre who alone is almost worth the price of admission. It couldn't be the game that transfers to a handheld but gives a robust amount of gameplay, improved fighting mechanics,Um, what game did these "video game critics" play? It couldn't be the one with the most interesting lead character (sans Ezio) in the entire Assassin's Creed legacy in the beautiful but deadly Aveline de Grandpre who alone is almost worth the price of admission. It couldn't be the game that transfers to a handheld but gives a robust amount of gameplay, improved fighting mechanics, different personas to use that effect gameplay, and graphics that are on par to AC:Revelations. This game is incredible. Aveline de Grandpre is instantly one of my favorite video game characters. She's intense, but ladylike. Poised but deadly. A beautiful woman with a poisonous bite if you cross her. I love her. The game is beautiful and fun to play. It's the most fun I've had playing Assassin's Creed....ever. Again, what game did these critics play? This game is awesome. Please Ubisoft, make more of game revolving around AVELINE DE GRANPRE!!!! Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Dec 18, 2012
    72
    A match for its bigger cousins on the surface. But dig deep and liberation starts to unravel. [Jan 2013, p.80]
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    80
    Even though the visuals suffer in their tininess, none of the basic Assassin's Creeding is compromised. This is a full-blown counterpart to Assassin's Creed 3, with its own setting, style, character, and location. Bravo, Ubisoft.
  3. It's the glitches and game-breaking annoyances that most let things down. [Christmas 2012, p.96]