Assassin's Creed III: Liberation Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 328 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It's 1765. 10 years before the American Revolutionary War in the north, Spanish forces plan to take control of the Louisiana Territory in the south...but they have yet to reckon with Aveline, a deadly Assassin who uses every weapon and well-honed skill in her arsenal to win freedom for herIt's 1765. 10 years before the American Revolutionary War in the north, Spanish forces plan to take control of the Louisiana Territory in the south...but they have yet to reckon with Aveline, a deadly Assassin who uses every weapon and well-honed skill in her arsenal to win freedom for her land and her people. Whether silently eliminating her enemies with vicious slow-motion chain kills or luring them into deadly traps, Aveline strikes mortal fear into the hearts of any who stand in her way. As an Assassin, Aveline finds herself on an unforgettable journey that will take her from the crowded streets and voodoo-haunted swamps of New Orleans to ancient Mayan ruins. She plays a pivotal role in the turbulent birth of the new nation and fights for freedom not only for herself, but for her fellow citizens, as well. [Sony] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Assassin's Creed III: Liberation Announcement Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    96
    As fully featured as any console game, and every aspect feels like it was given the proper care. Liberation is part of a beloved series, and it can be proud standing beside any other of your Assassin's Creed favorites. If you've been looking for a reason to pick up a PS Vita, this is probably it.
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    Despite these problems, though, Liberation brings a hugely engaging and interesting gameplay mechanic to the series, one that's informed by the character herself. For that reason alone, it's impossible for me not to recommend this game.
  3. Dec 7, 2012
    80
    Even though the visuals suffer in their tininess, none of the basic Assassin's Creeding is compromised. This is a full-blown counterpart to Assassin's Creed 3, with its own setting, style, character, and location. Bravo, Ubisoft.
  4. Nov 6, 2012
    70
    In many ways, Assassin's Creed III: Liberation is suppressed by Ubisoft Sofia's own outrageous ambitions. The plot meanders between ingenious and incomprehensible, sadly settling on the latter for great chunks of the single-player campaign. The gameplay is recognisable and confidently recreated, and there are moments when Aveline's pocketable adventure threatens to outdo its console counterparts – but the experience is mired by a communicative murkiness that's not entirely unlike its depiction of the Louisiana bayou's bogs.
  5. Hyper Magazine
    Nov 14, 2012
    70
    A solid and well-produced installment that aims for console heights but delivers more of the same. [Dec 2012]
  6. 65
    If you're a fan of the series or you want to spend time running around stabbing people, Assassin's Creed III: Liberation will suffice, but because it tries so hard to be like a console title, its failure to match the level of depth, breadth or enjoyment you'd expect is all the more heartbreaking.
  7. 50
    The story set-up is good and there are some interesting new gameplay features, but almost all of them are squandered by sloppy design and technical issues.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 80
  2. Negative: 11 out of 80
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    great game i agree with spacecowboy the load time should be little shorter but the game after 3 hours of game play i c an tell you that yougreat game i agree with spacecowboy the load time should be little shorter but the game after 3 hours of game play i c an tell you that you must by the game right now very smooth and very good graphics and insane story **** Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I played the game non stop ever since it arrived (save for a few breaks) and have the story mode (although there are a tonne of side missionsI played the game non stop ever since it arrived (save for a few breaks) and have the story mode (although there are a tonne of side missions to do, as well as unlocking the 'real ending') - and all I have to say is wow. The first 20 or so minutes had me really worried, the graphics were poor, the gameplay felt stiff, but all that changed once the game truely opened up and stopped holding my hand. This is the true AC console experience on the handheld. I will say this much, power through the first couple of mins, it paints a sour picture of the game. The graphics become smooth and beautiful once you get further in, and the frame rate remains consistent. The gameplay is standard AC fare, which is a very good thing ! It's great how the game incorporates AC3s mechanics, keeping it up with the latest entry rather then stripping of features. There is a LOT of content in this game, and I can happily say as a huge fan of the Assassins Creed series, this is up there with its console counterparts rather then the subpar portable games. BUY THIS NOW ! Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    I haven't played much this game but I have to say this is what my PS Vita was in need of... The graphics are far superior from any other gameI haven't played much this game but I have to say this is what my PS Vita was in need of... The graphics are far superior from any other game in the portable and the controls might not suit everyone but if you are a hardcore Assassin's Creed fan, then this game won't troubles you... Expand
  4. Mar 7, 2013
    8
    hey its a great game not perfect but a great and smooth gameplay, good graphics and storyline, i dont understand why all the reviewers put lowhey its a great game not perfect but a great and smooth gameplay, good graphics and storyline, i dont understand why all the reviewers put low critics on goo games Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2015
    7
    Even though the visuals suffer in their tininess, none of the basic Assassin's Creeding is compromised. This is a full-blown counterpart toEven though the visuals suffer in their tininess, none of the basic Assassin's Creeding is compromised. This is a full-blown counterpart to Assassin's Creed 3, with its own setting, style, character, and location. Bravo, Ubisoft. Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2012
    6
    Rushed out game, full of bugs its bad, had to reload 6-7 times to finish the story, the story is akwward. This game was not made in MontrealRushed out game, full of bugs its bad, had to reload 6-7 times to finish the story, the story is akwward. This game was not made in Montreal and was released early it show up. Still a good base for an AC, but disappointing. Expand
  7. Jan 23, 2014
    0
    This game has no value at all. Worst combat system in the series, lots of bug that breaks the gameplay. I almost smash the ps vita becoz ofThis game has no value at all. Worst combat system in the series, lots of bug that breaks the gameplay. I almost smash the ps vita becoz of it. Now I register as a member here just to express my feelings here, SHAME ON YOU UBISOFT!!!! Expand

See all 80 User Reviews