Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    74
    Batman: Arkham Origins - Blackgate is a good extension of the Arkham franchise to handhelds, but it lacks the specialness or inspiration that would make it stand out as a great Metroidvania-style game - or a great Batman game, for that matter. Without any real surprises, engaging settings, or interesting story, Blackgate feels more like a retread of bullet points than the handheld Batman we truly deserve.
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    50
    The first few hours of Blackgate provide an exciting glimpse of what might have been a great game, but it slowly falls apart, hour by hour, villain by villain.
  3. Oct 29, 2013
    74
    Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate performs at its best when not feeling obligated to recreate the Arkham games before it.
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    60
    It’s one of those experiences that falls apart as it unfolds.
  5. Jan 7, 2014
    70
    Batman: Arkham Origins - Blackgate isn't a bad game, but it's a lesser game. It tries extremely hard to mimic its console brethren, but all it does is highlight everything it's missing.
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    42
    In the end I think it’s a solid idea that is just executed poorly, and it really isn’t something I’d suggest checking out.
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    An excellent choice for gamers wanting a new Metroidvania on their Vita, this adventure with the Caped Crusader comes close to being a classic.
  8. Nov 5, 2013
    50
    Arkham Origins serves to bring Batman back for more in an acceptable, if unbelievable narrative, but Origins Blackgate does nothing for the character, nothing for the player, and nothing to further the Arkham series. It’s not a complete and totally broken mess, but it’s not the portable game Batman deserves and it’s not the Vita game we need right now.
  9. Dec 25, 2013
    66
    It's bogged down by aspirations to be like Origins. [Jan 2014, p.80]
  10. Nov 26, 2013
    72
    Blackgate does a pretty good job in capturing the feel of the franchise, bringing some very nice elements to the table but suffering from an unconvincing approach to backtracking.
  11. Oct 30, 2013
    60
    Arkham Origins: Blackgate is an interesting first entry, but it attempts to mimic its console counterpart a bit too much. Some of these elements simply don’t work in a 2D style game, and it hurts the overall experience too much at times.
  12. Nov 4, 2013
    70
    Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate is an interesting first entry on PS Vita, but it does not do justice to the great saga of videogames.
  13. Nov 25, 2013
    35
    I'm really disappointed in Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate, and also confused. How could such a good idea be this flawed in execution? There's nothing redeeming this game from all its faults, which is truly a shame.
  14. Oct 31, 2013
    30
    The worst problem, however, is all the backtracking is needlessly empty. Once foes are defeated, they're gone for good. I'm never usually a fan of respawning enemies, but running through corridor after corridor of bleak, prison-gray nothingness just gets tedious after a while without something to do other than just traveling.
  15. Nov 19, 2013
    70
    Thanks to a well-crafted level design, Batman Arkham Origins Blackgate manages to make happy fans of the Dark Knight already in withdrawal after the feast made ​​with Origins.
  16. Nov 30, 2013
    70
    With a fresh prospective on the Arkham universe, Batman: Arkham Origins – Blackgate is quite a good beginning on PS Vita but not the complex and complete game it could have been.
  17. Oct 31, 2013
    50
    Not a very good Batman game and certainly not a very interesting take on the Metroid formula, this portable dud squanders its potential on boring exploration and frustrating combat.
  18. This has its moments but it’s barely worth the patience needed to find them. Or anything else. If you want a Metroidvania experience on Vita then get the excellent Guacamelee instead.
  19. Nov 8, 2013
    60
    Blackgate should be a good time for anyone willing to pick it up as long as you can look past some speed bumps.
  20. Oct 28, 2013
    80
    It’s a bit of a shame that the Arkham-inspired side of this game doesn’t quite live up to what came before, but the Metroidvania aspect certainly does. And this is something for which a lot of genre fans will be grateful.
  21. Feb 10, 2014
    65
    While Armature definitely made a few bad calls when putting Blackgate together, I greatly enjoyed this new style of Batman, and didn't have too much heartburn over the rough patches.
  22. Nov 1, 2013
    50
    Without new ideas and without rhythm, Batman Arkham Origins Blackgate does not do justice to a great saga of video games.
  23. Oct 30, 2013
    66
    Blackgate isn’t the top-tier AAA portable production I was hoping for. The map is borderline useless, the repetition and fetch quests get tiresome, the rewards for diligent exploration aren’t high, and that 2.5D perspective is definitely problematic in certain combat situations. Still, if you’re a big fan of the old-school side-scrolling style of game, and you’re a big Batman fan, you should give Blackgate a whirl.
  24. Oct 30, 2013
    70
    The Metroidvania formula will forever remain one of gaming’s best, so whenever a modern 2D (or 2.5D in this case) version is announced, it’s cause for excitement. Blackgate doesn’t exactly do anything new and is derivative of practically every predecessor in its “genre,” but that doesn’t mean it’s not a whole lot of fun.
  25. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    It's great when side games take their own direction with design but still maintain the core concepts that define a series. That's just what you'll get with Blackgate. A solid exploration/combat game that is forced to overcome a few flaws.
  26. Nov 4, 2013
    74
    Blackgate falls shy of greatness due to a few gameplay design flaws, but it's still an overall solid experience that Vita owners should investigate further.
  27. Nov 8, 2013
    43
    It might look like its big brethren, but this is an uninspired light version of everything that made the franchise successful.
  28. Nov 4, 2013
    50
    Great in concept, Blackgate is boring in practice – a tedious exploration of a prison's innards whose level design and combat simply aren't up to scratch. A functional but charmless and even boring title, this is not the Batman game handheld owners were hoping for.
  29. Truth is, Batman is the hero the Vita deserves, but Blackgate just isn’t the game it needs right now. [Christmas 2013, p78]
  30. Dec 5, 2013
    75
    Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate is a good and original attempt at bringing the formula to a handheld. The interesting use of depth in this side-scroller and the implementation of the well known freeflow combat, make Blackgate a joy to play at times. Backtracking loses its appeal after a while though, as do the lack of enemies and the unintuitive map.
  31. Oct 29, 2013
    70
    The delta between the bosses and the moment-to-moment gameplay make Blackgate a frustratingly inconsistent experience, but the good parts are truly impressive.
  32. 65
    If you can get through the glitches and barebones plot, there is a good game to be played. I had fun with Blackgate. I will be playing through it again because this is the style of game I really like. It certainly could have been better, but Blackgate is still an above average experience.
  33. Nov 4, 2013
    50
    It’s a shame that such an interesting possibility falls so flat. Perhaps a little more development time could have yielded more positive results, but as it is we end up with a running time of around 5-6 hours that feels like it outstays its welcome ever so slightly, purely because the longer you play it, the more it falls apart and the more it becomes frustrating.
  34. Dec 28, 2013
    50
    There's just no denying that Blackgate is subpar. [Jan 2014, p.70]
  35. Nov 7, 2013
    30
    A waste of potential, Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate is a broken, boring game and a stain on the Metroidvania genre. Its positives are few and far between, buried under a mountain of glitches, tedious gameplay, and poor level design.
  36. Oct 25, 2013
    80
    Apart from those overwrought boss battles, Blackgate is a welcome evolution for the Arkham series. The fresh perspective, deliberate pace and focus on exploration prove that Batman works just as well in a smaller package.
  37. Dec 13, 2013
    60
    After getting an upgrade or a new gadget, you have to backtrack through already cleared out locations. And this is just one of Blackgate’s many missed opportunities.
  38. Feb 25, 2014
    72
    Not quite up to the standard of the console versions of Batman: Arkham Origins, but not a bad game on its own.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    I have to say, I really like this game. It's fun to play and the fighting and movement mechanics work very well on the Vita. Graphics are very good, especially given that this is running on a handheld platform, and I find the story to be well done and interesting. The game runs well and is stable. There is definitely replay value in the game and you'll get many hours of playtime as you move around the prison finding objects, gathering collectibles and upgrades, etc.

    Not really sure why so many of the industry critics gave the game average scores, but perhaps they were spending too much time focusing on what the game isn't rather than what it is. I'd personally recommend the game to any Arkham fan with a Vita.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    Arkham Origins is a fresh take on Arkham Asylum universe, and it successfully translates the console game world into a handheld experience.

    PRESENTAION:
    I've played it on Vita, and the graphics and textures are solid. Voice acting is strong, and despite many critics I found the plot decent enough to keep me interested throughout the game. The drawn cutscenes are beautiful on Vitas screen and add personality to the handheld version

    GAMEPLAY:
    Fighting is lots of fun, with some depht to it even though they are usually not very challenging. Gameplay wise, I guess the biggest critic the game is receiving is about exploration.

    Yes, navigating in a 2,5 map with a 3D map requires some getting used to, but gamers are smart and they figure it out. The pace of the navigation is slower due to its complexity (comparing to, say, Metroid), but I like it like that. I think its more fitting to Batman Universe.

    THE NAVIGATION ISSUE
    The requirement to constantly use Detective Mode can be confusing at times, but I'd say the same about the console Batman games (specially Arkham City). Being a fan of the series, for me its more a characteristic of Arkham games than a problem of the handheld version.

    Detective mode requirement comes down to taste. I like to know that the prison is full of secrets, but it might have been better to keep this necessity out of the main path (sometimes you won't progress in the game unless you are thorough and detect well hidden passages).

    CONCLUSION:
    I had lots of fun with the game: advancing trough the environment while discovering new gadgets made it one of those games that its hard to put down.

    The game could benefit from a streamlined navigation system, but overall it is the kind of experience that I expect to find more on Vita rather than ports.

    I give it a 8 out of 10.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    8
    Batman Arkham Origins Blackgate is the continue of the console version. Blackgate is a 2.5D game (2D plan with 3D elements). Also, Blackgate is working to be a compelling portable experience. The game lasts 10 hours with the villains be taken from the console version, it introduces two characters who are familiar to us from Arkham City, Solomon Grandy and Catwoman and one totally new two Arkhamverse, Bronze Tiger.
    The game is an "exploration" game (along with action/stealth game), so Batman escapes from the main path until he find the gadget that he need to proceed. At this point, I have to say that it isn't understandable how he went in Blackgate without gadgets(except from Batarang), I assume that the developers made it that way to add more gameplay hours and more exploration hours!
    In exploration part can't miss the Detective Mode, which is a basic part of the game. With Detective Mode you can see enemies, vantage points, find hidden things, armor, Wayne Tech crates among other things. In general, you do the two-thirds with Detective Mode!
    The gameplay of the game is solid, with all features of the console's version. Free flow combat adjusted very well in Blackgate, with minor problems. The combat system works like this: Two planes, the one you fight and the other that can only the enemies use, with the enemies coming from the background to the foreground. Furthermore, the silent takedown have been adapted in limited grade and the takedowns sometimes can't be so stealthy, as you can in rest Arkham games. The whole animation system look and work like charm.
    The game yet has graphic novel cinematic which partly it's proper for handheld, but on the other hand, the connection between cutscenes and gameplay isn't the best. Another pro for the game is the great voice acting. The decoration, the enviroments and the game assets that been used, look poor and blur.
    To conclude, the Batman Arkham Origins Blackgate hold the sense of the successful Arkham series. I think that the game isn't what exactly PSV deserve, but everything need a chance and a point to start (I really want to see next year/or a year after, a way better Batman game than Blackgate.)
    I score it with 7.5 It's a realy pretty good effort
    Full Review »