Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 328 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Borderlands 2 furthers the distinct blending of First Person Shooter and Role Playing genres to create the true evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to three other players for four-player online goodness or go old-school with two-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem asBorderlands 2 furthers the distinct blending of First Person Shooter and Role Playing genres to create the true evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to three other players for four-player online goodness or go old-school with two-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up your character and equipping them with one of the millions of badass weapons. Borderlands 2 features a new visually stunning array of procedurally generated guns, shields, grenades, artifacts, enemies and more. Choose one of the four new character classes to be taken through a carefully crafted and connected story to all new and surprising environments across the living planet of Pandora. Make new friends, arm them to the teeth and fight alongside them on your relentless quest for revenge and redemption. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. May 14, 2014
    100
    Borderlands 2 is instantly one of the best games the Vita has to offer, and a sign that maybe, just maybe, those initial promises of it being a portable console in your pocket weren't that far from reality.
  2. Jun 30, 2014
    80
    Borderlands 2 is a great game to play in bursts, and the handheld format lends itself to this type of game perfectly.
  3. Jul 2, 2014
    75
    It definitely has problems, but Borderlands 2 is still mighty fun on Vita.
  4. Jul 8, 2014
    65
    Not so nice to watch, hard to handle and full of glitches, this new entry isn't really what we were waiting for.
  5. Borderlands 2 has been a really bad port.
  6. May 13, 2014
    60
    Borderlands 2 is serious fun, but has serious problems.
  7. Jun 25, 2014
    20
    Released and patched, but still not ready for release - Borderlands and the Vita deserve better.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 142
  1. May 6, 2014
    10
    Excellent, a little dub down but it s a must buy for the Vita. Lots of replay value. The game playable and decent frame rate. Very happy, withExcellent, a little dub down but it s a must buy for the Vita. Lots of replay value. The game playable and decent frame rate. Very happy, with this purchase. Sony keep them coming!!! Expand
  2. May 31, 2014
    10
    Are you kidding me critics? BL2 on the vita is worth MUCH MORE than 65. It comes with 6 dlc packs, I'm only level 14 and I'm 7 hours in, theAre you kidding me critics? BL2 on the vita is worth MUCH MORE than 65. It comes with 6 dlc packs, I'm only level 14 and I'm 7 hours in, the only real problem is at times the framerate drops, most of the time it's smooth, but at times it just gets really choppy. Its also crashed about 3 times on me, and before it crashed I had some brief audio problems, but the multiplayer and storymode are so much fun it's more than forgivable. Expand
  3. May 17, 2014
    10
    Well, in all honesty...I ended up ignoring this review...and got my copy of Borderlands 2. It is not the same as a PC or console version. ThatWell, in all honesty...I ended up ignoring this review...and got my copy of Borderlands 2. It is not the same as a PC or console version. That is the truth. Getting used to the controls takes some effort...but no more than what's required to get out of bed and get dressed in the morning. Graphics are a noticeable difference as well - but if you really expected the same on the Vita, you really need to get your head examined. The Vita is a great machine, capable of amazing things, but keep it realistic. A hiccup every now and then in frantic moments, and of course the load times are mere speed bumps on the long road to killing Handsome Jack. But it you're looking for another game to populate your collection on your Vita, this is definitely worth the money in the long run. Lack of polish and a bit of tarnish around it's edges makes this Claptrap unit no less spry and sassy. Or if you prefer a number.... Use a calculator.

    Borderlands 2, buy it if:
    You love the game.
    You love and support the Vita.
    You've done your investigating.
    You take my word for it.

    Don't if:
    You prefer renting.
    You mistrust Claptrap.
    You work for Handsome Jack.
    You don't actually own a Vita.

    (Same as what I posted in IGN)
    Expand
  4. May 27, 2014
    9
    Having spent about a week with the game (OLED vita, physical copy, all dlc installed, patched) I have to say this game fulfills the purpose IHaving spent about a week with the game (OLED vita, physical copy, all dlc installed, patched) I have to say this game fulfills the purpose I bought it for, which is giving me a great game with depth on the go. I enjoyed borderlands 2 on ps3 and wanted to play through again with other characters. The game isn't perfect, and I think another patch or 2 is necessary to make it the game gearbox wants it to be. I haven't had any issues with the framerate stutters affecting my progress, as it seems to only happen when I'm moving extremely quickly (in a vehicle) and it's very minor. The controls work well enough and if you've played other shooters on vita this will be no problem to pick up and play. This game is WORTH THE BUY for any vita owner who enjoys shooters and/or games with great replay value. Expand
  5. May 29, 2014
    9
    I was nervous when i heard that borderlands 2 will be ported to the Vita, worried that one of my favourite games will be ruined. luckily, thatI was nervous when i heard that borderlands 2 will be ported to the Vita, worried that one of my favourite games will be ruined. luckily, that wasn't the case ! don't believe professional critics, this game runs smooth, looks and plays better than on my Laptop (Dell Inspiron n7110). this is a must buy to any BL2 fan, having a Triple A game on the go? YES PLEASE! well worth your money. Expand
  6. Feb 18, 2015
    8
    great game for vita,frame rate still drops,especially in the sity but nothing groundbreaking but have some smooth frame elsewhere,overallgreat game for vita,frame rate still drops,especially in the sity but nothing groundbreaking but have some smooth frame elsewhere,overall great game for vita owners Expand
  7. May 12, 2014
    0
    This is sad for me, I had a vita and it got stolen. So I was incredibly excited to see that I would get borderlands 2 with my new Vita slim.This is sad for me, I had a vita and it got stolen. So I was incredibly excited to see that I would get borderlands 2 with my new Vita slim. Once i got my slim I downloaded it right away, excited to see Borderlands on the small screen, but that was the one and only time I ever got excited by this game. After figuring out which character I wanted the game started and was graced to the snow level of the game running on my vita, I found clap trap, and I was on my way. But once I finally got around to encountering an enemy my happiness withered away. And thats when I realized that when there is an enemy or multiple enemies on the screen the frame rate drops at an alarming rate. Making the game down right unplayable. I pressed on for about 6 hours of the game but today I finally had enough. I have witnessed many great games on the vita that looked better and ran way better than this game, this game is worthless for the vita. I am glad I didn't buy a physical copy and that this game came free with my vita, because this would have been a much more vial review if that had been the case. Don't give this lazy port any money, it does not deserve a cent. Expand

See all 142 User Reviews