Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 324 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Borderlands 2 furthers the distinct blending of First Person Shooter and Role Playing genres to create the true evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to three other players for four-player online goodness or go old-school with two-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem asBorderlands 2 furthers the distinct blending of First Person Shooter and Role Playing genres to create the true evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to three other players for four-player online goodness or go old-school with two-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up your character and equipping them with one of the millions of badass weapons. Borderlands 2 features a new visually stunning array of procedurally generated guns, shields, grenades, artifacts, enemies and more. Choose one of the four new character classes to be taken through a carefully crafted and connected story to all new and surprising environments across the living planet of Pandora. Make new friends, arm them to the teeth and fight alongside them on your relentless quest for revenge and redemption. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. May 14, 2014
    100
    Borderlands 2 is instantly one of the best games the Vita has to offer, and a sign that maybe, just maybe, those initial promises of it being a portable console in your pocket weren't that far from reality.
  2. Jun 30, 2014
    80
    Borderlands 2 is a great game to play in bursts, and the handheld format lends itself to this type of game perfectly.
  3. Jul 2, 2014
    75
    It definitely has problems, but Borderlands 2 is still mighty fun on Vita.
  4. Jul 8, 2014
    65
    Not so nice to watch, hard to handle and full of glitches, this new entry isn't really what we were waiting for.
  5. Borderlands 2 has been a really bad port.
  6. May 13, 2014
    60
    Borderlands 2 is serious fun, but has serious problems.
  7. Jun 25, 2014
    20
    Released and patched, but still not ready for release - Borderlands and the Vita deserve better.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 139
  1. May 29, 2014
    10
    This game is a BLAST! Unfortunately it's not getting the best reviews by "Critics." I think if this game was a Vita original, the reviewsThis game is a BLAST! Unfortunately it's not getting the best reviews by "Critics." I think if this game was a Vita original, the reviews would be stellar, but the fact that they are comparing it to the console/pc means it never had a chance.
    Personally never having played it on console or pc I can safely say it's my favorite vita title to date. I even prefer it to Killzone which is saying a lot!
    Expand
  2. May 17, 2014
    10
    Well, in all honesty...I ended up ignoring this review...and got my copy of Borderlands 2. It is not the same as a PC or console version. ThatWell, in all honesty...I ended up ignoring this review...and got my copy of Borderlands 2. It is not the same as a PC or console version. That is the truth. Getting used to the controls takes some effort...but no more than what's required to get out of bed and get dressed in the morning. Graphics are a noticeable difference as well - but if you really expected the same on the Vita, you really need to get your head examined. The Vita is a great machine, capable of amazing things, but keep it realistic. A hiccup every now and then in frantic moments, and of course the load times are mere speed bumps on the long road to killing Handsome Jack. But it you're looking for another game to populate your collection on your Vita, this is definitely worth the money in the long run. Lack of polish and a bit of tarnish around it's edges makes this Claptrap unit no less spry and sassy. Or if you prefer a number.... Use a calculator.

    Borderlands 2, buy it if:
    You love the game.
    You love and support the Vita.
    You've done your investigating.
    You take my word for it.

    Don't if:
    You prefer renting.
    You mistrust Claptrap.
    You work for Handsome Jack.
    You don't actually own a Vita.

    (Same as what I posted in IGN)
    Expand
  3. May 6, 2014
    10
    Excellent, a little dub down but it s a must buy for the Vita. Lots of replay value. The game playable and decent frame rate. Very happy, withExcellent, a little dub down but it s a must buy for the Vita. Lots of replay value. The game playable and decent frame rate. Very happy, with this purchase. Sony keep them coming!!! Expand
  4. Jun 2, 2015
    9
    After one year playing this infinite game I can totally say it's not perfect but near, the most annoying thing is the random crashes that IRONAfter one year playing this infinite game I can totally say it's not perfect but near, the most annoying thing is the random crashes that IRON GALAXY refuse to fix, and the thing about missed DLC like appreciated Tiny Tina's one; all the rest is just Borderlands 2 in a handheld so pretty amazing.
    Graphics are good enough, not great but fine, the controls are great and the rear's panel use you will get use to after 5 minutes.
    The game is infinite so by the missed content and the random crashed can't give 10/10 but worthy 9/10
    Expand
  5. May 6, 2014
    8
    This is definitely borderlands 2 the way that you remember on consoles. A couple tweaks in controls which are customizable, and some otherThis is definitely borderlands 2 the way that you remember on consoles. A couple tweaks in controls which are customizable, and some other small things that just take some adjusting to are different. But this is not a watered down version from what I've played so far. Good times. Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2014
    8
    Borderland 2 on PlayStation Vita is an Excellent shooter, So far I played more than 10 hours and only experience the game crash once. IBorderland 2 on PlayStation Vita is an Excellent shooter, So far I played more than 10 hours and only experience the game crash once. I haven't play the BL2 on Xbox, PS3 or PC, so I cannot compare how it hold up against the better versions.
    Pros:
    - A good shooter on Vita
    - Good Graphics for a Vita Game
    - you can replay that game
    - Interesting story
    - A lot of content .

    Cons:
    - Frame rate issue, especially in the large area
    - Popup texture every time you load a new area.
    -Game crashes (only happened once so far)
    Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2014
    0
    This game has too many DLCs. Even though it is fun and looks good, the developer or publisher is trying to make the maximum money out of theThis game has too many DLCs. Even though it is fun and looks good, the developer or publisher is trying to make the maximum money out of the game with mostly annoying, overpriced and pointless DLCs. Join the Anti-DLC-Force! Collapse

See all 139 User Reviews