Escape Plan PlayStation Vita

Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 50
  2. Negative: 1 out of 50
  1. Apr 4, 2012
    60
    Like the hardware it lives on, this is the PlayStation brand getting to grips with the era of iOS and Android - and the results, while rather conflicted in this case, are interesting.
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    70
    Occasionally touchy controls and an inexplicable feeling of repetition undermine an otherwise creative tactical puzzle game.
  3. Mar 18, 2012
    60
    A puzzle game that set everything in its positive first impression. The thing is you'll soon find out that its stylized beauty is dull scenery in fact. Its potentially interesting game mechanics do also tire out just as quickly as your reserve fund before Christmas madness.
  4. Feb 17, 2012
    60
    There are some neat ideas of how to effectively use the various touch screens of the Vita, and the art is gorgeous enough to make the game an able showpiece for what the system can do visually. There just isn't quite enough to the game beyond that to make up for some of its more irritating aspects.
  5. May 5, 2012
    50
    Escape Plan is nothing more than a tech demo a showcase for the different control options for the Vita and fails completely trying to do so. What remains is an artistically interesting game, that fall on its gameplay.
  6. May 4, 2012
    70
    When the credits roll, Escape Plan leaves you satisfied of time well spent; getting know its cast of charming characters is a pleasure and its gameplay is largely on the right side refreshing. Though it arguably rarely feels essential, it is a quietly charming game that feels perfectly at ease with its glacial pace, and it is this – along with Lil and Laarg's PVC-clad charisma – that ultimately enables Escape Plan to meander its way into your heart.
  7. Apr 4, 2012
    70
    Escape Plan is not the "bold next step" for the puzzle genre we've been waiting, but it can be quite addictive and it offers some clever puzzles and one of the best art directions we've witnessed in a long time.
  8. Mar 30, 2012
    60
    Although the design is sublime and the puzzles present a healthy challenge, Escape Plan is hampered by imprecise controls and a far too slow tempo. Making the player wait for several seconds before they can start playing each and every room makes for a frustrating experience, and makes it less than perfect for playing on the go.
  9. Mar 11, 2012
    65
    Despite the amazing visual concept, Escape Plan doesn't add nothing new to genre. The overall experience is also marked by a poor implementation of the controls.
  10. Mar 5, 2012
    70
    It's not perfect, and even skilled players will struggle with some of the more demanding multitasking required for certain scenarios (the level-skip is an acknowledgement of the inconsistent difficulty), but it's clever, cunning and entertaining.
  11. Mar 5, 2012
    70
    Escape Plan's style and intelligent use of Vita's inputs come together to make it one of the more compelling titles in the system's launch line-up.
  12. 70
    Although it is easy to assimilate, Escape Plan does nothing new and is worthy because it is a different title in the Vita.
  13. Feb 29, 2012
    60
    Escape Plan brings action and puzzles to the Vita with style, but awkward controls crash the party.
  14. Feb 29, 2012
    68
    Puzzles are linear and easy to solve, and the gameplay is intuitive but surely not original. Anyhow, Escape Plan has a great visual style and a nature of its own.
  15. Feb 27, 2012
    60
    Escape Plan can be a real treat, but you'll only ever get fleeting glimpses of what could have been, leaving you with a frustrating adventure that rarely gets a chance to show its true potential. Escape Plan isn't a game you shouldn't be desperate to break into.
  16. Feb 25, 2012
    60
    If you want a game that can mix up your activity on the go or maybe a title with a ton of personality that shows off the touch controls on the PlayStation Vita, Escape Plan can't be missed. If you've already got five games, resist the urge to buy more. This one will go on sale soon.
  17. Feb 24, 2012
    70
    Escape Plan is hardly a world-shattering nor an especially touching puzzler, if that's what you expected. But it still is an acceptable getaway to calmer waters, somewhere beyond Vitas flashy and action-heavy launch line-up.
  18. Feb 23, 2012
    60
    Escape plan looks really good with its black and white art style. The touch controls are too imprecise though and that leads to too much trial and error.
  19. Feb 23, 2012
    60
    Escape Plan is a fantastic concept, and one that often makes use of the system's greatest features to amazing success, but the final product left a great deal to be desired, and left us more than a little conflicted.
  20. Feb 22, 2012
    70
    My absolute favorite feature of Escape Plan is the ability to skip levels. As the game helpfully, and humiliatingly, tells you after a few failures, you can skip any level and move onto the next one.
  21. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 11, 2012
    60
    Escape Plan feels way too barebones an experience. There aren't many gamers out there who'll want to revisit and three star puzzles they barely fumbled through the first time due to iffy controls. [April 2012, p74]
  22. Games Master UK
    Apr 4, 2012
    66
    Initially dazzling, Escape Plan runs out of juice long, long before it's over. [May 2012, p.98]
  23. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Apr 3, 2012
    70
    Escape Plan could've been a classic. [May 2012, p.85]
  24. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Mar 29, 2012
    60
    This never quite gets free of its cell of mediocrity. [Apr 2012, p.118]
  25. games(TM)
    Mar 24, 2012
    60
    Its puzzles are unlikely to engage your intelligence or imagination at a particularly deep level, but that might not matter, as Escape Plan's personality might just win you over anyway. [Issue#120, p.114]
  26. 60
    Escape Plan is an interesting project with certain problems. If you can get past those, it presents an atypical story and a gripping experience, but it's one that requires you to be in a certain mindset to enjoy.
  27. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Mar 4, 2012
    70
    Escape Plan's visual style is so well done, you will probably fall in love with it at first sight, just as we did. The game's opening has you waking up Lil by tapping the touch screen as he tries to push your finger away. He is absolutely adorable. [March 2012, p.56]
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    I haven't had fun playing a puzzle game since Portal 2. I especially love the black & white world. Also it's only $15. I'd recommend this gameI haven't had fun playing a puzzle game since Portal 2. I especially love the black & white world. Also it's only $15. I'd recommend this game to anybody. Full Review »
  2. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    This game is sloppy fun. I don't remember a game that I actually enjoyed dieing (except for ghost trick? but that doesn't count). It's asThis game is sloppy fun. I don't remember a game that I actually enjoyed dieing (except for ghost trick? but that doesn't count). It's as if you are meant to kill these little things over and over and over. the back touch is strange, but it just works. Some of the level names had me do a double take, like "Facial of Death" That sounds like you're taking a lawnmower to your face... or something else. And the main bad guy, (is he bad?) is Bakuki, don't spell it wrong. Took awhile to wrap my head around the whole tap swipe control thing, but it actually ends up working really well, tilting the vita and squeezing lil to fart him/her? in the direction of the spikes you want to hit. Over all I love it. Full Review »
  3. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    Escape Plan is my favorite Vita game to date. It has a really cool style and intuitive controls. I find myself cracking up at all the usualEscape Plan is my favorite Vita game to date. It has a really cool style and intuitive controls. I find myself cracking up at all the usual ways Lil and Laarg can die. Full Review »