Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Apr 15, 2014
    85
    Football Manager Classic 2014 is a "shrunken" version of the full game, perfect for the handheld market.
  2. Apr 11, 2014
    85
    Football Manager Classic 2014 is a very good handheld take on SI Games simulation masterpiece.
  3. Apr 25, 2014
    80
    To sum up, Football Manager Classic 2014 is a bit like a European aggregate victory, but not on away goals – it’s nice enough in of itself, but let’s look forward to the next round.
  4. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    Deep and engaging football manager plenty of options, real soccer leagues and touch controls.
  5. 80
    Football Manager is for people that care for an excess in spreadsheets and data, and for all its shoddy presentation and poor optimisation on the Vita, it's absolutely brilliant at all of that.
  6. Apr 11, 2014
    80
    SEGA has brilliantly crammed the entire Football Manager experience onto the Vita, without much of a break in quality.
  7. Legendary Football Manager is now on PS Vita. Some text are too small to read. But 3D game engine works just well. If you like the Classic mode on PC, then you are going to love this. It's just great to be able to play FM everywhere.
  8. Apr 11, 2014
    75
    It’s true that this surprisingly feature-packed portable effort does have a few issues - the small text and fiddly touch controls being the main offenders - but the core experience of tactical battles, financial and man management remains as addictive as ever.
  9. Jun 7, 2014
    70
    The ability to cross-save makes this a worthwhile addition, but the control and interface need serious work. [July 2014, p.71]
  10. Apr 28, 2014
    70
    The Vita-version of Football Manager Classic 2014 is both a hit and a miss. On the one hand the game contains all the necessary features and the short challenges are ideal for a handheld title. On the other hand, however, the touchscreen at times makes navigation way too difficult and it's a shame you can't watch the matches live. Well, you can't have everything, I suppose.
  11. Apr 26, 2014
    70
    Football Manager Classics 2014 is perfect for mobile devices. The problem is that PS Vita doesn't fit perfectly in this game.
  12. Apr 15, 2014
    70
    Football Manager Classic is a late version of a management simulator for 2013/2014 season. It lacks a few things compared to the PC game, but the fact that it allows using your save in both platforms is worth the aforementioned lacks. A must have for PS Vita if you like these games.
  13. Apr 11, 2014
    70
    The 3D game engine offers the same immersion and control of the game that we have on the PC, but in the beautiful screen of the Vita. It complements the game, or it can work on its own as a "standalone" product.
  14. Apr 11, 2014
    70
    It's not perfect, and the controls in particular are annoying, but there's a decent management sim here all the same.
  15. This handheld version is meant to be less life-sapping and somewhat shallower, but you don’t go around offering weak lager to alcoholics, do you?
  16. Apr 11, 2014
    70
    It’s a slow paced game and the Vita version is a little less than swift about its transitions, simulations and loading screens but that’s a small price to pay for those die hard fans that want to take their Football Management career on the road.
  17. Apr 11, 2014
    70
    A fundamentally sound game of Football Manager, which is as compulsive and addictive as it ever was, and you can play it on the toilet, or snuggled up in bed.
  18. May 21, 2014
    67
    For now, it's probably a pass for all but the most devoted players, but if you like sports sims, it's something you'll want to keep an eye on.
  19. Apr 30, 2014
    65
    Football Manager Classic 2014 is essentially a great game trapped into a cage made by a terrible porting. Loading times are unacceptable and the interface isn't suited for the PSVita hardware. Still, its gameplay can be hypnotic.
  20. Apr 28, 2014
    60
    Football Manager Classic is lighter than the PC version. Although, it is still pleasant and rich enough to satisfy soccer fans.
  21. Apr 15, 2014
    60
    Football Manager is the best soccer managing simulation around, but the PlayStation Vita version is slow, laggy and overall disappointing.
  22. Apr 11, 2014
    60
    Football Manager Classic 2014 represents a step forward for football management simulations for handhelds, yet the Vita doesn't quite feel like the optimum platform for it.
  23. All the PC features, just hastily stomp-ported onto your Vita screen. [June 2014, p83]
  24. Apr 16, 2014
    50
    Compromise should not have been a dirty word given the interface and control issues that seriously spoil what could have been a perfect portable Football Manager.
  25. Apr 11, 2014
    40
    Football Manager Classic is anything but. It’s simply made me want to go back and play the PC version rather than sit around bored for what feels like ages waiting for a single Vita match to end. A great simulation might still be running behind the scenes, but the Vita doesn’t present it in a way that you’ll want to experience.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    Ignore most of the critical bashing, this game is essentially like having the pc game on the go. Its just as incredibly fun and addictive as its pc counterpart. However there are interface issues so its not perfect, the touch control is bit fiddly and matches are rather slow. Apart from these small issues its great, and if supported well the developers are looking to implement a much better interface for next years edition. So if you liked the PSP Football manager games this is a must buy. Full Review »
  2. Jul 27, 2014
    5
    Reading some of the positive reviews I thought the UI could not be as bad as reported. After buying the game 2 days ago, I am already fed up pressing dozens of times on a tiny button before it does anything. I found transfers are the worst, i have even tried a stylus but it never works.

    The game is good, but all the reports mentioned having to try maybe a couple of times to get a button to work, my record is now 35 times before i was able to submit a transfer offer.

    Maybe it's all down to the size of fingers, but unless this gets patched it's going to be deleted and will be the last Football Manager I will buy.

    What I don't get is with something as broken as this why were all the scores not 1/10 or 2/10, I read a number of critic reviews which rated it highly.

    I also found the micro transactions despicable. In the first game I get two of my best players injured, then it offers me a cheat to pay and get them magically back from injury. Makes it feel like they have changed the dynamics to favour micro transactions, what...I paid full price for a game which then tries to force you to pay more. This feels like the start of a very slippery slope.
    Full Review »