Gravity Rush PlayStation Vita

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jun 12, 2012
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
Buy On
  1. Jun 13, 2012
    65
    Harnessing the power of gravity is exhilarating, but dull combat keeps Gravity Rush from being the soaring success it could have been.
  2. May 24, 2012
    65
    Gravity Rush has everything it needs to be something great, but it takes all the wrong forks in the road and ends up rather unfulfilling. It's a real shame, too, because you it's so clear how brilliant it truly could have been.
  3. Jun 13, 2012
    70
    Despite the struggles of the combat system, the story of Kat and overall atmosphere of the game are extremely well executed and make up for the small misstep. Sure, Gravity Rush isn't the Vita's savior, but it doesn't really need to be. It's a competent action game with a unique mechanic that works well on a handheld.
  4. Jun 13, 2012
    70
    Its flaws are frustratingly obvious, but this has some of the most enjoyably original gameplay and visuals of any game this year - on the PS Vita or otherwise.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jun 18, 2012
    70
    Finally there is an original title for PS Vita that can prove its quality without being ported from other consoles – action adventure where you can play with gravity as you wish. [June 2012]
  6. Oct 29, 2012
    71
    The concept is just dripping with potential on paper, but once it actually hit my Vita, something seems to have been lost.
  7. Jun 11, 2012
    60
    The gravity-shifting gameplay offered might be complete enough for game-starved Vita owners on the hunt for something to do with their device. But do manage your expectations, lest you be disappointed by how hollow Gravity Rush is underneath its breathtaking shell. This is a game that does one thing very well. If you need more than that, then Gravity Rush isn't for you.
  8. Jun 30, 2012
    70
    Despite a few control hiccups, Gravity Rush succeeds on the strength of its excellent movement system and endearing protagonist.
  9. Jun 12, 2012
    70
    It can be repetitive, obtuse and occasionally difficult to control, but it's one thing above all else: Joyful. And for that reason, Gravity Rush is the most interesting thing happening on the PlayStation Vita.
  10. Jul 5, 2012
    60
    The game's smooth-as-butter movement is a great hook which deserves to be paired with a more engaging game, as the end result feels far too sparse and underused in the greater context of everything it has going for it.
  11. Jun 18, 2012
    68
    I actually liked Gravity Rush quite a bit. An interesting concept, a great story and some super easy controls made the game a dream to play, that is until a Nevi or two (or 10) stand in your way. The awful combat drags the entire game down and makes the story missions more a chore than an offshoot of a truly fun handheld game.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 638 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 168
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Gravity Rush is a very creative and original game from Sony. This was one of my most anticipated games for 2012. The graphics are amazing,Gravity Rush is a very creative and original game from Sony. This was one of my most anticipated games for 2012. The graphics are amazing, they're on par with its big brother PS3. If you need an excuse to buy a PS VITA, then this is the one. This is not only the best Vita game out there, but one of the best handheld games Ive ever played! Full Review »
  2. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    This is quite simply the new high standard for future games on the amazing handheld Sony has brought to us, I see a bright future for the VITAThis is quite simply the new high standard for future games on the amazing handheld Sony has brought to us, I see a bright future for the VITA if high quality games like Gravity Rush keep coming. Full Review »
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Best game I have ever played on a handheld. Played it on one of my buddy's PS Vita and immediately went to Best Buy to buy my own along withBest game I have ever played on a handheld. Played it on one of my buddy's PS Vita and immediately went to Best Buy to buy my own along with Gravity Rush. All my friends already have PS Vita's so its awesome that we all have on now. The gameplay is rock solid just like all Sony exclusives. Buy it!!!!! Full Review »