• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Gravity Rush Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 653 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gravity Rush has players manipulate gravity to save your world from destruction. Gain a new perspective as you assume the role of Kat, a head-string girl looking for a way to protect her future in a world that's crumbling under her feet. Tilt and move the Vita, taking gravity into your ownGravity Rush has players manipulate gravity to save your world from destruction. Gain a new perspective as you assume the role of Kat, a head-string girl looking for a way to protect her future in a world that's crumbling under her feet. Tilt and move the Vita, taking gravity into your own hands to deliver devastating attacks, uncover the secrets to your past and explore a mysterious world. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Gravity Rush Cinematic Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. May 29, 2012
    100
    Gravity Rush is one of the most impressive titles to land on the Vita to date. It's rare to see a project with such lofty ambitions executed so well. The bold new mechanics are complemented by an engaging story, striking visuals and atmospheric soundtrack. If you were looking for an excuse to purchase the Sony handheld, look no further than this must-have gem.
  2. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Apr 9, 2012
    93
    Perfectly balances free-roaming exploration, focused story missions and RPG-style leveling, with sublime handheld controls in Vita's first killer app. [May 2012, p.112]
  3. May 30, 2012
    90
    Swiping, tilting and touching your way through this gorgeous world (the story scenes in particular showcase physical awareness and interactivity) is pleasurable and deep in a way that will easily draw you away from your main home console(s).
  4. May 29, 2012
    86
    If you like Japanese fairy tales combined with a unique twist around gravity manipulation that's the game you should buy – finally also available outside of Japan!
  5. Aug 3, 2012
    80
    A beautiful art style and an interesting take on gravity. Though the world and the lead character aren't very interesting.
  6. May 24, 2012
    80
    Finally PlayStation Vita has a great (but not flawless) game, tailored to its features, with great gameplay and gorgeous visuals.
  7. Jun 11, 2012
    60
    The gravity-shifting gameplay offered might be complete enough for game-starved Vita owners on the hunt for something to do with their device. But do manage your expectations, lest you be disappointed by how hollow Gravity Rush is underneath its breathtaking shell. This is a game that does one thing very well. If you need more than that, then Gravity Rush isn't for you.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 0 out of 152
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Gravity Rush is a very creative and original game from Sony. This was one of my most anticipated games for 2012. The graphics are amazing,Gravity Rush is a very creative and original game from Sony. This was one of my most anticipated games for 2012. The graphics are amazing, they're on par with its big brother PS3. If you need an excuse to buy a PS VITA, then this is the one. This is not only the best Vita game out there, but one of the best handheld games Ive ever played! Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    A great and original IP. A superb open world to explore with Kat and Dusty. An intriguing story which leaves room for hopefully a sequel.A great and original IP. A superb open world to explore with Kat and Dusty. An intriguing story which leaves room for hopefully a sequel. Graphics are amazing and has re-playability. A must have Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    Believe the hype! Gravity Rush will not disappoint, this game is truly amazing! I've had high expectations for this game and it delivered!Believe the hype! Gravity Rush will not disappoint, this game is truly amazing! I've had high expectations for this game and it delivered! Gravity Rush uses innovative controls, a compelling storyline, a likeable cast, and spectacular graphics! Go buy it! Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    Very interesting and unusual game! When i saw it first time i thought it is boring game about some girl, who shifts some gravity and so on,Very interesting and unusual game! When i saw it first time i thought it is boring game about some girl, who shifts some gravity and so on, with Japanese graphics, then when i saw it is available on PS+ i decided to give it a try, and you know what? I didn't regret it. Unusual gameplay, a bit strange graphics and plot, but this game is very great. I think it is a must have for all of the PS Vita owners. Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2012
    9
    Gravity Rush is a gem hiding in the sea of rehashed ideas and mediocrity that big budget games have become today. It saddens me a little, toGravity Rush is a gem hiding in the sea of rehashed ideas and mediocrity that big budget games have become today. It saddens me a little, to see certain review sites seem to have bought into the norm so much, that they can't even appreciate a game as special as this one. Gravity Rush is perhaps the best game I've played this year. As a first gen Vita title, it suffers some technical limitations in draw distance and the like, but highly benefits from the control scheme, overall making the Vita feel like the best system to host the game. Characters are likable, music excellent, the style and comic cut scenes work well together, the gravity mechanic isn't a gimmick, but truly fun and gives a great sense of freedom... pacing is great, it's broken up well between story missions, challenges, and sandbox, so it always feels fresh.... the only flaw is perhaps that combat mechanics can sometimes feel slightly less polished than the rest of the game.. which is why I rated down a point. Overall though, Gravity Rush has really impressed me, and it's the type of game you want to tell people about, so that they can have the great experience of playing it. Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2012
    8
    Gravity Rush is very fun to play. The first couple of hours on your Vita will likely blow you away. It's gravity control is very unique andGravity Rush is very fun to play. The first couple of hours on your Vita will likely blow you away. It's gravity control is very unique and is a great new idea in a world of sequels and copying other people's ideas. The enemies are a little blah, and the gameplay does get a little repetitive but this is still a wonderful, highly recommended game. I hope that Sony builds from this because with a little more polish and a little more variation it easily would have been a 10/10 for me. Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2012
    5
    Gravity Rush should be rated M for mediocre. I'm around 10 hours in so far, and I have to stop.

    The graphics are very unimpressive, like
    Gravity Rush should be rated M for mediocre. I'm around 10 hours in so far, and I have to stop.

    The graphics are very unimpressive, like something you'd expect from a non-gaming computer from 10 years ago. The trailers are a lie, in game is missing a lot of anti-aliasing and shadows and detailed textures.

    Combat is infrequent, and not a lot of fun. All you do is kick, throw stuff, or float in the air and kick. Or hit the triangle button and whatever you're aimed at dies.

    The music is pure awful, and it repeats itself every 30 seconds or so. Other zones have different music, but they too repeat themselves over and over driving you insane.

    I think the story got lost in translation. Or it's just awful too and everyone giving high scores don't know any better.

    Flying around is kind of fun.
    Collapse

See all 152 User Reviews