Guacamelee! PlayStation Vita

Guacamelee! Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 222 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game features a down on his luck Mexican named Juan Aguacate, who sets out to save the world when El Presidente's Daughter is kidnapped by an Evil Charro Skeleton. The story takes place in and around a small village in Mexico, and has the player travelling through alternate dimensionsThe game features a down on his luck Mexican named Juan Aguacate, who sets out to save the world when El Presidente's Daughter is kidnapped by an Evil Charro Skeleton. The story takes place in and around a small village in Mexico, and has the player travelling through alternate dimensions including "The World of the Dead" and "The World of Nightmares" on his quest to rescue the girl he loves. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Guacamelee! - Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. May 21, 2013
    95
    It plays like a dream, it's nice to look at, it can be funny as all get out and it just feels like the real deal, a complete experience just shy of masterpiece status.
  2. Apr 9, 2013
    90
    The combat is addicting, the animations are beautiful, and the narrative is entertaining. What more could you want?
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    90
    Everything about it is finely-tuned and dripping with polish—the bright, stylized visuals, the rock-solid handling, the smart decisions in its core design, use of its Mexican themes, and so on.
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    90
    Guacamelee! is genuinely funny, massively enjoyable, and filled to bursting with good ideas. It's your next essential Vita game.
  5. May 6, 2013
    90
    Guacamelee! goes right to the narrow circle of the most exciting games published on PS Vita.
  6. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 21, 2013
    90
    Easily one of the best downloadable titles on the Vita. Grab it pronto. [June 2013, p80]
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    75
    Colourful, brimming with character and entertaining, Guacamelee offers more than enough content for its low fee to make up for its lack of depth.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Guacamelee! Is what you get when you put Super Metriod/Symphony of The Night, Saturday Night Slam Masters/Fire Pro Wrestling, Old School SuperGuacamelee! Is what you get when you put Super Metriod/Symphony of The Night, Saturday Night Slam Masters/Fire Pro Wrestling, Old School Super Mario/Mutant Blobs From Space, In a blender & hit puree.

    Guacamelee is the Nintendo game I wish modern Nintendo games were. DrinkBox stays out Nintendoing Nintendo. With a billion times the flair & creativity.

    Both PS3 & Vita versions are identical with 2 platinum trophies cross save & cross buy. You may not utilize cross save since the game is so great you will have the urge to fully complete on both platforms.
    It's even better on Vita because you can play it anywhere & everywhere & you will
    Expand
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    Gorgeous game, if you like platform is a must buy, fun, addictive and excellent gameplay and hilarious game story make this one of the best PSN games.
  3. Jan 30, 2015
    10
    Fresh off coming off my 2 playthroughs (1 on normal, 1 on hard going fast as I could) of Guacamelee! on my PlayStation Vita, I believe I'mFresh off coming off my 2 playthroughs (1 on normal, 1 on hard going fast as I could) of Guacamelee! on my PlayStation Vita, I believe I'm come over the thumb numbing action that Guacamelee! provided me while staring at its beautiful scenery. The story of Guacamelee! puts you in the shoes of an agave farmer named Juan that is in love with El Presidente's daughter but alas they have not come to their senses and realized it yet. Therefore when your chance to start showing your love for her, a skeleton named Calaca decides to kidnap her and foil the fiesta! Juan then gets transported to the land of the dead where you find a mask that turns him into a macho lucha libre! With Juan's newborn combo moves and skills it is your responsibility to rescue El Presidente's daughter and stop Calaca's plan to take over the world!

    The combat and action of Guacamelee! is just right: arenas full of enemies will keep you on your toes but there's plenty of save spots and breather spots around for you to rest your thumbs if need be (something Mega Man never did for me!). Normal mode of Guacamelee! isn't hard unless you are bad at timing attacks/dodges in which case you will probably not beat Hard Mode / get the Platinum trophy. Hard mode is infuriating to say the least (you will swear at the bosses/one or two arenas) and a couple of places you need to complete to get the platinum trophy are Mega Man levels of annoyance (I'm talking disappearing platforms and jumping from switching wall to wall stuff). While I did get the Platinum Trophy for the game and played it twice, I would gladly replay the game again since it's real beauty lies in it's characters and backgrounds. There are also tons of funny meme jokes like ME GUSTA and Gentlemen Spy etcetera. There are references here and there like the poster of Grim Fandango that says Missing!. Well Grim Fandango, you're missing no more and like you Grim Fandango, I hope we never forget Guacamelee!
    Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    Guacamelee! is a perfect example of a game that is more than the sum of its parts. It weaves together all its elements its Metroid-inspiredGuacamelee! is a perfect example of a game that is more than the sum of its parts. It weaves together all its elements its Metroid-inspired level design and skill progression, its endearingly charming representation of Dia de los Muertos and its simple yet effective combat and controls and meshes them together to create something that stands out as a masterfully executed, well-rounded package that pretty much accomplishes all it set out to do.

    After consideration, I decided to put my review on its Vita page as that is where I ended up spending most of my time, though it's worth pointing out that both the Vita and PS3 versions are sublime, and they interact flawlessly, whether you're transferring saves over or using the Vita as a second controller for player 2 on the PS3. If you own either (or both!) of these consoles, you should really think about picking up Guacamelee!
    Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2014
    9
    Guacamelee! is an amazing platformer with that feel of old school platforming. It has a feel of countless of classics like Super Metroid mixedGuacamelee! is an amazing platformer with that feel of old school platforming. It has a feel of countless of classics like Super Metroid mixed with Castlevania and other great games.

    The only bad thing about this game is that I feel that the story is too short and can be finished relatively quickly, but other than that I urge people to buy this game and enjoy it to your heart's content.
    Expand
  6. May 15, 2013
    9
    Congratulations for a Drinkbox. This game have a fun and creativity as nintendo games. Mutant Blobs from space is a distant cousin fromCongratulations for a Drinkbox. This game have a fun and creativity as nintendo games. Mutant Blobs from space is a distant cousin from Guacameele! In fact dont make any comparisions. Guacameele! have other propose and all you need is a many hours free for enjoy this titlle. Expand
  7. Aug 18, 2015
    1
    For a game that few players can complete ? Guacamelee is a stressful game where you get stuck in various locations of the game. Not recommendFor a game that few players can complete ? Guacamelee is a stressful game where you get stuck in various locations of the game. Not recommend the game for people with little time who want to have fun. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews