Hot Shots Golf: World Invitational Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The over-the-top golf franchise is back using a wide array of PS Vita system features including front and rear touch for shot preparation, 3G asynchronous gameplay, online tournaments, and the ability to peruse the course in real time. [Sony]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    91
    Like I said, the addictive quality of Hot Shots Golf is here in full force. It's a perfect game for travelling because you can knock out a 9-hole challenge in no time, and there's always new items in the shop that drives you play just one more round. Absolutely a great Hot Shots game, and absolutely a great game to pick up with your PS Vita.
  2. Feb 16, 2012
    86
    It trumps the last version on PS3 by merit of opening up more player options – generally it's the same game, but the method of taking a shot can use any one of five different mechanisms. Other than that it's business as usual – madly compulsive, quick to pick up and difficult to master, questionable representation of young girls.
  3. Feb 15, 2012
    82
    Another fine entry in a dependably bankable series. Plays it safe, but that's no bad thing. [March 2012, p.73]
  4. Feb 14, 2012
    75
    The game's biggest problem is that it doesn't offer anything fresh – it's roughly Hot Shots Golf: Out of Bounds from PS3 (which is still impressive for a handheld). [March 2012, p.77]
  5. Mar 14, 2012
    75
    Look past certain design flaws - and certain mechanical issues – however, and you'll find a highly enjoyable, highly addictive golf game that's accessible to all types of player, from the kid in the back seat during a car ride to the most dedicated gamer.
  6. Feb 23, 2012
    70
    Everybody's Golf 6 doesn't do anything new, it is basically the same experience of home consoles but on a handheld.
  7. Feb 23, 2012
    50
    The customisation options are the main focus in this portable golf game, but apart from that the game treads on very familiar ground. I'd hold out for an inevitable Tiger Woods game if I were you.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    I have been playing golf games since the 90's and if the game is good I am incredible addicted to it. This is my personal favorite golf gameI have been playing golf games since the 90's and if the game is good I am incredible addicted to it. This is my personal favorite golf game of all time. I think it is the best in the series of Hot Shots games and I have played them all for many hours upon hours. I never was a huge fan of the Tiger Woods series because the physics didn't seem realistic to me, especially the putting. I enjoy the challenge of golf games because the real game is a true pain in the butt. To be able to use my knowledge of studying the greens/slopes from playing real golf and to see the physics play out in a realistic fashion is something that excites me.

    The online community is alive and nearly 1000 players participate in the daily tournaments everyday. I haven't missed many since I bought this game and I have enjoyed every round.
    Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    I honestly just purchased the Vita because of this game. I never had as much fun playing OOB on the PS3, that I had to get this.I honestly just purchased the Vita because of this game. I never had as much fun playing OOB on the PS3, that I had to get this. Specifically, the online play. Superb, and years of replayability. Collapse
  3. May 19, 2012
    10
    This game has everything that a golf game should have. Almost no bugs, great graphics, amazing online features, tons of things to unlock,This game has everything that a golf game should have. Almost no bugs, great graphics, amazing online features, tons of things to unlock, challenging courses and much much more! I would recommend this game to everyone who likes golf! Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2012
    9
    I really love this addition to the franchise. It has everything you love about Hot Shots throw in a few additions here and there and you haveI really love this addition to the franchise. It has everything you love about Hot Shots throw in a few additions here and there and you have yourself an amazing Vita launch title. I especially love the fact I can play online on the go I mean who hasn't wanted to be able to game against others in the comfort of your bathroom?! Expand
  5. Feb 20, 2013
    8
    I really enjoyed this game even though I rarely play golf games. My biggest gripe is the inability to have multiple players on the same Vita.I really enjoyed this game even though I rarely play golf games. My biggest gripe is the inability to have multiple players on the same Vita. My 9 yo daughter wiped about 6 months of progress in five seconds by starting over... Expand
  6. May 27, 2012
    8
    The biggest thing this game brings to the table is fun. It's certainly the game that's been able to hold my attention the longest on the VitaThe biggest thing this game brings to the table is fun. It's certainly the game that's been able to hold my attention the longest on the Vita so far. There are some minor gripes with the game, including the fairly difficult courses at the end of the game. Unless you play the perfect shot, it becomes very difficult to get a high score. You'll frequently have to restart tournaments because one poor shot can lead to a very bad score on a hole, which will ruin any chances you have at coming out toward the top of the leaderboard. However, the large number of courses and characters, plus all the unlockables and the fun aspect the game brings, make this one of the easiest purchases for the Vita so far, especially if you can find it on sale, like it seems to be every other weekend. Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2013
    5
    The game is just too difficult to progress. This is the big problem that prevents me from continuing to play. I'd like to play longer, but I'mThe game is just too difficult to progress. This is the big problem that prevents me from continuing to play. I'd like to play longer, but I'm stuck! I start all the time and nothing. I'm bad! Expand

See all 22 User Reviews