Hotline Miami Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 215 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into the neon-soaked underground of 1980s Miami as bizarre messages on your answering machine seem to be urging you to commit terrible acts of violence - but will you obey? Hotline Miami is full of raw brutality and skull crushing close combat as you find yourself outgunned and usingStep into the neon-soaked underground of 1980s Miami as bizarre messages on your answering machine seem to be urging you to commit terrible acts of violence - but will you obey? Hotline Miami is full of raw brutality and skull crushing close combat as you find yourself outgunned and using your wits to choreograph your way through impossible situations. An unmistakable visual style, a driving soundtrack, and a surreal plot that will have you question your own thirst for blood. Bash and blast through over 20 multiscreen levels with 35 unique weapons and collect 25 game-altering masks in one of the darkest and most unusual independent games on the scene. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jul 24, 2013
    100
    And that, to me, is the essence of Hotline Miami: it's a game that does everything so perfectly, it even makes me love stuff I would normally hate. Which means that if we're talking about stuff you'd normally love — extreme violence, extreme difficulty, druggy music — then this right here could end up being your favorite game of all time.
  2. Jul 2, 2013
    90
    If you haven’t played Hotline Miami on PC yet, this is your perfect chance. One of the best indie games ever made is now available on Vita and PS3 for just €8 with cross-buy and cross-save. Great controls, a weird story and an epic soundtrack make this little gem a must-buy.
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    90
    Buy this one without hesitation, especially if you haven't played it before.
  4. Jun 26, 2013
    85
    If you've already played the PC version there isn't enough new to consider a second go - unless you really loved it - but it's an impressive port all the same and a fantastic coup for the PS Vita.
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    85
    Like a punch you didn't see coming, Hotline Miami will make you bleed and leave you enthralled with its violence, its responsive controls and, more than that, with its fun and frantic blood fest. A great port, expecially on PSVita.
  6. Jul 30, 2013
    80
    The Dennaton Games title is a fascinating and magnetic action game, which captures and enhances anyone who wants to explore the dramatic and angry perversions of its protagonist.
  7. Aug 31, 2013
    60
    Hotline Miami is a short and bittersweet mix of fast-paced violence and monotonous repetition, where stupendous AI and crazy amounts of randomness interrupt the experience on a regular basis. It’s stylish and mindless fun, but quite annoying nonetheless.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    A high-style gloriously violent indie gem with challenging yet addictive gameplay with a killer soundtrack behind it and tons of unlockablesA high-style gloriously violent indie gem with challenging yet addictive gameplay with a killer soundtrack behind it and tons of unlockables to collect. Buy it now. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    I'd like to start by saying that I created an account just to give this game a 10.
    As megamind101 said,this is another example of a indie
    I'd like to start by saying that I created an account just to give this game a 10.
    As megamind101 said,this is another example of a indie game that was developed for PS3 and Vita after its success on the PC platform.
    This game has everything a great game needs,and that is:
    Aesthetics,Story,Soundtrack,Gameplay and most importantly,Fun.Even after beating Hotline Miami I couldn't resist and played through the game again,not only because its a fun and addicting game but to also collect all the masks and collect all the pieces of the secret puzzle that remained.
    Most people that bought/will buy this game think that it isn't a big deal at all,but don't let yourself be fooled,Hotline Miami is an excellent game that can be bought for a cheap price.
    Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    this game is completely broken on pc but on vita it is the best indie game i ever played by far. it is one of my favorites vita games. thethis game is completely broken on pc but on vita it is the best indie game i ever played by far. it is one of my favorites vita games. the atmosphere, the music and puzzle based game play are fantastic Expand
  4. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    Real good game out there, I love it.
    The OST is amazing, featuring real talented artists.
    I just want a longer game ! The game is really
    Real good game out there, I love it.
    The OST is amazing, featuring real talented artists.
    I just want a longer game !
    The game is really speedrun friendly, powerplay friendly, etc. But the story is quite short.
    I'm still playing it because of the ambiance, which is great. Playing it on the go with the PS VITA is a great plus
    Expand
  5. Sep 15, 2016
    9
    Addictive, simple, creative, fun game. Very good visuals and colors (even though it's a 2D, indie game). The controls are simple but the gameAddictive, simple, creative, fun game. Very good visuals and colors (even though it's a 2D, indie game). The controls are simple but the game requires somewhat a good skill (if you wan't to get to the end you have to train a lot, because it gets harder gradually throughout the game). It's very addictive, as you get the hang of it, and get's better, you just want more and more! I only gave it a 9 instead of a 10 because the lore ins't that very well explained (i think the developers made it that on purpose, kinda suit the games style), and i don't like games with the lore not very well explained, but apart from a that, i just can't find any other issue with it! Go buy it, it's cheap, it's awesome, what are you waiting for? Expand
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    killer soundtrack - slick gameplay - fun missions - interesting graphics - and intriguing story. Hotline miami is a perfect game for the vitakiller soundtrack - slick gameplay - fun missions - interesting graphics - and intriguing story. Hotline miami is a perfect game for the vita and provides a great pick and play game that always has you coming back for more. The gameplay provides for great bursts of action and allows the stylish violence of the game to show off how great the game looks. the soundtrack is one of the best videogame soundtracks ever released providing electro tunes that add to the experience that this game provides. a must own for vita owners and seeing as this game can be picked up for around 5 dollars it is a steal. Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2013
    6
    It's fun, but repetetive. Frustrating and challenging, but not always fair. The controls are awkward and the story is nonsense. I generallyIt's fun, but repetetive. Frustrating and challenging, but not always fair. The controls are awkward and the story is nonsense. I generally love pixel graphics but these graphics are kind of ugly. It looks like everything was made in MS Paint. Quite fun, but very overrated game. Wierd hit detection too. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews