Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 136 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into the neon-soaked underground of 1980s Miami as bizarre messages on your answering machine seem to be urging you to commit terrible acts of violence - but will you obey? Hotline Miami is full of raw brutality and skull crushing close combat as you find yourself outgunned and using your wits to choreograph your way through impossible situations. An unmistakable visual style, a driving soundtrack, and a surreal plot that will have you question your own thirst for blood. Bash and blast through over 20 multiscreen levels with 35 unique weapons and collect 25 game-altering masks in one of the darkest and most unusual independent games on the scene. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jul 24, 2013
    100
    And that, to me, is the essence of Hotline Miami: it's a game that does everything so perfectly, it even makes me love stuff I would normally hate. Which means that if we're talking about stuff you'd normally love — extreme violence, extreme difficulty, druggy music — then this right here could end up being your favorite game of all time.
  2. Jul 2, 2013
    90
    If you haven’t played Hotline Miami on PC yet, this is your perfect chance. One of the best indie games ever made is now available on Vita and PS3 for just €8 with cross-buy and cross-save. Great controls, a weird story and an epic soundtrack make this little gem a must-buy.
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    90
    Buy this one without hesitation, especially if you haven't played it before.
  4. Jun 26, 2013
    85
    If you've already played the PC version there isn't enough new to consider a second go - unless you really loved it - but it's an impressive port all the same and a fantastic coup for the PS Vita.
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    85
    Like a punch you didn't see coming, Hotline Miami will make you bleed and leave you enthralled with its violence, its responsive controls and, more than that, with its fun and frantic blood fest. A great port, expecially on PSVita.
  6. Jul 30, 2013
    80
    The Dennaton Games title is a fascinating and magnetic action game, which captures and enhances anyone who wants to explore the dramatic and angry perversions of its protagonist.
  7. Aug 31, 2013
    60
    Hotline Miami is a short and bittersweet mix of fast-paced violence and monotonous repetition, where stupendous AI and crazy amounts of randomness interrupt the experience on a regular basis. It’s stylish and mindless fun, but quite annoying nonetheless.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    A high-style gloriously violent indie gem with challenging yet addictive gameplay with a killer soundtrack behind it and tons of unlockables to collect. Buy it now. Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2013
    10
    For a 10$ game it's pretty much perfect to me, great pick up and play,enchanting music(it's a must play with headphones for some levels at leastl) I've gone back and played it multiple times which is rare for me, it's a game when I pick up my vita and want a fast fun game session I choose it.

    It doesn't overstay its welcome, although a couple more levels wouldn't have hurt. It is very violent of course so if that's not your thing your enjoyment may be seriously impacted.

    Worth every penny
    Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    this game is completely broken on pc but on vita it is the best indie game i ever played by far. it is one of my favorites vita games. the atmosphere, the music and puzzle based game play are fantastic Expand
  4. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    Real good game out there, I love it.
    The OST is amazing, featuring real talented artists.
    I just want a longer game !
    The game is really
    speedrun friendly, powerplay friendly, etc. But the story is quite short.
    I'm still playing it because of the ambiance, which is great. Playing it on the go with the PS VITA is a great plus
    Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    Brilliant game with a killer soundtrack and 80s style. It reminds me most of the first two Grand Theft Auto games which were amazing. Difficulty can be pretty hardcore at times. Vita version is the best. Expand
  6. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    Here's a pretty brisk mini review for Playstation's (Vita and PS3) latest and greatest indie offering, Hotline Miami. But why so brisk, why so mini, I here you cry? Because, try as I might, I just can't seem to tear myself away from Miami's clutches for a single moment more than is absolutely necessary. And certainly not without succumbing to the grabby pangs of it's on-tap, massacre-on-the-go addiction, and falling fail to the ensuing neon-flavoured cold turkey!

    Cluck. Man, this game rocks. Cluck, cluck.

    I'll endeavour to pop back with some more detailed impressions in a while. Perhaps once I'm done playing through each of Hotline Miami's off-the-charts, bonkers chapters, once more. Nah, who am I kidding? Not once, not twice, but thrice! Aaarrrrgh, did I mention that this is one insanely addictive shooter?

    Hotline Miami looks, sounds and more importantly, plays spectacularly (particularly on Vita), and as such, I wholeheartedly recommend heading over to PSN, and grabbing this claret-spilling, gore-tastic, eighties love letter, without delay. Unless you're the sort who's easily offended, or perhaps especially adverse to that old chestnut, videogame violence, I highly doubt you'll regret it.

    9.5 out of 10
    Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2013
    6
    It's fun, but repetetive. Frustrating and challenging, but not always fair. The controls are awkward and the story is nonsense. I generally love pixel graphics but these graphics are kind of ugly. It looks like everything was made in MS Paint. Quite fun, but very overrated game. Wierd hit detection too. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews