Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    80
    What the Vita lacks in software, it makes up for in opportunity. UI tweaks, perfectly mapped controls, and a beautiful translation to the Vita's portable screen make it perfect for anyone traveling for the summer, sitting on the toilet in need of PS2 greatness, or even people like me who just missed Jak & Daxter's adventures the first time around.
  2. Jul 2, 2013
    75
    Jak and Daxter finally appear on Sony's handheld and their original trilogy remains a lot of fun. There's some annoyances here and there (framedrops and other technical hick-ups), but you should be able to overlook these flaws.
  3. Jul 2, 2013
    75
    It's far from being a definitive Vita experience, to be sure, but if you're looking for some mostly enjoyable platforming on the go (or if you've just got a nostalgic itch to be scratched), the Jak & Daxter Collection is certainly worth picking up.
  4. Jul 4, 2013
    70
    Jak and Daxter Trilogy is still the same awesome pack of remastered games, but Vita port looks somewhat lazy. Frame rate issues and weird control scheme might you want to get the superior PlayStation 3 version instead.
  5. Jun 26, 2013
    70
    It's just a shame the genre-defining original is such a frustrating title to play on Vita, the second is so impenetrably hard, and the third a little unfocused.
  6. Jun 25, 2013
    70
    You can’t go wrong for the price, and this game is definitely worth adding to your collection, but preferably your PS3 collection.
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    70
    Though fans of the series may be able to excuse its technical issues, this isn't the top-end collection it could have been to attract new players to this classic series.
  8. Jul 28, 2013
    68
    The Jak and Daxter Collection’s three games are excellent, but if you have the ability to play them on the PS3 (or hell, even the PS2), then that's the way to go.
  9. Jun 18, 2013
    66
    It's no surprise that the Vita release of Jak and Daxter Collection is noticeably inferior to its console counterpart. The problem is I'm referring to both the PlayStation 3 and PlayStation 2 versions of each game. What the Jak and Daxter Collection gains in portability to loses in playability - a compromise that, even for games as objectively great as these three, is tough to reconcile.
  10. We can’t help but feel as though this port was booted out of the door without so much as a kiss goodbye. Case in point: you still have the option to toggle ‘vibration’ on and off in the settings menu. Come on, guys... really? The Jak and Daxter Collection should be played by anybody who hasn’t already. But our advice: skip past this port and go for the home console version instead. [September 2013, p74]
  11. Aug 9, 2013
    60
    The sad truth is that while the trilogy is more than playable on the Vita this collection is not the definitive version, and if you have the choice and the inclination you would be far better off playing these on the PS3.
  12. Jul 26, 2013
    60
    The Vita version of The Jak & Daxter Trilogy is not the best way to experience the story of Naughty Dog's duo.
  13. Jul 12, 2013
    60
    This specific Vita-version of the Jak and Daxter Trilogy doesn't do the series enough honor. Framerate issues and awkward controls undo a lot of the magic. Whoever manages to look past these issues will have an expansive and varied trip through the colorful Misty Island, the somber Haven City and tough Spargus awaiting them.
  14. Jul 11, 2013
    60
    How to destroy a great trilogy with a poor-quality conversion. We hope for a better result next time.
  15. Jun 25, 2013
    60
    This Vita port of the HD Compilation is nicely done, even though the games themselves and their shortcomings remain the same: some camera issues, rigid PS2-era controls, and the like. Still a new way to enjoy 3 classics on the go.
  16. Jun 22, 2013
    60
    Jak and Daxter is an excellent franchise and one of my all-time favorites, but the Vita collection doesn't really do it justice. If you're keen on experiencing these classics, whether it's for the first or fortieth time, it's probably best to wait for either a price drop, or just pick up the superior PS3 version.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Although the trailer suggests that the PS Vita copy of the Jak and Daxter Trilogy has frame-rate issues i can assure you that from MY experience with the game,
    the frame rates do not drop as often as you think they might. To be honest Jak 2 ran smoother than ever, Jak 3 had the occasional dip in frame-rate but the
    first game, Jak and Daxter The Precursor Legacy has all sorts of frame-rate problems, but thats not the point.The point is the Vita is not capable of running
    games around the clock at 60fps. I dont see there being any problem in the frame-rate for the first two games in the trailer. I only saw a dip in Jak 3, and i
    can assure you these moments of frame-rate drop are few and far between. Let's get onto the POSITIVE side of things now you're getting Jak and Daxter:
    The Precursor Legacy, Jak 2 and Jak 3 on a single game catridge for $50.00, thats three of last gens best titles fiited into one tiny little PS Vita Game Card.
    plus having them wherever you go is quite a bonus. From me it's a good move from sony bringing the trilogy onto the Vita. Being able to play on the Vita on a
    holiday rather than having to take a huge giant console everywhere. The balance of the games are great, Jak and Daxter The Precursor Legacy is a light-
    hearted platformer, Jak 2 add's in shooting, driving, and is more dark, and Jak 3 finds a balance between the two, with shooting, driving, mini-games and
    a whole lot more. The Trilogy on the PS Vita also comes with full PSN trophy support, and if you've already collected them on PS3 you WILL be able to
    collect them all again. Now onto the Graphics, the graphics don't look as good as the PS3, but thats unfair comparing the device with such a beasty console.
    The Jak and Daxter Trilogy graphics are quite amazing for the Playstation Vita, with bright colours popping up everywhere, take the frame-rate problem out (
    thats mean when your getting smooth gameplay). The gameplay is smooth and crisp. The controls, although the controls given to the backtouchpad aren't
    has "usable" as the dualshock's 3 L2 and R2, it gets the job done. It's not about where the controls are, it's about how you use them. To me the backtouchpad
    wasn't bad to use, because i use it quite a bit in most of my other games. Your opinion might differ. Many complain about how, Daxter Jak and Daxter The Lost
    Frontier and Jak X are not in the trilogy. THATS because the PS Vita Game Card can use up to 2GB-4GB of space. Jak and Daxter the Precursor Legacy, Jak
    2, and Jak 3 are 3GB put together onto the Card. Thats why you won't be getting the other 3 spin-offs. My final point is that atleast we have a Jak and Daxter
    Trilogy on the Playstation Vita, and considering the favourite of the three for me is Jak 2, and runs crisply and smootly is quite jaw-dropping for me. My final
    verdict and score will now follow. Still PATCHES could be avaible to the Trilogy if developers look into it.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    First off, I'd like to start by saying that I do see the framerate drops in the first game, but I do not feel like it is a massive problem that takes away from the experience. The game is a solid port of a great game. This collection did what it advertised, it brought the Jak and Daxter experience to a handheld. Since the games play just as good as I remember, with just a few infrequent performance drops, I'd say that they did a great job at bringing the dynamic duo to the PlayStation Vita. Full Review »
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    I'm new to the Jak and Daxter series, this is truly my introduction.
    (Following is based off the Precursor Legacy Gameplay)
    Now, the game
    itself is fantastically playable, there's a lot to do in each game and the first one blessedly reminds me of Banjo Kazooie, part of an era of 3D Platforming that we simply haven't returned to. Where collectables floated everywhere, and I mean everywhere.

    The port itself, is a real shame. The first game is 100% playable, but there's slowdown in some noncrucial moments in the beginning. The camera is archaic and I don't understand why the standard is inverse and then going into First person still gives me ridiculous controls even after I changed it. The camera is just not smooth and it almost seems fruitless to bother with it just let it auto pivot 75% of the time XD

    Glaring stupidity? There's a choice to turn on and off vibrate in the options.

    After seeing that, I was surprised to see that they had atleast changed other things to say Playstation vita system as opposed to PS2 when saving.

    Issues can be patched, but oh, maybe it's just me, but the jump is wonky, I have to press firmly to double jump.

    Camera and occasionally not working double jump aside... I'm having fun, the first game is good and I hear the ports for the other two are better, so here's to hope.

    I would really give this game an 8.5 because the port seems rushed, it just lacks polish, but the games are worth the money if you haven't tried them and want them to be portable.
    Full Review »