• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Sep 18, 2012
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 303 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 303

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    There are games and master pieces, lbp belongs to the second category, this is possibly one of the best games ever made and the psvita version is the best version by far thanks to the tactil controls. Some people may say that is a bit short but I can guarantee you that you'll play it with a smile on your face... if you own a psvita just get it you won't regret it
  2. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is AMAZING!! THE LITTLE BIG PLANET series is very fanny ...you can play,create and share!The LBP ps Vita is no.1 game on Vita for me ,by far! Expand
  3. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    One of my favourite games for Playstation Vita. I play it all the time. It truly feels like LBP in your hands. It takes ALOT of time to get used to the creation tools, but if you do, the sense of accomplishment you feel after making a great level is just unrivaled by many other video games. Get this game now! Support your Vita so you can play more great games!
  4. Sis
    Sep 19, 2013
    10
    This is downright the best Little Big Planet game in the franchise. The new innovative controls, the extra content, and the unique level design makes this the most rich and experience filled Little Big Planet game. The story s also just as interesting and funny as the other stories and you truly feel satisfied when you play it. The only downside of this game is the lack of splitscreenThis is downright the best Little Big Planet game in the franchise. The new innovative controls, the extra content, and the unique level design makes this the most rich and experience filled Little Big Planet game. The story s also just as interesting and funny as the other stories and you truly feel satisfied when you play it. The only downside of this game is the lack of splitscreen because it's a handeld, but the online is just as awesome as in the other games. Having played and owned every Little Big Planet game, this is probably my all time favorite. If you have a vita, you NEED this game. Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    Having played all of the previous editions of Little Big Planet this was a no-thought purchase and turned out well worth the money. The Vita version not only incorporated the different capabilities of the of the PS Vita device itself in clever and inventive ways, but it was easily the best one they have made yet. Once all levels were completed, it was still my primary game for weeks goingHaving played all of the previous editions of Little Big Planet this was a no-thought purchase and turned out well worth the money. The Vita version not only incorporated the different capabilities of the of the PS Vita device itself in clever and inventive ways, but it was easily the best one they have made yet. Once all levels were completed, it was still my primary game for weeks going back through all of the various levels.

    Would highly recommend this game to anyone.
    Expand
  6. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    this is the best LBP game ever made. It is better than PS3 version. Story mode is great, there's a ton of room for replayability and create mode wont crash.
  7. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    Though the game isn't worth buying a vita, it is a really well made portable that, if you have a vita is worth a investment. It is the best game in the franchise and thought like all of the little big planet games, has a story that isn't really that good with some interesting characters. But the ability to save progress in community levels they don't take that much advantage in singleThough the game isn't worth buying a vita, it is a really well made portable that, if you have a vita is worth a investment. It is the best game in the franchise and thought like all of the little big planet games, has a story that isn't really that good with some interesting characters. But the ability to save progress in community levels they don't take that much advantage in single player.) and some cool mechanics with the use of the touch pad and gyroscope makes for a great game that any vita owner should purchase Expand
  8. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This is great. It's the only Vita game I own apart from Uncharted: Golden Abyss, both of which are Vita entries into massively popular game franchises, and both of which weren't developed by the original developers. Unlike Golden Abyss however, LPBVita stays true to the Media Molecule standard. It doesn't try and veer off and stamp it's mark as a "Little Big Planet game, but not" it'sThis is great. It's the only Vita game I own apart from Uncharted: Golden Abyss, both of which are Vita entries into massively popular game franchises, and both of which weren't developed by the original developers. Unlike Golden Abyss however, LPBVita stays true to the Media Molecule standard. It doesn't try and veer off and stamp it's mark as a "Little Big Planet game, but not" it's just, a seemless continuation. It's very well done, and you wouldn't even realise it wasn't developed by the same people as the consoles if you didn't actually know. Also unlike Golden Abyss, where the Vita control inclusions seemed like gimmicks, the jump from console to touch screen is easy and uncomplicated. The touch screen and back panel parts are a vital part of the game, but at the same time, are just another element. You don't feel as if they've made this JUST to show off what the Vita can do. Absolutely love this. Expand
  9. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    I have always heard that little big planet is one of the best games on ps3/psp but i always ignored i never expected much of the game really i always figured it would a silly with no content and with some minigames.But then i played LBPV and i just sayed to myself ''WELL THIS GAME IS FREAKIN AWESOME!!!'' Not only is it a good platformer but it also has a great story that i never expectedI have always heard that little big planet is one of the best games on ps3/psp but i always ignored i never expected much of the game really i always figured it would a silly with no content and with some minigames.But then i played LBPV and i just sayed to myself ''WELL THIS GAME IS FREAKIN AWESOME!!!'' Not only is it a good platformer but it also has a great story that i never expected the mingames are great and very addicting and then theres ton of content to find the customization options are endless for those with creative then i recommend this game beacause literally u can do anything in create a level!!Jumping into levels with fans playing user created levels,addicting games,great lenghted story.This is my firs LBP and i loved i hope i get to try LBP 1&2 one day but for now i have this amazing game and i rate this games 3 out of 3, 5 stars, 10/10, 100 out of 100 the game is awesome if u have a vita buy this game Expand
  10. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    This is an outstanding little game, it really is! I am a fan of the LBP games on the PS3, but I honestly feel that this game works better on the vita than it does on the console. The vita has one major advantage, and that is the 'Touch' ability which is used throughout the game. Everything about the game is good, the graphics are brilliant, the soundtrack is simply amazing (who makesThis is an outstanding little game, it really is! I am a fan of the LBP games on the PS3, but I honestly feel that this game works better on the vita than it does on the console. The vita has one major advantage, and that is the 'Touch' ability which is used throughout the game. Everything about the game is good, the graphics are brilliant, the soundtrack is simply amazing (who makes this music?!!) , and the gameplay is outstanding. I honestly cant fault this game at all. There are loads of brilliant little side games to do aside from the main story, and an arcade area with yet more quirky little games. To summarise, just brilliant! A perfect 10 from me! Expand
  11. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    This LittleBigPlanet is absolutely beautiful! The PS3 was good but the PsVita achieved its best and making it look like a High Definition success! With new levels and excellent dialogue by the narrator it will be "creative" success!
  12. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    Pleasantly surprised at this great title. I have not dived into the editor or the community yet but the story levels are very fun, and I dare say the best I have played of any of the LBP titles so far.

    I was wary - I assumed it would not get polish since it is on the Vita: Not so. I assumed going from controlling the sack boy/girl to touchscreen would be cumbersome, again not so.
    Pleasantly surprised at this great title. I have not dived into the editor or the community yet but the story levels are very fun, and I dare say the best I have played of any of the LBP titles so far.

    I was wary - I assumed it would not get polish since it is on the Vita: Not so. I assumed going from controlling the sack boy/girl to touchscreen would be cumbersome, again not so.

    Best game so far that I have played on the Vita. More titles like this and the Vita will have a bright future indeed.
    Expand
  13. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    Lovely game, funny and very well acted. Stephen Fry is his usual intelligent Wordsworth. Graphics are lovely and the game play is spot on. I like the floaty-ness. Music is really superb and I am still enjoying this game with the online levels. Personally, I can't make a level that is any great shakes, but there are thousands of people that can, and I can access all of them. ThanksLovely game, funny and very well acted. Stephen Fry is his usual intelligent Wordsworth. Graphics are lovely and the game play is spot on. I like the floaty-ness. Music is really superb and I am still enjoying this game with the online levels. Personally, I can't make a level that is any great shakes, but there are thousands of people that can, and I can access all of them. Thanks Sony for giving us this great machine! Expand
  14. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    This game is AMAZING, and i say that because this is the best vita game I own. There's tons of user-generated content so the fun never stops. There's always something new to play and the gameplay runs smoothly and no lag. The only downfall to this game is the fact that you need an online pass to play online, but other than that this game has great graphics, that run smooth, always a funThis game is AMAZING, and i say that because this is the best vita game I own. There's tons of user-generated content so the fun never stops. There's always something new to play and the gameplay runs smoothly and no lag. The only downfall to this game is the fact that you need an online pass to play online, but other than that this game has great graphics, that run smooth, always a fun game to play, and a great vita experience for everyone. I recommend this to anyone Expand
  15. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    This is one of my favorite games for vita, right on the day it came out i bought it. The sound, the graphics the new gameplay from the vita are just amazing as i expected from a Little Big Planet game. The multiplayer takes a little to load but is very cool and the creator tool are perfect to create a good and funny level, or whatever you want to create.
  16. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Excellent single player, troves of online options. Essentially endless level, finally a Vita title that lives up the hype. Great game. If I could only own 1 Vita game, this would be it. I found it fun and forgiving.
  17. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing game which everyone should play!! Dont get fooled by the childish game cover or anything this game has a lot to offer even to adult players. Its also kinda hard sometimes ^^. Great use of touchscreen and motion sensors cominated with standard buttons makes it amazingly fun everytime you play. You can create levels , publish them , download/rate/review levels of otherAbsolutely amazing game which everyone should play!! Dont get fooled by the childish game cover or anything this game has a lot to offer even to adult players. Its also kinda hard sometimes ^^. Great use of touchscreen and motion sensors cominated with standard buttons makes it amazingly fun everytime you play. You can create levels , publish them , download/rate/review levels of other players which some of them are really good. This is the neverending journey in a crazy cartoon world. One of best games on PS Vita so far. Expand
  18. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    As most of the users i can fully agree, Little Big Planet is by far the most fun and entertaining game for the Vita. There are so many things to mention about this game, good integration of all the control concepts of the Vita, nice level design, short but fun story for the campaign, great graphics, good sound and many, many different small games for one or more players! The level editorAs most of the users i can fully agree, Little Big Planet is by far the most fun and entertaining game for the Vita. There are so many things to mention about this game, good integration of all the control concepts of the Vita, nice level design, short but fun story for the campaign, great graphics, good sound and many, many different small games for one or more players! The level editor is easy and fun to use, ensuring a constant flow of new levels designed by other gamers. There are even some short and surprisingly fun two player games that can be unlocked in the basic story, i really enjoyed playing them with my girlfriend in the train. This game really shows what the Vita is capable of and why mobile gaming can really be fun! I really hope there will soon be more games like Little Big Planet to get more attention and love from the developers for this great gaming device... Expand
  19. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    This game is really how games for Vita should be done - great gameplay, amazing production values and above all excellent use of Vita touch screen features. Most games force you into using rear touchpad or accelerometer in a stupid way but here you really enjoy doing it and it really adds to the experience rather than hinder it. Campaign has a lot of levels which really never stop to amazeThis game is really how games for Vita should be done - great gameplay, amazing production values and above all excellent use of Vita touch screen features. Most games force you into using rear touchpad or accelerometer in a stupid way but here you really enjoy doing it and it really adds to the experience rather than hinder it. Campaign has a lot of levels which really never stop to amaze you with playfulness and great ideas and when you are done with the campaign already there are tons of quality user created levels + the arcade - so you probably won't ever run out of content with this game. The only downside are longer loading times and sometimes annoying long connecting times to the Sony servers for checking online content. Expand
  20. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    amazing game every thing from beginning to end is a lot of fun i love this insane game the story impressed me and cut scenes is pretty awesome thank you lbp fans for the good user score
  21. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This Is literally LIttle Big Planet from PS3 on your Vita, nothing has been compromised, everything works stupendously, and the added touch functions really gives it the edge over the PS3 version.
  22. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This is the best game for the Playstation Vita. Nothing comes near it. Visuals are just perfect, gameplay is a treat especially using the vitas unique controls. Online features will keep you entertained long after you have completed the story mode. This game really sets the bar for what the vita is capable of producing. Very neat soundtrack also. 10/10
  23. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    What can I say about this game? It is great & It fits perfect in the vita. You can play and create on the go...The only cons is that the online gameplay is sometimes little laggy. With LBP series who cares about this infantile plumber??????
  24. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    To be short and sweet, LBP Vita is the best of the series so far. The story is by far the strongest, the create mode is now next to perfect and the multiplayer is the same classic formula. Simply perfect.
  25. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    One of the best, if not the best Vita game to date. The best story levels of any LBP game to date, mainly because of the fantastic level design throughout. Amazing boss battles, and fantastic minigames abound. Every level has meaning as it will unlock items for the once again fantastic create mode. Create mode is exactly the same as LBP2, except with more features that add in the abilityOne of the best, if not the best Vita game to date. The best story levels of any LBP game to date, mainly because of the fantastic level design throughout. Amazing boss battles, and fantastic minigames abound. Every level has meaning as it will unlock items for the once again fantastic create mode. Create mode is exactly the same as LBP2, except with more features that add in the ability to use the touchscreens and drag around objects. It's all very intuitive, and is an extremely welcome addition to the game. Create mode now has positional inputs for almost all things (pistons, winches, wobble bolts, etc) and you can now multiply and add signals easily with AND and OR gates. The memorizer allows for the saving of progress in a level, and is an extremely useful tool. Overall fantastic game. If you enjoy creating on LBP2, it's worth buying a Vita for. If you enjoy playing the levels and infinite user created content, it's a must buy for any Vita owner. 10/10 Expand
  26. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    the best game on ps vita so far the graphics the sounds and every thing else very good the touch function impressive and work well like the rear touch pad and motion sensor and the camera the creation tool very good and complete
  27. Oct 23, 2012
    9
    From the best games on Vita. For my taste is the best in the series. many possibilities, great fun, and incredible. I'd like that if you improve a little more online.
  28. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    Now this is a hefty statement.... but I would argue this is one of the best handheld games ever made. At this point, the "volunteer" level designers have reached a professional level, churning out content that is equal to, if not better than, most of the apps released on iOS. Not only that, but this is the DEFINITIVE version of LBP. Yes, better than it's PS3 counterpart. It's likeNow this is a hefty statement.... but I would argue this is one of the best handheld games ever made. At this point, the "volunteer" level designers have reached a professional level, churning out content that is equal to, if not better than, most of the apps released on iOS. Not only that, but this is the DEFINITIVE version of LBP. Yes, better than it's PS3 counterpart. It's like having a continuous flow of free high quality game apps on your Vita. On top of that, some of the most talented designers from LBP and LBP2 were hired to build a top-notch story campaign and you have an all-around great experience that may entertain you for the next few years. Bang for your buck? Unlimited! Expand
  29. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    This is the exact game that the Vita was meant for. Every game I have played so far on the Vita has failed to take advantage of the system either by using its elaborate controls awkwardly or not using them at all. I'm glad in the cases were they don't throw them in there because I'd prefer it not be forced. The point here is that the usage of touch and tilt felt integrated into the game inThis is the exact game that the Vita was meant for. Every game I have played so far on the Vita has failed to take advantage of the system either by using its elaborate controls awkwardly or not using them at all. I'm glad in the cases were they don't throw them in there because I'd prefer it not be forced. The point here is that the usage of touch and tilt felt integrated into the game in a way resonated with the physics of the game. It felt as though what you did on the outside had a 1:1 relationship with what happened on the inside. So Vita aspect aside, onto the game. I played the first one about 3 years back and enjoyed it enough but the series really has come along way going on this one alone. Platforming was fun and unique and due to the different theme of every level it really never felt repetitive. The music was good and fit well with the gameplay. The characters were funnier than I expected; I would not go so far as to call them hilarious, but it was certainly written in a witty manner. The story was kind of interesting but was not really the driving factor for LBPV. Visuals. Wow. LBP looks great on the vita. The best part is that I haven't gotten into the community/creation stuff yet so it should get even better fairly once I mess around with that aspect. If you have a Vita this is the game you have been waiting for to make the console really stand out as an impressive piece of tech. Expand
  30. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Utter brilliance by Media Module. A game with a great story mod, fun multiplayer, cute mini games, and overall the best experience on playstation vita to date!
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    This little platformer is by far one of the best Vita releases yet. The game uses the whole shebang of Vita's controls and the touch screen makes the level editor super easy to use. Unfortunately the levels made for PS3 are not compatible and the controls are still a tad too clunky for my taste. [Nov 2012]
  2. Maybe the biggest revolution is the Memorizer, a feature that allows you to store and save data in your home made levels. In short it means that you can potentially create your own RPGs, complete with statistics and items. [November 2012, p.78]
  3. 90
    Splendid and playful platformer you will switch on to play for just five minutes – only to find out that you've spent a couple of hours unable to quit. [Oct 2012]