Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Aug 8, 2012
    70
    If you haven't played these before, the console release is for you. For super fans, the Vita version is still highly enjoyable. [Sept 2012, p.75]
  2. Aug 7, 2012
    70
    Lovingly presented, but when only one of the games in the 'package' is worth playing then you've got a problem. [Issue#221, p.77]
  3. Jul 30, 2012
    70
    This collection is even poorer than the home consoles version, but you can't ignore the fact that it offers two of the most important PS2 games ever created.
  4. 70
    Sadly, this is the second-best way to experience part 2 and 3 of the franchise. As an idea for a 'satellite-game' to the home edition, leaving out Peace Walker from the Vita-collection was hardly a stroke of genius. For the moment it seems that the series should stay where it calls home: On a enormous widescreen, support by a gigantic sound-system.
  5. 70
    An even more bare bones collection than on home consoles - even if it does include the best portable version of Snake Eater so far.
  6. Jun 12, 2012
    70
    The content MGS: HD Collection offers is some of the finest of the last decade. But it's also frustrating that this collection could have-and should have-offered so much more.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 216 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    I got my copy of MGS HD Collection a day early and I've been playing ever since.

    The best compliment I can give it is that it's a perfect
    I got my copy of MGS HD Collection a day early and I've been playing ever since.

    The best compliment I can give it is that it's a perfect reproduction of the original games (Metal Gear Solid 2 and Metal Gear Solid 3) with improved graphics.

    The original games were so incredibly good that giving this game anything less than a 10 would be a travesty. I'm disappointed (and perplexed) by the fact that Peace Walker wasn't included in the package as it was in the console version, but it is absolutely amazing having these legendary games in your pocket. Gameplay-wise they are as flawless as always. Time has done nothing to diminish their awesomeness. Graphically they are much improved from the originals. They look gorgeous on the Vita's screen.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    This is my first MGS game...and it turned out to be a pleasant surprise. The game has an incredibly deep story, fairly consistent graphics forThis is my first MGS game...and it turned out to be a pleasant surprise. The game has an incredibly deep story, fairly consistent graphics for a remastered game, but what really blows away my mind are the controls. Resistance had some control problems, but this kind of reinvents the way tps and fps on the vita should have. I haven't finished the games yet, but they seem to be long lasting, as I'm well into 5 hours into MGS 2 part and 2 hours on the MGS 3 part and it doesn't seem to be approaching the end. A bang for your bucks in every possible way. Full Review »
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    1
    Love Metal Gear, I always dreamed of playing it on a hand-held when I first bought the game. But Konami has such serious flaws with such aLove Metal Gear, I always dreamed of playing it on a hand-held when I first bought the game. But Konami has such serious flaws with such a great game. First of all, why aren't the subsistence features added on? You know, stuff like Secret theater, VR Training, Boss Rush, Snake Vs. Monkey, Metal Gear Skateboarding, Did I mention Boss rush? So much taken away, FOR NO GOOD REASON. Why did they take that out? Another thing is that Konami had to be greedy jerks and NOT leave in Metal Gear Peace Walker. This whole Transferring thing is a complete gimmick, I think people are patient enough to wait before playing this game on the ps3. You might as well just buy the originals, after all those had much more features than this game. This game is only good if you are new to the whole franchise in which I say, you are better off just buying the subsistence versions and getting peace walker for your psp because if you don't, you won't be truly enveloped in the Metal gear experience. I'd like to say that the metal gear and metal gear II add-ons were nice however, but these guys had a chance to go above and beyond and didn't take it. Full Review »