Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 206 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the critically acclaimed director, Hideo Kojima, Metal Gear Solid HD Collection offers a handful of the most popular Metal Gear Solid titles from the past in true HD for the first time ever. Featuring three complete games, Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Metal Gear Solid: SnakeFrom the critically acclaimed director, Hideo Kojima, Metal Gear Solid HD Collection offers a handful of the most popular Metal Gear Solid titles from the past in true HD for the first time ever. Featuring three complete games, Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater and Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker, the HD Collection offers old and new fans a chance to experience the epic game play, design and storytelling of the MGS franchise. The "Metal Gear Solid (MGS)" series is the seminal work of Hideo Kojima, Japan's master game creator, and the progenitor of the stealth action game genre. The series has become a global phenomenon, with over 27 million copies sold worldwide. The player controls a secret agent from an elite special forces unit who is sent on solo sneaking missions through enemy installations, vast jungles, and sometimes even the thick of battle. Alone and surrounded by the enemy, even a special forces agent will find it tough to come out alive. But that is the secret behind the series' popularity-the cerebral challenge of figuring out how to avoid combat, and the thrill of sneaking through enemy territory undetected.The MGS series is also known for its storyline, which blends seamlessly with the gameplay. The scenarios are based on extensive research and incorporate the drama of actual developments in society. These elements have made MGS what it is today: a mature work of entertainment that transcends national borders and the confines of video games, and one of the leading products of the Japanesecontent business. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    91
    As a whole, this is a set of games that is really a must have for Vita owners. Whether you're starving for content on the Vita, or feel pretty satiated with the current slate of titles that have released over the past couple weeks, having both of these games on a handheld platform is simply amazing.
  2. Jun 21, 2012
    90
    As in the PS3 and Xbox 360 versions, a polished collection with two classics that every gamer should try. They have been upgraded visually and well adapted to the portable screen, but maybe it arrives too late for some players who had already bought the domestic versions. And of course we miss Peace Walker.
  3. Jul 24, 2012
    87
    A lot of gaming per pound. [Sept 2012, p.108]
  4. 80
    Ultimately, the incredible amount of fun and content to be had within Metal Gear Solid 2 and 3 outweighs a lot of this package's negatives. But the lack of Peace Walker is such a glaring omission, it really cannot be dismissed all that easily.
  5. Aug 3, 2012
    80
    Two great classics with tons of extra material. They look great in HD, but where is Metal Gear: Peace Walker?
  6. Jun 27, 2012
    80
    It's no surprise, in my opinion, that Metal Gear Solid 4 and Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker went to considerate efforts to emulate Big Boss's original adventure - but neither manage to capture what made Metal Gear Solid 3 so special.
  7. Jun 12, 2012
    70
    The content MGS: HD Collection offers is some of the finest of the last decade. But it's also frustrating that this collection could have-and should have-offered so much more.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    I got my copy of MGS HD Collection a day early and I've been playing ever since.

    The best compliment I can give it is that it's a perfect
    I got my copy of MGS HD Collection a day early and I've been playing ever since.

    The best compliment I can give it is that it's a perfect reproduction of the original games (Metal Gear Solid 2 and Metal Gear Solid 3) with improved graphics.

    The original games were so incredibly good that giving this game anything less than a 10 would be a travesty. I'm disappointed (and perplexed) by the fact that Peace Walker wasn't included in the package as it was in the console version, but it is absolutely amazing having these legendary games in your pocket. Gameplay-wise they are as flawless as always. Time has done nothing to diminish their awesomeness. Graphically they are much improved from the originals. They look gorgeous on the Vita's screen.
    Expand
  2. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    If you've ever played an MGS before you'll know what to expect. If not MGS is one of the finest stealth/action series of all time and has someIf you've ever played an MGS before you'll know what to expect. If not MGS is one of the finest stealth/action series of all time and has some of the greatest boss fights of all time - and some of the longest cutscenes too!.

    MGS2 being the oldest of the 2 is a bit old but still a classic and still looks good upgraded to HD. After all these years I forgot how long the cutscenes are but the game tells the great story brilliantly!.

    MGS3 is even better. Even by today's standards it looks good! Especially here in its HD glory. It has more bare able cutscenes but also some of my fondest boss battles of all time.
    It is also a long game. In fact considering you're paying under £20 you're getting great value as there is easily 30+ hours of play time here in the main story lines alone. Outside of the main game both games include a wealth of content. Likely to keep you going for months.

    If I was to complain about one thing - other than the annoying exclusion of Peace Walker from the console copy - its that it's not the most portable friendly game and I often find myself having to pause on cutscenes (or I'd miss my stop!!).
    But that's a small complaint for 2 fantastic games!!!.
    Collapse
  3. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    metal Gear Solid HD collection is a must have for any Vita owner. Metal Gear Solid three is one of the best games i have ever played with somemetal Gear Solid HD collection is a must have for any Vita owner. Metal Gear Solid three is one of the best games i have ever played with some of the best boss fights I have ever experienced. I would pay for MGS3 on its own very happily however the fact MGS2 is included i'm fine with. Clunky controls and show it's age but still good fun. Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    This is a great collection if you own a vita. I have never played these titles. I have only played portable ops, PO+ and Peacewalker (which IThis is a great collection if you own a vita. I have never played these titles. I have only played portable ops, PO+ and Peacewalker (which I am still playing on my PSPgo damn Hind boss got me stuck) I am enjoying this a lot, the graphics are great the value is great. What are you waiting for. Expand
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    Here is a chance to experience true nostalgia for those of us growing up with the Metal Gear series. It´s amazing how good there games holdsHere is a chance to experience true nostalgia for those of us growing up with the Metal Gear series. It´s amazing how good there games holds up especially the third chapter look and plays outstanding on the vita. While MGS2 shows sign of ageing it still does a great job pulling you in straight from the beginning.
    I must say i love these games and if you are looking for a tactical stealth shooter, look no further!
    Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2014
    8
    As I have yet to play MGS3, this review will only cover MGS2. I will edit this article once I've beaten MGS3.

    How is it possible to both
    As I have yet to play MGS3, this review will only cover MGS2. I will edit this article once I've beaten MGS3.

    How is it possible to both love and hate a video game? Hate is a strong word, perhaps, but there were times while re-playing MGS2 that made me furious with frustration... a frustration that would, minutes later, be replaced with the satisfaction of an interesting cut scene, or from having successfully traversed entire sections of the game without being detected. Hate, love, hate, love. But mostly love.

    [Graphics]
    There's no arguing that the game looks beautiful on the Vita's screen. Despite the Big Shell's overall drabness, it still manages to fill the screen with interesting and engaging visuals that pop with clarity from its high-resolution makeover. The cut-scenes are very enjoyable, with hollywood-level editing and camera work, and the character models have just enough detail to be able to read subtle facial cues and body language, which is impressive for a game that was released in 2000-2001.

    [Sound]
    Sound has always played a key role in MGS games, with a powerful and engaging electronica/symphonic soundtrack (with a bit of jazz thrown in at the end of the game), great sound effects, and the heart-stopping noise that happens when Raiden or Snake is discovered by the enemies. My only gripe is that the voice acting ranges tremendously between excellent to laughable, and when it's bad, it manages to pull you away from the immersion of the game and the story.

    [Story]
    Most of Raiden's communications take place over the radio codec with his Commanding Officer, Snake, or Rose, his girlfriend. Most communications are more than enjoyable, giving the player insight into missions and the complex back story that takes place on Big Shell and in the MGS universe at large... but then there's Rose. Rose is the pure definition of annoying girlfriend/boyfriend who nitpicks at the most asinine subjects, distracting Raiden (who happens to be on a life-threatening sneaking mission, btw) with her personal hangups, jealousies, accusations of him cheating, and all kinds of other nonsensical overly-dramatic BS that just make you roll your eyes. Raiden is a trained murderer, a secret agent and blackops specialist, he hasn't the time for your sh*t, Rose.
    The good thing is that you can easily skip these annoying and unfortunate conversations, as they have very little bearing on the story itself.

    That aside, the rest of the story is actually quite fascinating, and it really opens up near the end of the game. Lofty philosophies about defining reality for the self, what it means to have a self, information in the modern digital age, all mixed into a tactical sneaking game. It's quite wonderful to see a game's story not pull any of its punches in regards to throwing complex and thoughtful ideas at its audience.
    The story makes playing in bed before sleep enjoyable and relaxing. You can expect 10-15 minute story driven conversations and cut-scenes between bouts of action, and these help maintain the pace of the story along the way. It's quite awesome, actually.

    [Gameplay]
    When I say love and hate, it's mostly regarding the now dated controls and gameplay that MGS2 offers. While fun, hectic, and very challenging, the gameplay is marred, even crippled at times, by a confusing and unintuitive control scheme that prevents quick and instant reactions to battle situations. You can't move while in first person mode, the button layout is a confused mess, you often find yourself crouching and laying prone when you should be running like hell or firing at enemies. It requires a lot of precision, and while it is functional (I did beat the game and not walk away, after all), I felt like they could have improved upon it while updating the graphics and sound for the HD remake. I think they could have included a FPS mode to help take down enemies, and I think the game would have benefited from a better crouching button layout.

    Battles with the enemies, or sneaking past them, can be as fun as they can be anger inducing. The Camera is quite unforgiving, even designed to catch you at times. Moments like these can be prevented and force you to think on your toes. In fact, many situations in the game force you to think outside of the box to solve clever and very satisfying puzzles, such as having to use the sniper rifle to take out explosive control boxes along a bridge, with the control boxes being hidden by clever distractions. Such mini-games exist throughout, and are arguably the best part of the game. The boss battles are fast and satisfying as well, skirting a line between hard and doable. Each scenario forces you to take advantage of your equipment and skills, ensuring that the game never gets repetitive, even as you run back and forth between Big Shell’s sections.

    [Overall]
    This is a classic game whose flaws only serve to act as a friendly reminder of how far we've come in terms of gameplay.
    Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2012
    1
    Love Metal Gear, I always dreamed of playing it on a hand-held when I first bought the game. But Konami has such serious flaws with such aLove Metal Gear, I always dreamed of playing it on a hand-held when I first bought the game. But Konami has such serious flaws with such a great game. First of all, why aren't the subsistence features added on? You know, stuff like Secret theater, VR Training, Boss Rush, Snake Vs. Monkey, Metal Gear Skateboarding, Did I mention Boss rush? So much taken away, FOR NO GOOD REASON. Why did they take that out? Another thing is that Konami had to be greedy jerks and NOT leave in Metal Gear Peace Walker. This whole Transferring thing is a complete gimmick, I think people are patient enough to wait before playing this game on the ps3. You might as well just buy the originals, after all those had much more features than this game. This game is only good if you are new to the whole franchise in which I say, you are better off just buying the subsistence versions and getting peace walker for your psp because if you don't, you won't be truly enveloped in the Metal gear experience. I'd like to say that the metal gear and metal gear II add-ons were nice however, but these guys had a chance to go above and beyond and didn't take it. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews