User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 41
  2. Negative: 5 out of 41

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Don't let the people with super high graphical expectations fool you, this game is amazing. Graphics ate fantastic, I think some people just forget this is on a handheld system. All the modes are here, unlike the psp versions of the game. Graphics, sounds, and controls are all awesome. Some trophies are gonna be hard, but that's a good thing to me.
  2. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    I got this game last Friday, and Im not a huge Baseball fan (im more into my footy(soccer)), but this is a top top title. Its taking me some time to get to grips with the controls (there are a lot, haha), but its a solid challenge and the presentation is 2nd to none! Any fan of the series is in for a treat with this title, awesome!
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    A solid outing for the San Diego boys. The learning curve to the game is a bit off but you can adjust the sliders to make the game play more to your taste. Graphics are great for the system. I couldn't see a 3DS baseball title look anything like this or offer the amount of features the Show does for the PSV. Only reason why this does not get a 10 is some features I enjoyed from it's PS3 brother are missing i.e. Sounds of the Show. Beyond that the most solid baseball title on a portable console ever. Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    A must buy, it is the system buying game for sure, it's a smaller replica than the PS3 counterpart, porting the same experience and gameplay minus the time consuming presentation screens, pefect baseball on-the-go game with cross platform support... Home? play it on the PS3, save it to the cloud and continue your season/franchise while travelig! awesome game indeed
  5. May 1, 2012
    10
    The best baseball game ever made. Everything about it is fantastic! My only real gripe is lack of intro music editing...like on the PS3 version. There are a few features missing, but nothing game-breaking. It really IS a perfect title. A couple of people are complaining about the graphics, but I'm not sure why... The graphics are fantastic!
  6. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    When a handheld version of a highly established console game is released, it is common for players to expect the exact same experience, but on the go. While the Vita version of MLB:12 The Show comes close to achieving this, there is still a significant difference between the two.

    GAMEPLAY:

    The gameplay really shines in this game. While some small features are missing from the console
    version, all of the gameplay features are identical. New to the series is pulse pitching and the Vita version makes sure to include this as well. Pulse pitching involves a pulsating circle that requires perfect timing in order to successfully pitch the ball where you want it. The pulse pitching was extremely frustrating, and being someone who is good with timing, I could almost never get the timing down. Thankfully, this feature is optional and the other pitching control methods from the previous PS3 are all here.

    Added onto the Vita version are touch controls. When pitching you are given the option of touching the screen to choose your pitch and touching where you want to place your pitch. I found the touch controls to be almost necessary as the analog controls for selecting your pitch location was way too finicky and was not near as precise. I found myself using the buttons to select my pitch and had to move my fingers around to touch the screen from my pitch location and then return to the button controls to execute my pitch. While at first this felt a little awkward and unneccary I found that with so many different ways to control how you pitch, itâ
    Expand
  7. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    BASEBALL AT AN ALL NEW LEVEL. I love love love this game, and as a huge baseball fan, this doesn't upset me. I don't have a ps3 but i know that version is supposed to have a few more things. But this game has Road to the show (RTTS) Franchise Mode, Quick Game Mode, And Season Mode. Online isn't real good and that's why i gave it a nine. Just get the game and give it a try.
  8. Mar 31, 2012
    9
    This is my first baseball game, so this is coming from someone who doesn't really follow the games or the sport. The graphics aren't really terrible, but they aren't fantastic. There is an obvious gap between what this game looks like, and maybe say, Uncharted: Golden Abyss. I had few issues with the frame rate, and haven't had any other graphical problems. The gameplay is, for the most part, very solid. With multiple ways to bat and pitch, you should find no problem getting the controls down. On its easiest setting, the game is as you would expect, easy. But put the difficulty up all the way, and you got yourself a challenging game.I can't really make a judgment about the teams or rosters because I only know the players from a few teams (Detroit Tigers!). There are many modes of play here. Ranging from basic exhibition to creating a player and rising through the ranks, or choosing teams and managing them without having to actually play in a single game. Overall, this game has a few minor problems but not any the absolutely hinder gameplay. If you have $40 and are looking for a good Vita game, this will not disappoint. Expand
  9. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    Good start for baseball on the Vita. Great graphics, good gameplay, and a nice controls. The only bad part is occasional lagging. Great game, and a must buy for baseball fans.
  10. May 6, 2012
    9
    Being British, we don't get a baseball game so we have to import MLB games from the US. This was the first MLB game I've ever played and I completely agree with the people that say it's the best sports game around. OK, the graphics aren't the best, but they're very very good for a handheld game, I've had the game for 3 weeks now, completed 1 year on Road to the show (Which is brilliant btw), and tried Franchise mode, which I'll admit I struggle on, even on the easiest difficulty, but I love it, I don't get annoyed at it. It's a great game, although if someone is about to buy a Vita, I would only recommend it if you like Baseball or you just love sports games in general. Expand
  11. Jun 13, 2012
    9
    Excellent game of baseball for the PS Vita. As a huge fan of the sport, and an XBOX 360 owner, one of the main reasons I bought the PS Vita was so I could play the Show. MLB 2k was just not cutting it for me and after hearing all the hype surrounding the Show, I had to try it myself, and i must admit it did not disappoint. Graphically this game is very good, character models look great apart from their faces and the ballparks are very realistic. Game controls are extremely smooth and fielding animations are seamless. Batting is difficult yet rewarding and pitching with the pulse meter is a very innovative and challenging way to approach video game pitching. The only gripe I have is random frame rate drops when using the bullpen menu as well as random moments during pitching. Overall this is a great game of baseball that blows the MLB 2k series for my XBOX out of the water. Collapse
  12. Jun 21, 2012
    9
    This is my favourite game on the Vita so far. I have logged more hours on this game than i have on diablo 3... Everything about the port is amazing. The controls and gameplay are great an feel just as good as the console version, which i also own. The graphics are also great, anyone who says the graphics are bad is wayyyyyyy to focused on the detail of the faces in the crowd instead of paying attention to the delicate pinstripes that adorn my teams away uniform. Field looks beautiful, animations and gameplay are glitch free and smooth as butter. The only time i noticed a frame drop was when i was playing "Road to the Show" mode as a pitcher and the bases were loaded. The frame drop, even in this circumstance, was negligible and by no means affected my overall impression of the game. There are TONS of control variations, and sliders to make the game fit your skill level. The road to the show mode is deep and addictive and you will start to really rot for your player the closer you get to the mlb. I havent played any other mode since i got the game, save for a few trips to the homerun derby and a quick exhibition game to get a feel for it. This game has a GREAT campaign that will keep you playing for weeks!
    If you like sports games, buy this one, no question.
    Expand
  13. Jun 13, 2012
    0
    Excellent game of baseball for the PS Vita. As a huge fan of the sport, and an XBOX 360 owner, one of the main reasons I bought the PS Vita was so I could play the Show. MLB 2k was just not cutting it for me and after hearing all the hype surrounding the Show, I had to try it myself, and i must admit it did not disappoint. Graphically this game is very good, character models look great apart from their faces and the ballparks are very realistic. Game controls are extremely smooth and fielding animations are seamless. Batting is difficult yet rewarding and pitching with the pulse meter is a very innovative and challenging way to approach video game pitching. The only gripe I have is random frame rate drops when using the bullpen menu as well as random moments during pitching. Overall this is a great game of baseball that blows the MLB 2k series for my XBOX out of the water. Collapse
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Aug 3, 2012
    80
    Baseball fans should retrieve their wallets immediately. You won't find a more immersive baseball game outside the ballpark.
  2. The format's best sports game. [June 2012, p.105]
  3. This portable rookie has some flaws, but there's all-star potential come next season. [June 2012, p.78]