Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. 90
    Managing your deck is nearly as exciting as the battles in its own way. Nabbing new booster packs and busting them open with the touch screen is a simple joy that offers a little joyful suspense every time you acquire new cards.
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    83
    Sure, the gameplay is great, but at the same time, it's not the kind of game that you'd want to be caught playing in public for fear of feeling like you belong on a sex offender registry. In other words, the whole rubbing up and down motion is kind of appropriate since, like the action it simulates, it's something you'll most likely want to do in the privacy of your own home.
  3. Jun 24, 2014
    80
    A sleeper hit in the making, Monster Monpiece's rich battles and complex strategy elements are unfortunately overshadowed by its tawdry artwork and painful fan service.
  4. Jul 6, 2014
    70
    Ignore the taboos and give it a shot, especially if you’re looking for something a little different than a dungeon crawler or traditional role-playing game.
  5. Jun 17, 2014
    70
    Monster Monpiece has a few flaws in its design and an underwhelming story mode which caused me to slip into five individual comas during the ludicrously long endgame sequence, but it also provides some thoroughly excellent card battles, especially when taken online against others with a similarly-balanced skillset and deck.
  6. 70
    Regardless, if you can get past the inherent creepiness that permeates Monster Monpiece on a number of levels, then there’s no denying that this is an intelligent, fulfilling card game.
  7. May 27, 2014
    70
    A higher score if we didn't feel a sense of shame rubbing half naked girls to level up.
  8. Jul 21, 2014
    69
    Compile Heart has developed a decent game, but few will notice: the cause is the licentious army, shown in every trailer or game's pictures. If we add to this the online slow in matchmaking and an AI deficit, the result is a title with spikes and dips worthy of a roller coaster. However, digging over the hundreds of thousands of breasts and buttocks, the game is there. It's up to you to decide how much and how this erotic outline can slow you down, or push to eventually purchase.
  9. Jun 27, 2014
    68
    Surprisingly enough, you won't just shake your Vita trying to undress the girls. Underneath there's some gameplay, and not in a bad shape.
  10. Jun 4, 2014
    60
    If you’re interested in a fun card game that plays out in a Japanese role-playing fashion, then definitely consider Monster Monpiece. But if the forced and repetitive rubbing mechanic is too much for your tastes, then pass over this title that is centered around fan service.
  11. Jun 27, 2014
    50
    Simply put, Monster Monpiece is a game that doesn’t really need to go to the extremes that it does.
  12. Jun 17, 2014
    50
    In many ways Monster Monpiece is a game that shouldn’t have even been made, let alone ported over here. Everything from the most ridiculous fan service ever through to the repeating in-battle chibi characters screams niche, and it’s not a good niche either.
  13. Jun 5, 2014
    49
    An interesting card-battler is at the core of Monster Monpiece. Too bad it's surrounded by so much drivel.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. May 29, 2014
    8
    First, let me talk about what I don't like about this game. I hate the art style and the drawing of this game. They all look like children. In fact, I hate the who loli culture. If you haven't heard, you have to rub those pictures in a masturbating style to level up your cards. There is no way around it. I don't have any problem with that except that it gets old after a while. And since I don't like the drawing style, I don't really enjoy rubbing them that much. I really really wish they replace those children monsters with curvy, mature, leggy, lustful demons. I prefer more "mature" art style (for example, the girls in Highschool of the Dead). I would rub those sexy legs and perky boobs ALL DAY LONG. It's not a moral thing, it's just different taste in art style.

    Now, the game itself is really addicting. I am sort of biased since I love collecting/card games. Your cards can be evolved like in Pokemon or Dragon puzzle. I am about 5 hours into the game, and I've been trying different strategies with different customized decks. (Haven't touched PVP yet, but it's supported both online or local). I don't want to go into details of the game play since you can find better information elsewhere. I just want to say I am having a blast playing this game even thou I don't like the art style.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    9
    Unfortunately another underrated Vita game. And this, i assume, for the worst reasons. Its obvious that the erotic components o f the game irritated most angry american reviewers. But i think that, if they are allowed only for adults, the auto satisfaction mini game is fun and a real piece of art. The core of the game is a card battle game so fun adictive and well designed that it can be viewed as a comedy version of magic-the gathering or such. The graphics are nice, the soundtrack is epic and it has a progressive story, very naive but engaging. Please: stop majing boicot to the most powerful portable console of history Full Review »
  3. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    The scores for this game all seem to be revolving around the fanservice. If you aren't bothered by the presentation or the content, then there is an interesting and quite fun game to enjoy here. Full Review »