Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 157 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Get ready to re-enter the tournament wherever you are. A full reboot of the franchise, this latest version of the game combines innovative mature oriented fighter gameplay with a deep story mode, enhanced graphics and game technology and new game modes. The game features a storyline that takes you back to the original tournament, exclusive Vita functionality, fatalities presented in graphic detail never imagined in earlier release, and completely new game modes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. May 1, 2012
    100
    The single-player story mode is still astoundingly deep and the challenge tower is an exciting and maddening climb.
  2. May 1, 2012
    90
    This is the most complete version of Mortal Kombat available.
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    90
    A bursting at the seams port that sets a precedent for future Vita titles. [Sept 2012, p.74]
  4. May 24, 2012
    85
    Mortal Kombat for PlayStation Vita is a game worth your attention, especially if you haven't had the opportunity to check out last year's "big" MK and you miss the original installments. It's a great reboot - well made, reminiscent of the golden age, has lots of fantastic warriors and some unique bonuses.
  5. Jun 17, 2012
    83
    With a staggering amount of content packed in, Mortal Kombat Vita not only benefits from the balance patches from the PS3 iteration but makes for the best version when played on the go. [Issue#219, p.78]
  6. May 28, 2012
    80
    Inarguably one of the finest portable fighting games to have ever been released. Boasting at least twenty hours of single-player content to kick and punch your way through. It's also one of the system's most convincing ports with a platter of mini-games and exclusive features, organically worked into the overall package.
  7. 70
    As a PS Vita game this is no more than a competent port, but as a restatement of one of gaming's most enduring fighters it's still good, dumb fun.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 52
  2. Negative: 3 out of 52
  1. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    Por comentar este fabuloso juego de PSVITA es por lo que me he inscrito en Metacritic.

    No voy a comentar gráficos y sonidos porque para eso
    lo veis en un canal HD de youtube.

    Podríamos resumirlo como Videojuego en estado puro. El juego es emocionante, entretenido y muy divertido, el modo historia simplemente de lo mejor que existe en beat 'em ups, excelentemente integrado y fusionado con los combates. Y la jugabilidad sencillamente es infinita. Tiene muchos luchadores diferentes, muchisimos modos de juego aparte del historia y todos muy originales. A destacar uno de ellos en los cuales se cambian al azar varias carácterísticas del combate como la orientación al avanzar, el salto, etc... lo cual es de lo mas divertido para jugar con un amigo y las risas son aseguradas. Aparte tambien tiene modos para desbloquear items, trajes, opciones, galerías etc.

    A destacar su diseño en general tanto de personajes, localizaciones, animaciones, sonidos, voz del narrador...en resumen es un buen homenaje a lo que fue Mortal Kombat, que digo...es lo que debería haber sido Mortal Kombat el juego definitivo de la saga y un imprescindible para todo aquel que tenga ganas de diversión.

    Este es de los juegos que podrás echar una partida en cualquier sitio, tengas mucho o poco tiempo libre, y solo por su jugabilidad y diversión le planto un 10, porque es videojuego en estado puro, ya que lo que mas me importa de los videojuegos es que me hagan sentir, entretener, sufrir y disfrutar a partes iguales.
    Collapse
  2. May 2, 2012
    10
    Being a MK diehard fan, I just can't get enough of this game. I purchased the PS3 version along with the PDP arcade stick when it was released last year and completed everything. Now, I have a portable version with some new compelling content, so I have something new to play during my lengthy NYC train commute.

    Does the game play great? YES
    Is all of the new content amazing? YES
    Must you run out right now and purchase this? YES

    There is indeed a little graphic fidelity loss, however remember that the Vita IS NOT a full fledged PS3 console in your hands. I'll take the slight (and I do mean slight) loss is visuals to keep the game running at 60Hz! It's smooth as butter!

    Kudos!!!!! This is the way that Vita games need to be in order for the system to survive!!!
    Expand
  3. May 3, 2012
    10
    Main reason I bought a Vita was so I could rip off people's legs and beat them to death with it (Quan Chi fatality). Never gets old. Seriously though, I felt the same way another person commented, that I fired up story mode at first and when the game switched from pre-rendered graphics to in-game graphics I was gob smacked how poor it looked. No damage shows up either. However, once I went to other modes like arcade + training + challenge tower, the difference in lighting + damage model turned on (I assume it's disabled in story mode on purpose) makes the game look fine. Sure not console quality, but its fast and fluid. Very happy with my purchase. Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    Mortal Kombat Vita version is just another perfect addition to rich library of Vita's Fighting games MK has not much difference with its console version, it doesnt have Cross-Play unfortunately but it does comes with all the DLCs which were released for the console version. It has additional Tower challenge which adds to game much of fun specially that these sort of challenges are created based on vita capabilities The controls are amazingly well suited as well. The game runs of smooth 60 FPS, but the characters models are a bit jaggy and ygly from the closer views. The stages have their details though. Finally MK its a really MOST HAVE GAME for every vita owner who didnt previously tried MK on their consoles, its the most bloody vita game to date as well so be advised if you are below 18 Expand
  5. Gaz
    May 17, 2012
    8
    Alright, so Mortal Kombat has finally hit the Vita. Now, I've been waiting for this game for a while and trust me when I say that both newcomers and fans of the the series won't be dissapointed by this portable port. The amount of "kontent" in the Vita version is amazing. For 40 bucks you get a full-fledged story mode, arcade mode complete with regular acrcade ladder mode and tag ladder mode, challenge tower, a bonus challenge tower that utilizes the features of the Vita, training mode, fatality training, all four DLC character from the console verion, including PS3-exclusive, Kratos, and more. And if that doesn't make your mouth water, there's also the massive Krypt, which you can use koins you earned in the game to unlock new content such as concept art, alternate costumes, and alternate fatalities. The fighting is intense, satisfying, and fun. The fighting engine works very well on the Vita, and being able to unleash those kombos on your enemies on the go makes it even more gratifying. The cutscene graphics during story mode are near-pefect, and stage graphics really look great on the Vita. The only downside to the graphics is that the character models look somewhat horrendous. While you're fighting, they look fine, but zoom in for the beginning of a fight or a fatality, and you'll find that the graphics leave a lot to be desired in comparison to the game's console counterpart. Another downfall of the game is the extremely annoying and cheap battles with Shao Kahn. Don't expect a straight-up fight with this guy. Instead you'll be dodging and upcutting you're way through two rounds praying that you don't fall victim to his unblockable hammer-throw attack. Not to mention that his X-ray move does 52% damage, so try not to get your head smashed in(which he literally does, by the way), and take him down. Aside from these gripes, Mortal Kombat proves itself, in my opinion, as the greatest fighting game on the Vita. Street Fighter fans can keep their flashy, complicated hyper combos to themselves. I'm sticking with a game that's simple to pick up and play, yet so deep that you won't want to put it down(unless you're fighting Shao Kahn). This makes MK a no-brainer for fighting game fans, MK veterans, or someone who just wants to rip people's heads off. When it comes to fighting games on the Vita, Mk reigns supreme. Expand
  6. Aug 3, 2012
    8
    There is a lot to do in this game with two challenge towers and the story mode so it will definitely keep you busy. The game runs smoothly as well but there are some issues with low res textures in places on the characters. It's hardly a deal breaker though and this is a fantastic Mortal Kombat game Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2012
    0
    Well, it's a pretty decent port, lots of content.
    But there are some problems. The visuals are really bad. Namco should've handled this part.

    As for the content, while there is more of it, there's not enough DLC. Ridge Racer has you covered in this regard.
    All in all, average, but not a classic.
    Expand

See all 52 User Reviews