MotorStorm RC PlayStation Vita

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 123
  2. Negative: 20 out of 123

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 7, 2012
    6
    While the game does have some generally fun game-play- and a well integrated online element- it falls apart in later play because of an extreme spike in difficult and a general malfunction in controls.
  2. Oct 11, 2012
    7
    Motorstorm RC is actually a perfect game for a portable device. It is filled with short races that range between 10 seconds and a minute and a half. Load times were fairly minimal (minus the startup) which made jumping into races and restarting a near seamless experience. For a free game I am little surprised at the quality and the amount of content there is. I haven't bought any of theMotorstorm RC is actually a perfect game for a portable device. It is filled with short races that range between 10 seconds and a minute and a half. Load times were fairly minimal (minus the startup) which made jumping into races and restarting a near seamless experience. For a free game I am little surprised at the quality and the amount of content there is. I haven't bought any of the DLC cars but I definitely considered it at the price of $0.25. If you have a Vita I'd pick it up. The controls are definitely a little wonky initially so be prepared for a bit of a learning curve. Once you get passed that it is a lot of fun and at times very challenging. I'll probably come back to this one down the road for the trophies. Expand
  3. Jun 3, 2012
    5
    It's hard to hate on a game that is free. I definitely played all the races and bought the Carnival and other DLC for cheap (PS Plus discount). However the lack of multiplayer (aside from score comparison) severely limits what could be a great game as racing against AI for 2 minutes can get repetitive and stale. Graphics are fair and there are some nice looking tracks. UnfortunatelyIt's hard to hate on a game that is free. I definitely played all the races and bought the Carnival and other DLC for cheap (PS Plus discount). However the lack of multiplayer (aside from score comparison) severely limits what could be a great game as racing against AI for 2 minutes can get repetitive and stale. Graphics are fair and there are some nice looking tracks. Unfortunately there just isnt enough depth and variety in the game modes. If a multiplayer mode was added this would be a huge plus for this game. Expand
  4. May 6, 2012
    6
    I don't really see why this game gets all these good grades!? It just driving with a radio controlled car in simple laps. There isn't much too it.. There ain't a multiplayer mode and the graphics aren't that nice either. It also gets boring really quick.
  5. Mar 23, 2015
    6
    Games like these are always fun and little cars are always cute. It's not as entertaining as Micro Machines or Re-Volt, but it's a solid dose of fun nevertheless. On one hand it's perfect pocketable fun on Vita, on the other hand the details are lacking especially the environments, just tried the PS3 version and it looks much better. Unfortunately tracks are quite bland overall anyway.Games like these are always fun and little cars are always cute. It's not as entertaining as Micro Machines or Re-Volt, but it's a solid dose of fun nevertheless. On one hand it's perfect pocketable fun on Vita, on the other hand the details are lacking especially the environments, just tried the PS3 version and it looks much better. Unfortunately tracks are quite bland overall anyway. Soundtrack is pretty annoying, so it's better to listen to your own stuff and that's a never good sign. Also, I can't believe that a game like this is released without any sign of multiplayer, no online, no local, it's just inexcusable. On the other hand what it does have are retarded multiplayer trophies where you must beat other people's ghosts, Devs should finally learn that multiplayer trophies are evil that must be purged from existence. Other than that, it was fun little game. 6/10 Expand
  6. Jun 21, 2012
    6
    Overall the broken game-play doesn't add to much of entertainment and the tracks are completely unplayable and its not the tracks itself , the fault is the camera , none of it helps a clear view of the race and unfortunately you will be smashing every time in the edges , making it almost impossible to really have a nice control , pack it with a desperate techno/dubstep soundtrack andOverall the broken game-play doesn't add to much of entertainment and the tracks are completely unplayable and its not the tracks itself , the fault is the camera , none of it helps a clear view of the race and unfortunately you will be smashing every time in the edges , making it almost impossible to really have a nice control , pack it with a desperate techno/dubstep soundtrack and there you have a dumb game. But what really shines is the price (free ) and this kinds of faults really aren't much of attention but they needed to get more polish for , even a free product . Consider this a guilty pleasure and you will be fine enough. Expand
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    5
    I am struggling with that camers. Why they dont give us normal 3rd person camera? In most of cases, I just dont see where I am driving. In which curve.
    And cars are so tiny..

    I want full Motorstorm on Vita
  8. Aug 17, 2013
    7
    Suberb controls, great levels and the connectivity tricks make one of the best games on the Vita. Totally addictive, requires many levels of mastering. Learning when to break and how to cut corners are crucial if you want all the gold medals. Great value for your money.
  9. Sep 10, 2013
    5
    The title of this game might say Motorstorm, but don´t be fooled! This game got absolutely nothing in common with any of the Motorstorm you might know for the ps3. The controls are totally different, the graphics is poorly executed "Here the camera is fixed from the side" and none of the neck breaking stunts we are use to are gone. Actually i would go as far to say this is not a true toThe title of this game might say Motorstorm, but don´t be fooled! This game got absolutely nothing in common with any of the Motorstorm you might know for the ps3. The controls are totally different, the graphics is poorly executed "Here the camera is fixed from the side" and none of the neck breaking stunts we are use to are gone. Actually i would go as far to say this is not a true to the series, Motorstorm game. This is a entirely different experience, unfortunately only for the worse.. Expand
  10. Oct 3, 2016
    7
    I didn't know what to expect when I bought it (I didn't even know that it existed lol), but the overall sensation is that is an easy game (which is a shame) and a little bit short. Hoever, the gameplay is quite accurate and catchy.

    I am not going to lie, I have never been a fan of Motorsport series, but this game is not that bad.
  11. May 11, 2012
    0
    I think it is the best Motorstorm game by far. It reminds me of old school RC Pro-Am. Sometimes the controls are slightly squirrelly, but that is probably my only gripe. Some of the courses are a real challenge. As far as leaderboards and online action, it sure would have been nice to have real online head to head racing, how fun would that have been. Still an excellent racing gameI think it is the best Motorstorm game by far. It reminds me of old school RC Pro-Am. Sometimes the controls are slightly squirrelly, but that is probably my only gripe. Some of the courses are a real challenge. As far as leaderboards and online action, it sure would have been nice to have real online head to head racing, how fun would that have been. Still an excellent racing game and a good value. It is just great on the Vita as you can pick up and play on the go or get a race in here and there in a minutes time. We need more games like this. Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. May 12, 2012
    70
    MotorStorm RC leaves us with mixed feelings. The MotorStorm spin-off is an ideal portable game with short races and no load-times. It also comes at a low price and boasts lots of content, and it's playable on both your PS3 and Vita with some great crossplatform functions. But when it comes to controls and the camera the game doesn't do all that well. It's a great concept that doesn't live up to its potential.
  2. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    May 7, 2012
    50
    All this offers is twin-stick controls and slightly crisper visuals. [June 2012, p.83]
  3. Play UK
    Apr 17, 2012
    81
    For under a fiver you get the game on both PS Vita and PS3, too, which is reason enough to buy it. [Issue#217, p.79]