Muramasa Rebirth PlayStation Vita

Muramasa Rebirth Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 164 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Muramasa Rebirth is the follow-up to Muramasa: The Demon Blade that tells the tale of two souls and 108 deadly blades.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 96
    Muramasa Rebirth is a wonderfully enhanced version of an already terrific game that melds old-school action sensibilities with more modern complexities and a storyline that manages to feel notably mature.
  2. Jul 29, 2013
    90
    Muramasa: Rebirth was a great game on the Wii but on the Vita, it is a masterpiece. Excellent and engaging gameplay, enjoyable stories (yes, multiple), and one of the most visually appealing art styles ever used in a video game combine for an adventure that every Vita owner should take.
  3. Oct 21, 2013
    85
    Muramasa: The Demon Blade's a piece of art, or art by itself. It's a simple beat 'em up that's set on the early Japanese history, mainly focused on the personal story of two wanderers that're trying to earn a living smashing every enemy that's set on their way. Improved with HD graphics in this Vita version.
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    It’s not only Vita’s prettiest game; it’s also a hell of a lot of fun to play. Immersive, stylish, and full of action, Muramasa Rebirth’s twin campaigns, multiple endings, hidden Demon Swords, massive exploration and other optional goodies are enough to keep you busy for a good long while.
  5. 80
    For fans of Vanillaware’s games, this is a no-brainer. Muramasa Rebirth is the more complete version of its Wii predecessor. With an amazing art style, fast action, and even some humor, sidescroller fighting game fans will find a lot to like here. This is one of the Vita’s prettiest games, and is fun to boot!
  6. Jul 1, 2013
    80
    Thanks to its new localization and higher resolution, Rebirth is unquestionably the definitive version of the game, and anyone who enjoyed the original would be foolish to not experience this improved version.
  7. Jul 2, 2013
    60
    The game occasionally falters as a portable port because of its refusal to use the Vita's technological capabilities for anything other than enhancing things strictly on a superficial level.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    10 out ot 10!

    I'm an absolute fan of high quality 2D games. This game delivers in every single aspect: smooth gameplay, breath-taking
    10 out ot 10!

    I'm an absolute fan of high quality 2D games. This game delivers in every single aspect: smooth gameplay, breath-taking sprites, sounds etc.

    I almost bought a Wii just to have the oportunity to play this game alone, i'm glad that I have a PSV and can play it now!

    So far, I've played about 6 hours with Momohime and enjoying every single minute of it!
    Expand
  2. Mar 17, 2017
    10
    I said Persona 4 Golden alone was a great excuse for a PSVita. Well, Muramasa Rebirth is another great gem of PSVita. The art and the pace ofI said Persona 4 Golden alone was a great excuse for a PSVita. Well, Muramasa Rebirth is another great gem of PSVita. The art and the pace of such lovely Vanillaware game on the OLED screen of the Vita is art for your eyes. Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    Muramasa is excellent game to spend time with on your Vita. It has bright vivid colors, action and a nice soundtrack.

    Do keep in mind that
    Muramasa is excellent game to spend time with on your Vita. It has bright vivid colors, action and a nice soundtrack.

    Do keep in mind that this game does not include English audio, but it does have the required subtitles. Since I mostly play JP- audio anyway this does not bother me and as such did not impact my rating for the game.
    Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    Beautifully drawn detailed graphics and animation that has to be seen in motion. Music that goes well with fast combat which will be yourBeautifully drawn detailed graphics and animation that has to be seen in motion. Music that goes well with fast combat which will be your main job to do and with 108 blades with various abilities and special moves available it will be fun. Different story with unique bosses and several endings for each character.
    Almost forgot that you can cook traditional japanese dishes. Simply delicasy.
    Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2014
    9
    This game is perfect for the Vita. It has simple controls and a simple but tight level up system that is fun to tinker with. The Vita shinesThis game is perfect for the Vita. It has simple controls and a simple but tight level up system that is fun to tinker with. The Vita shines when there is a game that fits the pacing and mechanics of a handheld. I am not a heavy jrpg person but it works perfectly for an older gamer with slow fingers and a love for great design. Expand
  6. Jan 24, 2015
    8
    Definitely one of the most visually stunning videogames ever created, Muramasa Rebirth is an absolute joy to play with a beautiful soundtrack,Definitely one of the most visually stunning videogames ever created, Muramasa Rebirth is an absolute joy to play with a beautiful soundtrack, gorgeous environments, and gripping gameplay. It can get repetitive if played in long bouts, and the story can be very vague at first, but this game definitely shines as one of the must-plays of the PS Vita. Expand
  7. Jun 6, 2014
    6
    Well i see people like this game, but it's ok. Problem is, that you don't go around killing stuff. You run and run and run, and then you haveWell i see people like this game, but it's ok. Problem is, that you don't go around killing stuff. You run and run and run, and then you have a one scene brawl with some enemies, and then you run some more. IF you fight constantly and have to be on your toes, that's different. In this manner, it's boring to just run around and you want to explore something and then COMBAT starts which has that draw back "oh, again? I just want to explore this section". Combat for me comes as a nuissance instead as a jewel that it should be. Combat is flawless, but it comes at the wrong time! Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Trailers