Muramasa Rebirth PlayStation Vita

Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 148 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Muramasa Rebirth is the follow-up to Muramasa: The Demon Blade that tells the tale of two souls and 108 deadly blades.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 96
    Muramasa Rebirth is a wonderfully enhanced version of an already terrific game that melds old-school action sensibilities with more modern complexities and a storyline that manages to feel notably mature.
  2. Jul 29, 2013
    90
    Muramasa: Rebirth was a great game on the Wii but on the Vita, it is a masterpiece. Excellent and engaging gameplay, enjoyable stories (yes, multiple), and one of the most visually appealing art styles ever used in a video game combine for an adventure that every Vita owner should take.
  3. Oct 21, 2013
    85
    Muramasa: The Demon Blade's a piece of art, or art by itself. It's a simple beat 'em up that's set on the early Japanese history, mainly focused on the personal story of two wanderers that're trying to earn a living smashing every enemy that's set on their way. Improved with HD graphics in this Vita version.
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    It’s not only Vita’s prettiest game; it’s also a hell of a lot of fun to play. Immersive, stylish, and full of action, Muramasa Rebirth’s twin campaigns, multiple endings, hidden Demon Swords, massive exploration and other optional goodies are enough to keep you busy for a good long while.
  5. 80
    For fans of Vanillaware’s games, this is a no-brainer. Muramasa Rebirth is the more complete version of its Wii predecessor. With an amazing art style, fast action, and even some humor, sidescroller fighting game fans will find a lot to like here. This is one of the Vita’s prettiest games, and is fun to boot!
  6. Jul 1, 2013
    80
    Thanks to its new localization and higher resolution, Rebirth is unquestionably the definitive version of the game, and anyone who enjoyed the original would be foolish to not experience this improved version.
  7. Jul 2, 2013
    60
    The game occasionally falters as a portable port because of its refusal to use the Vita's technological capabilities for anything other than enhancing things strictly on a superficial level.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    Art is gorgeous. Gameplay is fast, fun and deep. Stories of characters are well written. And game has a LOT of post-game content after youArt is gorgeous. Gameplay is fast, fun and deep. Stories of characters are well written. And game has a LOT of post-game content after you finish both main stories (those took me around 20h), icluding alternative endings.

    Ignore "professional game critics" giving this excellent game score of 78 just because its not AAA title or some smartass wannabe indie fad.

    TL;DR - PLAY IT!
    Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    10 out ot 10!

    I'm an absolute fan of high quality 2D games. This game delivers in every single aspect: smooth gameplay, breath-taking
    10 out ot 10!

    I'm an absolute fan of high quality 2D games. This game delivers in every single aspect: smooth gameplay, breath-taking sprites, sounds etc.

    I almost bought a Wii just to have the oportunity to play this game alone, i'm glad that I have a PSV and can play it now!

    So far, I've played about 6 hours with Momohime and enjoying every single minute of it!
    Expand
  3. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    Vanillaware's sublime 2D adventure, Muramasa Rebirth is so much more than a simple HD port of the Nintendo Wii's, fabulous Muramasa: The DemonVanillaware's sublime 2D adventure, Muramasa Rebirth is so much more than a simple HD port of the Nintendo Wii's, fabulous Muramasa: The Demon Blade. Indeed, as far as I am concerned, it is the very finest game to hit Sony's underappreciated Playstation Vita yet, and in the process, represents the very pinnacle of action-RPG gaming in the handheld space.

    Now of course, this potentially controversial statement means that if Muramasa has indeed jumped straight to the top of Vita's pecking order, it edges out some truly excellent titles in doing so. Arguably, chief among which, is not only the timeless fan-favourite JRPG, Persona 4 Golden, but even Vanillaware's very own Dragon's Crown too no less. And that is the biggest compliment I can pay this incredible game.

    What with Muramasa Rebirth and the aforementioned Dragon's Crown, Vanillaware are *the* developer to watch right now, and given the Japanese studio's record of combing gorgeous artwork with deep, addictive gameplay, I only hope that they continue to support Sony's handheld in the future. And in the meantime? How about Odin's Sphere on Vita!?
    Expand
  4. Sep 11, 2014
    9
    The Vita version of Muramasa is the definitive edition of the game, as well as the best platform to play it on. Vanillaware's art directionThe Vita version of Muramasa is the definitive edition of the game, as well as the best platform to play it on. Vanillaware's art direction can really shine through on the Vita's resolution as opposed to the Wii's native 480p output. Both versions look beautiful of course. Muramasa: Rebirth sports high intensity 2d beat-em-up gameplay which is as simple as it is fun to watch. The controls lack extreme depth, but despite this I found that I was blown away by the combos that the game seemed to naturally want me to achieve. Simply put, the controls make you feel like a pro only a couple hours after first picking up the game. There is ton of extra content and DLCs which add entire new characters and campaign settings to the game. This should be a definite pick up for any Vita owner! Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2014
    8
    Pretty good game, felt like this game benefited being a handheld hack and slash game. Buttery smooth action that is very addictive and hard toPretty good game, felt like this game benefited being a handheld hack and slash game. Buttery smooth action that is very addictive and hard to put down once you get the flow going. The weapon leveling up system was very simple, yet kept me interested to leveling up to get new secret art moves. But, to be honest I barely understood both stories at all, it was like some Japanese fetish story telling which I couldn't grasp the concept of. The other negative of this game is it can get repititive, your basically constantly bashing square; but it's a hack and slash so it's to be expected. Overall, its a fun game with great graphics and art style. I think it's safe to call this one of Vita's better hack and slash games out there. Expand
  6. Aug 3, 2013
    8
    The game looks absolutely beautiful on Vita and graphics are the best thing on Muramasa. Story is but a necessity to be ignored, but theThe game looks absolutely beautiful on Vita and graphics are the best thing on Muramasa. Story is but a necessity to be ignored, but the characters are quite well written, which makes it enjoyable nontheless.

    Combat is fast, with responisve controls, but I'd appreciate if the enemies had less HP and more tricks up their sleeves, since it takes unreasonable long time to take down most enemies even when you are clearly superior and they can't put a scretch on you. Some enemy types are rather annoying to deal with like that, they can't harm you, but will happily deflect most of your attacks. Not much fun to be had then.

    Boss fights on the other hand are quite different and much more enjoyable, since each comes with its own playstyle. The pinnacle of combat for me were the second endings of each character, which are super fast paced and 90% of attacks ends up witch clash of the blades. Kisuke's 1st/3rd ending boss fight also had a nice emotional drive to it.

    What was really disappointing is the repetivnes of the game: Locations are greatly copy/pasted, and you are required to basically just run back and forth through them with random fights thrown in more than I'd care for the playtime gets ridiculously inflated with that. Also inventory navigation/use could be more user-friendly if you want to use multiple items, you have to re-open the inventory for every single one.

    This being considered a metrodivania game, I'd expect gaining new abilities throughout the game, but you gain access to the new areas simply by obtaining a specific sword. And the swords, in essence, are all pretty much the same, thus the gameplay does not evolve a bit over the course of game, which is a real shame.

    For a metroidvania game on Vita, I'd say the Guacamelee! is a better choice. But when you play a Vanillaware game, you play it mostly for the art.
    Expand
  7. Jun 6, 2014
    6
    Well i see people like this game, but it's ok. Problem is, that you don't go around killing stuff. You run and run and run, and then you haveWell i see people like this game, but it's ok. Problem is, that you don't go around killing stuff. You run and run and run, and then you have a one scene brawl with some enemies, and then you run some more. IF you fight constantly and have to be on your toes, that's different. In this manner, it's boring to just run around and you want to explore something and then COMBAT starts which has that draw back "oh, again? I just want to explore this section". Combat for me comes as a nuissance instead as a jewel that it should be. Combat is flawless, but it comes at the wrong time! Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers