Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Mar 18, 2013
    75
    Oddworld: Stranger's Wrath HD is a game that feels the weight of years. Far from being unplayable or not attractive, you can not cross over the imperfections of the control system, on a plot that is not too daring and partly on a too-flat concept level design.
  2. Dec 19, 2012
    90
    Stranger's Wrath was a fine game back in 2005, it is just as good in 2012. It has been given the best treatment possible for it's re-release and it is quite possibly one of the best console to handheld ports to date.
  3. Jan 23, 2013
    100
    It may not be the best game you'll ever play on the system, but it's guaranteed to be one of the games that makes you fully appreciate what the handheld has to offer.
  4. Feb 6, 2013
    85
    Even with a few outdated quirks, this fourth (and final?) Oddworld delivers an exciting storyline full of memorable characters.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 4, 2013
    80
    More than seven years on and Stranger’s Wrath is still fresh. Apart from some annoying pop-up tutorial boxes on PS Vita and some niggling issues when retrieving ammo, it’s still unabashedly brilliant. A must buy for sure. [March 2013, p80]
  6. Dec 28, 2012
    80
    Modern day first-person shooters will feel weak after you give Oddworld: Stranger's Wrath HD a play, thanks to innovative gunplay that still holds its own today.
  7. Dec 24, 2012
    80
    The return of Oddworld: Stranger's Wrath is a good one. It still is a rather original game with great controls and a lot of gameplay variations. It's a shame some design choices and the graphics aren't that great, though.
  8. Dec 27, 2012
    88
    A great version of the original Xbox title, with some visual improvements that make it look great on the PlayStation Vita screen. Recommended for those who missed the original game or just for those who want to play a better version on a handheld.
  9. Feb 8, 2013
    75
    Despite feeling slightly dated, Oddworld: Stranger's Wrath still manages to impress on the Vita's small screen.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    Best game on the vita - really!

    I created an account to write this. I might love my vita but dudes, its tough love, it rarely loves me back
    Best game on the vita - really!

    I created an account to write this. I might love my vita but dudes, its tough love, it rarely loves me back :) I'm talking games man, I have tried most of them and Gravity Rush is my current favorite as the most immersive console like game but its a labour of love... this is the first game I have played that isn't, its just great!

    About the game: the IGN review of the HD release of the game (which it posted for the vita release) says it all but ignores the fact its on vita. I found it made it a bit harder, the analogue sticks mean I had to turn down the sensitivity, some of the textures are a bit less detailed as well but u have decent sized environments, fps third person gameplay with some strategy elements (in the loosest sense but combining ammo to set mines and traps). This game shows the vita can deliver on its promise of a great handheld experience, lets all stop pretending its a mini PS3 and judge the hardware on what it actually is... Dear Sony, drop the hype and get more ports like this happening - its awesome!
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 30, 2012
    9
    Oddworld: Stranger's Wrath HD is beautiful and fun as the original plus the fact that you can enjoy it on the amazing OLED screen of the PsOddworld: Stranger's Wrath HD is beautiful and fun as the original plus the fact that you can enjoy it on the amazing OLED screen of the Ps Vita, with new textures and 3d models. The gameplay is solid and challenging, the graphics are nice (except for some textures that could be polished a little more) and the music does her job well.
    The free-rom shape of the game and the 1st person shooter/3rd person platform structure makes it enjoyable for everyone. An amazing handheld experience and easily one of the best Vita releases yet.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    After what's felt like forever, Oddworld: Stranger's Wrath HD has finally made it's way to Playstation Vita, and you know what, it was totallyAfter what's felt like forever, Oddworld: Stranger's Wrath HD has finally made it's way to Playstation Vita, and you know what, it was totally worth the wait.

    For those not 'in the know' regarding the Oddworld games, and moreover, this one in particular, Stranger's Wrath is a kinda Rango meets Ghost Busters meets Dirty Harry combo that indie outfit Just Add Water (JAW) seamlessly marries together beautifully. Indeed JAW must be congratulated for bringing the raw essence of each into one utterly cohesive whole. Don't worry, you'll know exactly what I mean when you play it.

    I loved every last minute of playing through this great game once more, but as is almost always the case, it's isn't perfect. Noteworthy are the slightly floaty controls that will take a little getting used to, and of course, Stranger's Wrath may well have been treated to a fresh lick of hi-def paint and had the 'HD' suffix slapped onto its moniker, but there's no getting away from the fact that it's still a seven-year-old, last-gen game. However, once you begin to look past these shortcomings and allow yourself to sync into it's wonderfully unique groove and trust me, you will there's absolutely stacks of fun to be had from this rather fabulous FPS/3PS cult favourite; the wild west adventure that really does mean it when they say 'live ammo'.

    Whether you're well acquainted with JAW's Oddworld series or perhaps have never even heard of it, I wholeheartedly recommend jumping into the Stranger's cowboy boots and giving it a whirl without delay. Until Killzone: Mercenary releases later this year at least, Stranger's Wrath HD is arguably Vita's standout shooter, and as such, I highly doubt you'll regret giving it a shot.

    8.5 out of 10

    [PLEASE NOTE that as Metacritic doesn't facilitate 0.5 increments for it's User Reviews, I have rounded my score to 9.0. Trust me, Stranger's Wrath is a wonderful game, and a lot closer to a 9.0 than it is an 8.0].
    Full Review »