Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 163 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale is a four-player brawler pitting a vast array of Sony and third-party game characters against each other. Take the fight online or mix it up with your friends in your living room.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Nov 23, 2012
    90
    This is probably the best game for Sony's portable console released this year.
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    90
    PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale comes out like a true underdog and knocks it out of the park. SuperBot Entertainment manages to silence all those who have doubted them and delivers a great experience with tons of content and enjoyment. This is a game not just for fans of PlayStation, but for fans of great games, period.
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    85
    The PS3 version received a well-deserved high score and the same goes for the Vita edition. The game plays great, the characters are well-balanced and there's an awesome amount of content. The loading times are rather long and there's a few minor hick-ups here and there, but overall PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale remains a must-buy, even on Vita.
  4. Dec 21, 2012
    75
    This is a good fighting game. However it's a bit too simple. Real PlayStation fans will have a lot of fun with it because of the exclusive characters and all the recognizable environments.
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    72
    This is an interesting arena brawler with lots of action and Sony celebrity cast. It can get quite chaotic though.
  6. Jan 14, 2013
    71
    With the PS3 version being far superior, the Vita version is only for those who do not own their home console brother as on the Vita it's fun but not great due to the frustration factor.
  7. Nov 25, 2012
    60
    PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale achieves what its sets out to do for the most part. Sony now has its answer to Super Smash Bros and PS3 and Vita owners have a place to turn to for accessible multiplayer bawls. It's a well-presented game that does justice to its cast of characters, but it could have been something more with a solo campaign of greater substance.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 43
  2. Negative: 6 out of 43
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    for anyone interested in 4-player brawlers this is a must have, with over 1000 unlockables, a cool roster with some awesome Rivalry battles, (Ratchet & Clank vs Jak & Daxter). Game has already confirmed 2 free characters dlc add ons for 2013. This is no budget title, with characters from Dante, to Raiden, to Big Daddy's appearance with all the original VA and new dialog. I was sceptical of Super kills, and one rare item that kills, but honestly it makes this game a completely original game and Santa Monica, SuperBot, Blueprint and Sony should be commended for making a truely great competitor for Nintendo's Super Smash Bros. Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    Masterpiece
    Excellent game Great graphics and sound
    Online works good All the characters are very polish
    Needs dlc like crash bandicoot,
    cloud , sephirot, scorpion, etx io, batman , journey with his maps. But is a great game a very addicted game. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    very good game i am playstation fan and the game really fun i always use drake and cole and i am pretty happy with kat its very fun to choose her thank you sony this is very solid game for any vita owner Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2013
    8
    This is a DIFFERENT game than Super Smash Bros. It is not a clone, but definitely draws from the original idea. First, the biggest WOW factor" for me is the cross-play/cross-buy between the Vita and PS3 version. This is an idea that is fantastic. Not only is the value of the purchase significant, but the whole idea is something I've been waiting for awhile now. The character roster is doable. It is not going to satisfy everyone. You will always have those "where is this character?" and "why didn't they include this character?" people, but the amount of playable characters is sufficient for a first go-around. The characters feel like you took them directly out of their original games and put them into the battle arena. What I mean is that they characters actually feel like they do in their own games, which is something I can't say for Super Smash Bros. The story mode is lazy with really no substance. It's the biggest detractor. They had a huge opportunity to blow any Super Smash comparisons out of the water with a superb single player story, but entered the same pitfall and ended up actually considerably worse than its prime competitor. The unlockables are great, but still not as solid as Super Smash. I had spent many hours with SSB Brawl that had more meaningful and varied unlockables. The games biggest gameplay difference is the Special Gauge. Once this meter fills up, you perform your special which is the only way to get kills. This style will grow on you, but it makes character selection more heavy on their specials than the normal combat moves. The game seems to focus on online play, which is definitely fine by me. It's fun and connection is pretty seamless. Overall, I'd definitely recommend it. Expand
  5. 4DI
    Nov 26, 2012
    8
    You know. It ain't half bad
  6. Feb 9, 2013
    7
    I don't think PASBR will win against the big daddy Smash Bros. but its a good addition to this type of the fighting genre. It's just a fun yet simple formula with a short catalog of characters that in my most sincere opinion many of them feel unnecessary to a game that is supposed to be very Sony like for example, here we have Raiden, Big daddy that by no reason this guy came first when the Xbox 360 was growing then Dante and Heihachi. And I mean many of these characters started in with the PS back in the day but they are starting to feel multi -platform in this generation the other complain is many of these characters the ones naturally from Sony are forgettable and I mean forgettable in terms of popularity why no Crash or Spyro in favor of Toro while is a Sony character is still not so relevant But anyway other than that the gameplay is very intriguing with a responsive style well checking it I'm glad Sony made this and I'm very glad they have found a clever style for their own family Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2012
    0
    Sad attempt by Sony to clone Nintendo's successful franchises. I have owned Play Station, Play Station 2, and I can't name half the characters by looking at them. Sad part is, a bunch of them aren't even Sony characters in the first place, so what's the point? I wish Sony would focus on making their own IP's instead of trying to copy someone else. Nothing new here whatsover. Expand

See all 43 User Reviews