• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: May 29, 2012
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 234 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 234

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 16, 2012
    7
    This game is fairly good. Graphics: 7/10 about as good as Unit 13 Story: 7/10 fun but not that immersive Multiplayer: Not played it but it looks pretty fun but limited so probably 7 or 8/10 Innovation: 6/10 Feels the same as every other shooter in terms of controls,This game is fairly good. Graphics: 7/10 about as good as Unit 13 Story: 7/10 fun but not that immersive Multiplayer: Not played it but it looks pretty fun but limited so probably 7 or 8/10 Innovation: 6/10 Feels the same as every other shooter in terms of controls, Presentation of title screen (touch) etc and the touch controls (in-game) feel forced. Variety: 9/10 There is loads to do with your guns (Customisation) and the satisfaction of getting a scope (for example) through collecting a blue orb from some random back alley is brilliant. Overall: 7/10 Very fun at times but an overall fairly standard and average game. Worth around the £20 mark (and you need a network pass so get it new!). Pretty good. Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2012
    7
    Spilia4 0 As a critic said" It's not a bad First Person Shooter, but for a Resistance entry, one finds it somewhat lacking". I couldn't agree more. The game is okay, but nothing special. There are 6 story missions, each mission lasting a hour or so. It has a generic storyline, and every bit of it is predictable. There are collectibles in the form of intel, but i never felt the need toSpilia4 0 As a critic said" It's not a bad First Person Shooter, but for a Resistance entry, one finds it somewhat lacking". I couldn't agree more. The game is okay, but nothing special. There are 6 story missions, each mission lasting a hour or so. It has a generic storyline, and every bit of it is predictable. There are collectibles in the form of intel, but i never felt the need to collect them. There are also upgrades, but I never felt like the upgrades were upgrading my weapon at all. The only noticeable upgrades were the clip sizes, and they only enlarged by 10 bullets or so (except the Bullseye clip upgrade, that almost doubled the ammo per clip!). The graphics are average, but i disliked the cut scenes. Some were okay, but others were just god awful . They played at the begging of every chapter. It was nice the first time, but they weren't skip able. They were nice the first time, but I didn't want to watch them every time i started up the game! This one time, i had to keep turning off the game cause i didn't have time to play the chapter(or it just glitched on me), and I can't tell you how annoying it was to have to watch that same video over and over again. The glitches were also annoying. There were a lot of glitches. Not major one like unbeatable levels or muted cut scenes, just small ones like locking on to an enemy with secondary fire , and all the bullets missing! The sounds are okay. The voice acting isn't that bad, but the bullet sounds are terrible. It sounds nothing like the real thing,and it sounds like bullets are flying all around you, instead of directly in front of you.The multiplayer is okay, but didn't even work the first 2 days after its release. It's fun for a bit, but i can tell the multiplayer won't spawn a community. The single player is very linear, but sometimes I didn't know where the **** to go! Forgettable characters and average storyline make this a okay game,but you won't come back to it often. But I have to be honest, I did have some fun with it, and if you compare it with other handheld shooters, the game is really good. It's also an easy platinum trophy for you trophy hunters. So it's worth a look when the price drops. So, even with all the downfalls, it's a 7/10. The last boss( if you even consider it a boss) is also a disappointment, but I wont spoil anything. Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2012
    7
    Was fairly impressed with the first FPS to grace the PS Vita. The Vita handles the game great and the control scheme was very easy to get used to. The campaign mode was a bit bland without a lot of depth however it played well and was action packed. The AI in this game was a big con, too many times a AI opponent would fail to see me standing right in front of them; instead of shooting at aWas fairly impressed with the first FPS to grace the PS Vita. The Vita handles the game great and the control scheme was very easy to get used to. The campaign mode was a bit bland without a lot of depth however it played well and was action packed. The AI in this game was a big con, too many times a AI opponent would fail to see me standing right in front of them; instead of shooting at a clearly visible target the AI would elect to run back and forth in and out of cover. However the campaign still provides a fun and rewarding challenge, I recommend setting the difficulty to the hardest setting right out of the gate to negate the lack of AI and still allow the game to present a formidable challenge. The online multiplayer was very bare bones however, experiencing an online team death match in the palm of your hand on a 5in screen was a sight to behold and definitely got me hyped for the potential of online shooters to come on the Vita.

    Overall I am glad I gave this game a chance despite the bad reviews it got from the press. It was not an excellent game by any stretch of the imagination, however it was a very solid shooter and if nothing else should serve one great purpose: a game to tide people over for future FPS's (like Call of Duty) coming to the Vita in the future.
    Expand
  4. May 30, 2012
    7
    I had a good time with resistance burning skies, but some flaws in the game prevented it from being a truly realised portable fps. The game play is fun and predictable shooter action with a slight old school flare and controls pretty well, including the touch screen commands, but to me the biggest problem of this game is the lack of scope. One of the biggest selling points of the consoleI had a good time with resistance burning skies, but some flaws in the game prevented it from being a truly realised portable fps. The game play is fun and predictable shooter action with a slight old school flare and controls pretty well, including the touch screen commands, but to me the biggest problem of this game is the lack of scope. One of the biggest selling points of the console resistance titles is the experience that you are part of a giant war encompassing much of the earth, but in this game you feel like your the only soldier in a tiny battle in NY. Besides the empty environments, the below par sound design also contributes to the emptiness. Also the framerate can dip frequently but this doesn't happen too often. Aside from this I still had fun with this game because the shooting controls felt very nice, but this is definatley a grade b shooter by console standards but is acceptable because you've probably never seen a true fps experience on a portable like this before. I personally found resistance: retribution on the psp was overall a stronger title with a better campaign with more interesting characters and story, but this game has better controls. This is a decent head start for fps' on the vita and proves the potential of the system, but the vita is definably capable of delivering a far better experience than this game. This game is proof that outsourcing your game to a third party developer does not always produce ideal results. Although fun, the vita needs stronger fps titles if it wants to gain footing in the handheld market. Expand
  5. May 30, 2012
    7
    I don't understand all the poor reviews... First Resistance game I play as the PSV is my first PlayStation and I'm really enjoying it. Story is ok, controls are spot-on and graphics are decent. Not a perfect game, but also very far from garbage!
  6. May 29, 2012
    6
    This game is a great first FPS for vita. Great gameplay and multiplayer, solid graphics, but a short dull story. So what, don't trust critics. If you like the other resistance games or FPSs, get this game.
  7. May 29, 2012
    7
    I don't hate it, but it can definitely use some repairs. I can understand why a lot of magazines are giving it bad reviews, but I don't think this games faults justify the ridiculously low scores it has been receiving. The one problem that really stood out to me was the audio. I could tap on my desk and get a better weapons fire sound than what's in the game. Also, there are no noticeableI don't hate it, but it can definitely use some repairs. I can understand why a lot of magazines are giving it bad reviews, but I don't think this games faults justify the ridiculously low scores it has been receiving. The one problem that really stood out to me was the audio. I could tap on my desk and get a better weapons fire sound than what's in the game. Also, there are no noticeable changes in sound dynamics; everything sounds the same no matter how far or close you are to the source. The graphics are very inconsistent. Most areas are fairy detailed, but some large items I swear I could not make any sense out of it- it was that blurry. But despite these issues, the game is fun. It has never been so satisfying to unload your ammo into the Chimera. Its a pain in the ass to type on this touchscreen phone so Ill get straight to the point: It's a competent, borderline mediocre shooter. It's rough around the edges. At times it even feels incomplete. But its a decent shooter, and most of the time, its fun. Expand
  8. May 29, 2012
    7
    Just got Resistance: BS today and it is a decent game.A note though, I have not finished it yet. Resistance is a run of the mill average shooter, not bad, nit great. The story is decent on the game, it has some emotion to it. You play a fire fighter that is trying to save his family, much like the Resistance 3 game, which was my favorite of the series. The controls work well and the touchJust got Resistance: BS today and it is a decent game.A note though, I have not finished it yet. Resistance is a run of the mill average shooter, not bad, nit great. The story is decent on the game, it has some emotion to it. You play a fire fighter that is trying to save his family, much like the Resistance 3 game, which was my favorite of the series. The controls work well and the touch screen abilities are not gimicky. The touch screen is used for many features including grenades and secondary fire. For grenades you touch and hold the grenade icon and drag over to where you wan the grenade to land. It takes some getting used to, but but feels quite natural after a half an hour. secondary fire also works much in the same way. For each weapon you use a different hand gesture to do the abilities. For anyone who had played past Resistance games the movements and feels of the guns should be familiar. I have not touch the multiplayer feature yet of the game as well. I will update the review when I get some time in for it. All in all this a decent shooter and is fun. It is the first of it's kind on a handheld so that is saying something. I am not disappointed that I bought the game. If you are looking for a fun FPS to get for your Vita Resistance: Burning Skies is a good choice, since well...it is your only choice at this point, but it is worth the purchase. Expand
  9. May 31, 2012
    6
    I just finished the single player campaign today and liked it, but I couldn't get over the feeling that it was rushed and unfinished. The graphics are weird, some areas will look like an old ps1 game while others will look closer to ps2. It seems like they spent most of their time working on the final level which probably looks the best of the game and has the most emotional engagement,I just finished the single player campaign today and liked it, but I couldn't get over the feeling that it was rushed and unfinished. The graphics are weird, some areas will look like an old ps1 game while others will look closer to ps2. It seems like they spent most of their time working on the final level which probably looks the best of the game and has the most emotional engagement, though that's not saying much. The characters are forgettable besides the main character. Who'd have thought you'd play a fireman in a first person shooter? Overall I feel it was a decent shooter for a portable system but could have used extra time for more polish. I could forgive the short campaign length if the game itself were smoother, but both together leaves a bad taste in the mouth. On the bright side it offers 5 or 6 easy gold trophies :P I tried multiplayer once just to platinum the game and it seemed okay to me until my game froze about 10 minutes into the match. I don't know if that's normal... Expand
  10. Jun 1, 2012
    7
    Maybe better than firts Resistance. Short. Casual. Not interesting. You earned a platinum trophy for walkthrough on Easy Mode and one time played in multiplayer. But for PSVita this game is a first experience of FPS. Good portable shooter. Bad game from guys created Vampire Mascarade Bloodlines.
  11. Jun 2, 2012
    5
    I think that 5 or 6 out of 10 is about right.

    I must confess to being fairly underwhelmed by the single player campaign. For the most part it feels sparse, underdeveloped and a little shoddy. We all know, from Uncharted and Unit 13, that the Vita is capable of much better than this. The multiplayer is alright. It's a little choppy but it functions pretty well. For £40 I
    I think that 5 or 6 out of 10 is about right.

    I must confess to being fairly underwhelmed by the single player campaign. For the most part it feels sparse, underdeveloped and a little shoddy. We all know, from Uncharted and Unit 13, that the Vita is capable of much better than this. The multiplayer is alright. It's a little choppy but it functions pretty well.

    For £40 I expected a lot more. I would however, have paid £30 for a faithful port of Resistance 3.

    Maybe if Sony aren't going to take unique Vita titles more seriously, then they should consider porting existing popular titles instead.
    Expand
  12. May 31, 2012
    7
    I felt like the controls and gameplay were fine. I enjoyed playing the campaign, it was pretty fast paced and fun. It clearly wasn't an Insomniac production but it was far from bad. The story was decent but not very deep. I didn't really have an emotional connection to the characters at all. That being said, this is a vita game, it's for playing on the go, and I felt it did that well.I felt like the controls and gameplay were fine. I enjoyed playing the campaign, it was pretty fast paced and fun. It clearly wasn't an Insomniac production but it was far from bad. The story was decent but not very deep. I didn't really have an emotional connection to the characters at all. That being said, this is a vita game, it's for playing on the go, and I felt it did that well. It's too bad I have yet been able to get into a multiplayer game. The servers have been down since day one apparently. If multiplayer is fun I would consider giving the game an 8/10. However, advertising multiplayer and then having it not be functional is a big no-no. One thing stands out to me while I play and think about the gameplay - dual analog sticks are awesome! How come it took this long for a portable to have them? Trophies seem to be a breeze too, so if you enjoy collecting trophies, this is a game for you. I do not regret purchasing the game at all I had just hoped for a wee bit more. Expand
  13. Jun 3, 2012
    5
    Let's be honest. If this game didn't have "Resistance" in the title most of us probably wouldnt be paying too much attention to it. Single player mode is fairly generic: not really any moments that will wow you, you probably won't care about the characters. The only thing I found interesting about the story was where you could definitely see something starting between Ellie and Tom evenLet's be honest. If this game didn't have "Resistance" in the title most of us probably wouldnt be paying too much attention to it. Single player mode is fairly generic: not really any moments that will wow you, you probably won't care about the characters. The only thing I found interesting about the story was where you could definitely see something starting between Ellie and Tom even though the point of the game is tom searching for his wife. It was pretty strange. Some parts of the game can look pretty, but overall the graphics are pretty bad and extremely BLAND. Not sure who was in charge of the colour but get ready for different shades of BROWN throughout the entire game. Game seems a little rushed, this is definitely noticeable on the final level where it simply guides you through what feels like a number of "challenge rooms" and just throws enemies at you. There are a couple of bosses that feel pretty cool. Game is extremely easy so I recommend jumping right into the Difficult setting for some challenge. Easiest platinum you'll probably likely to achieve. Less than 5 hours of gameplay. Multiplayer, while having it's issues/glitches, feels intimate and can actually be pretty fun sometimes. The maps are fairly generic again with alot of BROWN. Easy to level up to the max 40. Again you should probably get to max level in less than 5 hours. Expand
  14. May 30, 2012
    6
    There is nothing wrong with the Vita, at all, but on this evidence alone I doubt it will grow into a reliable market for future First Person Shooters. Burning Skies had all the promise, hopes and anticipation any game with the Sony brand carries but it's one of those games that just doesn't deliver. It's ideas are tried and tested, and the Vita features are only there for the sake ofThere is nothing wrong with the Vita, at all, but on this evidence alone I doubt it will grow into a reliable market for future First Person Shooters. Burning Skies had all the promise, hopes and anticipation any game with the Sony brand carries but it's one of those games that just doesn't deliver. It's ideas are tried and tested, and the Vita features are only there for the sake of demonstrating what the platform could possibly do. They're never comfortable or convenient, and much like Golden Abyss they only work to slow the game down. The game itself had potential, exploring an area I think more First Person Shooters should charter ( The role of the civilian ). There are tastes of the Vita's visual prowess on display, particularly when the action picks up and the graphics somehow manage to not tear themselves apart. When you finally do find a comfortable strategy to utilising the touch controls and other Vita senses the gameplay will start making more sense, but that takes some amount of experimenting. Overall this isn't the exciting first step I had hoped for, but at least now we know what we shouldn't do if only for future reference when the market tries to attack the Vita market again. If anyone can crack it, god forbid it'll be the crafty Cambridge lot who'll behind the Killzone for Vita or the brass behind Black Ops II ( If they are actually making it for the Vita ). Expand
  15. May 30, 2012
    5
    Just Plain Average. I was surprised to see the franchise stuffed up like this. I really like this franchise and when i saw this game and i played it, it was an instant bore. Just steer clear of it and buy Gravity Rush or Golden Abyss
  16. May 30, 2012
    5
    Just because its the First FPS for the Vita, it doesnt mean it has to look average. Im paying the same price for this, so I should demand quality! And this game doesnt have it. Get gravity rush instead of this beta test of a FPS, its not worth it.
  17. Jul 10, 2012
    6
    Its not a bad game. its linear and solid, with a few nice weapons and scripted spawn action. some weapons are not really concepted for playing on such a little device (bad handling on them).
    the main problem is the uncreative gameplay. its just a shooter like quake 2, but never even that good! so in generel, it just looks like a very-low-cost-production... but thats all not THAT bad. the
    Its not a bad game. its linear and solid, with a few nice weapons and scripted spawn action. some weapons are not really concepted for playing on such a little device (bad handling on them).
    the main problem is the uncreative gameplay. its just a shooter like quake 2, but never even that good! so in generel, it just looks like a very-low-cost-production... but thats all not THAT bad. the game start to being boring and repetitive after 2/3 of gameplay. and the endboss is the worst if ever seen in a shooter. no feel of achieving something.
    Expand
  18. Jun 3, 2012
    5
    The Resistance franchise has always thrived on being different from all the other shooters cluttering up the market. From the touching personal tale of Resistance 3 to the bleak depictions of urban cities decaying under Chimeran rule. Resistance has always distinguished itself from the competition. Sadly Burning Skies doesn't capitalise on the potential of bringing a fully fledged FPS toThe Resistance franchise has always thrived on being different from all the other shooters cluttering up the market. From the touching personal tale of Resistance 3 to the bleak depictions of urban cities decaying under Chimeran rule. Resistance has always distinguished itself from the competition. Sadly Burning Skies doesn't capitalise on the potential of bringing a fully fledged FPS to the PS Vita. The individuality and the heart of Resistance has been disposed for a lame narrative, dull characters, a hammy script, lack of variety and a general lack of Resistance magic. The weapons are at least decent and there is a solid FPS game beneath the humdrum, but this isn't a true Resistance game. If you can take it for what it is then it's passable fun, but that's a hard ask when Burning Skies diverges from what fans know about the franchise. Expand
  19. Aug 15, 2012
    5
    Resistance: Burning Skies is the Vita's first ever First Person Shooter game, but it's an extremely basic one at that. The story, you as Tom Riley going to stop a Chimera invasion from a rouge Scientist, isn't terribly interesting, but it does do a decent enough job as a framing device that strings levels together for the 5 or 6 hours it will take you to beat it. It hooks nicely to theResistance: Burning Skies is the Vita's first ever First Person Shooter game, but it's an extremely basic one at that. The story, you as Tom Riley going to stop a Chimera invasion from a rouge Scientist, isn't terribly interesting, but it does do a decent enough job as a framing device that strings levels together for the 5 or 6 hours it will take you to beat it. It hooks nicely to the series lore, but the emotional parts are undeveloped and Tom isn Expand
  20. Jul 1, 2012
    5
    Excuse me sir, please can you let the developers of the actual Resistance games make the Resistance games in the future please? Cheers, i'm fed up of shooting the same enemy type. Its graphics are so boring to look at. Especially when compared to Super Star Dust Delta. Its a ok game, but really? Why not just spend some times making it not look so dull?
  21. Aug 19, 2012
    6
    For my full review, please visit http://tencentgaming.com/?p=52

    Here are the cliff notes:

    Presentation
  22. Nov 7, 2012
    5
    Meh. It could have been so much better. The story was very unoriginal, combat was repetetive and you only really need to use 2 guns most of the time. I haven't played multiplayer yet because it doesn't support ad-hoc (still can't believe this) but I've heard that it's a laggy melee and shotgun fest from multiple people.

    Many unforgivable visual glitches that show a lack of attention to
    Meh. It could have been so much better. The story was very unoriginal, combat was repetetive and you only really need to use 2 guns most of the time. I haven't played multiplayer yet because it doesn't support ad-hoc (still can't believe this) but I've heard that it's a laggy melee and shotgun fest from multiple people.

    Many unforgivable visual glitches that show a lack of attention to detail by Nihilistic and an overall lack of pride in their work. Bad checkpoint and progress saving design causes you to have to restart your progress on a level if you close the game.

    Nihilistic is making Black Ops: Declassified, and many of us are thinking twice about buying it simply because they're involved. Then there's the fact that not only is Activision going to be keeping all mobile development inside their company after BO:D, but Nihilistic is changing their name and moving to smartphone app development. Also, there has been absolutely no official releases since the original reveal trailer, which was an abomination. This tells me that Nihilistic is not doing a much better job on BO:D, and not only does Activision know it, but Nihilistic does too.
    Expand
  23. Apr 29, 2013
    7
    Resistance: Burning Skies isn't a good game, but its not a bad one either. The game has many pros and cons, but ultimately its an enjoyable experience.

    PROS: 1. First dual analog FPS on a handheld 2. Variety of weapons and enemies 3. 6-7 hour campaign 4. Feels like Resistance 5. Variety of collectibles scattered throughout the campaign (Intel & Upgrades) CONS: 1. Boring and
    Resistance: Burning Skies isn't a good game, but its not a bad one either. The game has many pros and cons, but ultimately its an enjoyable experience.

    PROS:
    1. First dual analog FPS on a handheld
    2. Variety of weapons and enemies
    3. 6-7 hour campaign
    4. Feels like Resistance
    5. Variety of collectibles scattered throughout the campaign (Intel & Upgrades)

    CONS:
    1. Boring and broken multiplayer
    2. Poor graphics
    3. Simple boss fights
    4. Annoying Touchscreen controls (Requires you to drag grenades and touch icon to knife)
    5. Poor storyline

    SCORE: 7/10
    Expand
  24. Jun 4, 2012
    7
    The game is not as bad as they seem. The gameplay is no different from previous games, the graphics are nothing special but not bad, the story does not bring anything new but it is consistent, the game characters are normal. It may not be the best game of the PS Vita, but not worth the notes you are taking. For the first FPS is reasonable but could be better.
    Sorry, I was wrong
    The game is not as bad as they seem. The gameplay is no different from previous games, the graphics are nothing special but not bad, the story does not bring anything new but it is consistent, the game characters are normal. It may not be the best game of the PS Vita, but not worth the notes you are taking. For the first FPS is reasonable but could be better.
    Sorry, I was wrong in  note. In my view deserves 7.0.
    Expand
  25. Nov 17, 2014
    7
    I would say this is a very generic First Person Shooter with very predictable story. I must praise the developers for the creative use of the VITA touchscreen for the weapon system. However, the friendly AI is very stupid in this game, so many times I was blocked by her and I have to press jump repeatedly and or crouch just to get by some passage or doorway. Overall, it is like a veryI would say this is a very generic First Person Shooter with very predictable story. I must praise the developers for the creative use of the VITA touchscreen for the weapon system. However, the friendly AI is very stupid in this game, so many times I was blocked by her and I have to press jump repeatedly and or crouch just to get by some passage or doorway. Overall, it is like a very common roller coaster ride, you enjoy it, but you don't love it, but you know it is a must ride when you have come to the theme park. Expand
  26. Aug 8, 2012
    6
    Story not that great, comepare to its amazing PS3 counterparts, but overall, R:BS is the best FPS you can find this days on the PSV.
  27. Jun 8, 2012
    6
    Overall, Resitance: Burning Skies is a decent first-person shooter. This is the first dual-analog shooter to be released on any handheld device and they nailed the controls. Even though, they do take some getting used to, which won't take very long, and you can have hours of fun. The graphics are pretty mediocre but the gameplay makes up for it. This game is pretty fun to play through theOverall, Resitance: Burning Skies is a decent first-person shooter. This is the first dual-analog shooter to be released on any handheld device and they nailed the controls. Even though, they do take some getting used to, which won't take very long, and you can have hours of fun. The graphics are pretty mediocre but the gameplay makes up for it. This game is pretty fun to play through the first time but it is extremely short. It only took me about six hours to beat and platinum this title. The story isn't too great either but maybe I just expected too much from Resistance. Here, you play as Tom Riley, a fireman who has just been caught up in a terrible mess. Your goal is to rescue your family and just kill as many aliens as possible. That pretty much sums up the whole story except for the part that you have a female sidekick, Ellie. During levels she does not seem to follow and just teleports randomly which makes it kind of awkward. The multiplayer is extremely simple and if they even added secondary weapons, it would have made it much more awesome but it is still pretty fun to play. Resistance: Burning Skies definitely isn't a bad game but the graphics and story don't allow this title to be a great one either, but the gameplay is definitely satisfying. Expand
  28. Jul 27, 2012
    7
    This isn't a full review of Resistance Burning Skies as I haven't finished the campaign or tried the online yet. But I am a few levels into the single player now and feel its enough for a good review.

    Anyway let me start by saying I am a big PS3 Resistance fan so I may be a bit biased but honestly I actually really enjoyed Resistance BS! - and do not understand the hate. For starters
    This isn't a full review of Resistance Burning Skies as I haven't finished the campaign or tried the online yet. But I am a few levels into the single player now and feel its enough for a good review.

    Anyway let me start by saying I am a big PS3 Resistance fan so I may be a bit biased but honestly I actually really enjoyed Resistance BS! - and do not understand the hate.

    For starters I see a lot of reviews complaining particularly about the touch screen controls. But they don't bother me as I have seen much worse on iPad! (yet those iPad games somehow manage to get glowing reviews?!) yes dragging and dropping your grenades is annoying but you don't need to go through all that you just need to aim above your enemy and tap the grenade icon once to throw a grenade accurately at your target! Other than that I've only so far seen the touch screen involved with using your weapons secondary fire which is occasionally frustrating in the heat of battle (when spreading 2 fingers out to throw out a shield yes that does slow down the action a bit) but its a one time thing. Personally I found doing the puzzles in Uncharted with touch screen more irritating!.

    Moving onto the second big complaint: the graphics. I don't know what game the critics have been playing but I have yet to see my vita struggle in the heat of battle. Yes the environments are not as pretty as Uncharted (it's altogether a bit too grey I reckon) but the explosions and fire fights hold up really well!.

    Although I haven't yet played the online side of the game I am looking forward to giving its weapons as good go as I've been really impressed with them in the SP Campaign! There's a wonderful variation And you always seem to be unlocking more! And when you get a new weapon you'll be desperate to see what new secondary fire the weapon holds! From crossbows napalm to the auger and it's shield deployment every weapon holds and exciting new secondary fire mode!

    One of the other main aspects of the Resistance series has always been the boss battles and Burning Skies is no different! Dont worry I wont spoil anything for you but you can be sure there is some big battles to look forward to!

    Finally in terms of length I'd guess Burning Skies has a good sized campaign! Longer than you're average shooter anyway I suppose the lack of Uncharted-like collectables hunting means the single player has little replay value but then you've always got the online and its unlock system (I keep hearing so much about!).

    To sum up my review: Resistance Burning Skies isn not going to set the shooter genre alight but it is a revelation for handheld gaming and shows good signs for things to come!
    Resistance BS = 8.0 / 10
    Expand
  29. Aug 7, 2012
    7
    Resistance : Burning skies is by no means a great game , but is a fairly good one , it has plenty of problems however , its biggest being how unambitious the developers were with the game . the campaign is forgettable , the sounds quality of guns is terrible , and the multiplayer ( which is fairly fun ) brings nothing new . however i did find the game very fun to play , which some mayResistance : Burning skies is by no means a great game , but is a fairly good one , it has plenty of problems however , its biggest being how unambitious the developers were with the game . the campaign is forgettable , the sounds quality of guns is terrible , and the multiplayer ( which is fairly fun ) brings nothing new . however i did find the game very fun to play , which some may considers the biggest part of a game . their is a very good feel to the game on a vita , and most of the touch controls are fairly good , although i would have preferred to just press square instead of having to touch doors to open them . The a.i in the game could have been a bit more active and aggressive toward the player , instead of just appearing in corridors waiting to be decapitated by a fireaxe . the game looks okay , but isn't that great , and the cut scenes could have had the protagonist as the voice-over to bring a better character development , although i would happily have the graphics made worse if it had improved the sound somehow , the gunfire sounds like a finger rapidly tapping against a table . Expand
  30. Nov 19, 2012
    5
    A decent PS Vita shooter but doesn't last for long. You can beat the campain on Hard in few hours , with earning the Platinum trophy very easily. Online game is kinda fun but also - not for long. This is the kind of game on which has nothing to offer , just a 6 hours of shooting in frame dropped world with strange creatures which you will want to end very quickly just to finish it already.A decent PS Vita shooter but doesn't last for long. You can beat the campain on Hard in few hours , with earning the Platinum trophy very easily. Online game is kinda fun but also - not for long. This is the kind of game on which has nothing to offer , just a 6 hours of shooting in frame dropped world with strange creatures which you will want to end very quickly just to finish it already. There is almost no replay value , mainly if you are playing on hard for first time - which is easy, only the last boss can make troubles if you dont know how to kill him properly. For a first FPS shooter on PS Vita i was disappointed. Expand
  31. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    This game is a weak shooter experiance. The single player is ok but nothing earth shattering. The multiplayer (which I did not play very long mind you) was twitchy and hard to control. If you see it 20$ or less pick it up if you are craving a mobile shooter but otherwise stick with Unit 13
  32. Mar 26, 2013
    7
    As the first FPS with dual analog sticks on a handhold, the game is great. However, that does not mean Resistance: Burning Skies does not have issues. Lets start with the story for instance. You play as Tom Riley, a firefighter in engine 174. The campaign starts off fun, but it begins to drag to a point where you may want to just drop your Vita and walk back to the store. STORY: The storyAs the first FPS with dual analog sticks on a handhold, the game is great. However, that does not mean Resistance: Burning Skies does not have issues. Lets start with the story for instance. You play as Tom Riley, a firefighter in engine 174. The campaign starts off fun, but it begins to drag to a point where you may want to just drop your Vita and walk back to the store. STORY: The story feels rushed to such degree that when you think you cant get any more sick of clearing out Chimera infested streets and sewer, something goes terribly wrong and you once again are left face to face with another horde of enemies. There are short cutscenes at the beginning of every level, but you may get sick of watching them every time you load a level. Finally, after going through countless missions, you are never given any additional info on the protagonist. GAMEPLAY: Gameplay in Resistance: Burning Skies is okay, but nothing special. There are no new guns other than the Mule (A crossbow/shotgun crossover) and a fire axe. Nihilistic did bring back some guns from the console versions such as the M5A2 Folsom Carbine, the Bullseye, and the Auger. The variety of weapons is small, but for a game on-the-go, eight weapons plus an overwhelming fire axe is more than enough to keep you interested. GRAPHICS: Resistance: Burning Skies graphics are nothing to rave about. At times the graphics can look great, but after a while the textures look blocky and the pixels become very noticeable. The guns and AI look fine, but nothing pops out. MULTIPLAYER: Where the story lets us down, the multiplayer is good enough to amuse you for a good while. Early Resistance: Burning Skies owners were treated to a terrible multiplayer experience where you were almost always kicked out upon joining a game. I am happy to say that a new update has been released, fixing the multiplayer up pretty good. There are little bugs and none to be necessarily worried about. SCORE: Resistance: Burning Skies features a enjoyable campaign and has a multiplayer that will keep you entertained. Resistance: Burning Skies earns a solid 7.5/10 (B+). Expand
  33. Apr 28, 2013
    6
    I was really looking forward to this game, with it being the first FPS for the vita. The graphics are okay, but nowhere near Uncharted. The AI is pretty dumb, they'll mostly just stand in the same spot and shoot at you till they die. The campaign will last you a decent 6 hours, and it has a pretty good story, but nothing stellar. The multiplayer is a decent distraction if you get past itsI was really looking forward to this game, with it being the first FPS for the vita. The graphics are okay, but nowhere near Uncharted. The AI is pretty dumb, they'll mostly just stand in the same spot and shoot at you till they die. The campaign will last you a decent 6 hours, and it has a pretty good story, but nothing stellar. The multiplayer is a decent distraction if you get past its nagging connection issues. A lot of the time I would get in a lobby and then just get kicked out. The multiplayer doesn't have that many weapons, and only a handful of maps, but it can still be fun. It is, however, full of glitches, with people getting on roofs that you're not supposed to get on, and the sniper and shotgun are way overpowered compared to the other weapons. If you're itching for a FPS on your vita, go ahead and pick this up, but if you're patient, I would wait for a better one. Expand
  34. Aug 10, 2013
    5
    After over twelve years of playing FPS games on the poorly designed PSP, I was extremely relieved when I heard that a Resistance game would be coming to the Vita in a first person perspective. In some ways, Resistance: Burning Skies succeeds in bringing the FPS experience to a handheld, but it ends up being a little underwhelming. The games campaign puts us in the boots of Tom Riley, a NewAfter over twelve years of playing FPS games on the poorly designed PSP, I was extremely relieved when I heard that a Resistance game would be coming to the Vita in a first person perspective. In some ways, Resistance: Burning Skies succeeds in bringing the FPS experience to a handheld, but it ends up being a little underwhelming. The games campaign puts us in the boots of Tom Riley, a New York City firefighter searching for his family during the first weeks of the Chimeran invasion. The story ends up falling somewhere in the old "Save the princess from the castle" genre. Its pretty basic, and doesn't ever catch your attention like the PS3 versions of Resistance do. Throughout the 6-7 hour campaign, you are accompanied by Ellie Martinez, a member of the "minuetmen", a group of resistance fighters. Ellie, along with just about every other character in the game, is underdeveloped and unlikeable. There is a point where Tom falls on top of her, and the two of them just stare at each other. Did the developers forget that Tom has a wife and child? The disappointing story aside, Burning Skies is fun. Not great, but fun. The gameplay is good for the most part. It controls practically the same as just about any other FPS on a console. LT and RT are used to aim and shoot while LS and RS allow you to both look and move around the battlefield. Burning Skies uses the Vitas touchscreen to throw grenades, load and/or shoot secondary fires, and axe Chimera. The axe icon works great during firefights against large packs of Chimera, but grenade throwing often feels awkward and unnatural. The Vitas rear touch pad is used to run. This feature works great, but if you don't like it, you can always just press down on the d-pad as an alternative. During the campaign, you will take part in some boss battles, collect "Grey Tech" to upgrade your guns, and discover some intel scattered across the levels. The bosses are challenging at first, but once you've found the secret to killing them, they become extremely easy to beat. Grey Tech played an extremely minor roll in a couple of the previous Resistance games, and it has returned here as one of the major plot points. You can find Gray Tech hidden in the levels, and then use it to customize weapons. Occasionally, Gray Tech will even alter the overall look of your gun. This is a very nice touch. The intel documents hidden in the games campaign don't really add anything particularly interesting to the story, and are largely forgettable. I can only imagine the largest of Resistance fans finding collecting these documents fun. The gameplay is just about the same in the multiplayer too. Early screenshots depicted a fun multiplayer mode that was very similar to that of which in Resistance 3. Unfortunately, the final product is extremely basic. The gun upgrades are the same as in the campaign, and the Mule (a new shotgun/crossbow crossover) is extremely overpowered. The multiplayer ends up feeling like something "traditional", and that isn' exactly a good thing. The maps are alright, but there a little too small for my taste. I could tell you that if you lowered your expectations you'll have fun, but then again, why should you settle for this period? The game doesn't look good either. Most of the textures are horrendous, and environments are empty. There is absolutely no excuse for the poor visuals. The games developers had a good amount of time to make the game, so why does it look this. In comparison to Uncharted: Golden Abyss, this game is a laughingstock. The games developer Nihilistic (now known as nStigate) showed off Burning Skies as a no compromise FPS on the Vita. They lied. Burning Skies has a boring story, poor visuals, and terrible sound effects. The only redeeming qualities of this shooter are its solid gameplay mechanics and its (while rarely heard) musical score. If you want to be able to tell your friends that you played a mediocre FPS on a handheld, pick Burning Skies up. Just about everyone else can feel free to skip this game. Expand
  35. Jun 29, 2014
    7
    I know the game is a couple years old now, but given that the Vita's library is still a little bare I decided to write this, if anyone's been looking to pad their library.

    First off, this game isn't Killzone: Mercenary (which gets a 10) lets just get that out the way. But on the flip side I don't think the game is anywhere near as bad as it's made out to be. Visually it's not all
    I know the game is a couple years old now, but given that the Vita's library is still a little bare I decided to write this, if anyone's been looking to pad their library.

    First off, this game isn't Killzone: Mercenary (which gets a 10) lets just get that out the way. But on the flip side I don't think the game is anywhere near as bad as it's made out to be.

    Visually it's not all that impressive, in fact I'd put it about on par with the Metal Gear Solid HD Collection.They're good enough, but not as nice as Uncharted or Killzone which show what the Vita is really capable of in terms of graphics.

    Gameplay, I found to be solid, not too many glitches or cheap death moments. The weapons are fun, what you'd expect out of a Resistance game. If you've played the previous entries you'll feel right at home with the Bullseye, and personally I loved the MacGyver'ed crossbow+shotgun combo weapon you pick up early on. Level designs are nothing to write home about but they are varied enough to make some weapons more useful than others in a given situation. I can't say anything as to the multiplayer since I've never tried it. The touch screen controls aren't overtly annoying and cocking the crossbow+shotgun with a swipe across the screen is actually pretty cool. Thankful there aren't really any touchscreen QTEs (which caused me to rage sell Uncharted: Golden Abyss after being the last two bosses which are nothing more than QTEs and not action sequences) so if you're worried about that, you're safe.

    Storyline was pretty good actually. I was nice to see the start of a Chimaera invasion from the POV of a first responder. The other 4 games, $|-|!T had already hit the fan by the time the player is boots on the ground.

    Replayability, not much actually. Pretty much just play it thoguht, then play it thought again a second time maybe to pick up intel that you missed. Doesn't really have anything else like Resistance: Retribution's Infected Mode (which was was a genious way to tie in with Resistance 2) or Killzone: Mercenary's "got to catch 'em all" approach with weapons and equipment where you want to keep playing though to get all the gear that Blackjack has to offer and beat all the challenges the levels have. Not too many frills really which is disappointing.

    Overall it's a GOOD game, not something to write home about, but not as bad as the reviewers say it is. The story is good, the gameplay is solid and the only real thing I have to complain about are the graphics and the lack of replayability. If you're looking for an FPS on the Vita, get Killzone, if you already have Killzone, this one isn't a bad pick-up.

    Though I have to wonder why Sony didn't have Bend develop this considering the job they did on Resistance: Retribution.
    Expand
  36. Dec 21, 2013
    5
    I had pretty low expectations for this game going in, and it more or less met my expectations, which is not a good thing. The graphics are mediocre at best. Nothing really stands out. The audio is pretty terrible. Put in headphones to get any sort of quality from this game. Multiplayer is pretty much flat out bad, and I would avoid it at all costs. Nowadays its pretty hard to get into aI had pretty low expectations for this game going in, and it more or less met my expectations, which is not a good thing. The graphics are mediocre at best. Nothing really stands out. The audio is pretty terrible. Put in headphones to get any sort of quality from this game. Multiplayer is pretty much flat out bad, and I would avoid it at all costs. Nowadays its pretty hard to get into a game anyways. The story is alright and the gunplay is alright, but it gets boring way too quickly. I picked this up because I was excited to play the 1st FPS on the Vita, and it disappointed me. If you want an FPS fix buy it, you can get it now pretty cheap. You can buy it for around 20 bucks now, and Id say its worth that. Long story short, nowadays if you pick it up, its worth it for cheap. Not really that great of an experience. Expand
  37. Jun 27, 2014
    6
    After completing the single player campaign, and has of yet been able to compete on multiplayer. I have come to a conclusion... Resistance: Burning Skies for the PS Vita is a mediocre shooter at best, and at its worst, an unfinished product. When I first saw the game on a shelf at my local retailer for $12.99 I thought it would be a great deal, I loved Resistance since the first gameAfter completing the single player campaign, and has of yet been able to compete on multiplayer. I have come to a conclusion... Resistance: Burning Skies for the PS Vita is a mediocre shooter at best, and at its worst, an unfinished product. When I first saw the game on a shelf at my local retailer for $12.99 I thought it would be a great deal, I loved Resistance since the first game debuted on the PS3 and, I thought I would be a decent if not a great FPS. Then I looked at the developer. Nihilstic Software ( now known as nStigate games ) was at the helm of development. PlayStation Move Heroes and Zombie Apocalypse was not received well by critics and gamers alike receiving 50's and 60's on Metacritic. I thought to my self that every dev team might have a down turn at some point and will eventually make up for it. I bought the game, went home, and I played it. For the first few hours I thought to my self what was Resistance Burning Skies was trying to be. It wanted to be a summer blockbuster action flick, and then sometimes it wanted to be a story driven game, in which it fails to be. And that's what's wrong with the game for the most part. The characters are never interesting as Nathan Hale or even remotely close to Joseph Capelli. ( the main protagonists in Resistance 1,2&3 ) The main character is a boring fireman with no real emotion than stupid voice 1, and stupid voice 2. He has no real interesting properties that makes players invested in him at all, the rest of the characters are bland and boring and the story almost goes nowhere. Resistance is about (in some cases) the brutality of the war at hand, and trying to save your home from monstrous creatures. The war is a whole collective agenda. Not with Resistance: BS, (literally) The only reason you fight for is not to save your country, not to help the WORLD, but to rescue your wife and kid... i'm sorry but THEY are not as important as the entire world. The wife and child are almost never seen in the game besides 2 whole scenes, and are only there for filler. The story lacks so much and fails to capture the great storytelling that was set by that previous entries in the series. the AI is near absent or superhuman spot on and will start shooting even if you aren't in view. Environments are bland and boring and there is one level that will frustrate you to the point of breaking your Vita, not to mention common glitches found in the story.
    But
    The visuals are still impressive to this day as of 2014, and it does set a ground for future FPS to come on a handheld. The controls are a bit daff at first such as not being able to run and jump at the same time, but you learn to master them and get a sense of control over your character. And there was ONE surprising thing in the game for me that I wanted to see more of, but sadly was never explained or touched upon again.

    Nonetheless I'm giving Resistance Burning Skies a 6 out of 10.
    Impressive visuals and "ok" controls doesn't make up the fact that the story is filth, the characters are filth, and the occurring glitches. Is it worth $12.99?
    Yea it is
    $24.99 on PSN?
    No
    Expand
  38. May 31, 2012
    0
    I haven't had this much fun with a handheld console shooter since, ever. The graphics need a bit of polish, but throwing hand grenades from the touch sceen, sniping with precision, and just bad-assing around with my Vita, especially so early in the development cycle, is a blast. I can easily say, for $39 I've already had more fun with this than a lot of over-hyped $60 titles that get wayI haven't had this much fun with a handheld console shooter since, ever. The graphics need a bit of polish, but throwing hand grenades from the touch sceen, sniping with precision, and just bad-assing around with my Vita, especially so early in the development cycle, is a blast. I can easily say, for $39 I've already had more fun with this than a lot of over-hyped $60 titles that get way more love online. It has to be said, no: it's not a PS3 version of Resistance, but it is a super-fun experience, for kicking back with a drink or a coffee, and hanging out blowing up creatures for an hour at a time. Collapse
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 63
  2. Negative: 10 out of 63
  1. Aug 30, 2012
    48
    Six hours of your life, roughly one hour per each level, will drain away, leaving you only with disappointment.
  2. Aug 10, 2012
    70
    Resistance: Burning Skies is an admirable effort but ends of leaving a lot to be desired. The game may carry the popular Resistance name, but the experience certainly doesn't mimic the standard(s) set by that previous entries in the series. Still, this is solid proof that the FPS-genre can succeed on a handheld system.
  3. Aug 3, 2012
    70
    Proof that first person shooters can work perfectly on portable consoles. The arsenal is as good as ever in the Resistance-series, but the campaign is quite short and forgettable.