Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players will step into the role of Zen, a master ninja, through a thrilling dynamic storyline of betrayal and intrigue in Shinobido 2: Tales of the Ninja (working title).
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 34
  2. Negative: 7 out of 34
  1. Feb 20, 2012
    74
    Shinobido for PS Vita is like a mixture of Hitman and Metal Gear Solid for Asia fans, who really love dialogue, character development and a thin but broad storyline about a war in a foreign country. But they will have to live with some AI bugs, repetetive level layout, poor controls and a lack of use of PS Vita features. Acquire could have done better.
  2. Feb 22, 2012
    70
    If you're the type of gamer who only plays games with gigantic hype and multimillion-dollar budgets, Revenge of Zen might not be your thing, but those who do get into this title are in for a worthwhile experience.
  3. Feb 23, 2012
    65
    Doesn't do much in terms of story, little of what you learn or obtain in terms of skills and tools seems necessary, and the combat is seriously flawed. But beneath that beats the heart of a competent stealth adventure, which is difficult to find these days.
  4. Feb 27, 2012
    58
    Being a ninja will always be cool, but limited gameplay options, terrible AI, a hostile camera and a rather high degree of repetitiveness turns Shinobido 2 into a game that doesn't quite deliver on its promising premise.
  5. Feb 21, 2012
    55
    Shinobido 2 starts out as a fun stealth-game but quickly becomes repetitive in both gameplay and environments. It tries to keep us interested by offering many possibilities and a decent atmosphere, but fails to keep the boredom away for to long.
  6. 50
    It seems that this ninja should have stayed in the shadows.
  7. Apr 12, 2012
    30
    This one's a dud. [May 2012, p.83]

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    It is sooo obvious which publishers are paying the critics and who aren't. How could anyone score MW3 higher than shinibido 2? This game is deep and highly enjoyable, totally disregard the critics and go with user reviews needless to say. Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    Best current game on the vita, ignore the critics. if you like any of the categories, stealth/ninja/swordplay/tactics you will like this game. it does what it sets out to do VERY very well. i was dubious at first as nothing seemed right with the game to be honest, which is never a good start however for reasons I can only assume are due to the hidden quality's of game play i kept coming back to it... and continue to do so. if you can get past the dodgy sounds, textures and movement the game has so much more to offer than any other games ive played on the vita. missions are actually pretty diverse unlike unit 13's missions. essentially your doing the same things but what game doesn't do that? missions vary from assassinations, reckon, assault, guard, kidnaps, stealth, burglary plus more and they all play well. the game system of accepting missions, making choices, levelling up your character and alchemy is also very nice. this is one of the few games on the vita thus far i am actually interested in and i bought it on a total whim.... best decision in a long time, if graphics don't mean EVERYTHING to you (not saying that's a bad thing) then check this game out!! (other games i have are uncharted, reality fighters, rayman, unit 13, dynasty wariors wipeout and motorstorm rc.... surprisingly shinobido is my favorite although i can understand why a lot of people don't give it 10 mins) Expand
  3. May 12, 2014
    9
    I think it is very odd and sad that no one in the reviews has made the connection that this game is an absolute LOVE LETTER to the original Tenchu Stealth Assassins on PSX. The character even looks and moves just like Rikimaru, has a grappling hook that works the same and you will feel like a ninja I guarantee. I pulled off the same amazing kills I could in TSA 1-3.

    Playing this is like playing a next gen homage to the game that STARTED the stealth ninja game, and this game does a phenomenal job recreating and totally surpassing Tenchu in every way. The level you play in the demo is even called 'Assassinate the Merchant'!! The same first mission from Tenchu!!

    It adds in excellent wall runs, wall jumps and better swordplay along with a much more responsive EVERYTHING. It has an awesome cinematic kill option that is fun to sprinkle into your gameplay. Sure the AI is not a genius but it delivers on something that I've been wanting for a VERY long time. Portable Tenchu gameplay. BRAVO.

    Do NOT listen to the noob reviews, and if you loved Tenchu 1-3 this game is an absolute MUST own next gen upgraded version, with nostalgia dripping around every corner. Thanks for making this game Namco, and ninja gamers ENJOY!!
    Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2012
    7
    I think it's just "ok". The game trailers did a good job marketing it, but I found I wasn't woohoo'ing about it after about a minute of game play. I should have saved my pennies for something else. Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2014
    7
    I think it´s a good game. I like the stealth, the tool creation that could be bigger and the attacks. But i did not liked the rescue and trasporting missions, they were boring and stupid. The game could have more maps but i liked it it´s a good stealth game and i recommended. Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2012
    7
    The game looks and feels 10 years old. In terms of voiceacting, story, etc. the game doesn't shine. However, I like the menu layouts, music (even though it's somewhat repetitive) and the stealth kills. It's a great stealth action game with lots of decisions and influences you can have, but it's also reptitive and that can turn some people off. Overall it's good but not great. Expand
  7. May 7, 2012
    3
    The controls are the worst I've ever seen. The graphics are okay I guess and the storyline is even more **** Best not spend your hard earned money on this title ;). Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews