Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 57
  2. Negative: 11 out of 57
Buy On
  1. Nov 2, 2012
    46
    It is hard to associate this dungeon crawler with the once fearsome name it carries. This is a bland hack&slay with little variation and even less horror.
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    45
    A total disappointment, not only for Silent Hill fans but also for Hack'n'Slash lovers.
  3. Nov 24, 2012
    40
    Between setbacks, repetition, and just plain poor design, Silent Hill: Book of Memories is a chore.
  4. Nov 12, 2012
    40
    Far from what the Silent Hill saga was once before, Silent Hill : Book of Memories won't clearly satisfy the fans of the IP. The game won't please the hack'n'slash players either that will find the title boring, its gameplay repetitive and its level-design lacking of originality. Players that were looking for some comfort with the multiplayer mode can also forget that option.
  5. Nov 2, 2012
    40
    It's not a horror experience. There are attempts to slap on some kind of Silent Hill-esque story to everything, but it's utterly worthless. Silent Hill: Book Of Memories is a shallow dungeon-crawler, with even the likes of Dungeon Hunter: Alliance providing more fun. It is, in short, a failure; not the sort of thing we want from Silent Hill, nor the sort of thing we want for the Vita.
  6. Nov 2, 2012
    40
    Silent Hill: Book of Memories fails miserably at capturing the core attributes of its series predecessors, namely the effective psychological horror and captivating storylines. It doesn't exactly excel as an original dungeon-crawler either, bogged down by repetitive gameplay and generic mechanics. This is one book you will be able to put down.
  7. Oct 24, 2012
    40
    At best, it's a bland, repetitive Silent Hill-skinned dungeon-crawling grind. At worst, it's a vacuous vandalism of a treasured horror brand.
  8. Oct 19, 2012
    40
    It looks like a dungeon crawler but plays like an action RPG, yet it doesn't provide enough variety to make you want to come back for more. Its format gets repetitive far too quickly, and the only the thing that will keep your attention is knowing the fate of your character, even if you only played a small part in it.
  9. Oct 28, 2012
    35
    It doesn't look bad and it doesn't sound too bad either but it is way too repetitive. I play games for fun and the score reflects the fact I just didn't find Silent Hill: Book of Memories all that fun to play.
  10. Play UK
    Nov 30, 2012
    32
    Half-baked mechanics, visually dull and a lack of conviction in its creative vision. [Issue#225, p.83]
  11. Oct 29, 2012
    30
    A bad idea, poorly realised. Not only does this sully the already tarnished name of Silent Hill but it's a tediously poor dungeon crawler in its own right.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 29
  2. Negative: 10 out of 29
  1. Oct 17, 2012
    2
    One user gave this game a perfect '10' and said "Ignore all the old Silent Hill fans that are Butt hurt that there (sic) game isOne user gave this game a perfect '10' and said "Ignore all the old Silent Hill fans that are Butt hurt that there (sic) game is changing"....That's nonsense. First, I call BS on anyone who would give this game a perfect score. A '5' or a '6'? Everyone is different, so maybe. But a '10'? No. He gave it a '10' to try and counterbalance all the 0s, 1s, and 2s this game will get. Second, the reason why people are calling this game garbage is because it's a bad game. Not because anyone is 'Butt hurt' over the series changing. It's a bad game. Period. No need to try and make up silly reasons for why people don't like it. Full Review »
  2. Oct 18, 2012
    8
    The low user score worried me, so I downloaded the demo. I suggest you do the same. This is a fun game. Great graphics and atmosphere,The low user score worried me, so I downloaded the demo. I suggest you do the same. This is a fun game. Great graphics and atmosphere, solid and responsive control, balanced and addictive game play, creepy and engaging story, fun customization. It is not like the old silent hill games, as you probably know. It is more like Diablo in its play mechanics, so know what you're getting into. My only complaint about the game is the load-times. They are not insanely long, but should be shorter. If this were fixed, I would have given it a 9. Full Review »
  3. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    So I picked this game up yesterday, after playing the demo I really liked it. So I started playing it and got past the demo and it is reallySo I picked this game up yesterday, after playing the demo I really liked it. So I started playing it and got past the demo and it is really awesome. at first its kinda slow but its just because its trying to teach you the basics because there are alot of different things to know. I also got a chance to play the 4 man MULTIPLAYER and that is also really smooth with no lag and also having more people helps you get through the zones faster. The voice while your playing is pretty cool to. I really have enjoyed this game so far and would reccomend it. I would give this game 9 but just because people are giving 0s which is not even fair to the game Here is my score Full Review »