User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 84
  2. Negative: 35 out of 84

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2012
    2
    One user gave this game a perfect '10' and said "Ignore all the old Silent Hill fans that are Butt hurt that there (sic) game is changing"....That's nonsense. First, I call BS on anyone who would give this game a perfect score. A '5' or a '6'? Everyone is different, so maybe. But a '10'? No. He gave it a '10' to try and counterbalance all the 0s, 1s, and 2s this game will get. Second, the reason why people are calling this game garbage is because it's a bad game. Not because anyone is 'Butt hurt' over the series changing. It's a bad game. Period. No need to try and make up silly reasons for why people don't like it. Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    8
    For months I've been dreading the day this game came one but, it's safe to say this is a nice portable experience. It's really just as addicting as any other dungeon crawler. The only thing that bothers me about this game is the returning creatures, said time and time again "Why is pyramid Head is this game?"
  3. Oct 18, 2012
    8
    The low user score worried me, so I downloaded the demo. I suggest you do the same. This is a fun game. Great graphics and atmosphere, solid and responsive control, balanced and addictive game play, creepy and engaging story, fun customization. It is not like the old silent hill games, as you probably know. It is more like Diablo in its play mechanics, so know what you're getting into. My only complaint about the game is the load-times. They are not insanely long, but should be shorter. If this were fixed, I would have given it a 9. Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    So I picked this game up yesterday, after playing the demo I really liked it. So I started playing it and got past the demo and it is really awesome. at first its kinda slow but its just because its trying to teach you the basics because there are alot of different things to know. I also got a chance to play the 4 man MULTIPLAYER and that is also really smooth with no lag and also having more people helps you get through the zones faster. The voice while your playing is pretty cool to. I really have enjoyed this game so far and would reccomend it. I would give this game 9 but just because people are giving 0s which is not even fair to the game Here is my score Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    A lot of people hate change, and that change is going to pull in a lot of negative reviews by people who have NEVER PLAYED THE GAME. This game is incredibly well made, the story is interesting and fun. The only issue I have with the game is the targeting system. Its a press and hold the Left Trigger button to target, it would of been nice if you could press once and it targets, and you can press it again to untarget, otherwise combat is great. Overall a good game! Expand
  6. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    One reviewer accused another of padding the score with a 10 because he knows that the game will get lots of low scores. I admit that is what I am doing, not because this is a bad game, IMHO i think it deserves a 6-7. I'm not afraid of "butthurt fanboys" but I know that the same trolls that always score any Vita game "0" (even though they have never played or even own a Vita) will be back to do the same with this game. For those who are honestly interested in my opinion of the game (after playing it for 7 hrs) it is a good top-down shooter/brawler. Do not try to judge it by other entries in the franchise, its definitely not as good as SH 1,2 or 3 but I think its a lot more engaging than the later games (not that that's any great accomplishment). If you like Silent Hill & you like top down shooters/brawlers then give this a try, you wont be sorry Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2012
    10
    This game is what Dungeon Hunter should have been.
    This is a real dungeon crawler game, the frame rate is smooth , the music is outstanding, the level design is brilliant, the plot is just ok, but the gameplay is adicting, the multiplayer is even better.
    Its a great game that most of PSVita owner should own.
  8. Oct 21, 2012
    0
    Hey guys! Let's play Silent Hill Book of Memories! It's gonna be very fun! You know, EXPLORE WITH FRIENDS, PLAY DRESS UP, SOLVE PUZZLES - FUN PUZZLES AND HARDCORE HACK N' SLASH SILENT HILL. I BET I'LL BE A CHICK MAGNET AFTER PLAYING THIS AWESOME GAME. Silent hill...why aren't you the psychological, traumatizing, Image distorting, nightmare causing game I used to know and love?
  9. Oct 19, 2012
    9
    Silent Hill: Book of Memories is a welcome addition to the game library of the PS Vita and actually a good one. The game is more like a dungeon crawler in Diablo style with lots of elements of previous Silent Hill games. You will meet known Silent Hill enemies like the nurses, dogs, spiders, pyramid head, the butcher and lots more. There are different worlds which are divided in zones to explore with each having a final boss.

    The combat systems feels easy to manage and the karma systems adds some powerful extra moves. As it is more like an Action-RPG, you can level up your character to become stronger to have better chances against the monsters and enemies in the higher zones. Speaking of zones, the game has 100 zones to explore which means many hours of gameplay. And also the replay value is high as there are 6 different endings available. Additionally the game includes an online multi player mode where 4 players can explore the different zones of Silent Hill: Book of Memories.

    The controls are easy to manage and very intuitive and also the touchscreen of the PS Vita has been integrated very well.Technically the graphic look good on the OLED screen and the soundtrack reminds me a lot of former Silent Hill games, especially the title track 'Now we're free' is awesome.

    I am enjoying this game since the first day and can recommend this game to all PS Vita owners who are looking for a new gaming experience.

    If you expect something like Silent Hill 1 - 4, Homecoming or Downpour I am sure you will get disappointed and you better keep your hands off of this game, but otherwise Silent Hill: Book of Memories will offer many hours of fun and deep gameplay.
    Expand
  10. Oct 17, 2012
    2
    Absolute Mess.
    This game is a complete disaster. It is not silent hill, it is more like Diablo or something, but NOT silent hill. This game is terrible. Long load times, bad graphics, bad voice acting, boring story, eye straining camera angles, and so so so much more. This is terrible. This is the final straw. I will NEVER buy a konami game every gain or silent hill. I loved silent hill
    until konami DESTROYED IT. Silent Hill 1-4 were amazing. Origins was horrible and had bad graphics, homecoming was super glitchy, shattered memories was boring and had no combat actions, downpour was boring, and dont get me started on the horrifying mess of SH HD Collection, what a mess that was... konami, fix the series. NEVER release something like this again. All the fans asked for it to be canned, you did not listen. Let the bad reviews pour in now... Even AMY was better then this disaster. Expand
  11. Oct 30, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have to say, i'am very very very delighted with the combat sequence, it also allows dual wield and special powers, and i have to say i really really loved the new combat gameplay. As for the game itself, it is BLASPHEMY of the "Silent Hill" name. The story is bogus, and has nothing to do with Silent Hill, what? just because they placed notable monsters in Silent Hill makes the game Silent Hill? The Silent Hill game is about the psychological horror and terror, the tense feeling as you solve puzzles in an even scarier environment, and the plot-wise and excellently written story, that is what Silent Hill is all about.

    The environment is good, but it's not even scary. And because the protagonist IS powerful, people are much more inclined to stand their ground and NOT be afraid of the monsters. Although i like the idea of customizing your character to give a sense of attachment to the players, all these great ideas went to nothing because of the bogus way they did the game. This is Blasphemy to the Silent Hill name, this is what happens when asian-geniuses surrender their work of art to the western-action-oriented-idiots. The Silent Hill from 1, 2,3,4: rooms, Zero/Origins, Downpour, Shattered Memories, and Homecoming... They all deserve the "Silent Hill" name, not this game.

    Although i kind of suggest these changes: - Gameplay Camera - return the original camera to the third person mode, so that players will actually see the horrific environment from the inside, cause form the outside it looks like crap, like playing a movie in an IPad at the theater for the whole audience to see.
    - Make the protagonists walk, and hold a button to run.
    - Make the enviroment lighting darker, making the Flashlight very important.
    - Make the Radio for players, so that they are aware of nearby monsters.
    - Make the monsters really powerful, though can be brought down by couple of hits, they should bring you down by couple of hits too, making them dangerous.
    - Make the hud somewhat smaller, or even gone.
    - The "Dream" sequence is really really really stupid, it's not even that scary. What should be done is that, after closing the book when they have written what they want, the "SIREN" blares and everything shifts to the Otherworld. Monsters then barge in the door but valtiel stops them and tells you the thing you have to do.
    -I also understand that you want the game to be "Competitive" but, that doesn't really make the game "Silent Hill". Although it is fine for me, but i suggest as a multiplayer feature, but the main Single-player SHOULD be played by one player only.
    - Add sequences that showcase the psychological-horror.
    - Lastly make the environment have intractable corpses and gores or whatever psychotic things that can be places; maybe a human chained in the wall gutted alive and is still alive. or rather is in that sense.

    hoping that at least the game will be at least playable. Because WayForward ruined This installment of Silent Hill for me.

    Although yes, some people like the idea of Silent Hill being that kind of game, but then my guess is they haven't even played the original game and understood the story of every Installment. I bet they don't even know what Harry Mason or James Sunderland suffered or their stories in the original Game. I bet they didn't even know that Heather Mason is the reincarnation of Alessa. I hope you people consider to play the original games, and understand them before you try and judge this game too... because i can guarantee you new-comers to the Silent Hill, you have not grasp the story behind this shady resort town. WayForward made a mockery of Silent Hill.
    Expand
  12. Oct 16, 2012
    0
    I'd advise playing the demo before buying it so you know what you're getting yourself into, because even as a mere spin off, there's not one thing it does right. Konami clearly don't get their own franchise if they're content with selling this garbage. I could rant, but the short version is that it's void of depth in every category, and not interesting in the slightest.
  13. Oct 25, 2012
    0
    The game is bad really bad I seen better iPhone game than this it very sad I'd advise playing the demo before buying it so you know what you're getting yourself into, because even as a mere spin off, there's not one thing it does right. Konami clearly don't get their own franchise if they're content with selling this garbage.
  14. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    Actually surprised me! They tried something different and it worked, sure the horror isnt exactly there, but it still has silent hill elements that will provide a fun experience well worth trying out! It may not be for everybody but i really enjoyed myself.
  15. Oct 19, 2012
    7
    For the most part, it has all the core fundamentals that make up a good RPG action game (notice I didnt call it horror because there is no sense of horror in this game). However, it lacks severely in variety, because the levels are all too similar (walkway, room, another walkway, another room). Every new level is divided into 3 zones and you fight a boss at the end of each level. The only difference between these levels is the theme (light, water, fire, etc). The level designs are just about as lazy and lackluster as CodedArms on PSP. The storyline, or lack thereof, also hurts the experience. Often times I would celebrate as I leveled up and acquired new items. But at the same time, I would wonder what's the point of proceeding furthur. There was no sense of direction. Overall this game is pretty good and should keep you busy until the next big title arrives for the Vita. But if you have the patience, I would save my money for COD or Assassins Creed. Expand
  16. Oct 24, 2012
    10
    I'll be honest that I kinda cringed at a dungeon crawler silent hill title, but I got the free demo and it kinda won me over with its addictive quality. I mean who doesn't like collecting loot? I got even more interested in it so I picked up the full copy. I must say I am pleased with my purchase. Its kinda like if silent hill and diablo had a kid and add just a splash of castlevania and book of memories is what you will get. Now I have not tried the multiplayer yet but you can get up to 4 people in one party slaying monsters and collecting loot. If you are a PS Vita owner you should definitely pick this up or at the very least download the free demo. Just ignore all the haters and make your own choice about this great title. Expand
  17. Nov 7, 2012
    7
    No doubt konami has dragged Silent Hill series to other dimensions. With the latest release on this series, "The Book of memories" the face of silent hill has gone too far from its origins. We had such a good silent hill games on PSP and this game looks very disappointing. As a dungeon crawling game, we can say Book Of Memories does a good job however in some aspects it has lack of content or its lost being a RPG or a Hack n slash game. In the other hand it has a Silent Hill feel Theme over its levels n so on but it doesnt mean it is a silent hill game. I hope konami put more thoughts before planning to develop a game, at least they could port the HD Collection simply and it would be much more better than this. Well, as a fan of silent hill who loved this series over 10 years i should say Book Of memories is all about dissapointmen, however still buying it for fans may cool us down that "Oh finally there is SH game to play on handheld". Otherwise if you not the fan of silent hill this can be a good game actually. its a entertaining hack n slash, its quiet long...looting n leveling up is fun. it has different atmosphere than other dungeon crawlers, its not happening in a fantasy world of magics n bla bla instead it has its own dark town of colors, dark rooms require you to use flashlight and violence. well its interesting idea and it has good potential but then, the story is lacking depth, the menu design is a bit childish and weird , overall good ! well lets put being a fan and being a disappointing person behind, its not solving anything after this many years and what happened to the series .... its not a bad game ! its just in a wrong place :D Collapse
  18. Dec 15, 2012
    7
    Excellent game love the old enemies and RPG elements. Its not for everyone but give it a go. I like the weapons different enemies and the game works exceptionally well with multiplayer. So give it a go. Though I hope the next one improves but with this game, downpour and revelations getting horrible reviews we are probably near the end of our time with the order of Valtiel and this realm of silent hill. Expand
  19. Dec 29, 2013
    7
    Good game, does change alot from the older titles. If you're into dungeon crawlers with rpg elements then I would recommend picking this up! there is fun to be had
  20. Oct 3, 2013
    1
    First of all, I would like to ask all those who like this game to please respect others' opinions instead of just brushing them off as butthurt fans who didn't get what they wanted and now punish this game with low scores. Do you honestly believe those Silent Hill fans have never played and enjoyed anything else than Silent Hill? Personally, I think I know what I like and what not. For instance, this game, I like not. I was actually looking forward to it despite not being your classical survival horror game and accepted it as a spin-off with a different approach. Also, it's not like we Vita players can be all that picky nowadays. Sadly, I was very disappointed. The game looks good and it makes very well use of the established Silent Hill monsters if that in itself is a good thing or not, is a different question, I didn't mind. Other than that, from gameplay to level design, from loot to story, practically everything else is, in my eyes, garbage. The game's hardly fun to play, there's little to no motivation. It appears to be heavily designed around online play but that doesn't work well, if at all, most of the time. Expand
  21. Dec 5, 2012
    4
    Bad game: bad plot, gameplay, not funny, not scary, not EVERYTHING that should be good.
    This can't be considered a Silent Hill, so I'll talk about it just as a new game. Let's start by the *game factor*: the game is boring already by its 5 minutes of gameplay: it's repetitive and not competitive. Graphics are bad: the VITA can handle much more, but I'm happy to see so high FPS on the
    VITA, that's why I didn't give it a 3 (if the score system had decimals, I would give it 3.5). Audio isn't that good (at least in Italian), and plot isn't that deep and mind blowing, as other games (such as old Silent Hill games).

    Now, if I spoke as a Silent Hill fan, I have to say that I'd say that it is a big fail and totally disappointing, in fact I would give it 1.
    Expand
  22. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    The game is not that bad as some people say, i love that game on the vita and i like every silent hill game. This one bring a lot of enemies and great boss battles and a large variety of weapons and combat style. In my country it was a little expensive so i pre-ordered it from England by a good price. It was a great deal and i have played more than 10 hours on it and im just on the beginning :) The only thing is the story, it could have been way better but let's hope that the next silent hill game becomes a great success. Expand
  23. Mar 10, 2014
    6
    while i applaud silent hill for doing something new, this was a bit much. liked the customization (limited) idea but turning the series into a dungeon crawler was not the way to go. the first few "zones" all ok but soon it gets pretty repetitive. story doesn't fare well either as many holes litter the plot. only pick this up if you are a huge silent hill fan and like dungeon crawlers. even then, wait for that price drop. Expand
  24. Nov 15, 2013
    1
    So, I tried. I am a die hard fan of this franchise, and have been since the first game. My problem is not that it is different, but that it truly is flawed. As much as the producer and team bragged about the graphics, the in game graphics are PSOne quality at best and the cutscenes are around a DS Lite level. For the amount of repetitive monsters and gameplay that are in this, the loading times REALLY should not be this long. I will admit that the idea of creating your own character to venture into Silent Hill is a good one, but that truly isn't what's happening here. You're creating a character to wander through endless similar rooms with monsters from the series in them. That's it. There is no real overarching storyline or plot, and it gets fairly old after the first hour or two. Sorry guys, not saying this from a "I'm an old school fan and this is too much newness for me", frame of mind. This was a good idea, poorly executed. Expand
  25. Feb 7, 2014
    7
    Silent hill book or memories , where do I start , as a silent hill game ? its a HUGE disappointment , but this can be forgiven as it is a spin off , GONE is the survival horror , GONE is silent hill in general , GONE is the silent hill fan base , as the series has gone downhill after silent hill 4 , the games afterwards were decent , but they lost there original impact that the first 4 left , that aside , as a stand alone game its pretty good , It has the mechanics and feel of diablo 3 but in the silent hill universe , back are every silent hill monster in one game , and the character creation is a nice touch as well , plus as a fan of persona 4 , I was surprised that the male character is voiced by the guy who played "Konji" the tough guy , it has a very plain story , and it is very repetitive , but it is fun which keep you going , it has a pretty good fighting system , simple but refreshing puzzles , cool rpg elements , and decent voice acting , cool atmosphere , pretty good graphics and a hint of nostalgia. Bottom line despite how mediocre the plot is and how disappointing it is as a SILENT HILL GAME ,as a stand alone game? this game is fun and worth a buy , seeing as now you can buy it for 30 bucks now , just don't buy it if your looking for a genuine silent hill experience , you will be disappointed , buy this game for what it is , a fun diablo esc silent hill spin off nothing more and nothing less Expand
  26. Sep 30, 2014
    7
    Ignoring the fact that its a very different game, more like Diablo than Silent Hill, Book of Memories is actually pretty fun. The controls are solid, graphics are good, sound and overall presentation is there. Honestly, download the demo like I did before purchase, and give a it a try :)
  27. Oct 9, 2014
    5
    Silent Hill is known for it's grotesque stories. Good or Bad
    However, SH BoM has almost NO STORY. This is a bit of a problem for me. Also, though the game is fun, it is almost unfairly difficult.(One word......TRAPS!)
    The only way to make this game easier is to download DLC.
    This review seems negative however why didn't I give it a 1?
    Because despite my complaints, I love it!
  28. Nov 7, 2012
    0
    No doubt konami has dragged Silent Hill series to other dimensions. With the latest release on this series, "The Book of memories" the face of silent hill has gone too far from its origins. We had such a good silent hill games on PSP and this game looks very disappointing. As a dungeon crawling game, we can say Book Of Memories does a good job however in some aspects it has lack of content or its lost being a RPG or a Hack n slash game. In the other hand it has a Silent Hill feel Theme over its levels n so on but it doesnt mean it is a silent hill game. I hope konami put more thoughts before planning to develop a game, at least they could port the HD Collection simply and it would be much more better than this. Well, as a fan of silent hill who loved this series over 10 years i should say Book Of memories is all about dissapointmen, however still buying it for fans may cool us down that "Oh finally there is SH game to play on handheld". Otherwise if you not the fan of silent hill this can be a good game actually. its a entertaining hack n slash, its quiet long...looting n leveling up is fun. it has different atmosphere than other dungeon crawlers, its not happening in a fantasy world of magics n bla bla instead it has its own dark town of colors, dark rooms require you to use flashlight and violence. well its interesting idea and it has good potential but then, the story is lacking depth, the menu design is a bit childish and weird , overall good ! well lets put being a fan and being a disappointing person behind, its not solving anything after this many years and what happened to the series .... its not a bad game ! its just in a wrong place :D Collapse
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 57
  2. Negative: 11 out of 57
  1. Feb 8, 2013
    50
    While RPGs and dungeon crawler games are my favorite style of hand held games, there are better options than Book of Memories. The Silent Hill aesthetic is pretty well represented, but the game itself struggles to maintain mediocrity. The game is great in short bursts, but fails to hold your attention for long periods of time.
  2. WayForward seems to have saved its 'A Game' for their own IP. Book of Memories feels odd, as though a Diablo has murdered a Silent Hill, and is traipsing about wearing its skin. [January 2013, p70]
  3. Jan 21, 2013
    68
    It's a pity where the Book of Memories is taking the Silent Hill series: Only quantity, no quality; a lack of gameplay and story; a shift in genres which should have been done with much more caution and love. Silent Hill fans, don't touch this.