Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Co-developed by Grasshopper Manufacture and Digital Reality, and published by Microsoft Studios, Sine Mora is a dieselpunk shoot 'em up that provides a unique take on the genre, where time is the ultimate factor. Mixing classic shooter sensibilities with next-gen presentation, Sine Mora is a gorgeous shmup that appeals to both hardcore and casual gamers alike. Coming exclusively to Xbox LIVE Arcade, Sine Mora features over 60 combinations of planes, characters and time manipulation devices to complete every beautifully-crafted stage with scaling difficulty. All of this is set to an epic score of soaring heights, composed by Akira Yamaoka, acclaimed for his works on Shadows of the Damned and the Silent Hill series. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Dec 18, 2012
    100
    Overall, Sine Mora is really an amazing game. Simple in it's gameplay, but challenging enough for even the hardcore Bullet Hell Players.
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    90
    Sine Mora is Latin for 'without delay', which is a fitting recommendation for one of the finest side-scrolling shooters of the generation. This a compelling tribute to a bygone era, and a must-have if you're a fan of the genre.
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    90
    Sine Mora is one of the most beautiful shmups I've ever had the chance to play. It's also a solid action title with a surprisingly deep story about the lengths someone will go for revenge. Purists will find it a fresh addition to their collection while casual observers may be turned off by the short length and the game's masochistic delight in punishing players with nearly impossible odds.
  4. 86
    A very short campaign is offset by additional modes and some insane difficulty settings. And Trophy completionists will spend a long time ranking up on their way to Platinum Trophy glory.
  5. Dec 18, 2012
    85
    My very minor disappointment with the story aside, Sine Mora is an outstanding shooter that excels in every other area-the design, aesthetics and mechanics are all top-notch, and couldn't be a better fit for the Vita. For players who own Sony's machine and have an appreciation for games of this sort, they honestly don't come better than this.
  6. It would be foolish of us to pretend that Sine Mora is for everyone. The fact is most of us simply don't have the time or patience necessary to properly appreciate a game that demands so much from the player. But for those who do: buy it. Buy it now. [February 2013, p79]
  7. Dec 14, 2012
    70
    A throwback to the classic games that created the genre. It comes bundled with a strange, obscure narrative and a flawless paint job, but the homage to the old lies there, in plain sight, beneath the sparkle.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    i love this game is very very cheap and looks so great, graphic are very good !!! i love the story mode !! and the boss are very great !! recommended for all ! Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    I have decided it was finally time for me to write some stuff on here after seeing far too many haphazard reviews, so here goes nothing. Sine Mora is one of my more recent purchases on my Vita. I enjoy an occasional shooter here and there and this seemed to fit the bill. I had read some professional reviews on the game and found them all to be quite positive. They were not wrong. For old school horizontal shooter fans this game is, in my opinion, a must buy. The graphics look beautiful on the Vita's screen, the sound is full fledged and the game play is fast and furious throughout. I found the story to be a bit convoluted and rather unnecessary, however, it does it add some depth to the genre. The bosses are incredible with the both their size and scope of graphical detail. Some of the could be entire stages within themselves. I also rather enjoyed the ability to acquire and utilize several different ships with various special ability weapons that can prove quite useful in the right situations. In closing, if you have a Vita and you enjoy a shoot em up then I strongly suggest you pick this game up from PSN. At only $9.99 it is a veritable steal and will provide many hours of enjoyment both at home and on the go. Expand
  3. Jan 29, 2013
    9
    With genuinely gorgeous visuals, edge-of-your-seat gameplay and a pretty decent story-driven narrative thrown in for good measure, Sine Mora is simply not to be missed for proper shoot'em up fans. But this isn't your typical 2D vertical shooter. The 3D ship designs are utterly drool worthy and look stunning as they swoop right up close to your Vita screen when banking mid turn. In terms of visuals, design and gameplay, boss fights are another standout feature of this top drawer, steampunk-styled shmup. Factor in some old skool difficulty (i.e. tough!), a bunch of game modes and a refreshingly unique - up against the clock - gameplay mechanic, and you've got what is arguably the Vita's best shooter. If you're a fan of shooters and are up for a challenge, Sine Mora is an essential download. For everyone else, do yourself a favour, and at least consider it. Expand
  4. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    Here is a game that looks good and crisp on Vita´s lovely oled screen, but while being fun the first couple of playthrough´s this is unfortunately one those games, that i hardly ever played since that. Fans of the genre should definitely consider to pick this one up, but if side scroll shooters never really was your thing, this game won´t be able to change on that.. Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2013
    5
    Looks really good graphically and game play is good for a side scrolling shooter. This game is extremely difficult and while fun at the start you won't want to play it too much if you can't advance. Great if you want a challenge (even on normal difficulty) but not so much if you don't have the patience. I got it free on PS plus so I'm not complaining but don't buy it unless you really like that style of game and have some skill Expand
  6. Sep 28, 2013
    5
    A very pretty game to look at, with fast gripping action, turns disappointing quickly with a lack of content and overwhelming difficulty. Once the basic story is beat all content focuses on replaying levels or boss battles for bigger scores & better times. Gameplay can be very frustrating at times as certain points of the game are trial and error filled with player deaths. The games visuals are enticing, although often a source of frustration as some enemies in the foreground look active, but cannot be shot, and some enemies that dont appear active just start shooting you.

    If your not really into the side scrolling shooter genre, this is one you should pass on, as only passionate enthusiasts will find enjoyment here.
    Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2013
    5
    Although this game has good graphics, solid gameplay and a nice ambiance it just doesn't work for me. Once I played the old school story mode I was pretty much done with it. The game simply didn't motivate me to play it over and over again in order to beat the hardest bosses and gain the best scores. I actually find this game pretty boring. Collapse

See all 9 User Reviews