User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 13, 2013
    7
    I was happily surprised with the amount of fun I had with this game. The graphics and controls are no we're near as good as other games, but there is just something fun about playing this. I was a huge fan of the original and may be biased, but I keep going back to this game a enjoying every second of it! If it has one issue it's the fact it was priced too high, but you will have a great time playing it. Expand
  2. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    These "B" grade games are rare these days. It is refreshingly unintentionally cheesy fun. It is very simple fun that seems aimed at a very young demographic but was a lot of fun for an adult like me. Still seems very much like the original Spy Hunter in spirit even if the gameplay is different with a mission oriented structure.
  3. Nov 2, 2012
    7
    As I was playing Spy hunter and finding myself, at times, frustrated with the controls or the level repetition I realized something. Playing this game made me feel like I was 9 or 10 years old again playing games on my SNES or Genesis. The controls weren't always the greatest and the levels not necessarily the most varied but I was having fun. Sometimes it was maddeningly frustrated fun, but fun nonetheless. Spy Hunter is a modern throwback to those old school games that let you have fun while seriously contemplating throwing your controller (or Vita in this case) against a wall. Expand
  4. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    This is a great game at its core, but it has low budget written all over it. The essential parts of the game that make it fun are intact, but elements such as menu design, graphics and cutscenes were mediocre at best. It is a spectacular, thrilling game with lots of replay value. It's unfortunate that it didn't get the support and promotion that it deserves. How ironic that a low budget game that no one bothered to care about is actually one of the few truly fun games now available on the Vita. Collapse
  5. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    I used to love going to the arcade and running back to this game. It just had an urgency that made the game play intensity so much fun. I can't say this is an absolutely perfect revamp, but it's a lot of fun. I've gotten to really enjoy the nostalgia and the new twists are nice. Graphics look great and I just love the lineup of games coming our way to the Vita this next 2 months. Finally the season of VITA games begins !!!! :-) Expand
  6. Oct 10, 2012
    0
    This is a great game at its core, but it has low budget written all over it. The essential parts of the game that make it fun are intact, but elements such as menu design, graphics and cutscenes were mediocre at best. It is a spectacular, thrilling game with lots of replay value. It's unfortunate that it didn't get the support and promotion that it deserves. How ironic that a low budget game that no one bothered to care about is actually one of the few truly fun games now available on the Vita. Collapse
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Jan 30, 2013
    68
    Despite the crude graphics Spy Hunter is somehow addictive and really entertaining. But after all the price is a deal breaker and therefore this game is not so much a bestseller as a collector's item.
  2. Unfortunately, there's just not a lot of meat to Spy Hunter: the campaign is a decent length, but rarely does it go anywhere new or interesting. This isn't the sort of game that requires strategy or nuance, and failing a mission – which happens often, as the difficulty tends to spike in places – means replaying the whole damn thing, which is a big turnoff. [January 2013, p71]
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    40
    Spy Hunter is a classic, old game from the past that is now at its second reboot. It's a shame that the developers didn't even try to improve this portable version of the game. Even if the gameplay it's not that bad, it's the lack of attention to details that is missing from this game.